DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Species A1, B2 and C2 in the reply filed on June 23, 2026 is acknowledged. The elected claims include 26-27, 29-34 and 36-50.
Claims 1-25, 28 and 35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 23, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Oct. 9, 2023has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 30-31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “concentration” recited in claims 30-31 should be modified because the term is generally used when a material is in a liquid phase/state.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-27, 29-34 and 36-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 26, 29-32 and 46-48 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-27, 30-34, 36, 38, 44-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20200194785 A1, hereafter Jung).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Jung teaches an anode material (“negative active material”, see at least Title, Abstract and Fig. 1) comprising:
(a) a porous ([0061]) anode phase comprising a silicon-carbon composite containing silicon and carbon ([0083]), and having a porous-phase volumetric porosity of 0% to 10% (e.g., [0093]), which overlaps that as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).; and
(b) a first solid-state mediator layer (“30”, Fig. 1) outwardly disposed on said porous anode phase, wherein said first solid-state mediator layer contains a lithium vanadium oxide material having a composition represented by a charge-balanced formula LixVyOz (e.g., [0065]-[0067]). The formula teaches the formula LiaVbOc as claimed. The molar fraction of each element in the claimed formulae in claims 26 and 36 overlaps that in Jung’s formula, respectively. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Jung further teaches that the weight of the lithium vanadium oxide material included in the first solid-state mediator layer as well as the thickness (corresponding to the volume) of the first solid-state mediator layer are adjustable (at least: [0075], [0077]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed density (weight/volume) through routine experimentation by adjusting weight and thickness said above.
Jung teaches the same lithium vanadium oxide material as claimed and therefore teaches the claimed functional/property limitation “capable of being reversibly lithiated”. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.
Regarding claim 27, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, wherein said anode material is a core-shell material in which said first solid-state mediator layer forms a shell that encapsulates said porous anode phase (Fig. 1, Jung).
Regarding claim 30, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, where said silicon is present in said porous anode phase in an amount of about 50 wt% to 99 wt% (e.g., [0088]).
Regarding claim 31, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, where said silicon is present in said porous anode phase in an amount of about 50 wt% to 99 wt% (e.g., [0088]), and therefore the carbon is present in said porous anode phase in an amount of about 1 wt% to 50 wt% (i.e., 100%-99% = 1% and 100%-50% = 50%) when silicon-carbon composite constitutes the porous anode phase ([0088], [0081]).
Regarding claim 32, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, where said silicon may have an average particle size of about 50 nm to about 150 nm ([0086]), overlapping the range as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 33, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, where said silicon is present as particles with a particle geometry of fibers, for example ([0085]).
Regarding claim 34, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, wherein said carbon may be graphite ([0087], [0070], Jung).
Regarding claim 38, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, wherein said LiaVbOc is crystalline (See the term “crystal structure” in [0065]).
Regarding claims 44-50, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, and the limitations recited in claims 44-50 are associated with intended uses of the claimed anode material, such as, used in an anode, used in a cell comprising a cathode having a cathode material represented by one or more formulae, and so on. However, these limitations do not limit structural or compositional feature of the claimed anode material (i.e., no limiting effect) and therefore have little patent weight.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 20160315311 A1, hereafter Jeon).
Regarding claim 29, Jung in view of Liu teaches the anode material of claim 26, but is silent on a porosity as instantly claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, Jeon disclose that a similar anode structure comprises a complex (“100”, Fig. 3, corresponding to a porous anode phase as claimed) containing metal particles such as silicon particles (e.g., [0030]), and that when the complex has a porosity of about 10% to about 85% ([0098]), the volume expansion of the metal particles may be reduced during charging and discharging and thereby a volume expansion ratio of the electrode and lifespan deterioration of the anode may be reduced ([0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have employed a porosity of about 10% to about 85% taught by Jeon as an alternative to that of Jung in view of Liu in order to achieve advantages stated above. The instantly claimed range lies inside the above range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Claims 37 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as applied to claim 36 or claim 26 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (“A disordered rock salt anode for fast-charging lithium-ion batteries”, Nature, 2020, 585, 63-67., hereafter Liu).
Regarding claims 37 and 39-40, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 36 or claim 26. Jung is silent as to “at least 50% wt% of said LiaVbOc has a disordered rock salt structure in the Fm3m group”. In the same field of endeavor, however, Liu discloses that a lithium-ion battery with an anode of a disordered rock salt Li3V2O5 in the Fm3m group can yield a much higher cell voltage, and disordered rock salt Li3V2O5 can perform over 1000 charge-discharge cycles with negligible capacity decay and exhibit exceptional rate capability (See, at least, Abstract, and right column on page 63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have employed a disordered rock salt Li3V2O5 in the Fm3m group taught by Liu as an alternative to Jung’s lithium vanadium oxide in order to achieve advantages stated above. After LiaVbOc of Jung is replaced by Li3V2O5 of Liu, the LiaVbOc having a disordered rock salt structure in the Fm3m group is 100 wt% of Li3V2O5.
Claims 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Vogler et al. (US 20160268593, hereafter Vogler).
Regarding claims 41-43, Jung teaches the anode material of claim 26, but is silent as to a doped lithium vanadium oxide material as instantly claimed.
Vogler discloses that both non-doped and doped lithium vanadium oxides (e.g., LixV2O4, LixV2O3, LiM’2M’’O5, etc., see at least [0100]-[0105]) can be used electrode active materials in a lithium-ion battery (Abstract, [0003], etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have, for example, LiM’2M’’O5, as an alternative to the lithium vanadium oxide of Jung, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP § 2144.07.
As a result, when M’= V amd M’’= Ti ([0102]-[0103]), the formula LiM’2M’’O5 becomes LiV2TiO5, which reads on the formula as claimed. After Jung’s lithium vanadium oxide is replaced by LiV2TiO5 of Vogler, the LiV2TiO5 having a disordered rock salt structure in the Fm3m group is 100 wt% of Li3V2O5.
Furthermore, Jung in view of Liu and Vogler teaches the same lithium vanadium oxide material as instantly claimed, and therefore teaches the claimed functional/property limitation “capable of being reversibly lithiated”. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.
Double Patenting
Claims 26-27, 29-30, 32-34, 36, 38-45 and 49-50 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 8, 10, 14-18 and 20 of copending Application No. 19170765 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations in the above claims of the instant application are taught by the limitations recited in the claims of the reference application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/ZHONGQING WEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727