DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Species I and Sub-species I1, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 05/31/2024 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse and made final (MPEP § 818.03(a)). Accordingly, claims 17 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-16 and 18 are currently under examination on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “[Formula 1] should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the numbers in the figures and tables are not clearly presented. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the combined subject matter of claims 1-16 and 18 of copending Application No.18/276352. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combined subject matter of the conflicting claims form the subject matter recited in the presently examined claims. Specifically, a curable composition comprising a polyol compound and a filler which is capable of forming a cured body having adhesion force as claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-16 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the combined subject matter of claims 1-17 and 19 of copending Application No.18/283574. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combined subject matter of the conflicting claims form the subject matter recited in the presently examined claims. Specifically, a curable composition comprising a polyol compound and a filler which is capable of forming a cured body having adhesion force as claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-16 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the combined subject matter of claims 1-16 and 18 of copending Application No.18/276352. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combined subject matter of the conflicting claims form the subject matter recited in the presently examined claims. Specifically, a curable composition comprising a polyol compound and a filler which is capable of forming a cured body having adhesion force as claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-16 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the combined subject matter of claims 1-13 and 15 of copending Application No.18/283113. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combined subject matter of the conflicting claims form the subject matter recited in the presently examined claims. Specifically, a curable composition comprising a polyol compound and a filler which is capable of forming a cured body having adhesion force as claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ercole et al (US 2012/0252967, of record, ‘967 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-14, ‘967 discloses a curable polyurethane composition comprising a polyol having a substituent satisfying Formula 1 as in present claim 5, which also satisfying present claims 4 and 6-9 (see chemical formula in Fig. 2, [0008]-[0010], [0028]-[0036], [0069]-[0074], [0124], [0127]) and filler or pigment ([0104]). The composition also comprises a polyol having no linear or branched hydrocarbon group having 3 or more carbon atoms satisfying present claims 10-13 ([0075]), and a polyisocyanate satisfying present claim 14 ([0101]-[0103], Examples). ‘967 does not expressly set for that the curable composition is capable of forming a cured body having adhesin force and shore hardness as presently claimed, however, since ‘967 discloses a curable composition being substantially identical to the curable composition as presently claimed, it is reasonable to expect that the curable composition of ‘967 would have possessed the same properties including presently claimed adhesion strength and shore hardness, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary (See MPEP 2112).
Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ercole et al (US 2012/0252967, of record, ‘967 hereafter) in view of Fujimoto et al (JP 5535529B2, ‘529 hereafter).
Regarding claims 15-16 and 18, ‘967 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but ‘967 does not discloses that the curable composition includes a plasticizer and a specific filler as recited in the present claim16, However, in the same filed of endeavor, ‘529 discloses a curable polyurethane composition comprising a of a polyol and a polyisocyanate ([0015]-[0028]) and a filler being alumina, aluminum nitride, boron nitride or the like to provide heat dissipation ([0029]) and a plasticizer to adjust viscosity of the composition ([0041]-[0042]. In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the filler and plasticizer as taught by ‘529, to modify the curable polyurethane composition of ‘967, in order to render the polyurethane composition having desired heat dissipation properties and lower viscosity to facilitate its application on a substrate. ‘529 also discloses that the curable polyurethane composition can be used to produce a product having heat generating component ([0051]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782