DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 106-120 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 8/8/23.
The instant application comprises 1 independent claim and the invention relates a pharmaceutical combination comprising a phosphoinositide-3-kinase (PI3K) inhibitor and a PD-L1/TGFβ dual inhibitor wherein the PI3K inhibitor comprises (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one. The specification in p. 73 discloses the compound recited in claim 119 is tenalisib or RP6530 or CN401.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 8/8/23, 7/8/24 and 5/13/25 have been acknowledged.
4. The oath filed on 8/8//23 has been acknowledged.
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
6. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an CN202110184081.5 filed on 2/10/21.
8. Claims 106-119 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed “pharmaceutical combination” is not either process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. For examining purpose, the combination would be interpreted as “composition”.
10. Claims 117 and 120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 117 recites an improper Markush group. Claim should recite “selected from the group consisting of A, B and C” and claim 117 is missing a conjunction.
Regarding claim 120, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Further, claim 120 recites the limitation "composition” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim 106. Claim 106 recites “combination”.
12. Claims 106-120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, there is insufficient written description to demonstrate that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of PI3K inhibitor or PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors, PD-L1 antibody comprising CDRs set forth in SEQ ID:1-3 comprising amino acid substitutions, additions, eliminations, PD-L1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:4 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99% sequence identity, TGFβ inhibitor set forth in SEQ ID NO:6 comprising at least 85%, or one or more amino acid addition, substitution, additions, or functionally active fragment thereof, linker set forth in SEQ ID NO:5 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99% or dual PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitor set forth in SEQ ID NO:7 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99%, or hydrates or prodrugs of compound (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one.
The guidelines of the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, §1 “Written Description” Requirement make clear that if a claimed genus does not show actual reduction to practice for a representative number of species, then the Requirement may be alternatively met by reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicant was in possession of the genus (Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001, see specially page 1106 column 3, MPEP2163).
In The Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412) 19 F.3d 1559, the court held that disclosure of a single member of a genus (rat insulin) did not provide adequate written support for the claimed genus (all mammalian insulins). In this same case, the court also noted:
A definition by function, as we have previously indicated, does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the genus does, rather than what it is. See Fiers, 984F. 2d at 1169-71, 25 USPQ2d at 1605-06 (discussing Amgen). It is only a definition of a useful result rather than a definition of what achieves that result. Many such genes may achieve that result. The description requirement of the patent statue requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder 736 F.2d 1516,1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does “little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.”). Accordingly, naming the type of material generally known to exist, in the absence of knowledge as to what that material consist of, is not a description of that material”.
The court has further stated that “Adequate written description requires a precise definition such as by structure, formula, chemical name or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention”. Id. At 1566, 43 USPQ2d at 1404 (quoting at 1171, 25 USPQ2d at 1606). Also see (CAFC2002). Enzo-Biochem v. Gen-Probe Fiers, 984 F.2d 01-1230.
The instant claims are drawn to combinations of genus of PI3K inhibitor or PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors, PD-L1 antibody comprising CDRs set forth in SEQ ID:1-3 comprising amino acid substitutions, additions, eliminations, PD-L1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:4 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99% sequence identity, TGFβ inhibitor set forth in SEQ ID NO:6 comprising at least 85%, or one or more amino acid addition, substitution, additions, or functionally active fragment thereof, linker set forth in SEQ ID NO:5 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99% or dual PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitor set forth in SEQ ID NO:7 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99%, or hydrates or prodrugs of compound (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one. Thus, claims would encompass structurally unrelated proteins, small molecules, DNA or RNA or antibodies. There is no art recognized correlation between structure and function of such classes of the molecules associated with exhibiting the claimed specific functions PI3K inhibitor or PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors. For example, the specification discloses tumor reduction activities of combination of PI3K inhibitor and PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors with CN202 and CN401 (note p. 83-93). The instant specification does not disclose a correlation between structure defined by “genus of PI3K inhibitor or PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors, PD-L1 antibody comprising CDRs set forth in SEQ ID:1-3 comprising amino acid substitutions, additions, eliminations, PD-L1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:4 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99% sequence identity, TGFβ inhibitor set forth in SEQ ID NO:6 comprising at least 85%, or one or more amino acid addition, substitution, additions, or functionally active fragment thereof, linker set forth in SEQ ID NO:5 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99% or dual PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitor set forth in SEQ ID NO:7 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99%, or hydrates or prodrugs of compound (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one”. Further, the disclosed species are not sufficiently representative of the huge genus encompassed by the present claims. Thus, one of skilled in the art would conclude that the specification fails to provide adequate written description to demonstrate that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of the claimed pharmaceutical compositions. See Eli Lilly, 119 F, 3d 1559, 43, USPQ2d, 1398.
13. Claims 106-120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a combination comprising PI3K inhibitor and PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors, wherein the PI3K inhibitor is (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one or tenalisib and PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors is SEQ iD NO:7 does not reasonably provide enablement for more.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use of the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The specification does not enable one of skill in the art to practice the invention as claimed without undue experimentation. Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required to practice the claimed invention are summarized In re Wands (858 F2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir.1988)). The factors most relevant to this rejection are the scope of the claim, the amount of direction or guidance provided, the lack of sufficient working examples, the unpredictability in the art and the amount of experimentation required to enable one of the skilled in the art to practice the claimed invention.
There is insufficient guidance in the specification as filed as to how the skilled artisan would make and use the genus of PI3K inhibitor or PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors, PD-L1 antibody comprising CDRs set forth in SEQ ID:1-3 comprising amino acid substitutions, additions, eliminations, PD-L1 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:4 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99% sequence identity, TGFβ inhibitor set forth in SEQ ID NO:6 comprising at least 85%, or one or more amino acid addition, substitution, additions, or functionally active fragment thereof, linker set forth in SEQ ID NO:5 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99% or dual PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitor set forth in SEQ ID NO:7 comprising at least 85%, 90%, 95% or 99%, or hydrates or prodrugs of compound (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one”. Further, the instant specification fails to disclose how to reduce tumor comprising any other genus of PI3K inhibitor or PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors than (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one or tenalisib and PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors is SEQ ID NO:7.
Examples 1-4 show how to reduce tumor growth with (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one or tenalisib and PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors is SEQ iD NO:7 but no other studies have done with functional fragments, unguided amino acid modifications or less than 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1-7 and a hydrates and prodrugs of tenalisib. The instant specification fails to show the studies encompassing the combinations of functional fragments, unguided amino acid modifications or less than 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1-7 and a hydrates and prodrugs of tenalisib.
As such, the reduction of tumor growth effect tenalisib and PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors is SEQ iD NO:7 cannot be extrapolated to any combinations of functional fragments, unguided amino acid modifications or less than 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1-7 and a hydrates and prodrugs of tenalisib.
To summarize, reasonable correlation must exist between the scope of the claims and scope of the enablement set forth. In view or the quantity of experimentation necessary, the limited working example, the unpredictability of the art, the lack of sufficient guidance in the specification, and the breath of the claims, it would take undue trials and errors to practice the claimed invention.
16. Claims 106-120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat 9,790,224 in view of U.S. Pub.2017/0022273.
The ‘224 patent teaches compositions comprising (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one or tenalisib in the presence of paclitaxel (col. 7-10, examples). The compound (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one or tenalisib is PI3L δγ inhibitor (col. 5). Further, the ‘224 patent teaches administering antibodies that bind growth factor or receptors thereof (col. 7). The cancers include lymphomas or leukemias (claims 1-32).
The disclosure of the ‘224 patent differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors or PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-7 as in claims 106-120 of the instant application.
The ‘273 publication teaches addition of PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors set forth in SEQ ID NO:4 (note MEDI4736 reads on PD-L1 antibody) and 90% sequence identical to SEQ ID NO:7 (note SEQ ID NO:63-67) (p. 21-22) in treatment of leukemias and lymphomas (claims). The ‘273 publication teaches the use of other chemotherapeutic agent such as paclitaxel in the cancer treatment ([187-196]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors in the forms of antibody as in the ‘273 publication in the composition of (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one or tenalisib taught by the ‘224 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the addition PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors in combination cancer therapy would be more effective. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form third composition that is to be used for very same purpose; idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. IN re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, CCPA 1980 See MPEP 2144.06.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
18. Claims 106-120 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness- type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8, 10-12 of U.S. Application Number 17/761127 in view of U.S. Pat. 9,790,224.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘127 application recites a PD-L1/TGFβ antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:4.
The claims of the ‘127 application differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the combination of PI3K inhibitor set forth in claims 106-120 of the instant application.
The teachings of the ‘224 patent have been discussed, supra.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a composition of (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one or tenalisib taught by the ‘224 patent in the antibody for PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors in the forms of antibody in the ‘127 application.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the addition PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors in combination cancer therapy would be more effective. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form third composition that is to be used for very same purpose; idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. IN re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, CCPA 1980 See MPEP 2144.06.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
19. Claims 106-120 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness- type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Application Number 17/784617 in view of U.S. Pat. 9,790,224.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘617 application recites a PD-L1/TGFβ antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:4.
The claims of the ‘617 application differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the combination of PI3K inhibitor set forth in claims 106-120 of the instant application.
The teachings of the ‘224 patent have been discussed, supra.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a composition of (S)-2-(1-9H-purin-6-ylamino) propyl group)-3-(3-fluorophenyl)—4H-chromen - - 4- one or tenalisib taught by the ‘224 patent in the antibody for PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors in the forms of antibody in the ‘617 application.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the addition PD-L1/TGFβ inhibitors in combination cancer therapy would be more effective. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form third composition that is to be used for very same purpose; idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. IN re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069, CCPA 1980 See MPEP 2144.06.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
20. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
January 30, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641