DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Regarding objections to the drawings:
The drawings were objected to due to not showing claimed features of claims 1 and 8-9. The Applicant amended claims 1 and 8 and canceled claim 9, therefore the objections were withdrawn.
Regarding objections to the specification:
The specification was objected to due to multiple informalities. The Applicant amended the specification to correct the informalities, therefore the objections were withdrawn.
Regarding objections to the claims:
Claims 1-10 were objected to due to multiple informalities. The Applicant amended the claims to correct the informalities, however claims 2-8 and 10 remain objected to due to a remaining informality.
Regarding rejections of the claims under §112:
Claims 1-10 were rejected as being indefinite. The Applicant amended claim 1 to correct the indefiniteness, therefore the rejections were withdrawn.
Regarding rejections of the claims under §103:
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 9-10 were rejected as being obvious over Yaskawa in view of Toyota ‘661. Claim 2 was rejected as being obvious over Yaskawa in view of Toyota ‘661 and Toyota ‘225. Claims 4 and 7 were rejected as being obvious over Yaskawa in view of Toyota ‘661 and Honda. The Applicant amended claim 1 and canceled claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 7/14/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-8 and 10 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0294816 to Ren et al.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 the phrase “wherein the coil includes a plurality of housing portions disposed in the slots” does not appear to make sense. The portion of the coil disposed in the slots is not a housing and should not be referred to as such. A more appropriate claim limitation would be “wherein the coil includes a plurality of coil portions disposed in the slots.”
In claims 2-8 and 10 the phrase “A dynamo-electric machine” should instead be “The dynamo-electric machine.”
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0294816 to Ren et al. (hereinafter Ren).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Ren teaches a dynamo-electric machine (FIG. 1, 10) comprising:
a stator core (FIG. 1, 1) with a plurality of slots (FIG. 1, 3), and
a coil (FIG. 1, 5) including a plurality of conductors covered with an insulating material (FIG. 5, 7),
wherein the coil includes a plurality of coil portions disposed in the slots (FIG. 3; 3, 5) and a plurality of coil end portions disposed outside of the slots (FIG. 3, 6),
wherein the coil end portions have a bent shape and are arranged so that bent portions of the coil end portions are shifted between different phases to form an intersecting portion (Paragraph [0033]-[0036]), and
wherein an insulating material (FIG. 5, 7) is disposed on a surface of the conductors on a same side between the different phases only on a side of the bent shape corresponding to the intersecting portion and only on a surface corresponding to the intersecting portion (Paragraph [0037]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Ren teaches the dynamo-electric machine according to claim 1, wherein each of the conductors is a round wire (FIG. 3, 5).
Regarding claim 5, Ren teaches the dynamo-electric machine according to claim 1, wherein a length of said insulating material is longer than a length of the surface of the conductors (FIG. 5, 8).
Regarding claim 6, Ren teaches the dynamo-electric machine according to claim 5, wherein the insulating material is attached to only one surface of said conductors (Paragraph [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Japanese Patent No. 2012-157225 to Toyota Motor Corp (hereinafter Toyota ‘225; provided by Applicant on 8/7/2023).
Regarding claim 2, Ren teaches the dynamo-electric machine according to claim 1.
Ren does not teach each of the conductors being a flat rectangular wire.
However, Toyota ‘225 teaches conductors being flat rectangular wires (FIG. 4, 224).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dynamo-electric machine of Ren with the flat rectangular wires of Toyota ‘225 as the rectangular wire can have a higher slot fill factor than round wire.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Japanese Patent No. 2004-112974 to Fanuc Ltd (hereinafter Fanuc; provided by Applicant on 8/7/2023).
Regarding claim 4, Ren teaches the dynamo-electric machine according to claim 1.
Ren does not teach a length of said insulating material being the same as a length of the surface of the conductors
However, Fanuc teaches an insulating material (FIG. 3, 11) for a conductor having the same length as the surface of the conductor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dynamo-electric machine of Ren with the insulating material length of Fanuc to use less insulating material and have a more efficient production cost of the machine.
Regarding claim 7, Ren teaches the dynamo-electric machine according to claim 1.
Ren does not teach the insulating materials being further attached to a portion of the conductor in a direction of thickness.
However, Fanuc teaches an insulating material (FIG. 3, 11) being attached to a portion of a conductor (FIG. 3, 2) in a direction of thickness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dynamo-electric machine of Ren with the insulating material coverage of Fanuc to further insulating the coil ends of the machine.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Japanese Patent No. 2016-187245 to Honda Motor Co Ltd (hereinafter Honda; provided by Applicant on 8/7/2023).
Regarding claim 8, Ren teaches the dynamo-electric machine according to claim 1.
Ren does not teach the coil being connected in the storage.
However, Honda teaches a coil (FIG. 1; 11, 12) being connected (FIG. 1, 10) in a stator core (FIG. 1, 21)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dynamo-electric machine of Ren with the connection of Honda as it provides a more physically and electrically secure connection for the coils (Paragraph [0006]-[0007]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Japanese Patent No. 2008-271661 to Toyota Motor Corp (hereinafter Toyota ‘661; provided by Applicant on 8/7/2023).
Regarding claim 10, Ren teaches the dynamo-electric machine according to claim 1.
Ren does not teach the conductors being coated with enamel.
However, Toyota’ 661 teaches conductors being coated with enamel (FIG. 3, 32; Paragraph [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dynamo-electric machine of Ren with the enamel coated conductor wire of Toyota ‘661 as it further protects and electrically insulates the coil and ensures proper operation of the dynamo-electric machine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2005-312222 to Yaskawa discloses an insulating material between coil ends of a machine.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834