DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 6-7, 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (WO 2005077625) in view of JP 2011529351, hereinafter JP 351’.
Regarding claim 1, Wagner discloses a processing device (Fig. 1-3) comprising: a processing unit (“roller” see below); a holder (“robot arm” and “coupling”) that supports the processing unit; a sensor (“force sensor” detects elastic deformation either directly or indirectly by measuring the force on the coupling. Examiner notes that if the measured force is higher than the materially allowed force of the holder, it is inherently able to detect the deformation of the holder either elastically or plastically. See below) for detecting a deformation of the holder; and a control device (“central control”) configured to control the position of the processing unit based on the measured values of the sensor.
(“Since the robot arms have elasticity and the roller requires a certain high pressure force for a properly durable sheathing, the robotic arm is perpendicular to the line of contact or surface upon actuation of the movement associated with this movement, after the correct position and location of the roller has been reached, positioning motors elastically deformed loaded until the roller is pressed with a predetermined force. This force is generated either by the constellation of the robot members by the respective Motor current and preferably each by a
Current measurement determined or measured by a force sensor on the coupling.
The electricity or force measurement signal is used or both are preferably used a current-force control, which ensures that tolerances of the profile, the shell material and the roll diameter do not affect the pressure force. In particular, if a thin film is to be applied to hard profile material, such as metal, this plays a decisive role in the quality of the adhesive bond. Another advantage of the force control is that the elastic deformation of the robot arm and its bearing clearances are compensated, whereby relatively inexpensive inexpensive robots can be used. (emphasis added)
A constant power generation by the energization of the servomotors would lead to a continuous energy consumption, by a controllable blocking or
Self-locking of the motor or transmission axes of the robot is advantageously avoided. The drive is periodically or, if the force sensor signaled a noticeable change in force, possibly with a released blocking, briefly switched on, so that any tolerance changes are intercepted. The changes in angle or position are registered and monitored, and changes that are inadmissible are reported to a central controller. If, as usual, a self-locking gear is connected downstream of the engine, eliminating the blocking brake.
All robots are networked with their drive controls, measuring equipment and blocking controls with a central control and monitoring processor. This has input and output means, which allows an adjustment of the plant to a new profile and new materials and contains a memory, the magazine assembly and the previously known profiles and the associated tool insert and the coordinate and force-current values including the tolerance fields holds. An advantageous embodiment of the invention will be explained in more detail with reference to FIGS. 1 to 3.”)
Wagner discloses a force sensor but silent to a specific type of force sensor wherein the sensor comprises a strain gauge sensor, a piezoelectric sensor, a capacitive sensor, an optical sensor, or an inductive sensor.
JP 351’ teaches that a force sensor is a strain gauge. (“A force sensor, such as a strain gauge, either on the gripping tool of the bending machine or elsewhere can be used in a feedback loop that controls the operation of the gripping tool and the gripping tool movement that moves the medical instrument to the desired position. .”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the force sensor of Wagner to be a strain gauge as taught by JP 351’ to provide a specific structure that works as a force sensor.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wagner teaches the processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit comprises a pressure roller (“roller”) or a processing aggregate for machining.
Regarding claim 3, modified Wagner teaches the processing device according to claim 1, wherein the holder can be moved by a drive. (motor R1)
Regarding claim 4, modified Wagner teaches the processing device according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is applied to the holder. (“Current measurement determined or measured by a force sensor on the coupling.” &“The roller W2 is mounted on a continuous axis in a holder H, which carries a coupling K, which is held with its counter-coupling Kl on a robot arm RAI end. The clutch K is located with the counter-clutch Kl in a firmly locked and / or locked state.”)
Regarding claim 6, modified Wagner teaches the processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a transmitter device (message bus) for transmitting the measured values detected by the sensor to a central storage device (memory (SP)). (“All robots are networked with their drive controls, measuring equipment and blocking controls with a central control and monitoring processor. This has input and output means, which allows an adjustment of the plant to a new profile and new materials and contains a memory, the magazine assembly and the previously known profiles and the associated tool insert and the coordinate and force-current values including the tolerance fields holds.” & “All robots Rl-R16 are connected by cables and communication lines B to a control center ST to which operating devices such as the monitor MO and the keyboard TA, and a memory SP are connected, in which the control program and the setting data as well as the profile-relevant information are stored become.”)
Regarding claim 7, see claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 9, Wagner discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the measured values detected by the sensor are transmitted to a central storage device. (see claim 6 rejection)
Regarding claim 10, Wagner discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein an operator is informed based on the measured values detected by the sensor. (“All robots are networked with their drive controls, measuring equipment and blocking controls with a central control and monitoring processor. This has input and output means, which allows an adjustment of the plant to a new profile and new materials and contains a memory, the magazine assembly and the previously known profiles and the associated tool insert and the coordinate and force-current values including the tolerance fields holds.” & “All robots Rl-R16 are connected by cables and communication lines B to a control center ST to which operating devices such as the monitor MO and the keyboard TA, and a memory SP are connected, in which the control program and the setting data as well as the profile-relevant information are stored become.”)
Regarding claim 11, modified Wagner teaches the processing device according to claim 2.
Wagner discloses the processing unit is a pressure roller. Wagner fails to disclose that the processing unit is the processing aggregate for machining comprises a milling unit, a drilling unit, or a sanding unit.
Examiner takes official notices that replacing the roller on a robot with a different processing unit such as milling unit, drilling unit, or sanding unit would be well known in the art since all the units described are known to be used on a robot arm for desired purpose.
Regarding claim 12, Wagner discloses the processing device according to claim 3, wherein the drive is a hydraulic cylinder, a pneumatic cylinder, a linear drive, an electromechanical drive or a mechanical drive. (“The motors of the robot Rl are equipped with brakes which are operated electromagnetically, pneumatically or hydraulically centrally controlled. Preferably, however, the motors self-locking gear are connected downstream.”)
Regarding claim 13, modified Wagner teaches the processing device according to claim 6.
Wagner fails to disclose wherein the central storage device comprise off-site cloud storage.
Examiner takes official notice that modifying the memory device to be cloud storage is well known in the art of memory devices since it can be used wirelessly to store data instead of wired connections.
Regarding claim 14, modified Wagner teaches the processing device according to claim 12.
Although Wagner discloses that a motor operates the robots, it is silent to the motor comprising toothed rack or threaded rod.
Examiner takes official notice that modifying the motor/drive device to be toothed rack or threaded rod which are well known in the art of drive devices since it can be used to mechanically drive a robot or any mechanisms.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in pg. 5 that Wagner fails to disclose “a force sensor for detecting a deformation of the holder”. And that the force sensor is not “arranged on a holder”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the sensor (force sensor) is arranged the holder (“robot arm” and “coupling”) and that detects the elastic deformation of the holder (“Since the robot arms have elasticity and the roller requires a certain high pressure force for a properly durable sheathing, the robotic arm is perpendicular to the line of contact or surface upon actuation of the movement associated with this movement, after the correct position and location of the roller has been reached, positioning motors elastically deformed loaded until the roller is pressed with a predetermined force. This force is generated either by the constellation of the robot members by the respective Motor current and preferably each by a
Current measurement determined or measured by a force sensor on the coupling.
The electricity or force measurement signal is used or both are preferably used a current-force control, which ensures that tolerances of the profile, the shell material and the roll diameter do not affect the pressure force. In particular, if a thin film is to be applied to hard profile material, such as metal, this plays a decisive role in the quality of the adhesive bond. Another advantage of the force control is that the elastic deformation of the robot arm and its bearing clearances are compensated, whereby relatively inexpensive inexpensive robots can be used. (emphasis added))
With regards to Wagner not disclosing the particular type of sensors, JP reference was added to modify the force sensor of Wagner as cited in claim 1 rejection.
Therefore, the rejections are proper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4221514 teach a similar processing device with sensors that measure elastic deformation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3725