The amendment filed May 26, 2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Demicheli (US 2011/0088569).
Claim 6: Demicheli discloses a production device capable of coagulating and molding a fluid mixture of food by an internal heating system while moving the food in a tubular body (abstract). The device includes the tubular body, having an inlet to which a fluid mixture is supplied and an outlet which is provided at one end and from which a hollow protein processed food is capable of being discharged (¶¶ 21, 34-42; figs. 1-4); a core material arranged inside the tubular body, extending from an end of the tubular body opposite to the outlet to at least the outlet along an axial direction of the tubular body, and rotating around the axial direction (¶¶ 42-50); and a Joule heating device provided at a position at a side further upstream than the outlet of the tubular body (¶¶ 10-12, 22, 37-40; fig. 1).
The claim is to an apparatus. The fluid mixture and resulting food are not recited as structural components of the apparatus, and the mixture is the material worked upon, which does not impart patentability to the apparatus. Rotor 17 runs the full length of the conduit and passes through its downstream opening, and a mixture coagulated in that space and discharged from the opening would be hollow.
Claims 7-8 and 12: Demicheli discloses the tubular body and the core material being disposed such that respective axial directions of the tubular body and the core material are a horizontal direction, and rotatably supported at a side further upstream than the outlet and is not supported at the outlet (fig. 1).
Claim 10: Demicheli discloses supply port 131 (fig. 1).
Claim 13: Demicheli discloses rotor 17 being a solid body of dielectric material (figs. 2-5; ¶¶ 46-48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demicheli (US 2011/0088569), as applied to claim 6 above, in view of Yoshitomi (US 2016/0183566).
Claim 9: Demicheli discloses a portion rotatably supporting the core material and but is silent as to vertically cutting the food near the outlet of the tubular body. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshitomi discloses a vertical cutter such as a strong, thin linear member such as a piano wire or blade such as a rotary cutter being disposed int eh extursion path near the outlet of the tube so that the still-soft heat-coagulated product can be cut (¶¶ 37-38, 122). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have provided Yoshitomi’s vertical cutting wires or blades at Demicheli’s discharge junction so that the cutting portion provided near the outlet both rotatably supports the core material and vertically cuts the product, in order to produce lengthwise-divided or fibrous products. The combination applies a known element according to its established function to a known device to yield a predictable result.
Claim 14: Yoshitomi discloses the core material being hollow (fig. 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754