Election/Restrictions
Claims 24-26, 31, 36-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/18/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18-20, 27-30, 32-35, 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demnati (EP 3231894) in view of Harada (US 6129994).
Claims 16:
Demnati teaches a method for applying a primer to a steel substrate before application of enamel [0039]. The primer comprises metal, metal oxides, or metal salts in a solvent [0044] and an inorganic binder [0053-0054].
Demnati does not teach the binder is aluminum oxide-based or titanium oxide based. However, Harada teaches an analogous process for applying an undercoat to steel followed by enamel (abstract). The undercoat comprises a bonding metal or a bonding metal oxide and aluminum oxide or titanium oxide (i.e., the binder) (4:50-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Demnati and use aluminum oxide or titanium oxide as the binder because Harada their inclusion in an undercoat for enamel.
Claims 18-20:
The preferred embodiment includes Molybdenum in metallic, oxide, and salt form [0046-0047].
Claims 27-29:
The primer is applied by wet spraying onto the steel substrate [0069] wherein the primer is an aqueous solution [0068].
Claim 30:
After priming, a drying step is performed prior to enameling [0069].
Claim 32:
The steel substrate is cleaned prior to priming [0011]. This includes degreasing (claim 16).
Claims 34-35, 38-40:
Harada teaches the underlayer has a thickness of 10-750µm (claim 1) and the enamel layer can have a thickness of 1mm or less (Table 1).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demnati (EP 3231894) in view of Harada (US 6129994) in view of Marques (Sol-gel process: an overview).
Previously cited prior art does not explicitly state the applied primer layer is a sol-gel based system. It is noted that the primer system does include inorganic binders of silicates and silica sol added to improve rheology [0054]. However, Marques teaches the sol-gel routes for applying coatings onto substrates using either metal alkoxides or sols that gel (slide 4). There are various advantages to the sol-gel method such as better control of the resulting structure (slide 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Demnati/Harada using the sol-gel method for the reasons explained by Marques.
Claim(s) 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demnati (EP 3231894).
Demnati does not explicitly state the thickness of the primer layer or the enamel layer. It is noted that Demnati does teach the amount of primer applied onto the substrate [0058], which is considered a different measurement for the same property. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to routinely optimize the thickness of the primer layer and the thickness of the enamel layer in the course of determining sufficient thicknesses required to exhibit appropriate levels of adhesion (in the case of the primer) and appropriate levels of protection (in the case of the enamel).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/21/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of co-filed claim amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further search.
Applicant argues the claims 34-35 are not routine optimization and have criticality. The examiner disagrees. Demnati specifically states the purpose of the primer layer is adhesion and the purpose of the enamel layer is protection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that the amount of these material (as represented by layer thickness) directly results in the manifestation of these desirable properties. With respect to criticality, this requires a showing the particular range achieves unexpected results by providing a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range. MPEP 2144.05 III A. This is not provided, but also the cited explanation of the ranges provided from the spec. is nothing more than an explanation of routine optimization (excellent adhesion, cost efficient, etc.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759