DETAILED ACTION
The following is an initial Office Action upon examination of the above-identified application on the merits. Claims 1-29 are pending in this application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 371.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner has considered the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7 August 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference number 200 (see page 12 line 15) is not shown in figure 2A.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference number 404 in figure 11 is not mentioned in the description of figure 11.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the specific steps of the method illustrated in figure 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “HVAC block” should be “HVAC device block” (several occurrences), reference characters “301” and “303” have both been used to designate second add-on HVAC block (see page 25 lines 3, 4-5 and 8, 10), and reference number 220 (see page 26 line 9) is not shown figure 10. Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is generally narrative, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. It appears to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: “HVAC block” should be “HVAC device block”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 is objected to because it is unclear if claim 29 is intended to be dependent on claim 1, or if it is meant to be an independent claim reciting the same limitations as claim 1. If claim 29 is dependent on claim 1, then it creates an insufficient antecedent basis for the dependency due to claim 1 being directed to a HVAC field device, while claim 29 is directed to a method that comprises a service device, a first add-on HVAC device block, a first NFC antenna, and a base HVAC device block. If claim 29 is intended to be an independent claim, then the inclusion of the limitations of claim 1 should be made by amending claim 29 to directly recite the desired limitations as disclosed by claim 1 instead of merely referencing the claim. Examiner is interpreting claim 29 as an independent claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the external service device” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the base NFC antenna” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 26, the phrase “such as” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-19, 21-24 and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20150362928 A1 (US 10261530 B2) to SCHMIDLIN et al.
As per claim 1, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference disclose a heating, ventilating and air conditioning (HVAC) field device comprising a plurality of HVAC device blocks (see [0043], “plurality of components, drives 1, 1′, 1″”), the HVAC field device (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) comprising: a base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) comprising: a base housing (see [0050], “housing 1”); an electric motor (“actuator 11”) configured to drive an actuated part (“control element 111”), and/or a sensor (see [0051], “sensor interface 12, sensor 121”) for the measurement of an operational parameter (“detect operating values”) of an HVAC system (“HVAC system 5”); a base control module (see [0052], “control module 15”) connected to the electric motor (“actuator 11”), and/or the sensor (“sensor interface 12”); a base near field communication circuit (NFC) (see [0054], “passive NFC transponder 14”) connected to the base control module (“control module 15”); and a first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) comprising: an add-on housing (“housing 1”); and a first add-on NFC antenna (see [0073], “plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”), wherein the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) and the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) are mechanically connected (see [0047], “communications medium”), and wherein the first add-on NFC antenna (“plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) is electrically connected (see [0053], “inductive coupling”) to the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 2, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference disclose the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) further comprises a base NFC antenna (see [0073], “plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) electrically connected (see [0053], “inductive coupling”) to the base NFC circuit (“passive NFC transponder 14”).
As per claim 3, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference disclose the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) and the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) are connected directly via an electromechanical interface (see [0047], “communications medium”).
As per claim 4, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on HVAC block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) is removably attached (see [0047], “wireless-based media”) or fixedly attached (“cables”) to the base HVAC block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 5, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) is positioned on top or on side (see [0032], “different positions”) of the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 6, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) and the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) are connected (see figure 1) via at least one additional HVAC block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 7, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on NFC antenna (see [0073], “plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) is connected directly (see figure 7 and [0053], “inductive coupling”) to the base NFC circuit (see [0054], “passive NFC transponder 14”).
As per claim 8, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) comprises a first add-on NFC circuit (see [0054], “passive NFC transponder 14”) connected (“communications medium”) to the first add-on NFC antenna (see [0073], “plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”).
As per claim 9, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) comprises a first add-on control module (see [0052], “control module 15”) connected (“communications medium”) to the first add-on NFC circuit (“passive NFC transponder 14”).
As per claim 10, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on control module (“control module 15”) is connected (“communications medium”) to the base control module (“passive NFC transponder 14”).
As per claim 11, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on NFC antenna (“control module 15”) is configured to interact with an NFC antenna (see [0061], “active NFC module 24”) of an external service device (“mobile service device 2”), when located inside a communication range (see [0069], “NFC effective range”) of the external service device (“mobile service device 2”), allowing data exchange (see [0069], “reading and writing data”) between the HVAC field device (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) and the external service device (“mobile service device 2”).
As per claim 12, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the HVAC field device (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) is configured to harvest power (see [0053], “inductive coupling”) from the external service device (“mobile service device 2”) via the first add-on NFC antenna (“active NFC module 24”) and/or the base NFC antenna (“active NFC module 24”).
As per claim 14, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the base NFC circuit (“passive NFC transponder 14”) and/or the first add-on NFC circuit (“passive NFC transponder 14”) comprises a memory (see [0053], “data memory”).
As per claim 15, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses a second add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”), wherein the second add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) is positioned (see figure 1) between the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) and the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) or on the top of the first add-on HVAC device block.
As per claim 16, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the second add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) comprises a second add-on NFC antenna (see [0073], “plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) electrically connected (see [0053], “inductive coupling”) to the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) and/or the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 17, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the second add-on NFC antenna (“plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) is electrically connected (“inductive coupling”) to the base control module (see [0052], “control module 15”) and/or the base NFC circuit (see [0054], “passive NFC transponder 14”).
As per claim 18, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the second add-on HVAC block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) is the electromechanical interface (see [0047], “communications medium”) between the base HVAC block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) and the first add-on HVAC block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 19, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) further comprises a cover (see [0033], “cover”).
As per claim 21, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses a human interaction device (see [0061], “mobile service device 2”), and wherein the first add-on NFC antenna (“plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) is positioned underneath the human interaction device or inside or attached (see [0062], “operative connection 201”) to the human interaction device (“mobile service device 2”).
As per claim 22, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the first add-on NFC antenna (“plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) comprises at least two NFC antennas (“plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) positioned at different sides (see [0073], “different sides”) of the HVAC field device (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 23, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the base NFC antenna (“plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) is positioned in a way that it cannot be accessed (see [0069], “NFC effective range”) via a service device (see [0061], “mobile service device 2”) to establish a communication (see [0073], “must be moved”) or wherein an access to the base NFC antenna is blocked by the first add-on HVAC device block.
As per claim 24, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses the communication range (see [0069], “NFC effective range”) of the first add-on antenna (“NFC transponder”) and/or base NFC antenna (“NFC transponder”) is from 0 to 4 cm (see [0069], “less than 4 cm”).
As per claim 26, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses an HVAC system comprising: the HVAC field device (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) according to claim 1; and an actuated part (“control element 111”), such as a valve (see [0050], “water valve or air valve”) and/or a damper, drivingly connected (“fluid connection 112”) to the electric motor (“actuator 11”) of the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) of the HVAC field device (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 27, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference discloses a method for improving wireless communication between a service device and an HVAC field device comprising a base HVAC device block (see [0043], “drives 1, 1′, 1″”) comprising a base housing (see [0050], “housing 1”), an electric motor (“actuator 11”) configured to drive an actuated part (“control element 111”), and/or a sensor (“sensor interface 12”) for the measurement of an operational parameter (“detect operating values”) of an HVAC system (“HVAC system 5”), a base control module (see [0052], “control module 15”) connected to the electric motor (“actuator 11”), and/or the sensor (“sensor interface 12”); a base near field communication circuit (NFC) (see [0054], “passive NFC transponder 14”) connected to the base control module (“control module 15”), the method comprising: adding an add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) comprising an NFC antenna (see [0073], “plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) to the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) of the HVAC field device (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 28, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference disclose the add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) further comprises a housing (“housing 1”), wherein the method further comprises: mechanically connecting (see [0047], “communications medium”) the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”) and the add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”), and electrically connecting (see [0053], “inductive coupling”) the NFC antenna (“plurality of transponder antennas 149, 148”) to the base HVAC device block (“drives 1, 1′, 1″”).
As per claim 29, the SCHMIDLIN et al. reference disclose a method for configuring the HVAC field device of claim 1, the method comprising: wirelessly transferring configuration information (see [0060], “configuration data”) from a service device (see [0061], “mobile service device 2”) to a first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1”) via a first NFC antenna (“passive NFC transponder”); mechanically (see [0047], “communications medium”) and electrically connecting (see [0053], “inductive coupling”) a first add-on HVAC device block (“drives 1”) to a base HVAC device block (“drives 1”); and configuring the HVAC field device (“drives 1”) based on the received configuration information (“configuration data”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 20 and 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CRYSTAL J BARNES-BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117 12 March 2026