Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0252967 Ercole et al.
As to claims 1, 6-9, 11-13, Ercole discloses a polyol composition containing fillers or pigments (0104) used in a curable polyurethane comprising polyols represented by the following formulas:
In admixture with 1,4-butanediol and a polycaprolactone diol with a molecular weight of 1,000 (0230, Examples 4-14).
As to claims 2-5, Ercole discloses a polyurethane polymer derived from the polyol component that is used as an adhesive between aluminum strips (0021-0024, Figures 4-7). Ercole discloses adhesive properties (Figures 6-7). Ercole is silent with respect to the claimed properties, however, the reference teaches the same reaction components used within amounts taught by the instant specification. Accordingly, the properties relating to adhesive would be inherently present.
As to claim 14, Ercole discloses reacting the polyol composition with a polyisocyanate (See Examples 4-14).
As to claims 17-18, Ercole discloses a two-component composition comprising a polyol composition containing fillers or pigments (0104) used in a curable (0209, 0232) polyurethane by reaction with a second component comprising a polyisocyanate comprising polyols represented by the following formulas:
In admixture with 1,4-butanediol and a polycaprolactone diol with a molecular weight of 1,000 (0230, Examples 4-14). Ercole discloses the polyurethane polymer is used as an adhesive between aluminum strips (0021-0024, Figures 4-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0252967 Ercole et al.
As to claims 2-5, Ercole discloses a polyol composition containing fillers or pigments (0104) used in a curable polyurethane comprising polyols represented by the following formulas:
In admixture with 1,4-butanediol and a polycaprolactone diol with a molecular weight of 1,000 (0230, Examples 4-14). Ercole discloses a polyurethane polymer derived from the polyol component that is used as an adhesive between aluminum strips (0021-0024, Figures 4-7). Ercole discloses adhesive properties (Figures 6-7). Ercole is silent with respect to the claimed properties. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed ingredients. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. adhesive properties and hardness properties would implicitly be achieved by a composite with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicants’ position; and (2) it would the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0252967 Ercole et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0309207 to Kang et al.
As to claim 15, Ercole discloses a polyol composition containing fillers or pigments (0104) used in a curable polyurethane comprising polyols represented by the following formulas:
In admixture with 1,4-butanediol and a polycaprolactone diol with a molecular weight of 1,000 (0230, Examples 4-14). Ercole discloses a polyurethane polymer derived from the polyol component that is used as an adhesive between aluminum strips (0021-0024, Figures 4-7). Ercole discloses adhesive properties (Figures 6-7).
Ercole does not expressly disclose the claimed fillers.
However, the claimed fillers including aluminum nitride or boron nitride within polyurethane adhesives was known at the time of filing. This is support by Kang (0036-0040).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the fillers taught in Kang to the composition of Ercole to obtain desired physical properties of the adhesive and provide improved insulation (0037).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763