DETAILED ACTION
Claim 27 is rejected in Office Action mailed on 04/06/2026.
Applicant filed a response, amended claim(s) 27, and added claim(s) 29-31 on 04/06/2026.
Claim(s) 13-31 are pending, and claim(s) 13-26 and 28 are withdrawn.
Claim(s) 27 and 29-31 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suh et al., Reconfiguring crystal and electronic structures of MoS2 by substitutional doping, Nature Communication, 2018 (Suh).
Regarding claim 27, Suh discloses doping of Nb of MoS2 crystals (Suh, Abstract); the CBED patterns confirm the 2H and 3R stacking for the Nb-doped MoS2 (Suh, page 2, right column, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claims 29-30, as applied to claim 1, given Sun discloses an identical or essential identical material, with identical or essential identical structures, with those of the present invention, i.e., metal doped MoS2 crystals with 2H and 3R stacking, with those of the presently claimed invention (claims 27, specification, [3]), therefore it is clear that the Nb-doped MoS2 of Suh would necessarily and inherently meet the claimed limitations of: wherein in a spectrum of the metal-doped molybdenum sulfide powder obtained by powder X-ray diffraction (XRD) using Cu-Kα rays as an X-ray source, both a peak at about 39.5° and a peak at about 49.5° include a synthetic peak of the 2H crystal structure and the 3R crystal structure, and a half width is 1° or more; and wherein in a radial distribution function obtained from an extended X-ray absorption fine structure (EXAFS) spectrum of a K absorption edge of molybdenum, a ratio (I/II) of peak intensity I caused by Mo-S to peak intensity II caused by Mo-Mo is more than 1.0.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiong et al., CN 111558383A (Xiong).
The examiner has provided a machine translation of Xiong et al., CN 111558383A (Xiong). The citation of the prior art set forth below refers to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 27, Xiong discloses transition metal doped 3R type molybdenum disulfide catalyst (Xiong, Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong.
Regarding claim 31, as applied to claim 27, Xiong teaches the obtained transition metal doped molybdenum disulfide catalyst has a 3 R-type crystal structure, further has a larger specific surface area, so as to improve the active number in the catalytic hydrodeoxygenation reaction (Xiong, page 3, 3rd paragraph).
Although there are no disclosures on the amounts of specific surface area as presently claimed, it has long been an axiom of United States patent law that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of result-effective variables by routine experimentation. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) ("[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) ("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."). "Only if the 'results of optimizing a variable' are 'unexpectedly good' can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620 (CCPA 1977)).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts of specific surface area, including over the amounts presently claimed, in order to improve the active number in the catalytic hydrodeoxygenation reaction, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Furthermore, although there is no disclosure that the test method is conformity with BET method, given that the Xiong discloses specific surface area as the presently claimed and absent evidence criticality how the specific surface area is measured, it is an examiner's position that specific surface area disclosed by Xiong to meet the claim limitation.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amended claim 27, which recites, “wherein the metal-doped molybdenum sulfide powder contains molybdenum disulfide having a 3R crystal structure”, it is noted that Aslan would not anticipate/meet the present claims. Therefore, the previous 35 U.S.C. 102a(1)/103 rejections over Aslan are withdrawn from the record. However, the amendments necessitate a new set of rejections over Suh and Xiong, as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732