Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on pages 8-11, filed 1/20/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 10, 12-13, 15-16, 19-20, 24, 26-27, 31 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230319708 to Ma et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al (independent claims 1 and 31); and in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210378018 to Jang et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al (independent claim 15). See updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230319708 to Ma et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al.
Referring to claim 1, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 a method for sending information, performed by a terminal (terminal device), comprising:
Determining a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) ... in response to at least one of: the terminal having a first type of terminal capability (not in reference; claim requires “at least one of” the limitations), or the terminal being a first type of terminal (device type), wherein the first access message comprises Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages in a random access process. Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or a Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. For example: the network device indicates, by using MIB, a Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type; after receiving the MIB, the terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and sends Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource; the network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource. For another example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH, the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type. For another example: a standard predefines that the terminal device reports the device type in MsgA. So, the terminal device determines any one of the random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) based on, for example, the MIB from the network device which indicates a Msg1 for a device type, the PBCH from the network device which indicates a Msg3 for a device type, or predefined standard which indicates a MsgA for a device type. So, the terminal device can use both Msg1 and Msg3 messages to transmit terminal information to BS.
… sending terminal information … wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device). Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0167: The terminal device sends the first feature information to the network device via a Msg3; the first feature information may be a bandwidth of the terminal device, or a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device, or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. For example: the network device indicates, by using MIB, a Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type; after receiving the MIB, the terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and sends Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource; the network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource. For another example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH, the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type. So: if terminal device sends Msg1 to the network device based on a device type, terminal device sends terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device) via Msg1; and if terminal device sends Msg3 to the network device based on a device type, terminal device sends terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device) via Msg3. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Liu et al do not disclose … determining a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages supported by the terminal in response to at least one of: the terminal having a first type of terminal capability, or the terminal being a first type of terminal … Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. So, the terminal device determines any one of the random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) based on, for example, the MIB from the network device which indicates a Msg1 for a device type, the PBCH from the network device which indicates a Msg3 for a device type, or predefined standard which indicates a MsgA for a device type. The terminal device must support the plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) so that terminal device can determine the random access message corresponding to the device type for reporting information to the network device. However, Liu et al do not specifically disclose that the plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) are the claimed “supported by the terminal”.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0294 and 0298 wherein UE supports transmission of random access messages Msg1, Msg3, and MsgA. UE can use both Msg1 and Msg3 messages (claimed “the first access message comprises Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages in a random access process”). By applying Ma et al to Liu et al: since Ma et al disclose that UE supports both Msg1 and Msg3, UE of Liu et al also support both Msg1 and Msg3 and use both Msg1 and Msg3 to send terminal information to BS. Refer to Sections 0102-0523. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … determining a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages supported by the terminal in response to at least one of: the terminal having a first type of terminal capability, or the terminal being a first type of terminal … One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can use random access messages Msg1, Msg3, and MsgA for random access procedures.
Liu et al and Ma et al do not disclose … for a single terminal information report, sending terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages, wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information or channel state information of the terminal.
Dai et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0077, 0112, and 0113 wherein UE transmits a MsgA to BS, wherein MsgA includes some or all the information from Msg1 and Msg3 and MsgA includes Msg1 and Msg3 multiplexed together (claimed “for a single terminal information report, sending terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages”). UE can report reduced capabilities via Msg1 or Msg3, or indicate its capability for low-SE MCS table using Msg1 or Msg3 (claimed “terminal capability information”). UE can also transmit a CSI report in Msg3 (claimed “channel state information”). Refer to Sections 0032-0139. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … for a single terminal information report, sending terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages, wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information or channel state information of the terminal. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can transmit terminal capability information or channel state information of Msg1 and Msg3 using a single report, thereby simplifying the system and saving bandwidth.
Referring to claim 2, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein the plurality of random access messages at least comprise the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages (any one of Msg1 or Msg3). Sections 0057 and 0172: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1 or Msg3 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. So, the terminal device determines any one of the random access messages (Msg1 or Msg3) based on, for example, the MIB from the network device which indicates a Msg1 for a device type, the PBCH from the network device which indicates a Msg3 for a device type, or predefined standard which indicates a MsgA for a device type. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Referring to claim 5, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein sending the terminal information … comprises:
Determining first information (device type) in response to the first random access message comprising the Msg.1 message (Msg1 corresponds to a device type), wherein the first information comprises at least one of a terminal capability (not in reference; claim requires “at least one of” the limitations), a terminal type (device type) or a channel state value of the terminal (not in reference; claim requires “at least one of” the limitations), and Msg.1 message comprises a plurality of transmission resources (Msg1 resources; there are a plurality of Msg1 resources since “the network device indicates, by using MIB, at least one Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type”; Section 0072) for representing the terminal information. Section 0172: “For example, the network device indicates, by using MIB, at least one Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type.”. The terminal device determines a device type in response to Msg1 corresponding to the device type, wherein the Msg1 comprises a plurality of Msg1 resources.
Determining a transmission resource corresponding to the first information based on a correspondence between the first information (device type) and the transmission resource. Section 0172: “After receiving the MIB, the terminal device may determine a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and send Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource.”. The terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the device type and the corresponding Msg1 resource.
Sending the terminal information based on the transmission resource. Section 0172: “After receiving the MIB, the terminal device may determine a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and send Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource. The network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource.”. Section 0167: The terminal device sends Msg1 to the network device based on a device type. The terminal device sends terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device) via Msg1. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Liu et al and Ma et al do not disclose … wherein sending the terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages comprises: …
Dai et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0077, 0112, and 0113 wherein UE transmits a MsgA to BS, wherein MsgA includes some or all the information from Msg1 and Msg3 and MsgA includes Msg1 and Msg3 multiplexed together. Refer to Sections 0032-0139. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein sending the terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages comprises: … One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can transmit terminal capability information or channel state information of Msg1 and Msg3 using a single report, thereby simplifying the system and saving bandwidth.
Referring to claim 6, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein sending the terminal information … comprises: sending the terminal information based on the Msg.3 message in response to the first random access message comprising the Msg.3 message. For example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH, the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Liu et al and Ma et al do not disclose … wherein sending the terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages comprises: …
Dai et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0077, 0112, and 0113 wherein UE transmits a MsgA to BS, wherein MsgA includes some or all the information from Msg1 and Msg3 and MsgA includes Msg1 and Msg3 multiplexed together. Refer to Sections 0032-0139. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein sending the terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages comprises: … One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can transmit terminal capability information or channel state information of Msg1 and Msg3 using a single report, thereby simplifying the system and saving bandwidth.
Referring to claim 31, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 a device (terminal device) for reporting information, comprising:
A processor (processor 1520).
A memory (memory of Figure 15) for storing instructions executable by the processor (processor 1520 executes instructions stored in memory of Figure 15 to perform terminal device functions).
Wherein the processor is configured to:
Determine a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) ... in response to at least one of: the terminal having a first type of terminal capability (not in reference; claim requires “at least one of” the limitations), or the terminal being a first type of terminal (device type), wherein the first access message comprises Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages in a random access process. Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or a Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. For example: the network device indicates, by using MIB, a Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type; after receiving the MIB, the terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and sends Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource; the network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource. For another example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH, the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type. For another example: a standard predefines that the terminal device reports the device type in MsgA. So, the terminal device determines any one of the random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) based on, for example, the MIB from the network device which indicates a Msg1 for a device type, the PBCH from the network device which indicates a Msg3 for a device type, or predefined standard which indicates a MsgA for a device type. So, the terminal device can use both Msg1 and Msg3 messages to transmit terminal information to BS.
… send terminal information … wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device). Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0167: The terminal device sends the first feature information to the network device via a Msg3; the first feature information may be a bandwidth of the terminal device, or a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device, or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. For example: the network device indicates, by using MIB, a Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type; after receiving the MIB, the terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and sends Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource; the network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource. For another example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH, the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type. So: if terminal device sends Msg1 to the network device based on a device type, terminal device sends terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device) via Msg1; and if terminal device sends Msg3 to the network device based on a device type, terminal device sends terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device) via Msg3. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Liu et al do not disclose … determine a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages supported by the terminal in response to at least one of: the terminal having a first type of terminal capability, or the terminal being a first type of terminal … Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. So, the terminal device determines any one of the random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) based on, for example, the MIB from the network device which indicates a Msg1 for a device type, the PBCH from the network device which indicates a Msg3 for a device type, or predefined standard which indicates a MsgA for a device type. The terminal device must support the plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) so that terminal device can determine the random access message corresponding to the device type for reporting information to the network device. However, Liu et al do not specifically disclose that the plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) are the claimed “supported by the terminal”.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0294 and 0298 wherein UE supports transmission of random access messages Msg1, Msg3, and MsgA. UE can use both Msg1 and Msg3 messages (claimed “the first access message comprises Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages in a random access process”). By applying Ma et al to Liu et al: since Ma et al disclose that UE supports both Msg1 and Msg3, UE of Liu et al also support both Msg1 and Msg3 and use both Msg1 and Msg3 to send terminal information to BS. Refer to Sections 0102-0523. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … determine a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages supported by the terminal in response to at least one of: the terminal having a first type of terminal capability, or the terminal being a first type of terminal … One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can use random access messages Msg1, Msg3, and MsgA for random access procedures.
Liu et al and Ma et al do not disclose … for a single terminal information report, send terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages, wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information or channel state information of the terminal.
Dai et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0077, 0112, and 0113 wherein UE transmits a MsgA to BS, wherein MsgA includes some or all the information from Msg1 and Msg3 and MsgA includes Msg1 and Msg3 multiplexed together (claimed “for a single terminal information report, send terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages”). UE can report reduced capabilities via Msg1 or Msg3, or indicate its capability for low-SE MCS table using Msg1 or Msg3 (claimed “terminal capability information”). UE can also transmit a CSI report in Msg3 (claimed “channel state information”). Refer to Sections 0032-0139. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … for a single terminal information report, send terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages, wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information or channel state information of the terminal. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can transmit terminal capability information or channel state information of Msg1 and Msg3 using a single report, thereby simplifying the system and saving bandwidth.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230319708 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230127485 to Sun et al.
Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein determining the first random access message from the plurality of random access messages supported by the terminal comprises:
Obtaining a first indication message (for example, MIB or PBCH), wherein the first indication message is configured to indicate Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages through which the terminal sends the terminal information.
Determining the first random access message based on the first indication message. Section 0172: The terminal device may determine a specific indication manner of indicating the device type to the network device based on a message from the network device. For example: the network device indicates, by using MIB (claimed “first indication message”), a Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type; after receiving the MIB, the terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type (claimed “determining the first random access message based on the first indication message”), and sends Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource; the network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource. For another example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH (claimed “first indication message”), the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type.
Wherein obtaining the first indication message comprises: obtaining the first indication message based on a bit (Section 0171: the network device indicates the terminal device in a MIB or PBCH; indication information is indicated by at least one bit: for example, when two device types need to be indicated, one bit may be used for indication and when three or four device types need to be indicated, two bits may be used for indication); or obtaining the first indication message based on a configuration of a PRACH (not in reference; claim is in “or” form”). Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Liu et al, Ma et al, and Dai et al do not disclose wherein obtaining the first indication message comprises: obtaining the first indication message based on a preconfigured information field; or obtaining the first indication message based on a configuration of a PRACH.
Sun et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Section 0108 wherein a MIB contains information fields comprising bits that carry system parameters. Refer to Sections 0042-0178. By applying Sun et al to Liu et al: the network device of Liu et al indicates the terminal device in a bits of a MIB, and the bits are in an information field of the MIB, as disclosed by Sun et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein obtaining the first indication message comprises: obtaining the first indication message based on a preconfigured information field; or obtaining the first indication message based on a configuration of a PRACH (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so since a MIB has information fields comprising bits to carry system parameters.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230319708 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20220346174 to Wang et al.
Liu et al, Ma et al, and Dai et al do not disclose wherein the transmission resource comprises at least one of: an initial BWP; a PRACH transmission time; a transmission frequency; or a preamble. Liu et al only disclose in Sections 0134, 0137, 0143, 0166, and 0167 wherein resources can be frequency domain resources and in Sections 0116, 0119, 0120, and 0171 the use of random access preambles.
Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Sections 0111, 0112, 0143, and 0144 wherein random access resources, for the transmission of Msg1, Msg3, and MsgA, include a transmission frequency and random access preambles. Refer to Sections 0098-0514. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the transmission resource comprises at least one of: an initial BWP (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form); a PRACH transmission time (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form); a transmission frequency; or a preamble. One would have been motivated to do so since random access resources can be a transmission frequency and preambles for transmission of random access messages.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230319708 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20210385896 to Kim et al.
Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein the terminal capability information comprises at least one of:
A number of receiving antennas (quantity of receive antenna). Section 0167: The terminal device may send the first feature information to the network device via a Msg3; the first feature information may be a bandwidth of the terminal device, or a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device, or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device.
A transmitting and receiving bandwidth (not in reference; claim only requires “at least one of” limitations; Liu et al disclose in Sections 0121, 0137, 0140, 0167, and 0168 that the first feature can be a bandwidth of the terminal device, but do not disclose the claimed “transmitting and receiving” bandwidth).
A duplex mode of the terminal (Sections 0137 and 0150; the first feature can be a duplex manner of the terminal device).
Or a modulation mode supported by the terminal (not in reference; claim only requires “at least one of” limitations). Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
…
…
…
Liu et al, Ma et al, and Dai et al do not disclose … wherein the channel state information of the terminal comprises at least one of: a reference signal reception strength; or a signal-to-noise interference ratio. Liu et al only disclose in Sections 0137 wherein channel state information includes a reference signal received power value, an index of a reference signal received power range, a reference signal received quality value, or an index of a reference signal received quality range.
Kim et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0181, 0186, 0208, 0211 wherein channel state information includes reference signal reception strength and SINR. Refer to Sections 0042-0250. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the channel state information of the terminal comprises at least one of: a reference signal reception strength; or a signal-to-noise interference ratio. One would have been motivated to do so since channel state information includes reference signal reception strength and SINR to characterize channels to improve communication quality.
Claims 15-16, 19-20, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210378018 to Jang et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al.
Referring to claim 15, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 a method for receiving information, performed by a network device, comprising:
Determining a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) ... in response to at least one of: the terminal having a first type of terminal capability (not in reference; claim requires “at least one of” the limitations), or the terminal being a first type of terminal (device type), wherein the first access message comprises Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages in a random access process. Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or a Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. For example: the network device indicates, by using MIB, a Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type; after receiving the MIB, the terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and sends Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource; the network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource. For another example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH, the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type. For another example: a standard predefines that the terminal device reports the device type in MsgA. So, the terminal device determines any one of the random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) based on, for example, the MIB from the network device which indicates a Msg1 for a device type, the PBCH from the network device which indicates a Msg3 for a device type, or predefined standard which indicates a MsgA for a device type. So, the terminal device can use both Msg1 and Msg3 messages to transmit terminal information to BS.
… receiving terminal information … wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device). Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0167: The terminal device sends the first feature information to the network device via a Msg3; the first feature information may be a bandwidth of the terminal device, or a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device, or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. For example: the network device indicates, by using MIB, a Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type; after receiving the MIB, the terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and sends Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource; the network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource. For another example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH, the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type. So: if terminal device sends Msg1 to the network device based on a device type, terminal device sends terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device) via Msg1; and if terminal device sends Msg3 to the network device based on a device type, terminal device sends terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device) via Msg3. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Liu et al do not disclose … determining a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages supported by the network device in response to at least one of: a terminal having a first type of terminal capability, or a terminal being a first type of terminal... Section 0057: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. Section 0172: An indication manner in which the terminal device indicates the device type to the network device includes a Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5 carrying UE capability information. So, the terminal device determines any one of the random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) based on, for example, the MIB from the network device which indicates a Msg1 for a device type, the PBCH from the network device which indicates a Msg3 for a device type, or predefined standard which indicates a MsgA for a device type. The network device must support the plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) so that the network device can determine the random access message corresponding to the device type for the terminal device to report information to the network device. However, Liu et al do not specifically disclose that the plurality of random access messages (Msg1, Msg3, MsgA, or Msg5) are the claimed “supported by the network device”.
Jang et al disclose in Figures 1A-2I and Sections 0089-0091, 0106, 01176, and 0186 wherein BS can support Msg1 and Msg3. Also, Section 0186 discloses wherein “Msg1 and Msg3 may be simultaneously transmitted”. Refer to Sections 0028-0222. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … determining a first random access message from a plurality of random access messages supported by the network device in response to at least one of: a terminal having a first type of terminal capability, or a terminal being a first type of terminal... One would have been motivated to do so so that BS can use random access messages Msg1 and Msg3 for random access procedures.
Liu et al and Jang et al do not disclose … for a single terminal information report, receiving terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages, wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information or channel state information of the terminal.
Dai et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0077, 0112, and 0113 wherein UE transmits a MsgA to BS, wherein MsgA includes some or all the information from Msg1 and Msg3 and MsgA includes Msg1 and Msg3 multiplexed together (claimed “for a single terminal information report, receiving terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages”). UE can report reduced capabilities via Msg1 or Msg3, or indicate its capability for low-SE MCS table using Msg1 or Msg3 (claimed “terminal capability information”). UE can also transmit a CSI report in Msg3 (claimed “channel state information”). Refer to Sections 0032-0139. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … for a single terminal information report, receiving terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages, wherein the terminal information comprises at least one of terminal capability information or channel state information of the terminal. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can transmit terminal capability information or channel state information of Msg1 and Msg3 using a single report, thereby simplifying the system and saving bandwidth.
Referring to claim 16, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein the plurality of random access messages at least comprise the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages (Msg1 or Msg3). Sections 0057 and 0172: the terminal device indicates a device type of the terminal device to a network device via a Msg1 or Msg3 that carries terminal device capability information in a random access procedure. So, the terminal device determines Msg1 or Msg3 based on, for example, the MIB from the network device which indicates a Msg1 for a device type or the PBCH from the network device which indicates a Msg3 for a device type. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Referring to claim 19, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein first information (device type) is determined in response to the first random access message comprising the Msg.1 message (for example, Msg1 corresponds to a device type), wherein the first information comprises at least one of a terminal capability (not in reference; claim requires “at least one of” the limitations), a terminal type (device type) or a channel state value of the terminal (not in reference; claim requires “at least one of” the limitations), and the Msg.1 message comprises a plurality of transmission resources (Msg1 resources; there are a plurality of Msg1 resources since “the network device indicates, by using MIB, at least one Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type”; Section 0072) for representing the terminal information. Section 0172: “For example, the network device indicates, by using MIB, at least one Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type.”. The terminal device determines a device type in response to Msg1 corresponding to the device type, wherein the Msg1 comprises a plurality of Msg1 resources.
Determining a transmission resource corresponding to the first information based on a correspondence between the first information (device type) and the transmission resource. Section 0172: “After receiving the MIB, the terminal device may determine a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and send Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource.”. The terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the device type and the corresponding Msg1 resource.
Receiving the terminal information based on the transmission resource. Section 0172: “After receiving the MIB, the terminal device may determine a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and send Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource. The network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource.”. Section 0167: The terminal device sends Msg1 to the network device based on a device type. The terminal device sends terminal capability information (a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device) or channel state information of the terminal (a bandwidth of the terminal device) via Msg1. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Referring to claim 20, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein receiving the terminal information … comprises : receiving the terminal information based on the Msg.3 message in response to the first random access message comprising the Msg.3 message. For example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH, the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type. Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Liu et al and Jang et al do not disclose … wherein receiving the terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages comprises: …
Dai et al disclose in Figures 1-19 and Sections 0077, 0112, and 0113 wherein UE transmits a MsgA to BS, wherein MsgA includes some or all the information from Msg1 and Msg3 and MsgA includes Msg1 and Msg3 multiplexed together. Refer to Sections 0032-0139. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein receiving the terminal information using both the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages comprises: … One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can transmit terminal capability information or channel state information of Msg1 and Msg3 using a single report, thereby simplifying the system and saving bandwidth.
Referring to claim 33, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 a device (network device) for receiving information, comprising:
A processor (processing unit 16011).
A memory (storage unit 16012) for storing instructions executable by the processor.
Wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 15 (processing unit 16011 executes instructions stored storage unit 16012 to perform network device functions). Refer to the rejection of claim 15.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210378018 to Jang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230127485 to Sun et al.
Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein determining the first random access message from the plurality of random access messages supported by the network device comprises:
Sending a first indication message (for example, MIB or PBCH), wherein the first indication message is configured to indicate the Msg.1 and Msg.3 messages through which the terminal reports the terminal information. Section 0172: The terminal device may determine a specific indication manner of indicating the device type to the network device based on a message from the network device. For example: the network device indicates, by using MIB (claimed “first indication message”), a Msg1 resource corresponding to at least one device type; after receiving the MIB, the terminal device determines a corresponding Msg1 resource based on the MIB and the device type, and sends Msg1 to the network device based on the corresponding Msg1 resource; the network device identifies the corresponding device type based on the Msg1 resource. For another example: the network device indicates, by using a PBCH (claimed “first indication message”), the terminal device to use one bit in Msg3 message to report the device type.
Wherein sending the first indication message comprises: sending the first indication message based on a bit (Section 0171: the network device indicates the terminal device in a MIB or PBCH; indication information is indicated by at least one bit: for example, when two device types need to be indicated, one bit may be used for indication and when three or four device types need to be indicated, two bits may be used for indication); or sending the first indication message based on a PRACH (not in reference; claim is in “or” form”). Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
Liu et al, Jang et al, and Dai et al do not disclose wherein sending the first indication message comprises: sending the first indication message based on a preconfigured information field; or sending the first indication message based on a PRACH.
Sun et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Section 0108 wherein a MIB contains information fields comprising bits that carry system parameters. Refer to Sections 0042-0178. By applying Sun et al to Liu et al: the network device of Liu et al indicates the terminal device in a bits of a MIB, and the bits are in an information field of the MIB, as disclosed by Sun et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein sending the first indication message comprises: sending the first indication message based on a preconfigured information field; or sending the first indication message based on a PRACH. (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so since a MIB has information fields comprising bits to carry system parameters.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210378018 to Jang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20220346174 to Wang et al.
Liu et al, Jang et al, and Dai et al do not disclose wherein the transmission resource comprises at least one of: an initial BWP; a PRACH transmission time; a transmission frequency; or a preamble. Liu et al only disclose in Sections 0134, 0137, 0143, 0166, and 0167 wherein resources can be frequency domain resources and in Sections 0116, 0119, 0120, and 0171 the use of random access preambles.
Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Sections 0111, 0112, 0143, and 0144 wherein random access resources, for the transmission of Msg1, Msg3, and MsgA, include a transmission frequency and random access preambles. Refer to Sections 0098-0514. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the transmission resource comprises at least one of: an initial BWP (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form); a PRACH transmission time (not in reference; claim is in “at least one of” form); a transmission frequency; or a preamble. One would have been motivated to do so since random access resources can be a transmission frequency and preambles for transmission of random access messages.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20230262724 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210378018 to Jang et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269778 to Dai et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20210385896 to Kim et al.
Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-16 wherein the terminal capability information comprises at least one of:
A number of receiving antennas (quantity of receive antenna). Section 0167: The terminal device may send the first feature information to the network device via a Msg3; the first feature information may be a bandwidth of the terminal device, or a quantity of transmit antennas of the terminal device, or a quantity of receive antennas of the terminal device.
A transmitting and receiving bandwidth (not in reference; claim only requires “at least one of” limitations; Liu et al disclose in Sections 0121, 0137, 0140, 0167, and 0168 that the first feature can be a bandwidth of the terminal device, but do not disclose the claimed “transmitting and receiving” bandwidth).
A duplex mode of the terminal (Sections 0137 and 0150; the first feature can be a duplex manner of the terminal device).
Or a modulation mode supported by the terminal (not in reference; claim only requires “at least one of” limitations). Refer to Sections 0111-0345.
…
…
…
Liu et al, Jang et al, and Dai do not disclose … wherein the channel state information of the terminal comprises at least one of: a reference signal reception strength; or a signal-to-noise interference ratio. Liu et al only disclose in Sections 0137 wherein channel state information includes a reference signal received power value, an index of a reference signal received power range, a reference signal received quality value, or an index of a reference signal received quality range.
Kim et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0181, 0186, 0208, 0211 wherein channel state information includes reference signal reception strength and SINR. Refer to Sections 0042-0250. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein the channel state information of the terminal comprises at least one of: a reference signal reception strength; or a signal-to-noise interference ratio. One would have been motivated to do so since channel state information includes reference signal reception strength and SINR to characterize channels to improve communication quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20130294363 to Feng et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0112-0117 wherein an access network device determines the type of a terminal according to a dedicated message during terminal random access; an eNB can judge the type of UE according to Msg3. Refer to Sections 0033-0140.
U.S. Publication No. 20190082451 to Yun et al disclose in Figures 1-17 and Sections 0094-0099 BS acquires the supplementary uplink capability of the terminal based on the random access Msg1, Msg3, or Msg5 from the terminal, and may determine the uplink primary component carrier to inform the terminal of the determined result. Refer to Sections 0037-0118.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
April 22, 2026