DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10-14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Rear (US 2003/0191199) in view of De Klerk (US 10,011,789).
The claims are drawn to a process for producing a hydrogen carbon product boiling in the gasoline boiling range, the process comprising the steps of:
O’Rear teaches a process and plant for producing a hydrocarbon product boiling in the gasoline boiling range, wherein the process comprises first, converting a feed comprising CO2 and H2 into synthesis gas (CO and H2), by conducting a reverse water gas shift process; introducing the synthesis gas into a Fischer-Tropsch reactor to produce a Fischer-Tropsch product and CO2; at least a portion of the CO2 from the Fischer-Tropsch reactor is fed to at least one stream being fed to the synthesis gas formation reactor. Additionally, naphtha is obtained from the Fischer-Tropsch process and fed to a naphtha reformer, thereby generating hydrogen by-product and C6 to C10 product. A portion of the hydrogen by-product is fed into the feed stream, converting at least a portion of the CO2 into addition CO that is converted into hydrocarbons in the Fischer-Tropsch reactor (abstract).
The naphtha reforming process (aromatization) may be a conventional process using a catalyst comprising at least one of platinum, alumina, a halogen, rhenium, iridium, or mixtures thereof. Or, the naphtha reforming process may be a non-acidic zeolitic reforming process, such as the AROMAX® process, which typically uses a non-acidic zeolite, such as an L-type zeolite (0030-0031). The AROMAX® process is typically conducted at temperatures above 555°F (above 290°C) and pressures below 800 psi (below 55 bar).
Hydrogen produced in the naphtha reforming process often contains C2+ hydrocarbons, so it is preferable to process the hydrogen in a pre-reformer ahead of the main naphtha reformer, in order to convert C2+ hydrocarbons into synthesis gas, methane, and water, in order to avoid coking that may occur in the reforming reactor. Steam methane reforming processes utilizing a pre-reformer typically includes an adiabatic pre-reforming reactor containing a highly active nickel catalyst, to reform heavier hydrocarbons in the feedstock (0038-0040).
The hydrogen by-product generated during naphtha reforming can also be used for processes such as hydrotreating a portion of the C5+ product to remove olefins, oxygenates (hydrodeoxygenation), and other trace heteroatoms (0042). It is preferable to use hydrogen from naphtha reforming, but it may also be desirable to use hydrogen from other sources. Therefore, the hydrogen generated during naphtha reforming may be supplemented with hydrogen from alternative sources.
The primary difference between the present invention and O’Rear is that the latter teaches a non-acidic zeolite for the naphtha reforming process, while the instant process uses an acidic zeolite having the MFI structure, specifically, Ni-ZSM-5.
However, De Klerk teaches a Fischer-Tropsch process, wherein during the naphtha aromatizing step, a metal-promoted H-ZSM-5 zeolite is used. De Klerk teaches that the metal can be nickel, or zinc, when using ZSM-5 (col. 4, lines 1-55).
In view of the combined reference teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the L-type zeolite taught in the naphtha reforming process used by O’Rear, with a ZSM-5 zeolite taught by De Klerk, specifically when reforming heavier hydrocarbons, as De Klerk teaches aromatizing of C2 to C8 hydrocarbons using the ZSM-5 type of zeolite.
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 15 is drawn to a plant for producing a hydrocarbon product boiling in the gasoline boiling range. O’Rear teaches a similar plant, comprising a synthesis gas producing section, comprising a reverse water gas shift unit, a Fischer-Topsch reactor with hydroprocessing section, and an aromatization reactor. However, O’Rear does not teach or suggest a plant having a water (steam) electrolysis unit as part of the synthesis gas producing section, as required by the instant claim.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692