DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on 6/18/2026. In particular, claim 1 has been amended to recite the species of polyfunctional monomer present. This presents the claims in a manner with a scope not previously examined. Thus, the following action is properly made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo (CN 112126389). As the CN document is not in English, citations are to the attached translation.
Luo teaches a block copolymer formed by reacting styrene and acrylonitrile followed by reacting butyl acrylate, ethyl acrylate, and ethylene glycol dimethacrylate (¶54). This forms a block copolymer having styrene in one block and a polyfunctional monomer in a second block. Luo teaches 10 pbw styrene, 2.5 pbw acrylonitrile in a first block (corresponding to claimed block A), 45 pbw butyl acrylate, 15 pbw ethyl acrylate, 5 pbw of acrylic acid, 5 pbw hydroxyethyl acrylate, 5 pbw acrylonitrile, 0.2 pbw ethylene glycol dimethacrylate in a second block (corresponding to claimed block B), and a third block having 10 pbw styrene, 2.5 pbw acrylonitrile. This corresponds to the copolymer having 12.5 mass% block A and 75.2 mass% block B. Styrene meets the monomer that when polymerized has a Tg of 80˚C or higher.
Luo does not explicitly recite the tensile strength after immersion at 130˚C for 30 minutes. However, Luo teaches a block copolymer having the same structural features as claimed, notably, a styrene containing block and a butyl acrylate/polyfunctional monomer containing block. Each copolymer in the instant specification with these features contains the claimed property. Copolymers that do not have the claimed property have butadiene monomers in block B. Because the copolymers of Luo have the same structural features as the copolymers in the instant examples, including a styrene block and a butyl acrylate/polyfunctional monomer block, the copolymers of Luo have physical properties that meet the instant claims, including the tensile strength after immersion at 130˚C for 30 minutes.
Luo teaches block copolymer has a molecular weight of 200,000 (Table 1, translated here)
12.5 mass% of 200,000 is 25,000 which corresponds to the molecular weight of the first polystyrene block and meets claim 3. While Luo does not state that it is the number average molecular weight, one of ordinary skill in the art would have instantly envisaged the number average molecular weight as there is a finite number of species of molecular weights, number average, weight average, and z average.
As mentioned above, Luo teaches 45 pbw butyl acrylate, 15 pbw ethyl acrylate, 5 pbw of acrylic acid, 5 pbw hydroxyethyl acrylate, 5 pbw acrylonitrile, 0.2 pbw ethylene glycol dimethacrylate in a second block, which gives 0.2 pbw polyfunctional monomer per 75.2 parts of the block. This corresponds to about 0.27 mass% of block B and meets claim 5.
While Luo does not explicitly recite “for immersion molded body”, this is a statement of intended use. Case law holds that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02, In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case, the copolymer of Luo is capable of being used in immersion molding and there is no structural information provided in the intended use of “for immersion molded body”.
Luo does not teach a vulcanizing agent and accelerator are present, meaning their content is 0 mass%. This amount meets the range of claim 12. Luo teaches the composition is used to form shaped pellets (¶77) which are a molded body and meet claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 recites the copolymer latex contains 20-100 mass% toluene insoluble content.
Luo teaches the block copolymer is used as a latex (¶ 33-35, 50) which meets claim 7 which has a solid content of 45% (Table 1). However, as the copolymer is present in water, this appears to be the solid content in water, which does not correspond to the toluene insoluble content of claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764