DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4-8, 10-11, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. (US 4,870,477) in view of Umezawa et al (US 5,023,695).
Regarding claim 1, Nakanishi discloses (Figure 1-5) a liquid cooling device comprising: a first sealing body (at cooling member 1), which comprises a cooling base plate (plate 12), a first sealing cover plate (the top part of cap 11 to which pipes 10 are connected as seen in figure 2 and 3), and a first sealing tube (one of the tubes 10); the cooling base plate is used to contact a device to be cooled, to cool the device to be cooled (at integrated circuit chips 2, which are cooled by cooling member 1 per Col. 4, line 51-54); the first sealing cover plate is fixed on the cooling base plate (cap 11 is fixed to plate 12 as seen in figure 2), and together with the cooling base plate (12) forms a first sealing cavity ( within the cap 11 where the fins 13 are located for coolant flowing through the cooling member 1 per Col. 4, line 54-59); the first sealing tube (10) is fixed on the first sealing cover plate (the top part of cap 11 to which pipes 10 are connected as seen in figure 2 and 3), and is in communication with the first sealing cavity, the first sealing tube (10) and the first sealing cavity (within the cap 11) together form a liquid cooling channel used for conveying a liquid cooling medium; and a second sealing body (at sealing hut 5), which comprises a second sealing cover plate (the side of sealing hut 5 to which the nozzles/tubes 8a, 8b are attached as seen in figure 1 and 5) with a receiving space (for accommodating the cooling member 1 within the hut 5) and a second sealing tube (at one of nozzles 8a or 8b), the second sealing cover plate is fixed on the cooling base plate (indirectly through the substrate 3), and covers the first sealing cover plate (a seen in figure 1 and 5); the second sealing tube (8a, 8b) is fixed on the second sealing cover plate (as seen in fugue 1 and 5), the second sealing cover plate and the second sealing tube together form a second sealing cavity (for accommodating the cooling members 1 within the hut 5), and the whole liquid cooling channel is located in the second sealing cavity (since the cooling members 1 are within the hut 5).
However Nakanishi does not disclose that the device to be cooled is located outside the second sealing cavity as Nakanishi discloses the base plate and 12 and device to be cooled at integrated chops are within the space enclosed by the hut 5.
Umezawa discloses ( Figure 5 and 6 with relevant prior art seen in figure 2) a similar cooling structure with a first sealing body with a cooling base plate (at the bottom wall of cooling plate 25) in contact with the device to be cooled (integrated circuit 5) with a second sealing body (at the vertical walls of cooling container 31 with the cover of cooling container 31 with inlet and outlet 28 and 29 as seen in figure 5 and 6), which comprises a second sealing cover plate (the cover of cooling container 31 with inlet and outlet 28 and 29 as seen in figure 5 and 6) with a receiving space (in compartment 34 for allowing fluid flow to cavities 24 that provide fluid to cool the integrated circuit 22) the second sealing cover plate and the second sealing tube (at one of inlet or outlet 28 or 29) together form a second sealing cavity (in compartment 34 for allowing fluid flow to cavities 24 that provide fluid to cool the integrated circuit 22) where the device to be cooled (22) is located outside the second sealing cavity (as the integrated circuit is on the outside of the interior space formed by the cooling plate 25 and container 31 as seen in figure 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified device to be cooled of Nakanishi to be outside the second sealing cavity by having the plate contacting the heat sources at extend across the entire length of the cooling device as taught by Umezawa. Doing so would allow for a structure that prevents leaks directly onto the integrated circuits through a leak hole in a bellows like structure as recognized by Umezawa ( per Col. 1 , line 59-62 which states problems of the prior art and having a solid plate of highly thermally conductive metal dividing the circuits form the fluid can prevent leaks as noted in Col. 4, line 5-9).
Regarding Claim 2, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Nakanishi further discloses the second sealing cover plate (5) comprises: a upper plate (the side of sealing hut 5 to which the nozzles/tubes 8a, 8b are attached as seen in figure 1 and 5) located on the side of the first sealing cover plate away from the cooling base plate (as seen in figure 1 and 5), a side plate that together with the upper plate forms the receiving space (where the hut 5 extends down toward substrate 3 at 6), a contact plate that extends from the edge of the side plate away from the upper plate in the direction away from the first sealing cover plate (the portion of hut 5 directly adjacent 6 that contacts the substrate 3); the liquid cooling device further comprises an adhesive part (at 6), the contact plate is fixedly connected to the cooling base plate (12) via the adhesive part (where 6 forms a seal that connects the hut 5 to the plate 12 through substrate 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Nakanishi further discloses the liquid cooling device further comprises a liquid leakage sensor (sensor 15 detects leaks per Col. 6, line 30-45), the liquid leakage sensor is set in the second sealing cavity (within the hut 5 as seen in figure 5) and is located outside the liquid cooling channel (within cooling member 1), the liquid leakage sensor is used to send an alarm message when it senses the presence of liquid in the second sealing cavity (per Col. 6, line 30-45).
Regarding Claim 5, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 4 above and Nakanishi further discloses that the second sealing tube has an aperture ( while the second sealing tube was interpreted as at one of nozzles 8a or 8b in the rejection of claim 1 above; since the second sealing tube is not explicitly disclosed as connected to anything in particular in claim 1, a tube where the wiring connecting sensor 15 and indicator 16 passes through the hut 5 can be interpreted as the second sealing tube), the liquid leakage sensor (15) extends partially out of the second sealing cavity through the aperture to connect with an external circuit board ((where the wiring connected to sensor 15 extends through the hut 5 to connect to indicator 16); the liquid cooling device further comprises a sealing part, the sealing part is used to seal the aperture (as the sealing part is not further defined the sealing part can be any of the wall of hut 5 where the wiring extends through as seen in figure 5) .
Regarding Claim 6, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Nakanishi further discloses the second sealing tube (at 8a or 8b) is in communication with the receiving space and has an aperture in communication with the outside (at outlet 8b), the liquid in the second sealing cavity is discharged to the outside through the aperture (per Col. 4, line 54-59).
Regarding Claim 7, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Nakanishi further discloses the second sealing tube (at 8a or 8b) is a first stretchable tube, the first stretchable tube and the second sealing cover plate are reinforced by a first predetermined manner (as this is abroad limitation the reinforcement can be any form of reinforcement such as sealing the nozzle to the passage 7 to create a flow path), the first predetermined manner comprises welding fixation and/or sealing part fixation (the inlet or outlet 8a or 8b are fixed to the channels to allow fluid to flow though per Col. 4, line 54-59). Additionally claims 7 fail to provide additional structural limitations beyond those listed above. Apparatus claims must be distinguished from the prior art based on the parts/structure of the apparatus not based on functional language citing intended use. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114 (II). In this case the tubes are claimed simply in terms of being stretchable and most materials would possess some of those properties unless they are perfectly rigid, i.e. incapable of stretching at all, since even metal possesses some ductility to it.
Regarding Claim 8, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Nakanishi further discloses the second sealing tube (at 8a or 8b) is a rigid tube, the rigid tube and the second sealing cover plate are reinforced by a second predetermined manner (as this is a broad limitation the reinforcement can be any form of reinforcement such as sealing the nozzle to the passage 7 to create a flow path), the second predetermined manner comprises one or more from welding fixation, sealing part fixation, screw fixation, or rivet fixation (the inlet or outlet 8a or 8b are fixed to the channels to allow fluid to flow though per Col. 4, line 54-59).
Regarding claim 10, Nakanishi discloses (Figure 1-5) an apparatus comprising: a device to be cooled (at integrated circuit chips 2, which are cooled by cooling member 1 per Col. 4, line 51-54); and a liquid cooling device configured to be used to contact the device to be cooled (2), to cool the device to be cooled, the liquid cooling device comprising: a first sealing body (at cooling member 1), which comprises a cooling base plate (plate 12), a first sealing cover plate (the top part of cap 11 to which pipes 10 are connected as seen in figure 2 and 3), and a first sealing tube (one of the tubes 10); the cooling base plate is used to contact the device to be cooled, to cool the device to be cooled (at integrated circuit chips 2, which are cooled by cooling member 1 per Col. 4, line 51-54); the first sealing cover plate is fixed on the cooling base plate (cap 11 is fixed to plate 12 as seen in figure 2), and together with the cooling base plate (12) forms a first sealing cavity ( within the cap 11 where the fins 13 are located for coolant flowing through the cooling member 1 per Col. 4, line 54-59); the first sealing tube (10) is fixed on the first sealing cover plate (the top part of cap 11 to which pipes 10 are connected as seen in figure 2 and 3), and is in communication with the first sealing cavity, the first sealing tube (10) and the first sealing cavity (within the cap 11) together form a liquid cooling channel used for conveying a liquid cooling medium; and a second sealing body (at sealing hut 5), which comprises a second sealing cover plate (the side of sealing hut 5 to which the nozzles/tubes 8a, 8b are attached as seen in figure 1 and 5) with a receiving space (for accommodating the cooling member 1 within the hut 5) and a second sealing tube (at one of nozzles 8a or 8b), the second sealing cover plate is fixed on the cooling base plate (through the substrate 3), and covers the first sealing cover plate (a seen in figure 1 and 5); the second sealing tube (8a, 8b) is fixed on the second sealing cover plate (as seen in fugue 1 and 5), the second sealing cover plate and the second sealing tube together form a second sealing cavity (for accommodating the cooling members 1 within the hut 5), and the whole liquid cooling channel is located in the second sealing cavity (since the cooling members 1 are within the hut 5).
However Nakanishi does not disclose that the device to be cooled is located outside the second sealing cavity as Nakanishi discloses the base plate and 12 and device to be cooled at integrated chops are within the space enclosed by the hut 5.
Umezawa discloses ( Figure 5 and 6 with relevant prior art seen in figure 2) a similar cooling structure with a first sealing body with a cooling base plate (at the bottom wall of cooling plate 25) in contact with the device to be cooled (integrated circuit 5) with a second sealing body (at the vertical walls of cooling container 31 with the cover of cooling container 31 with inlet and outlet 28 and 29 as seen in figure 5 and 6), which comprises a second sealing cover plate (the cover of cooling container 31 with inlet and outlet 28 and 29 as seen in figure 5 and 6) with a receiving space (in compartment 34 for allowing fluid flow to cavities 24 that provide fluid to cool the integrated circuit 22) the second sealing cover plate and the second sealing tube (at one of inlet or outlet 28 or 29) together form a second sealing cavity (in compartment 34 for allowing fluid flow to cavities 24 that provide fluid to cool the integrated circuit 22) where the device to be cooled (22) is located outside the second sealing cavity (as the integrated circuit is on the outside of the interior space formed by the cooling plate 25 and container 31 as seen in figure 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified device to be cooled of Nakanishi to be outside the second sealing cavity by having the plate contacting the heat sources at extend across the entire length of the cooling device as taught by Umezawa. Doing so would allow for a structure that prevents leaks directly onto the integrated circuits through a leak hole in a bellows like structure as recognized by Umezawa ( per Col. 1 , line 59-62 which states problems of the prior art and having a solid plate of highly thermally conductive metal dividing the circuits form the fluid can prevent leaks as noted in Col. 4, line 5-9).
Regarding Claim 11, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 10 above and Nakanishi further discloses the liquid cooling device further comprises an adhesive part (at 6), wherein the second sealing cover plate (5) comprises: an upper plate (the side of sealing hut 5 to which the nozzles/tubes 8a, 8b are attached as seen in figure 1 and 5) located on the side of the first sealing cover plate away from the cooling base plate (as seen in figure 1 and 5); a side plate that together with the upper plate forms the receiving space (where the hut 5 extends down toward substrate 3 at 6), a contact plate that extends from the edge of the side plate away from the upper plate in the direction away from the first sealing cover plate (the portion of hut 5 directly adjacent 6 that contacts the substrate 3); the liquid cooling device further comprises an adhesive part (at 6), the contact plate is fixedly connected to the cooling base plate (12) via the adhesive part (where 6 forms a seal that connects the hut 5 to the plate 12 through substrate 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 11 above and Nakanishi further discloses the liquid cooling device further comprises a liquid leakage sensor (sensor 15 detects leaks per Col. 6, line 30-45), the liquid leakage sensor is set in the second sealing cavity (within the hut 5 as seen in figure 5) and is located outside the liquid cooling channel (within cooling member 1), the liquid leakage sensor is used to send an alarm message when it senses the presence of liquid in the second sealing cavity (per Col. 6, line 30-45).
Regarding Claim 14, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 13 above and Nakanishi further discloses that the second sealing tube has an aperture ( while the second sealing tube was interpreted as at one of nozzles 8a or 8b in the rejection of claim 1 above; since the second sealing tube is not explicitly disclosed as connected to anything in particular in claim 1, a tube where the wiring connecting sensor 15 and indicator 16 passes through the hut 5 can be interpreted as the second sealing tube), the liquid leakage sensor (15) extends partially out of the second sealing cavity through the aperture to connect with an external circuit board (where the wiring connected to sensor 15 extends through the hut 5 to connect to indicator 16); the liquid cooling device further comprises a sealing part, the sealing part is used to seal the aperture (as the sealing part is not further defined the sealing part can be any of the wall of hut 5 where the wiring extends through as seen in figure 5) .
Regarding Claim 15, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 11 above and Nakanishi further discloses the second sealing tube (at 8a or 8b) is in communication with the receiving space and has an aperture in communication with the outside (at outlet 8b), the liquid in the second sealing cavity is discharged to the outside through the aperture (per Col. 4, line 54-59).
Regarding Claim 16, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 11 above and Nakanishi further discloses the second sealing tube (at 8a or 8b) is a stretchable tube, the stretchable tube and the second sealing cover plate are reinforced by a first predetermined manner (as this is a broad limitation the reinforcement can be any form of reinforcement such as sealing the nozzle to the passage 7 to create a flow path), the first predetermined manner comprises welding fixation and/or sealing part fixation (the inlet or outlet 8a or 8b are fixed to the channels to allow fluid to flow though per Col. 4, line 54-59). Additionally claims 16 fail to provide additional structural limitations beyond those listed above. Apparatus claims must be distinguished from the prior art based on the parts/structure of the apparatus not based on functional language citing intended use. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114 (II). In this case the tubes are claimed simply in terms of being stretchable and most materials would possess some of those properties unless they are perfectly rigid, i.e. incapable of stretching at all, since even metal possesses some ductility to it.
Regarding Claim 17, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 11 above and Nakanishi further discloses the second sealing tube (at 8a or 8b) is a rigid tube, the rigid tube and the second sealing cover plate are reinforced by a second predetermined manner (as this is a broad limitation the reinforcement can be any form of reinforcement such as sealing the nozzle to the passage 7 to create a flow path), the second predetermined manner comprises one or more from welding fixation, sealing part fixation, screw fixation, or rivet fixation (the inlet or outlet 8a or 8b are fixed to the channels to allow fluid to flow though per Col. 4, line 54-59).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. (US 4,870,477) in view of Umezawa et al (US 5,023,695) and Holden et al (US 2020/0340767) .
Regarding Claim 3, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above however Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose the contact plate has a first screw hole, the cooling base plate has a second screw hole, the first screw hole is directly opposite the second screw hole; the liquid cooling device further comprises a screw, the screw is fixed in the first screw hole and the second screw hole as Nakanishi discloses the hut 5 is attached to the cooling base plate 12 through soldering and the substrate 3 and not screw holes.
Holden teaches a cooling device (seen in figure 4-5 and 8-9)comprising a cooling base plate (at heat sink 210) and sealing body (at housing member 225) with a contact plate where the contact plate has a first screw hole (where screw 280 extends into housing 225 as seen in figure 8), the cooling base plate has a second screw hole (where screw 280 extends through heat sink 210 in figure 8), the first screw hole is directly opposite the second screw hole (as seen in figure 8); the liquid cooling device further comprises a screw (screw 280), the screw is fixed in the first screw hole and the second screw hole (as seen in figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the connection between the cooling base and the contact plate of Nakanishi to include the screw holes as disclosed by Holden. Doing so would provide a known alternative structure for directly attaching a heat sink/cooling base to a housing as recognized by Holden (per paragraph 0091), where screws are known fasteners that allow for elements to be removably attached together.
Regarding Claim 12, Nakanishi as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 11 above however Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose the contact plate has a first screw hole, the cooling base plate has a second screw hole, the first screw hole is directly opposite the second screw hole; the liquid cooling device further comprises a screw, the screw is fixed in the first screw hole and the second screw hole as Nakanishi discloses the hut 5 is attached to the cooling base plate 12 through soldering and the substrate 3 and not screw holes.
Holden teaches a cooling device (seen in figure 4-5 and 8-9)comprising a cooling base plate (at heat sink 210) and sealing body (at housing member 225) with a contact plate where the contact plate has a first screw hole (where screw 280 extends into housing 225 as seen in figure 8), the cooling base plate has a second screw hole (where screw 280 extends through heat sink 210 in figure 8), the first screw hole is directly opposite the second screw hole (as seen in figure 8); the liquid cooling device further comprises a screw (screw 280), the screw is fixed in the first screw hole and the second screw hole (as seen in figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the connection between the cooling base and the contact plate of Nakanishi to include the screw holes as disclosed by Holden. Doing so would provide a known alternative structure for directly attaching a heat sink/cooling base to a housing as recognized by Holden (per paragraph 0091), where screws are known fasteners that allow for elements to be removably attached together.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The combination of prior art above does not teach or fairly suggest the that the first sealing tube comprises a joint and a stretchable tube, one end of the joint is fixed on the first sealing cover plate, the other end of the joint has a limiting part, the stretchable tube is fixedly connected to the joint via the limiting part; wherein the limiting part is a hollow conical protrusion extending from the end of the joint away from the first sealing cover plate, in a direction away from the first sealing cover plate; the size of the hollow conical protrusion near the first sealing cover plate is greater than the size of the hollow conical protrusion far from the first sealing cover plate. As requeued by claim 9 and similarly by claim 18. As none of the cited prior art clearly disclose a cooling structure with the first sealing tube with the joint and limiting structure as claimed in claim 9 and 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-10, filed 2/5/2026, with respect to the previous drawing objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous drawing objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 of 11/7/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10-13, filed 2/5/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2,4-8, 10-11, and 13-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. (US 4,870,477) have been fully considered and are persuasive based upon the amendments made to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nakanishi et al. (US 4,870,477) in view of Umezawa et al (US 5,023,695) where Umezawa discloses a similar structure with the device to be cooled located out of the second sealing cavity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Messina et al. (US 6,778,393). Discloses a similar cooling structure with the device to be cooled located out of the second sealing cavity.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANS R WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763