Claims 1-14 are pending this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner notes that no Information Disclosure Statement has been filed. As a reminder, Applicants and other individuals substantially involved with the preparation and/or prosecution of the application have a duty to disclose to the office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR §1.56.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-14 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). According to the rules the claims should not be examined on their merits. However, in order to advance prosecution, the Examiner has used his discretion to examine the claims with the expectation that in response to this office action Applicants will n\make appropriate corrections consistent with US practice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2020/0281856). The reference teaches sustained-release injection containing escitalopram and method for preparing same. The claims read on the Examples 1-3 and claims 1-4.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dancer et al. (WO2006/136169). The reference teaches crystalline escitalopram, escitalopram hydrobromide, liberation of the free base and crystallization of the base in Example 2.
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 7, 8, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable independently over Shin et al. (US 2020/0281856). The reference teaches sustained-release injection containing escitalopram and method for preparing same. The use of the drug is known. The claims differ by requiring a sustained release injectable pharmaceutical dosage form comprising escitalopram base which is an oil (claim 3), wherein the excipient is glycolic acid or acetic acid (claim 5), wherein the solvent is NMP or DMSO (claim 7) and wherein the administration results in steady state plasma levels of at least 20 ng/ml within five days (claim 13) and for at least 21 days (claim 14). However, selection of appropriate bases and excipients are routine to one skilled in the art. The skilled artisan would be motivated to select any base, excipient or solvent including the common one’s instant claimed and arrive at the instant claims because the skilled artisan knows of the equivalence of these.
The reference is silent on the plasma levels of escitalopram. However, this is no more than routine measurements.
November 13, 2025
/BRUCK KIFLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624