Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 11/26/2024 and 08/08/2023.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 11-18 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 03/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KYUNGPOOK (KR 20200087722A).
Regarding claim 1, KYUNGPOOK teaches cross linked carboxymethyl dextran polymers that form a hydrogel (abstract). A fluorescent material and contrast material is added (claim 12). This reads on a hydrogel formed by crosslinking a first dextran polymer and a second dextran polymer, wherein the hydrogel is loaded with a fluorescent dye and a contrast material since the instant claim does not specify the two polymers must be different, just that two must be present and crosslinked.
Regarding claim 9, the intended use of “labeling lung lesions” in the composition claims is met by the prior art, because the prior art compositions would be at least capable of performing said use.
Regarding claim 10, Note, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) KYUNGPOOK teaches the composition of instant claim 1 and there is no evidence on the record that the method of making recited in claim 10 has effects on the final product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KYUNGPOOK (KR 20200087722A) in view of HIEMTSRA (Rapidly in Situ-Forming Degradable Hydrogels from Dextran Thiols through Michael Addition. Biomacromolecules. 2007.).
KYUNGPOOK teaches Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, KYUNGPOOK does not teach substituting the dextran polymers with vinyl sulfone groups and thiol groups.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, HIEMSTRA teaches a dextran polymer hydrogel that substitutes with thiol and vinyl sulfone groups (abstract). This allowed for an elastic hydrogel that rapidly form in situ under physiological conditions, had adjustable degradation times to match a particular biomedical application, and can allow incorporation of other bioactive molecules such as proteins and peptides (page 1555, paragraph 4).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate substituting the dextran polymer with thiol and vinyl sulfone groups. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it results in an elastic hydrogel that rapidly form in situ under physiological conditions, has adjustable degradation times to match a particular biomedical application, and can allow incorporation of other bioactive molecules such as proteins and peptides, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as dextran polymer hydrogels for biomedical purposes.
Regarding claims 3 and 19, The reference does not specifically teach the percentage of vinyl sulfone and thiol substitutions as claimed by the Applicant. The percentage of vinyl sulfone and thiol substitutions is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of the ordinary skill to determine the optimal percentage of vinyl sulfone and thiol substitutions in order to best achieve desired results, such as adjustable degradation times to match a particular biomedical application, and a suitable amount of locations for incorporation of other bioactive molecules such as proteins and peptides, since both of these benefits are correlated to the amount of substitution present on the dextran polymers. Thus, absent of some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of the percentage of vinyl sulfone and thiol substitutions would have been obvious at the time of Applicant’s invention.
Claims 1-5, 8-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KYUNGPOOK (KR 20200087722A) and HIEMSTRA (Rapidly in Situ-Forming Degradable Hydrogels from Dextran Thiols through Michael Addition. Biomacromolecules. 2007.) in view of LEE (Indocyanine green-loaded injectable alginate hydrogel as a marker for precision cancer surgery. Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery. 2020.).
KYUNGPOOK and HIEMSTRA teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above, including KYUNGPOOK teaching adding a fluorescent material (claim 12).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 8, KYUNGPOOK and HIEMSTRA do not teach adding a cyanine based fluorescent dye.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 8, LEE teaches hydrogels that are loading with indocyanine green (ICG) (abstract), which is a cyanine-based fluorescent dye. This allowed imaging of specified parts of the body for biological sites of interest (abstract). 1.5 mg of ICG was dissolved in 3mL of DI water and then 1 mL of that solution was added to 42.89 of hydrogel, which equals 0.011 mg/mL of ICG is present tin the composition (page 780, paragraph 6).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate ICG. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it allows imaging of specified parts of the body for diagnostic/medical purposes, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as hydrogels with imaging components for biomedical purposes and KYUNGPOOK teaches that a fluorescent material is added to the composition.
Claims 1-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KYUNGPOOK (KR 20200087722A), HIEMSTRA (Rapidly in Situ-Forming Degradable Hydrogels from Dextran Thiols through Michael Addition. Biomacromolecules. 2007.) and LEE (Indocyanine green-loaded injectable alginate hydrogel as a marker for precision cancer surgery. Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery. 2020.) in view of HOHN (US 10,098,972 B2).
KYUNGPOOK, HIEMSTRA and LEE teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above, including KYUNGPOOK teaching adding a contrast material (claim 12).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, KYUNGPOOK, HIEMSTRA and LEE do not teach adding an iodized oil,
Regarding claim 6, HOHN teaches adding Lipiodol, which is an iodized oil, to a hydrogel as a contrast agent (Column 7, paragraph 10), which allows for imaging of the composition.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate Lipiodol. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it allows for the composition to be imaged, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as hydrogels that comprise imaging components for biomedical purposes. Furthermore, KYUNGPOOK teaches adding a contrast agent the composition.
Regarding claim 7, the reference does not specifically teach the concentration of Lipiodol as claimed by the Applicant. The concentration of Lipiodol is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of the ordinary skill to determine the optimal concentration of Lipiodol in order to best achieve desired results, such as having enough Lipiodol to produce a clear image. Thus, absent of some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of the concentration of Lipiodol would have been obvious at the time of Applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618