DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, line 6, “asupporting” should read --a supporting--; in claim 5, line 2, “comprisesa” should read --comprises a--; in claim 8, line 3, “isa” should read --is a--; in claim 14, line 2, “comprisesa” should read --comprises a--; in line 3, “memberrespectively” should read --member respectively--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims not specifically referenced are objected to as being dependent on an objected to base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 102213345) in view of Jianjun et al. (CN 210318631).
Annotated Figure 6 from Zhang.
Annotated Figure 1 from Jianjun.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a reversing valve (100), comprising: a main valve 2 (see translation paragraph 0046); a supporting frame (1) having a first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and a second connecting end (see annotated figure above), wherein the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) is connected with the main valve (2), and an end wall of the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) is attached to a side wall of the main valve 2 (see Figure 3).
Zhang fails to disclose a supporting structure located between a side wall of the first connecting end and the side wall of the main valv
Jianjun teaches a reversing valve comprising a supporting structure (see annotated figure above) located between a side wall (see annotated figure above) of a first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and a side wall of a main valv
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhang to provide a supporting structure located between a side wall of the first connecting end and the side wall of the main valv
Regarding claim 2, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein the supporting frame (1) comprises a frame body (12) and a connecting plate (11) that are connected to each other, a surface of the connecting plate (11) is attached to the side wall of the main valve (2), and the supporting structure (from Jianjun) is located between a side wall of the frame body (12) and the side wall of the main valve 2 (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein the frame body (12) comprises a first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and a second supporting plate (see annotated figure above), the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) are arranged at an interval in an axial direction of the main valve (2), two ends of the connecting plate (11) are connected with the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) respectively, there are a plurality of supporting structures (from Jianjun), and the plurality of supporting structures (from Jianjun) are arranged between an outer side wall of the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) and between an outer side wall of the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the supporting structure (from Jianjun) comprises a supporting member (see “supporting structure” in annotated figure above), and the side wall of the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) are connected with the supporting member (from Jianjun) respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein a section shape of the supporting member (see “supporting structure” in annotated figure above) comprises a triangle, a rectangle, a sector or a circle.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein an outer surface of the supporting member (see “supporting structure” in annotated figure above) is a concave curved surface or a convex curved surface (see Jianjun Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein the supporting member is welded between the side wall of the first connecting end and the side wall of the main valve.
Jianjun teaches a reversing valve wherein the supporting member (see annotated figure above) is welded between the side wall (see annotated figure above) of the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhang to provide wherein the supporting member is welded between the side wall of the first connecting end and the side wall of the main valve, as taught by Jianjun. Doing so would provide a weld bead which would strengthen and stabilize the support frame.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches a pilot valve (3), wherein the pilot valve (3) is connected with the second connecting end (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed the combination further teaches wherein a section shape of the supporting member (see “supporting structure” in annotated figure above) comprises a triangle, a rectangle, a sector or a circle.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed the combination further teaches wherein an outer surface of the supporting member (see “supporting structure” in annotated figure above) is a concave curved surface or a convex curved surface (see Jianjun Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed the combination further teaches wherein the supporting frame (1) comprises a frame body (12) and a connecting plate (11) that are connected to each other, a surface of the connecting plate (11) is attached to the side wall of the main valve (2), and the supporting structure (from Jianjun) is located between a side wall of the frame body (12) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein the frame body (12) comprises a first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and a second supporting plate (see annotated figure above), the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) are arranged at an interval in an axial direction of the main valve (2), two ends of the connecting plate (11) are connected with the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) respectively, there are a plurality of supporting structures (from Jianjun), and the plurality of supporting structures (from Jianjun) are arranged between an outer side wall of the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) and between an outer side wall of the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Song et al. (CN 210716185, with reference taken from corresponding U.S. 2022/0275876).
Annotated Figure 2 from Song.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a reversing valve (100), comprising: a main valve 2; a supporting frame (1) having a first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and a second connecting end (see annotated figure above), wherein the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) is connected with the main valve (2), and an end wall of the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) is attached to a side wall of the main valve 2 (see Figure 3).
Zhang fails to disclose a supporting structure located between a side wall of the first connecting end and the side wall of the main valv
Song teaches a reversing valve comprising a supporting structure (see annotated figure above) located between a side wall (see annotated figure above) of a first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and a side wall of a main valv
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhang to provide a supporting structure located between a side wall of the first connecting end and the side wall of the main valv
Regarding claim 2, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein the supporting frame (1) comprises a frame body (12) and a connecting plate (11) that are connected to each other, a surface of the connecting plate (11) is attached to the side wall of the main valve (2), and the supporting structure (from Song) is located between a side wall of the frame body (12) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein the connecting plate (11) comprises a first side wall (see annotated figure above), a second side wall (see annotated figure above), a third side wall (see annotated figure above) and a fourth side wall (see annotated figure above), the first side wall (see annotated figure above) and the third side wall (see annotated figure above) both extend in a circumferential direction of the main valve (2), the second side wall (see annotated figure above) and the fourth side wall (see annotated figure above) both extend in an axial direction of the main valve (2), there are a plurality of supporting structures (from Song), and the plurality of supporting structures (from Song) are arranged between the second side wall (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) and between the fourth side wall (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the supporting structure (from Song) comprises a supporting member (see “supporting structure” in annotated figure above), and the side wall of the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) are connected with the supporting member (from Song) respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein a section shape of the supporting member (see “supporting structure” in annotated figure above) comprises a triangle, a rectangle, a sector or a circle.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein an outer surface of the supporting member (see “supporting structure” in annotated figure above) is a concave curved surface or a convex curved surface (see Song Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches a pilot valve (3), wherein the pilot valve (3) is connected with the second connecting end (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed the combination further teaches wherein the supporting frame (1) comprises a frame body (12) and a connecting plate (11) that are connected to each other, a surface of the connecting plate (11) is attached to the side wall of the main valve (2), and the supporting structure (from Song) is located between a side wall of the frame body (12) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein the frame body (12) comprises a first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and a second supporting plate (see annotated figure above), the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) are arranged at an interval in an axial direction of the main valve (2), two ends of the connecting plate (11) are connected with the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) respectively, there are a plurality of supporting structures (from Jianjun), and the plurality of supporting structures (from Song) are arranged between an outer side wall of the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) and between an outer side wall of the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Claim(s) 8 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Jianjun, in further view of Yan et al. (U.S. 2021/0025506).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, discloses a reversing valve (100), comprising: a main valve 2; a supporting frame (1) having a first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and a second connecting end (see annotated figure above), wherein the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) is connected with the main valve (2), and an end wall of the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) is attached to a side wall of the main valve 2 (see Figure 3).
Zhang fails to disclose a supporting structure located between a side wall of the first connecting end and the side wall of the main valv
Jianjun teaches a reversing valve comprising a supporting structure (weld) located between a side wall of a first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and a side wall of a main valv
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhang to provide wherein the first connecting end is connected with the main valve through welding, and the supporting structure is a stacked material formed by welding.
The combination fails to disclose argon arc welding.
Yan teaches a valve wherein elements are connected using argon arc welding (see paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Zhang to provide argon arc welding, as taught by Yan. Doing so would attach the support frame to the main valve in a way that produces high-quality, clean welds that are strong and durable.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the supporting frame (1) comprises a frame body (12) and a connecting plate (11) that are connected to each other, a surface of the connecting plate (11) is attached to the side wall of the main valve (2), and the supporting structure (weld) is located between a side wall of the frame body (12) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the frame body (12) comprises a first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and a second supporting plate (see annotated figure above), the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) are arranged at an interval in an axial direction of the main valve (2), two ends of the connecting plate (11) are connected with the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) respectively, there are a plurality of supporting structures (weld), and the plurality of supporting structures (weld) are arranged between an outer side wall of the first supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) and between an outer side wall of the second supporting plate (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the connecting plate (11) comprises a first side wall (see annotated figure above), a second side wall (see annotated figure above), a third side wall (see annotated figure above) and a fourth side wall (see annotated figure above), the first side wall (see annotated figure above) and the third side wall (see annotated figure above) both extend in a circumferential direction of the main valve (2), the second side wall (see annotated figure above) and the fourth side wall (see annotated figure above) both extend in an axial direction of the main valve (2), there are a plurality of supporting structures (weld), and the plurality of supporting structures (weld) are arranged between the second side wall (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) and between the fourth side wall (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve 2.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein the supporting structure (weld) comprises a supporting member (weld), and the side wall of the first connecting end (see annotated figure above) and the side wall of the main valve (2) are connected with the supporting member (weld) respectively.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein a section shape of the supporting member (weld) comprises a triangle, a rectangle, a sector or a circle.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and the combination further teaches wherein an outer surface of the supporting member (weld) is a concave curved surface or a convex curved surface.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753