Applicant’s filing of claims 1-20 on 8/8/23 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/8/23 was acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name Matrigel. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the matrix and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 12-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (“Nam,” US Pub. No. 2015/0101070, cited in IDS).
As to claims 1 and 12, Nam teaches a method of performing cancer-immune cell co-culture (e.g., [0018] et seq.), comprising: applying an anchoring layer to a micropillar chip (Each 60 nl of 0.01% poly-L-lysine (Sigma-Aldrich, US) was discharged onto the ends of the micropillar using a microarray spotter, [0062] et seq.); preparing a composition including a plurality of cancer cells (cancer cells isolated from tumor tissues of a brain glioblastoma patient were mixed into hydrogel, [0030] et seq.); spotting an amount of the composition on the anchoring layer of a plurality of micropillars on the micropillar chip (and then subjected to three-dimensional culture onto a micropillar, [0030] et seq.); and incubating the composition on the micropillar chip (three-dimensional cultured cancer cells, [0030] et seq.), wherein the plurality of cancer cells is from a cancer cell line, primary cells from a tumor, or combinations thereof (e.g., [0030] et seq.); applying growth medium to a plurality of microwells of a microwell chip, wherein the plurality of micropillars are configured to fit within the plurality of microwells (e.g., [0065] et seq.); immersing the spheroids in the growth medium; applying one or more treatments against the plurality of cancer cells to the microwells (e.g., [0069] et seq.); and identifying the effect of the one or more treatments on the plurality of cells, wherein the anchoring layer includes polydopamine, polylysine, fibronectin, laminin, collagen, or combinations thereof, and wherein the plurality of cancer cells is from a cancer cell line, primary cells from a tumor, or combinations thereof (e.g., [0061] et seq.).
As to claim 3, see e.g., [0030] et seq.
As to claim 4, see e.g., [0039] et seq.
As to claim 6, see e.g., [0062] et seq.
As to claims 7 and 8, see e.g., [0021] et seq.
As to claim 9, see e.g., [0061] et seq.
As to claims 13-15, see e.g., [0030] et seq.
As to claims 17 and 18, see e.g., [0021] et seq.
As to claim 19, Nam teaches a chip system comprising: a micropillar chip and a microwell chip, the micropillar chip including a plurality of micropillars configured to fit within corresponding microwells on the microwell chip; an anchoring layer on at least a portion of the micropillars; an amount of a hydrogel composition on the anchoring layer, the hydrogel composition including: a matrix including Matrigel, alginate, collagen, peptides, or combinations thereof, and a concentration of cells between about 1×10.sup.5 cells/mL and about 1×10.sup.9 cells/mL composition, wherein the amount of the hydrogel composition is between about 60 nL and about 500 nL, wherein the anchoring layer includes polydopamine, polylysine, fibronectin, laminin, collagen, or combinations thereof, and wherein the cells are from a cancer cell line, primary cells from a tumor, or combinations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Orr et al. (“Orr,” US Pub. No. 2015/0247112, cited in IDS).
See Nam above.
As to claim 2, while Nam teaches applying a medium to microwells of a microwell chip; immersing the plurality of micropillars in the medium on the microwell chip to facilitate co-culture of the cancer cells and the immune cells; and identifying a cytotoxic effect of the medium on the cancer cells (e.g., [0065] et seq.), Nam does not specifically teach a cell culture including a concentration of immune cells. Orr teaches a cell culture including a concentration of immune cells in e.g., [0009] et seq. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a cell culture including a concentration of immune cells because it would be desirable to include components that would allow for continuous monitoring and measurement of the growth of a cell culture (e.g., [0044] et seq. of Orr).
As to claim 10, Nam does not specifically teach the immune cells include lymphocytes, monocytes, macrophages, peripheral blood mononuclear cells, dendritic cells. Orr teaches a three-dimensional environment containing one or more non-cancer cell types such epithelial cells, fibroblast, adipocytes, endothelial cells, macrophages, T-cells, B-cells in e.g., [0009] et seq. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include immune cells include lymphocytes, monocytes, macrophages, peripheral blood mononuclear cells, dendritic cells because having such cell types would enhance the method of assessing responsiveness to therapeutic agents (e.g., [0009] of Orr).
As to claim 11, Nam teaches the medium further includes one or more treatments, the treatments including a concentration of antibodies, a concentration of therapeutic small molecules in e.g., [0065] et seq.
Claims 5, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Lee et al. (“Lee,” US Pub. No. 2013/0184182, cited in IDS).
See Nam above.
As to claims 5, 16 and 20, Nam does not specifically teach one or more extracellular matrix proteins including fibronectin, laminin. Lee teaches fixing material 120 is not particularly limited but may include, for example, polyethyleneimine, polylysine, polyvinylamine, polyarylamine, fibronectin, gelatin, collagen, elastine, laminin, or the like in e.g., [0038] et seq. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include one or more extracellular matrix proteins including fibronectin because such fixing materials may be formed on the protruded surfaces of the micro-pillars in order to fix the biomaterials to the protruded surfaces (e.g., [0038] of Lee).
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
3/7/2026