DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/9/6 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to claim 1, the Applicant argues that the amended claim 1 distinguishes between pressure differentials and external forces. The Examiner maintains that the amended claim 1 does not distinguish between pressure differentials and external forces, and they are interpreted as equivalent. That the “overlapping portion configured to remain in a sealed state in response to pressure differentials across a body of the implantable conduit” in amended claim 1 is equivalent to Johnson’s effect of the aperture being sealed when the pressure at the exterior is not higher than the pressure at the interior (Johnson [0057]).
With regards to claim 7, the Applicant argues that component 74 of Wijay are distinct from the claimed “overlap elements” because they couple stent elements, rather than “overlap elements that comprise composite membranes”. While Wijay’s overlap elements are connecting stents rather than a composite membrane, they still teach an effective means of coupling overlapping elements together.
With regards to claim 18, the Applicant argues that the pleats in Greenberg are held together with circumferential sutures rather than elongate strips of materials, and therefore it would not be obvious to combine Greenberg with Johnson. Given that both Greenberg and Johnson’s pleats are pleated in the same direction, it is obvious that Johnson’s “elongate strips of material” would be sufficient to keep the pleated/folded portion pleated/folded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10, 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (20150196383).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses an implantable conduit ([0012]; FIG 1A) that is tubular in shape ([0012]) and has an inner lumen ([0012]) and an outer surface ([0012]), the implantable conduit comprising: a plurality of overlap elements (40, 42, 44, 46) including a first overlap element (40) and a second overlap element (42) positioned adjacent the first overlap element (40) to define an adjacent pair of the plurality of overlap elements ([0039]; “partially nested within each other”, ‘A’ in the figure below), the first overlap element (40) overlapping onto the second overlap element (42) to define an overlapping portion ([0057]; “unsupported edge portion 54 of segment 40 is nested within the supported edge portion 56 of segment 42”, ‘B’ in the figure below) between an inward facing surface of the first overlap element and an outward facing surface of the second overlap element ([0057]; “unsupported edge portion 54 of segment 40 is nested within the supported edge portion 56 of segment 42”), the overlapping portion configured to remain in a sealed state in response to pressure differentials across a body of the implantable conduit ([0057], aperture is sealed when the pressure at the exterior is not higher than the pressure at the interior); and a plurality of attachment features (50) comprising elongate strips of material extending in a longitudinal direction along a length of the implantable conduit to couple the first overlap element to the second overlap element ([0044]), wherein the inward facing surface of the first overlap element and the outward facing surface of the second overlap element are separable at the overlapping portion by applying an external force ([0057]; “when the fluid pressure at the exterior of the stent graft 10 is higher than the fluid pressure within the interior of the stent graft 10… fluid flow can occur in a flow channel between the outer periphery of unsupported edge portion 54 and the inner periphery of supported edge portion 56”) to the implantable conduit to open one or more apertures in the overlapping portion between at least two of the plurality of attachment features (50) such that the one or more apertures defines a path (60) between the inner lumen ([0012]) and outer surface ([0012]) of the implantable conduit, the path being sealed absent the external force ([0057]; “when the fluid pressure at the exterior of the stent graft 10 is higher than the fluid pressure within the interior of the stent graft 10”, implies this effect is absent when this pressure is absent).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, wherein the plurality of overlap elements (40, 42, 44, 46) are arranged along a length of the implantable conduit (FIG 1A) and the overlapping portion extends in a circumferential direction (FIG 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, wherein the plurality of overlap elements (40, 42, 44, 46) define a plurality of adjacent pairs of overlap elements (FIG 1A) and a plurality of overlapping portions (FIG 1A), each of the adjacent pairs of overlap elements being separable at a corresponding one of the plurality of overlapping portions to open the one or more apertures that define the path (60) between the inner lumen ([0012]) and the outer surface ([0012]) of the implantable conduit ([0057]).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, wherein the implantable conduit ([0012]; FIG 1A) is configured to close the one or more apertures in the overlapping portion upon removal of the external force ([0057]; “when the fluid pressure at the exterior of the stent graft 10 is higher than the fluid pressure within the interior of the stent graft 10”, implies this effect is absent when this pressure is absent) separating the overlap elements at the overlapping portion to seal the path (60) between the inner lumen ([0012]) and outer surface ([0012]) of the implantable conduit.
Regarding claim 8, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, further comprising a secondary device structure received through the one or more apertures ([0095]; “For example, catheters can be routed through the flow channels”).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of stent elements (20, 22, 24, 26) coupled to the plurality of overlap elements (stent elements 20, 22, 24, 26 are coupled to tubular membranes 30, 32, 34, 36 of overlap elements 40, 42, 44, 46).
Regarding claim 11, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, wherein the plurality of overlap elements are defined by a continuous, helical length of material overlapped edgewise onto itself (FIG 2A, [0073]).
Regarding claim 21, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, wherein the external force imparts a twisting or torsional force on the implantable conduit (the inward facing surface of the first overlap element and the outward facing surface of the second overlap element of Johnson’s implantable conduit are capable of being separated by a twisting or torsional force).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (20150196383).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the attachment features (50) include adhesive material. In an alternative embodiment, Johnson teaches attachment features (550) that include adhesive material ([0111], an FEP layer with adhesive properties when exposed to heat). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson’s Fig. 1A attachment features to include adhesive material, as taught by Johnson’s alternate embodiment, in order to allow for secure connection of the attachment features ([0111]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (20150196383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wijay (6340366).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, wherein the plurality of overlap elements (40, 42, 44, 46) comprise one or more composite membranes defining the body of the implantable conduit ([0028]), but fails to disclose that the attachment features (50) are positioned at circumferentially staggered positions from one another about a circumference of the body of the implantable conduit.
Wijay also discloses an implantable conduit (S) and teaches that attachment features (74) are positioned at circumferentially staggered positions from one another about a circumference of the implantable conduit (FIG 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to include attachment features that are positioned at circumferentially staggered positions from one another about a circumference of the implantable, as taught by Wijay, in order to provide an equivalent means for connecting adjacent components as needed ([0037]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (20150196383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daugherty (EP3067014B1).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the implantable conduit defines a varying diameter. Daugherty also discloses an implantable conduit (700) and teaches the implantable conduit defines a varying diameter (FIG 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson’s implantable conduit to define a varying diameter, as taught by Daugherty, in order to control the mechanical properties of the stent ([0047]).
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (20150196383) in view of Greenberg (20130172984).
Regarding claim 12, Johnson discloses the implantable conduit of claim 1, but fails to disclose that the plurality of overlap elements (40, 42, 44, 46) are defined by a tubular body having a pleated configuration to define a plurality of pleats, the plurality of attachment features coupling the overlap elements in the pleated configuration.
Greenberg also discloses an implantable conduit (114) with overlap elements (138, 140) and teaches that the plurality of overlap elements (138, 140) are defined by a tubular body having a pleated configuration to define a pleat (144, 146, 148) and a plurality of attachment features (sutures 162) coupling the overlap elements in the pleated configuration (Fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to include that the plurality of overlap elements are defined by a tubular body having a pleated configuration to define a plurality of pleats, the plurality of attachment features coupling the overlap elements in the pleated configuration, as taught by Greenberg, in order to prevent leaks between the overlap elements ([0007]).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson as modified by Greenberg discloses the implantable conduit of claim 12, and further wherein the pleats are circumferentially oriented (see Greenberg’s FIG 5), and optionally, wherein the one or more apertures is formed in one of the pleats (see Greenberg’s FIG 6).
Regarding claim 14, Johnson discloses an implantable conduit (FIG 2A or FIG 5) comprising: a tube of flexible material having a length, a first end, and a second end (FIG 2A or FIG 5), the tube formed with multiple overlap elements (252, 254 of 230 or 540, 542, 544, 546) along its length, a plurality of stiffening elements extending in a longitudinal direction along a length of the implantable conduit to reinforce (stent 220, or tape 550 [0110]) the overlap elements so as to resist the overlap elements from unfolding upon application of tension along the length of the tube (see FIG 2A or FIG 5), wherein the tube is configured to be fenestrated within a pleat to provide a side portal along the length of the tube to allow for the introduction of a side branch tube (430) through the portal (FIG 4, [0095]). Johnson fails to disclose a plurality of stiffening elements extending in a longitudinal direction along a length of the implantable conduit, and that the overlap elements form multiple pleats along the length of the tube, wherein the fenestrated pleat is configured to overlap and resist leakage around the side branch tube.
Greenberg also discloses an implantable conduit comprising a tube of flexible material ([0035]) having a length, a first end, and a second end (FIG 5), and teaches the tube formed with overlapping sections (138, 140), wherein the overlapping sections form a pleat (144, 146, 148) configured to be fenestrated (see Fig. 6), wherein the fenestrated pleat is configured to overlap and resist leakage around the side branch tube ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson’s multiple overlap elements to be formed as overlapping sections forming pleats, wherein the fenestrated pleat is configured to overlap and resist leakage around the side branch tube, as taught by Greenberg, in order to prevent leaks between the overlap elements ([0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson as modified by Greenberg discloses the implantable conduit of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the tube includes a radiopaque marker to indicate a point of fenestration. Greenberg further teaches wherein the tube includes a radiopaque marker to indicate a point of fenestration ([0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson to include a radiopaque marker to indicate a point of fenestration, as taught by Greenberg, in order to provide a visual marker for the operator ([0037]).
Regarding claim 16, Johnson as modified by Greenberg discloses the implantable conduit of claim 14, and further discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of stiffening elements comprises a stent element (stent 220).
Regarding claim 17, Johnson as modified by Greenberg discloses the implantable conduit of claim 14, wherein at least one of the plurality of stiffening elements (550) comprises a tape (see [0110]).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson discloses an implantable conduit (FIG 5) comprising: a tube of flexible material having a length, a first end, and a second end (FIG 5), the tube formed with overlap elements (540, 542, 544, 546) along its length, a plurality of longitudinal elements (550) extending in a longitudinal direction along a length of the implantable conduit and attached along the length of the tube to resist the overlap elements from unfolding upon application of tension along the length of the tube ([see Fig. 5 and [0110]), wherein the tube is configured to be fenestrated within a pleat to provide a side portal along the length of the tube to allow for the introduction of a side branch tube (430) through the portal (FIG 4, [0095]). Johnson fails to disclose that the overlap elements form multiple pleats, wherein the fenestrated pleat is configured to overlap and resist leakage around the side branch tube by maintaining the side portal in a sealed state in presence of pressure differentials across a body of the implantable conduit and in absence of external force applies to the implantable conduit.
Greenberg also discloses an implantable conduit comprising a tube of flexible material ([0035]) having a length, a first end, and a second end (FIG 5), and teaches the tube formed with overlapping sections (138, 140), wherein the overlapping sections form a pleat (144, 146, 148) configured to be fenestrated (see FIG 6), and wherein the fenestrated pleat is configured to overlap and resist leakage around the side branch tube ([0007]) by maintaining the side portal in a sealed state in presence of pressure differentials across a body of the implantable conduit and in absence of external force applies to the implantable conduit ([0039], the side portal is only opened by the forced separation from catheter 163). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Johnson’s multiple overlap elements to be formed as overlapping sections forming pleats, wherein the fenestrated pleat is configured to overlap and resist leakage around the side branch tube, as taught by Greenberg, in order to prevent leaks between the overlap elements ([0007]).
Regarding claim 19, Johnson as modified by Greenberg discloses the implantable conduit of claim 18, wherein the longitudinal element (550) comprises at least one spine (see FIG 5).
Regarding claim 20, Johnson as modified by Greenberg discloses the implantable conduit of claim 14, wherein the longitudinal element (550) comprises a tape (see [0110]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700