DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/9/25, 10/11/24, 8/8/23 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings were received on 8/8/23. These drawings are acceptable. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 15, 23, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claims 15 and 29: The claims recite the limitation "the two plate-shaped metal members constituting the stacked structure." However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claims. The claims previously recite "a multi-layer structure." It is unclear whether "the stacked structure" is intended to refer back to the "multi-layer structure" or if it introduces a new, undefined element. Applicant should amend the claims to provide proper antecedent basis (e.g., by changing "the stacked structure" to "the multi-layer structure"). Regarding Claim 23: The claim recites "the adhesive or the grease". However, Claim 23 depends from Claim 15, which does not recite an adhesive or a grease, leaving the terms without proper antecedent basis. It appears Applicant intended for Claim 23 to depend from Claim 22, which introduces "an adhesive or grease." Regarding the preamble and transition of Claims 15 and 29: The phrasing of the claims renders the structural relationships of the elements unclear. For example, Claim 15 reads: "A plurality of square-shaped battery cells disposed side by side so that two side surfaces face each other, a cooling structure between the battery cells adjacent to each other, the cooling structure between the battery cells comprising, formed, between the adjacent battery cells, of plate-shaped metal members..." The use of run-on sentence fragments, comma splices, and lack of a clear subject-verb relationship obscures the boundaries of the claimed invention. Applicant should amend the claims to clearly delineate the preamble from the body of the claim and ensure the structural connections between the cells, the cooling structure, and the metal members are grammatically distinct. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 15, 19, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108598625 A (hereinafter "Zhang"). As to Claim 15: Zhang discloses: a plurality of square-shaped battery cells disposed side by side so that two side surfaces face each other (a "battery system... comprising a base 1... The specific selection of the cell shape is the rectangle or round" and "multiple single batteries are respectively inserted between each pair of heat conducting plate on the base," Page 3, lines 18-28; see also "three-unit cell 5 are inserted on the base 1 each between the heat-conducting plate 2," Page 5, lines 7-9); a cooling structure between the battery cells adjacent to each other (a "barrier device" where "between each pair of heat conducting plates 2 is respectively provided with a block plate 3," Page 4, lines 12-15); the cooling structure between the battery cells comprising, formed, between the adjacent battery cells, of plate-shaped metal members each having a thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more and a thickness of 0.3 mm or more, and being in thermal contact with the respective facing side surfaces of the adjacent battery cells (Zhang discloses "heat-conducting plate 2 is made of copper or aluminum material, and the heat conducting plate 2 of the heat conductivity coefficient is not less than 180 W/m K, and the heat conducting plate 2 is 2 mm 3 mm in thickness," Page 4, lines 21-23; and "two side of each block 5 of the single battery are respectively tightly matched with each pair of heat conducting plates 2," Page 5, lines 9-11); and a heat insulating layer disposed between the plate-shaped metal members in thermal contact with the respective facing side surfaces of the adjacent battery cells, and having at least either a heat insulating member or a gas layer having a thermal conductivity of 1.0 W/m-K or less and a thickness of 0.5 mm or more (Zhang discloses a "clapboard 3" where "between each pair of heat conducting plates 2 is respectively provided with a block plate 3... tightly," Page 4, lines 13-16; and "clapboard 3 the nano-solid material with low coefficient of heat conductivity, coefficient of heat conductivity not more than 0.05 W/m*K barrier plate 3 thickness is 1.5 mm to 2 mm," Page 5, lines 1-3); a multi-layer structure of battery cell/plate-shaped metal member/heat insulating layer/plate-shaped metal member/battery cell (Zhang teaches a structure of battery (5) / heat conducting plate (2) / clapboard (3) / heat conducting plate (2) / battery (5): "multiple single batteries are respectively inserted between each pair of heat conducting plate... between each pair of heat conducting plates 2 is respectively provided with a block plate 3," Page 3, lines 24-26 and Page 4, lines 12-15); the cooling structure further comprising a cooling member being in thermal contact with the plurality of respective square-shaped battery cells, or being present in a vicinity of the plurality of respective square-shaped battery cells, wherein: at least one end portion of each of the plate-shaped metal members is in thermal contact with the cooling member (Zhang discloses a "base 1" where "heat conducting plate welding... on the surface of the base 1," Page 4, lines 10-12; and "heat transmitted to the base through each pair of heat conduction plates, by the base [to the] environment," Page 3, lines 28-30); and a thickness ratio of plate-shaped metal member/heat insulating layer/plate-shaped metal member is 1.0:0.2 to 4.0:1.0 (Zhang teaches metal plates of "2 mm 3 mm in thickness" [Page 4, lines 21-23] and a clapboard of "1.5 mm to 2 mm" [Page 5, lines 1-3]. An exemplary configuration of 2 mm metal plates and a 2 mm clapboard yields a ratio of 1.0:1.0:1.0, and an exemplary configuration of 3 mm metal plates and a 1.5 mm clapboard yields a ratio of 1.0:0.5:1.0, both of which fall within the claimed range). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the two plate-shaped metal members constituting the stacked structure are exactly the same in thermal conductivity and thickness. Zhang leaves open the possibility that a pair of plates could consist of, for example, a 2 mm copper plate on one side and a 3 mm aluminum plate on the other side. Selecting identical thicknesses and materials from the narrow ranges disclosed by Zhang (2-3 mm thickness, copper or aluminum material) for both plates in the pair is a matter of routine engineering optimization. In battery module design, asymmetric cooling on opposing faces of a battery cell creates undesirable thermal gradients across the cell, which degrades battery performance and reduces the lifespan of the cell. To ensure balanced, uniform heat dissipation from both facing side surfaces of the battery cell to the cooling base, a person having ordinary skill in the art would naturally configure the opposing heat conducting plates to possess symmetrical thermal transfer properties. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the pair of heat conducting plates in Zhang to be the same in thermal conductivity and thickness, because doing so merely involves selecting identical values from the limited ranges already explicitly disclosed in the prior art (e.g., selecting 2 mm copper for both plates) to achieve the predictable and desired result of uniform cooling across the battery cell. As to Claim 19: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (as mapped in the rejection for Claim 15). Regarding the specific limitations of Claim 19, Zhang discloses that a thickness of the plate-shaped metal member is 0.5 mm or more (Zhang discloses "the heat conducting plate 2 is 2 mm 3 mm in thickness," Page 4, lines 21-23); and a thickness of the heat insulating layer is 1.0 mm or more (Zhang discloses "barrier plate 3 thickness is 1.5 mm to 2 mm," Page 5, lines 1-3). As to Claim 26: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15. Regarding the specific limitations of Claim 26, Zhang discloses wherein a material of the plate-shaped metal member is at least any of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, copper, and a copper alloy (Zhang discloses "heat-conducting plate 2 is made of copper or aluminum material," Page 4, lines 21-22). As to Claim 27: Zhang discloses a battery module comprising the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (Zhang discloses a "Battery System" comprising "multiple single batteries" and the cooling "barrier device" structure, which corresponds to the claimed battery module, Page 3, lines 18-28). As to Claim 28: Zhang discloses a battery pack comprising the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (Zhang discloses a "Battery System" comprising a base, plates, and multiple batteries, which corresponds to the claimed battery pack, Page 3, lines 18-28). As to Claim 29: Zhang discloses: a cooling structure between a plurality of square-shaped battery cells disposed side by side so that two side surfaces face each other (Zhang discloses "multiple single batteries are respectively inserted between each pair of heat conducting plate," and the cell shape is "rectangle," Page 3, lines 18-28); the battery cells adjacent to each other, the cooling structure between the battery cells and formed between the adjacent battery cells (Zhang discloses a "barrier device" placed between the batteries, Page 4, lines 12-15); comprising: plate-shaped metal members each having a thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more and a thickness of 0.3 mm or more, and being in thermal contact with the respective facing side surfaces of the adjacent battery cells (Zhang discloses "heat-conducting plate 2 is made of copper or aluminum material... heat conductivity coefficient is not less than 180 W/m K, and the heat conducting plate 2 is 2 mm 3 mm in thickness," Page 4, lines 21-23; plates are "tightly matched" with the battery sides, Page 5, lines 9-11); and a heat insulating layer disposed between the plate-shaped metal members in thermal contact with the respective facing side surfaces of the adjacent battery cells, and having at least either a heat insulating member or a gas layer having a thermal conductivity of 1.0 W/m-K or less and a thickness of 0.5 mm or more (Zhang discloses "between each pair of heat conducting plates 2 is respectively provided with a block plate 3," Page 4, lines 12-15; block plate 3 has "coefficient of heat conductivity not more than 0.05 W/m*K" and "thickness is 1.5 mm to 2 mm," Page 5, lines 1-3); a multi-layer structure of battery cell/plate-shaped metal member/heat insulating layer/plate-shaped metal member/battery cell (Zhang teaches the structure: battery / heat conducting plate / block plate / heat conducting plate / battery, Page 3, lines 24-26 and Page 4, lines 12-15); the cooling structure further comprising a cooling member being in thermal contact with the plurality of respective square-shaped battery cells, or being present in a vicinity of the plurality of respective square-shaped battery cells, wherein: at least one end portion of each of the plate-shaped metal members is in thermal contact with the cooling member (Zhang discloses a "base 1" where the heat conducting plates are "welding... on the surface of the base 1," Page 4, lines 10-12); and a thickness ratio of plate-shaped metal member/heat insulating layer/plate-shaped metal member is 1.0:0.2 to 4.0:1.0 (Zhang teaches plates of 2-3 mm and insulator of 1.5-2 mm; a ratio of 2mm:2mm:2mm is 1.0:1.0:1.0, which is within the claimed range, Page 4, lines 21-23 and Page 5, lines 1-3). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the two plate-shaped metal members constituting the stacked structure are a same in thermal conductivity and thickness. Zhang discloses ranges (2-3 mm, Cu or Al) but leaves open the possibility of selecting different values for the opposing plates in a pair. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the pair of heat conducting plates in Zhang to be the same in thermal conductivity and thickness. As with Claim 15, selecting identical dimensions and materials for the opposing plates from the disclosed ranges is a matter of routine engineering optimization. The motivation is to ensure balanced and uniform heat dissipation from both sides of the square-shaped battery cell to the cooling base, thereby preventing thermal gradients that would otherwise degrade the battery's performance and longevity. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108598625 A (hereinafter "Zhang"), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of NPL: Incropera et al., "Fundamentals of Heat and Mass Transfer", 7th Ed., 2011 (hereinafter " Incropera ") and US 8,153,290 B2 (hereinafter "Hermann"). As to Claim 16: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (as mapped in the rejection for Claim 15, Zhang discloses the multi-layer cooling structure having a base 1, heat conducting plates 2, and clapboard 3, Page 3, lines 18-28). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose the side surface of the battery cell comprising an iron and steel material, nor does it explicitly calculate the heat resistance at the contact interface (Rs) and the heat resistance of the metal member (Rm) to show that the ratio Rs/Rm ≤ 3.0 is obtained. Hermann teaches that in electric vehicle battery packs, battery cell housings are conventionally formed from rigid metals, explicitly including steel materials, to provide structural integrity and prevent puncture (Hermann, Col. 4, lines 10-15). Furthermore, regarding the ratio of thermal resistances, Incropera explicitly teaches the principles of contact thermal resistance ( Rt,c , equivalent to Applicant's Rs) at the interface between a heat source and a cooling metal member ( Rcond , equivalent to Applicant's Rm). Incropera teaches that relying on direct dry metal-to-metal contact traps insulating air in microscopic surface gaps, which creates a thermal bottleneck. To resolve this, Incropera teaches applying a Thermal Interface Material (TIM), such as thermal grease or conductive pads, to the contact interface. Incropera explicitly demonstrates that applying a TIM reduces the contact thermal resistance (Rs) by orders of magnitude such that it becomes a mere fraction of the solid conduction resistance of the adjoining metal plates (Rm), inherently and explicitly achieving a ratio of Rs/Rm < 1.0, which mathematically satisfies the claimed condition of being ≤ 3.0 ( Incropera , Section 3.1.4 "Thermal Contact Resistance", pages 115-117). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the outer casing of the battery cells in Zhang out of an iron and steel material, as taught by Hermann, to ensure the mechanical durability of the battery cells. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to minimize the contact thermal resistance (Rs) between the steel battery cell and the heat conducting plates in Zhang by utilizing a thermal interface material as taught by Incropera , thereby achieving an Rs/Rm ratio of 3.0 or less. The motivation for doing so would be to eliminate the contact interface as a thermal bottleneck, ensuring that heat is efficiently transferred from the battery to the cooling plates without causing localized overheating or thermal runaway. Claim s 17 -18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108598625 A (hereinafter "Zhang"), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of JP 2014-089822 A (hereinafter "Saito"). As to Claim 17: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (as mapped in the rejection for Claim 15 above, Zhang discloses the multi-layer cooling structure having a base 1, heat conducting plates 2, and clapboard 3, Page 3, lines 18-28). Regarding the specific limitations of Claim 17, Zhang discloses that the plate-shaped metal members (heat conducting plates 2) are in thermal contact with the cooling member (base 1) (Page 4, lines 10-12). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the plate-shaped metal members are in a substantially recessed shape by connecting lower portions of the plate-shaped metal members, nor that the battery cell is disposed in the recess in the substantially recessed shape. Zhang discloses separate plates welded to a base. Saito discloses a battery module cooling structure comprising a metal holding member (holding tray 40) that holds the battery cells (Page 1, Abstract, lines 16-17). Saito teaches that the metal member is formed in a substantially recessed shape (accommodation recess 42) defined by side wall parts (45) (Page 1, Abstract, lines 18-21; see also Page 10, lines 5-7, disclosing the "housing recess is formed so as to be capable of housing a plurality of the battery cells"). Saito further discloses that the battery cell (30) is accommodated/disposed in this recess (Page 1, Abstract, lines 20-21). Zhang and Saito are analogous art because both references pertain to the field of battery modules and structures for holding and cooling battery cells arranged side-by-side. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the heat conducting plates and base of Zhang to form the substantially recessed shape taught by Saito (i.e., connecting the lower portions of the plates to form a U-shaped or recessed holding tray). The motivation for doing so would be to securely hold and position the battery cells within the module, improve the structural rigidity of the assembly, and increase the contact area between the battery cell and the cooling structure for more efficient heat transfer. As to Claim 18: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (as mapped in the rejection for Claim 15 above). Zhang discloses plate-shaped metal members (heat conducting plates 2) inserted between adjacent battery cells (Page 3, lines 24-26). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the plate-shaped metal members are processed so that a cross-sectional shape is in a recessed shape. Zhang discloses flat plates welded to a base. Saito discloses a battery module where the metal cooling/holding member (holding tray 40) is processed to have a cross-sectional recessed shape (accommodation recess 42 having side wall parts 45) (Page 1, Abstract, lines 16-21). Saito teaches that this recessed member is configured to accommodate the battery cells (Page 1, Abstract, lines 20-21). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to process the plate-shaped metal members of Zhang into a cross-sectional recessed shape as taught by Saito. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize the recessed shape to physically constrain and align the battery cells during assembly, preventing movement of the cells due to vibration or expansion, while maintaining the thermal contact required for cooling. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108598625 A (hereinafter "Zhang"), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of US 2016/0268655 A1 (hereinafter "Takamatsu"). As to Claim 20: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (as mapped in the rejection for Claim 15 above, Zhang discloses the multi-layer cooling structure having a base 1, heat conducting plates 2, and clapboard 3, Page 3, lines 18-28). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that in the plurality of respective square-shaped battery cells, a second plate-shaped metal member having a thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more and a thickness of 0.3 mm or more is further present on a side surface in parallel with a direction in which the plurality of square-shaped battery cells are disposed side by side; and the second plate-shaped metal member is in thermal contact with the side surface of the battery cells, and at least one end portion is in thermal contact with the cooling member. Takamatsu discloses a battery heat radiation system for a battery module containing a plurality of stacked cells. Takamatsu explicitly teaches adding supplementary metal heat radiation members (e.g., heat receiving plates) that are present on and extend along a side surface of the battery module parallel to the direction in which the cells are disposed side-by-side (Takamatsu discloses a "first portion" corresponding to the side of the module, and a plate-shaped metal "first connection portion fixed to the first portion and thermally connected to one surface of the battery module and extending along the first portion," Abstract, Claim 16, and Paragraphs [0040]-[0045]). Takamatsu explicitly teaches that these side-mounted metal members are formed of a highly thermally conductive metal, such as aluminum or copper, which inherently possess a thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more, and are formed with a structural plate thickness greater than 0.3 mm to securely mount the heat pipes and efficiently conduct heat across the plate body (Paragraphs [0042] -[ 0046]). Furthermore, Takamatsu explicitly teaches that this second plate-shaped metal member is in thermal contact with the side surface of the battery cells, and at least one end portion is in thermal contact with a cooling member (Takamatsu discloses the member has a "second connection portion" that is in contact with a "heat radiation portion" or cooling heat exchanger plate, Claim 16, Claim 17, and Paragraphs [0040] -[ 0045]). Zhang and Takamatsu are analogous arts because both references pertain to the field of battery modules, specifically thermal management systems and cooling structures designed to dissipate heat generated by stacked secondary battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the second plate-shaped metal member present on the lateral side surface in parallel with the cell stacking direction, composed of a highly conductive metal like aluminum or copper with a thickness greater than 0.3 mm, as explicitly taught by Takamatsu, into the battery cooling system of Zhang. The motivation for doing so would be to further enhance the overall cooling efficiency of the battery module by increasing the total heat dissipation surface area, effectively drawing heat not only from the gaps between the cells but also from the lateral side surfaces of the stacked cells, thereby providing a more robust thermal management system capable of preventing thermal runaway. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108598625 A (hereinafter "Zhang"), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of US 2011/0159340 A1 (hereinafter "Hu"). As to Claim 21: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (Zhang discloses the multi-layer cooling structure having a base 1, heat conducting plates 2, and clapboard 3 inserted between the single batteries, Page 3, lines 18-28). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein a spacing between the adjacent battery cells is 1.5 to 5.0 mm. Based on Zhang's explicitly disclosed dimensions of 2 to 3 mm for the metal plates and 1.5 to 2 mm for the insulating clapboard, the minimum spacing between adjacent battery cells in Zhang's multi-layer stack would be 5.5 mm (2.0 + 1.5 + 2.0). Hu discloses a protection structure for thermal dissipation in a battery system comprising a composite heat conduction plate sandwiched between battery cells (Paragraph [0010], Abstract). Hu teaches that the total thickness of the composite heat conduction plate, which dictates the spacing between the adjacent battery cells, ranges from 0.5 cm to 0.05 cm (which translates to 5.0 mm to 0.5 mm) (Claim 36; Paragraph [0035]). Furthermore, Hu teaches a specific configuration (Simulation Example 2) where the total thickness of the composite plate separating the cells is exactly 0.3 cm (3.0 mm), which falls squarely within the claimed 1.5 to 5.0 mm range (Paragraph [0053], Table 2). Zhang and Hu are analogous arts because both references pertain to the same field of endeavor, specifically thermal management systems for secondary battery modules that utilize multi-layer composite plates placed between adjacent battery cells to dissipate heat and prevent thermal runaway. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the spacing between the adjacent battery cells in the cooling structure of Zhang to be 1.5 to 5.0 mm, as taught by Hu. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the physical thickness of the intervening cooling structure in order to optimize the spatial arrangement of the cells, thereby increasing the volumetric energy density and overall compactness of the battery module while maintaining effective thermal isolation between the cells. Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108598625 A (hereinafter "Zhang"), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of US 9,865,906 B2 (hereinafter "Dudley"). As to Claim 22: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (as mapped in the rejection for Claim 15 above, Zhang discloses the multi-layer cooling structure having a base 1, heat conducting plates 2, and clapboard 3, Page 3, lines 18-28). Regarding the thermal contact between the metal member and the cooling member, Zhang discloses that the heat conducting plates 2 are periodically fixed or welded to the surface of the base 1 (Page 4, lines 10-12). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the plate-shaped metal member and the cooling member are in thermal contact with each other with an adhesive or grease having a thermal conductivity of 1.0 W/m-K or more therebetween. Zhang utilizes welding. Dudley discloses a battery system and assembly method where a metal thermal transfer member is coupled to a thermally conductive base member (cooling member) (Column 5, lines 43-45). Dudley explicitly teaches that "In an alternative embodiment, the thermal transfer member 60 could be coupled to the thermally conductive base member 32 utilizing a thermally conductive adhesive" (Column 5, lines 47-49). It is standard technical knowledge in the art that "thermally conductive adhesives" designed for battery thermal management typically possess a thermal conductivity of 1.0 W/m-K or more to ensure effective heat transfer. Zhang and Dudley are analogous arts because both references pertain to the field of battery modules and specifically to the structural and thermal coupling of heat dissipation members to a cooling base. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute the welding connection in Zhang with the thermally conductive adhesive connection taught by Dudley. The motivation for doing so would be to simplify the manufacturing process by eliminating the need for high-temperature welding equipment, to reduce the risk of thermal damage to the battery cells during assembly, and to allow for easier disassembly or rework of the module if necessary. As to Claim 23: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (as mapped in the rejection for Claim 15 above, Zhang discloses the multi-layer cooling structure having a base 1, heat conducting plates 2, and clapboard 3, Page 3, lines 18-28). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the plate-shaped metal member and the cooling member are in thermal contact with each other with an adhesive or grease having a thermal conductivity of 1.0 W/m-K or more therebetween, and wherein the adhesive or the grease is cured at normal temperature. Zhang utilizes welding. Dudley discloses a battery system and assembly method where a metal thermal transfer member is coupled to a thermally conductive base member (cooling member) (Column 5, lines 43-45). Dudley explicitly teaches that the thermal transfer member is coupled to the base member utilizing a thermally conductive adhesive (Column 5, lines 47-49). Furthermore, Dudley explicitly teaches that this thermally conductive adhesive is formulated to be cured at room temperature (i.e., normal temperature) so that the battery module components can be securely bonded together without subjecting the heat-sensitive electrochemical cells to elevated baking or curing temperatures that would otherwise degrade the cell chemistry (Column 5, lines 50-55; see also Column 8, lines 15-20, discussing room-temperature curing compounds for battery thermal interfaces). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute the welding connection in Zhang with the thermally conductive adhesive cured at normal temperature, as explicitly taught by Dudley. The motivation for doing so would be to securely attach the heat conducting plates to the cooling base while specifically avoiding the application of external high heat (such as from welding or high-temperature oven curing) during the assembly process, which Dudley explicitly teaches prevents thermal stress and preserves the operational integrity and lifespan of the battery cells. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108598625 A (hereinafter "Zhang"), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of US 2012/0270075 A1 (hereinafter "Fujimura"). As to Claim 24: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (as mapped in the rejection for Claim 15 above, Zhang discloses the multi-layer cooling structure having a base 1, heat conducting plates 2, and clapboard 3, Page 3, lines 18-28). Regarding the contact between the metal member and the cooling member, Zhang discloses that the heat conducting plates 2 are internally fixed or welded to the surface of the base 1 (Page 4, lines 10-12). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the cooling member is provided with a groove portion; and the plate-shaped metal member is fitted into the groove portion. Zhang discloses welding the plates to the flat surface of the base. Fujimura discloses a secondary battery module cooling structure comprising a water-cooling jacket (cooling member) (Paragraphs [0009], [0054]). Fujimura teaches that the water-cooling jacket is provided with a plurality of "grooves" (Paragraph [0054]). Fujimura further discloses that the plate-shaped metal member (heat diffusion plate 50) is "inserted" or fitted into these grooves to establish thermal contact (Paragraph [0057]; Figure 3). Fujimura teaches that this configuration allows the heat diffusion plate to be in close contact with the inner surface of the groove for efficient heat transfer (Paragraph [0058]). Zhang and Fujimura are analogous arts because both references pertain to the field of thermal management for battery modules, specifically the structural interface between heat dissipation members (plates) and the ultimate heat sink or cooling base. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the base of Zhang to include the groove portions taught by Fujimura, and to fit the heat conducting plates of Zhang into these grooves. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the structural stability of the plates on the base, to increase the contact surface area between the plates and the cooling member for better heat transfer, and to simplify the assembly process by allowing for a fitted insertion rather than requiring precision welding on a flat surface. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108598625 A (hereinafter "Zhang"), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of US 2017/0301969 A1 (hereinafter "Dudley"). As to Claim 25: Zhang discloses the cooling structure between the battery cells according to claim 15 (Zhang discloses the multi-layer cooling structure having a base 1, heat conducting plates 2, and clapboard 3 inserted between the square or rectangular single batteries, Page 3, lines 18-28). However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the square-shaped battery cells are constituted by stacking laminate-type battery cells. Zhang refers generically to single batteries having a rectangular or round shape. Dudley discloses a battery system comprising a battery module that holds and cools stacked secondary battery cells. Dudley specifically teaches that the battery cells used in the stacked module are pouch-type battery cells constructed with a laminate film casing, thereby constituting laminate-type battery cells (Dudley, Paragraph [0025], disclosing "a battery module with a plurality of pouch-type battery cells"; and Paragraph [0031], teaching that the pouch-type battery cell includes a pouch casing accommodating a cell assembly, wherein the pouch casing is formed of a laminate sheet). Zhang and Dudley are analogous arts because both references pertain to the field of battery modules, specifically concerning the structural arrangement and thermal management of stacked secondary battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the stacked laminate-type (pouch-type) battery cells taught by Dudley as the square-shaped battery cells in the module of Zhang. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the overall weight and packaging volume of the individual battery cells within the module, as Dudley teaches that using laminate-cased pouch cells provides a lightweight packaging solution with a high energy density compared to traditional rigid metal cans, while still maintaining the flat, square-shaped profile necessary for side-by-side stacking and face-cooling. Conclusion US 20120231318 A1 discloses a s calable battery module (10, 210) includes a plurality of similarly configured cell groupings (1251, 1851), a plurality of framed heartsi nk assemblies (50, 250), and a plurality of jumper tabs (32, 232). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JIMMY K VO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3242 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday, 8 am to 6 pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Tong Guo can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-3066 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT /JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 1723 /JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723