DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 6/2/26, with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1 to 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made. See below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 to 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/182721, as interpreted by the US equivalent Swier et al. (11,332,583) for convenience.
Swier et al. teach a composition that contains a polyolefin having 1 or 2 terminal
silyl (SiH) groups, a polydiorganosiloxane having 1 or 2 terminal unsaturated groups and a catalyst. See column 2, lines 42 to 58.
The polyolefin meets the requirement of claimed (B) when Y is a hydridosilyl group. The polydiorganosiloxane meets the requirement of claimed (A) when X is an olefinically unsaturated group. The catalyst meets the curable silicone elastomer com-ponent (C). The composition in Swier et al. contain other additives that can meet the requirement of (C), including the solvent D), the inhibitor E) and the alkoxysilyl organo-silicon compound F). Note too that the working examples, starting on column 21, line 23, are replete with compositions containing (A) to (C).
In this manner claim 1 is anticipated.
For claims 2 and 3, see the various Si-vinyl siloxanes B) starting in column 11 that meet these requirements. See also the siloxane in column 21, lines 30 to 35, and line 60.
For claim 4, note the Mn of the siloxanes in the table on column 22. Such Mn values will necessarily reflect siloxanes that fall within the claimed DP range. More specifically the vinyl terminated polydimethylsiloxane in line 24 has a DP of 124. This specific compounds meets claimed (A) in each of claims 1 to 4.
For claim 5, note that column 4, lines 45 and on, teach polyethylenes and that polyethylenes are used in the working examples.
For claim 6, see the table in column 22 which shows amounts of polyolefin within the claimed range.
For claims 7 and 8, note that the vinyl terminated polydimethylsiloxane noted above as meeting claimed (A) also meets the requirements for (C).
For claim 9, again see the table in column 22 which shows an amount of olefinic siloxane that meets (C) and falls within this claimed wt% range.
For claims 10 and 11, see the catalyst C) and inhibitor E) in columns 13 and 14.
For claim 12, see column 3, line 16 and 17, which refer to the composition in the absence of any solvent.
For claims 13 to 17, see the citations noted supra as they refer to each of (A) to (C), melt processing and solventless conditions, the presence of a catalyst and the resulting blend.
For claims 18 to 20, note that paragraph 142 of the instant specification states that preparing the cured product generally comprises heating at an elevated
Claims 1 to 4, 6, 7 and 9 to 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hautekeer et al. 5,425,947.
Hautekeer et al. teach a composition that contains a hydroxy terminated polydi-
organosiloxane (column 3, line 21) that meets claimed (A) when X is a Si bonded hydroxyl group. This composition also contains a rheological additive which is a poly-olefin having carboxylic acid anhydride groups. The meets claimed (B) when X is an anhydride group. Finally, as for a curable silicone elastomer component (C), Hautekeer et al. teach various components such as a filler (column 4, line 15 and on), catalyst (column 5, line 22 and on), a non-reactive silicone fluid (column 6, lines 17 and on) and an adhesion promoter (column 6, lines 31 and on).
In this manner each component required by claim 1, and thus the composition of claim 1, is anticipated.
For claims 2 and 3 note that the specific siloxane shown in column 3, line 21, as well as those used in the working examples meet these requirements.
For claim 4, see the viscosity range in column 3, line 23, which falls within the claimed range.
For claim 6, see the polybutadiene used in Example 1 which as 1.35 anhydride groups and a molecular weight of 2160. This results in a wt% of Y (anhydride) group that falls within the claimed range. See also the amounts as found in column 5, lines55 to 60.
For claim 7, note that column 5, lien 4, teaches the optional presence of silica.
For claim 9, note the amounts of trimethylsilyl endblocked siloxane and calcium carbonate filler in the working examples, for instance Example 1, as they fall within the range of (i). In addition note that calcium carbonate is immiscible with the functionalized polyolefin.
For claims 10 and 11, note that Example 1 contains a condensation catalyst (a titanate).
For claim 12, note that Hautekeer et al. is silent as to the presence of any solvent (carrier vehicle). None is present in Example 1.
For claims 13, see column 6, lines 38 and on, which teaches combining and reacting as claimed.
For claim 14, note that the composition is extruded (column 6, line 66) and the method is solvent free.
For claims 15 to 18 and 20, note the various excerpts cited above as they apply.
Claims 1 to 4, 6, 7 and 9 to 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. 6,610,777.
Anderson et al. teach a coating composition that contain a polysiloxane having a reactive functional group (corresponding to claimed component (A)), a material having a reactive functional group (corresponding to claimed component (B)) and various other components that correspond to “a curable silicone elastomer component” such as fillers, catalysts, additional reactants, surface active agents and others.
For instance see the structure (III) on the top of column 9 which shows linear siloxanes having terminal Ra groups in which X is preferably a hydroxyl group (see column 10, line 56). As an aside, the Examiner notes that columns 9 and 13 teach that the siloxane can contain other reactive groups meeting claimed X such as amino, vinyl and anhydride but for discussion purposes, at this time, the Examiner will focus on the hydroxyl group (corresponding to the claimed carbinol group due to the R3 linkage). This is the functional group shown in the siloxanes of the working examples. This meets the component (A) as well as the limitations of claims 2 and 3.
For component (B), there are various teachings in Anderson et al. that meet this requirement. See for instance column 18, lines 25 to 51, which teach epoxy functional acrylic polymers. Note that paragraph 53 of the instant specification states that acrylic monomers are considered to be olefin monomers in this context. In addition, column 18, line 41, teaches anhydride functional polymers and column 22, lines 22 to 50, teach different anhydride functional polymers. This meets component (B).
As examples of claimed component (C) in Anderson et al. the Examiner draws attention to the particles in column 29, lines 25 and on, the surface active agents in column 37 and the adhesion promoters in column 40, lines 6 and on, among other teachings.
In this manner each of claims 1 to 3 are anticipated by Anderson et al.
For claim 4, see the values of “n” and “n’” as found in column 9, lines 20 to 23, which overlap to such an extent with the claimed range that the skilled artisan would have anticipated a DP of from 50 to 1200. Additionally column 16, line17, teaches an amount of polysiloxane in the composition of less than 30 wt% which anticipates the range of 1 to 30 wt% in claim 4.
For claim 6, see column 16, line 42, which teaches an amount of the reactive functional group material of less than 30 wt%, which meets this claimed range.
For claim 7, note that silica is taught as a filler in column 31.
For claim 9, note that silica meets this requirement and is immiscible with the functionalized polyolefin (material) in Anderson et al.
On the other hand see column 35, lines 15 and on, which teach an amount of fillers in a range of less than 75 wt%, which overlaps to such a significant degree with the claimed range as to anticipate it.
For claims 10 and 11 see column 23, line 57, which teaches suitable catalysts that meet these claims.
For claim 12 note that column 28, line 35, teaches solvent free compositions.
For claim 13, note that the polysiloxane and the functionalized material are react-ed in the presence of various additives that meet claimed (C), as noted above. Column 1, line 29, specifically refers to this as a cured coating.
For claims 14 and 17, again see column 28 which refers to solvent (carrier) free conditions. Also note column 28 which teaches catalysts.
For claims 16 to 20 see column 23, line 57 and on, which teaches the addition of a photo initiator. Again, note that this composition is cured in its final product.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Mgm
7/14/26
/MARGARET G MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765