DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1-4 and 6-9 in the reply filed on 5/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it has a different special technical feature. This is not found persuasive because the claims include the term comprising that allows for fibers to protrude.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/9/2023 and 9/25/2023 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0055443 A1) to Kanaya et al. (hereinafter Kanaya)
Kanaya is directed towards a thermally conductive sheet. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0012] that the sheet is thermally conductive. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0013] that the sheet comprises a binder resin. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0015] that the sheet comprises thermally conductive filler. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0014] that the conductive filler is carbon fiber. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0016] that the fiber are oriented in the thickness direction. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0017] that the thermal filler includes a zinc oxide. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0147] that the dielectric breakdown voltage is higher than 0.5 kV. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0055] that boron nitride is present. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0038] that the binder can be a silicone gel. Kanaya discloses at paragraph [0017] that the filler can be zinc oxide.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Kanaya to select each and every element as arranged in the claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-4 and 6-9.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766