Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2,9-11,16,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The original disclosure does not teach “an extension line of the first bonding portion and a light axis of each light emitting chip are inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees” (claim 2). In fact, the original disclosure does not teach a light axis at all. For the purpose of the current Office Action the feature is understood to mean “an extension line of the first bonding portion and an upper surface of the circuit board are inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,7-9,11,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (PG Pub 2015/0155330 A1), Hwang et al (PG Pub 2019/0137046 A1), Bae et al (PG Pub 2011/0051397 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2011/0199787 A1, hereafter Kim787), and Tillin (PG Pub 2011/0038141 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Oh teaches a lighting device comprising: a light emitting device package including a plurality of lead frames having first to third lead frames (1622,1624,1626,1628, fig. 58); a body (1610, fig. 53) coupled to the plurality of lead frames; a cavity (1601) formed in such a manner that a front side portion of the body is recessed; and a plurality of light emitting chips (1632 and 1634) disposed on the plurality of lead frames; wherein the first lead frame (1622, fig. 58 and figs. 53) includes a first frame disposed at a bottom of the cavity; a first bonding portion bent from a lower end of the first frame (fig. 58), wherein the second lead frame includes a second frame disposed on one side of the bottom of the cavity and one side of the first frame (fig. 58), and a second bonding portion bent from the second frame to the lower surface of the body (fig. 58), wherein the third lead frame includes a third frame disposed on the other side of the bottom of the cavity and the other side of the first frame, and a third bonding portion bent from the third frame to the lower surface of the body (fig. 58).
Figs. 53 to 58 do not teach the plurality of light emitting chips to be disposed on a single lead frame and thus, do not teach “wherein the plurality of light emitting chips is disposed on the first frame and electrically connected to the second and third frames.”
Figs. 41 to 45 teach a plurality of light emitting chips (642 and 644) disposed on a first lead frame (620’) and electrically connected to the second and third lead frames (630’ and 630’).
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose the plurality of light emitting chips on a first lead frame and to electrically connect them to the second and third lead frames, for the known benefit of independently turning each on/off by applying voltage on first and second lead frames or on first and third lead frames.
Figs. 53 to 58 do not teach a circuit board on which the light emitting device package is disposed.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches a circuit board (201, fig. 92) on which the light emitting device package (10) is disposed and having a first pad portion (213/215), and a first bonding portion (42) coupled to the first pad portion of the circuit board, for the known benefit of electrically connecting the light emitting device package to the circuit board to provide power to the light emitting device.
Hwang does not teach a resin layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Bae teaches a resin layer (230, figs. 9-26, paragraph [0074]) covering the light emitting device package on the circuit board; for the known benefit of protecting the light emitting device package from external elements; a reflective member (240) disposed between the resin layer and the circuit board (210) and into which a lower portion of the light emitting device package (220) is inserted; and a light blocking portion (232) overlapping the light emitting device package in a vertical direction on the resin layer, for the benefit of obtaining luminance desirable for a particular use (paragraph [0115]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a resin layer covering the light emitting device package on the circuit board; a reflective member disposed between the resin layer and the circuit board and into which a lower portion of the light emitting device package was inserted; and a light blocking portion overlapping the light emitting device package in a vertical direction on the resin layer, for the benefit of obtaining luminance desirable for a particular use.
Oh does not teach the first bonding portion extends towards the front side portion of the body and further extends forward to protrude from the front side portion of the body.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim787 teaches the first bonding portion (middle lead with width of w2, fig. 26) extends towards the front side portion of the body and further extends forward to protrude from the front side portion of the body, the second lead frame includes a second frame (lead with w4, fig. 26) disposed one side of the first frame, and a second bonding portion bent from the second frame to the lower surface of the body (see fig. 26 attached), wherein the third lead frame includes a third frame disposed on the other side of the bottom of the cavity and the other side of the first frame, and a third bonding portion bent from the third frame to the lower surface of the body, wherein the first bonding portion has a length from the bottom of the cavity toward the front side portion of the body greater than a depth of the cavity (the first bonding portion extends from the bottom of the cavity to beyond the top portion of the cavity, figs. 24-26 and 30), for the benefit of increasing heat dissipation (paragraphs [0262][0251][0237][0238]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the first bonding portion extend towards the front side portion of the body and further extend to protrude from the front side portion of the body, wherein the first bonding portion has a length from the bottom of the cavity toward the front side portion of the body greater than a depth of the cavity, and wherein an end of the first bonding portion is not in contact with an imaginary straight line of an inner side surface of the cavity, which extends towards the first bonding portion, for the benefit of increasing heat dissipation.
Oh does not teach the light emitting device package is upwardly inclined with respect to an extension line of an upper surface of the circuit board, such that an extension line of the first bonding portion and a light axis of each light emitting chip are inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees.
In the same field of endeavor, Tillin teaches a light emitting device package is upwardly inclined (the back of LED 8 tilts upward, fig. 3a) with respect to an extension line of an upper surface (dashed line below LED 8, fig. 3a) of the circuit board, such that an extension line of the first bonding portion and an upper surface of the circuit board are inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees (5 to 50 degrees when the two normals form respectively 95 and 140 degrees, paragraph [0070]), for the benefit of improving light uniformity without increasing package thickness (paragraph [0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the light emitting device package upwardly incline with respect to an extension line of an upper surface of the circuit board, such that an extension line of the first bonding portion and an upper surface of the circuit board were inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees, for the benefit of improving light uniformity without increasing package thickness.
Oh in view of Kim787 teaches (see fig. 44 of Kim787 attached below and fig. 26 of Oh above) wherein an end of the first bonding portion is not in contact with an imaginary straight line (arrow in fig. 44 of Kim787 below) of an inner side surface of the cavity (31), which extends towards the first bonding portion, an end of the first bonding portion is not in contact with an imaginary straight line of an inner surface of the cavity, which extends towards the first bonding portion (vertical portion 630’). Because the claim does not require how far the imaginary straight line has to extend beyond the opening of the recess, the line and the bonding portion do not have to be in contact.
Regarding claim 7, Oh in view of Tillin teaches the lighting device of claim 2, wherein an imaginary straight line of the first bonding portion is inclined at an angle of 7 degrees to 12 degrees with respect to the upper surface of the circuit board (paragraph [0070] of Tillin).
Regarding claim 8, Tillin teaches the lighting device of claim 7, wherein an imaginary straight line (such as the line that follow light path 16, fig. 3a) passing through an exit surface of the cavity disposed on a front side portion of the light emitting device package is inclined at an angle of 91 degrees to 100 degrees with respect to the upper surface of the circuit board (paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh teaches the lighting device of claim 2, comprising: at least one diffusion layer (54-1, fig. 19, with R2 that diffuses light, paragraph [0149]) on the resin layer (40); and an adhesive material (56, paragraph [0118]) is provided on a lower surface of the at least one diffusion layer, wherein the light blocking portion (60) is disposed on the lower surface of the at least one diffusion layer, for the benefits of providing light with geometrical pattern (paragraph [0148]) and enhancing reflection and diffusion of light (paragraph [0153]).
Oh does not teach the adhesive material to be a light transmitting layer.
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the adhesive material light transmitting for the known benefit of providing a material that is stable by using light transmitting material such as epoxy or silicone, and for the benefit of increasing light output by allowing light to transmit through the adhesive material.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang teaches the lighting device of claim 1, wherein the reflective member (110, fig. 92) includes an opening through which the first pad portion (213/215, paragraph [0492]) to which the first bonding portion of the light emitting device package is bonded is exposed, for the benefit of electrically connecting the light emitting device to the circuit board (paragraphs [0491][0492]).
Bae teaches wherein the reflective member includes a reflective pattern (241, fig. 25) on a surface thereof, for the benefit of providing uniform luminance.
Regarding claim 16, Oh does not teach the circuit board includes a second pad portion bonded to the second bonding portion, and a third pad portion bonded to the third bonding portion.
It would have been obvious to make the circuit board to include a second pad portion bonded to the second bonding portion, and a third pad portion bonded to the third bonding portion, for the known benefit of known benefit of providing electrical bias to the light emitting chips through the second and third pads.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (PG Pub 2015/0155330 A1), Hwang et al (PG Pub 2019/0137046 A1), Bae et al (PG Pub 2011/0051397 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2011/0199787 A1, hereafter Kim787), and Tillin (PG Pub 2011/0038141 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jung et al (PG Pub 2011/0249215 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 2.
The previous combination does not teach the light blocking portion includes a plurality of pattern layers having different sizes, and wherein an uppermost layer in the plurality of pattern layers has a largest area and a lowermost layer has a smallest area.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches the light blocking portion includes a plurality of pattern layers having different sizes, and wherein an uppermost layer (251, fig. 13c) in the plurality of pattern layers has a largest area and a lowermost layer (252) has a smallest area, for the benefit of providing uniform luminance (paragraph [0077]).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (PG Pub 2015/0155330 A1), Hwang et al (PG Pub 2019/0137046 A1), Bae et al (PG Pub 2011/0051397 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2011/0199787 A1, hereafter Kim787), and Tillin (PG Pub 2011/0038141 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Loh et al (PG Pub 2008/0121921 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2014/0070238 A1, hereafter Kim238), and Sekiwa (US Patent 5,172,195).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, are obvious over Oh in view of Hwang, Bae, Kim787, Loh, Kim238, and Sekiwa because Oh teaches that the body of the light emitting device package has a length (X11, 5.95mm, for example, paragraph [0322], fig. 54) in a first direction three or more times greater than a width in a second direction (Y2, fig. 31, 1.6mm, for example, paragraph [0187]) wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction. Kim787 teaches increasing leadframe contact with circuit board enhances heat dissipation (paragraphs [0251][0237][0238]). Thus, increasing the size of leadframes (62a, fig. 26; or 72a, fig. 28) improves heat release (paragraph [0262]).
Dimension Y2 in fig. 31 of Oh equals to Y3 (fig. 31 of Oh) plus the portion of 610 below Y3.
It is well known that the physical dimensions of a leadframe affects its electrical characteristics—resistance and conduction.
Loh teaches the body (226, fig. 5) formed under a leadframe (200) enhances its mechanical connection with the leadframe (paragraph [0065]).
Kim238 teaches relative heights of a light emitting element (h) and of a recess (H) affects the overall luminance of the device (paragraphs [0048] to [0051]).
Sekiwa teaches the height of a light emitting element can be adjusted to optimize its light emitting characteristics (column 5, lines 11-47).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the dimensions of the light emitting element chips, of the first bonding portion, and of the body, to optimize the light emitting characteristics, mechanical strength of the package, electrical characteristics of the electrical interconnects, heat dissipating requirements, according to the intended use of the device.
Claim(s) 2,7-9,11,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (PG Pub 2015/0155330 A1), Hwang et al (PG Pub 2019/0137046 A1), Bae et al (PG Pub 2011/0051397 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2011/0199787 A1, hereafter Kim787), Tillin (PG Pub 2011/0038141 A1), and Chan et al (PG Pub 2012/0120118 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Oh teaches a lighting device comprising: a light emitting device package including a plurality of lead frames having first to third lead frames (1622,1624,1626,1628, fig. 58); a body (1610, fig. 53) coupled to the plurality of lead frames; a cavity (1601) formed in such a manner that a front side portion of the body is recessed; and a plurality of light emitting chips (1632 and 1634) disposed on the plurality of lead frames; wherein the first lead frame (1622, fig. 58 and figs. 53) includes a first frame disposed at a bottom of the cavity; a first bonding portion bent from a lower end of the first frame (fig. 58), wherein the second lead frame includes a second frame disposed on one side of the bottom of the cavity and one side of the first frame (fig. 58), and a second bonding portion bent from the second frame to the lower surface of the body (fig. 58), wherein the third lead frame includes a third frame disposed on the other side of the bottom of the cavity and the other side of the first frame, and a third bonding portion bent from the third frame to the lower surface of the body (fig. 58).
Figs. 53 to 58 do not teach the plurality of light emitting chips to be disposed on a single lead frame and thus, do not teach “wherein the plurality of light emitting chips is disposed on the first frame and electrically connected to the second and third frames.”
Figs. 41 to 45 teach a plurality of light emitting chips (642 and 644) disposed on a first lead frame (620’) and electrically connected to the second and third lead frames (630’ and 630’).
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose the plurality of light emitting chips on a first lead frame and to electrically connect them to the second and third lead frames, for the known benefit of independently turning each on/off by applying voltage on first and second lead frames or on first and third lead frames.
Figs. 53 to 58 do not teach a circuit board on which the light emitting device package is disposed.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches a circuit board (201, fig. 92) on which the light emitting device package (10) is disposed and having a first pad portion (213/215), and a first bonding portion (42) coupled to the first pad portion of the circuit board, for the known benefit of electrically connecting the light emitting device package to the circuit board to provide power to the light emitting device.
Hwang does not teach a resin layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Bae teaches a resin layer (230, figs. 9-26, paragraph [0074]) covering the light emitting device package on the circuit board; for the known benefit of protecting the light emitting device package from external elements; a reflective member (240) disposed between the resin layer and the circuit board (210) and into which a lower portion of the light emitting device package (220) is inserted; and a light blocking portion (232) overlapping the light emitting device package in a vertical direction on the resin layer, for the benefit of obtaining luminance desirable for a particular use (paragraph [0115]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a resin layer covering the light emitting device package on the circuit board; a reflective member disposed between the resin layer and the circuit board and into which a lower portion of the light emitting device package was inserted; and a light blocking portion overlapping the light emitting device package in a vertical direction on the resin layer, for the benefit of obtaining luminance desirable for a particular use.
Oh does not teach the first bonding portion extends towards the front side portion of the body and further extends forward to protrude from the front side portion of the body.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim787 teaches the first bonding portion (middle lead with width of w2, fig. 26) extends towards the front side portion of the body and further extends forward to protrude from the front side portion of the body, the second lead frame includes a second frame (lead with w4, fig. 26) disposed one side of the first frame, and a second bonding portion bent from the second frame to the lower surface of the body (see fig. 26 attached), wherein the third lead frame includes a third frame disposed on the other side of the bottom of the cavity and the other side of the first frame, and a third bonding portion bent from the third frame to the lower surface of the body, wherein the first bonding portion has a length from the bottom of the cavity toward the front side portion of the body greater than a depth of the cavity (the first bonding portion extends from the bottom of the cavity to beyond the top portion of the cavity, figs. 24-26 and 30), for the benefit of increasing heat dissipation (paragraphs [0262][0251][0237][0238]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the first bonding portion extend towards the front side portion of the body and further extend to protrude from the front side portion of the body, wherein the first bonding portion has a length from the bottom of the cavity toward the front side portion of the body greater than a depth of the cavity, and wherein an end of the first bonding portion is not in contact with an imaginary straight line of an inner side surface of the cavity, which extends towards the first bonding portion, for the benefit of increasing heat dissipation.
Oh does not teach the light emitting device package is upwardly inclined with respect to an extension line of an upper surface of the circuit board, such that an extension line of the first bonding portion and a light axis of each light emitting chip are inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees.
In the same field of endeavor, Tillin teaches a light emitting device package is upwardly inclined with respect to an extension line of an upper surface (dashed line below LED 8, fig. 3a) of the circuit board, such that an extension line of the first bonding portion and a light axis (16) of each light emitting chip are inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees (paragraph [0070]), for the benefit of improving light uniformity without increasing package thickness (paragraph [0070]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the light emitting device package upwardly incline with respect to an extension line of an upper surface of the circuit board, such that an extension line of the first bonding portion and a light axis of each light emitting chip were inclined at an angle less than 90 degrees, for the benefit of improving light uniformity without increasing package thickness.
With regards to features “wherein an end of the first bonding portion is not in contact with an imaginary straight line of an inner side surface of the cavity, which extends towards the first bonding portion, an end of the first bonding portion is not in contact with an imaginary straight line of an inner surface of the cavity, which extends towards the first bonding portion”, configuration of the package can be adjusted to optimize viewing angles according to the intended use of the device.
In the same field of endeavor, Chan teaches the angles of inclination of the cavity’s sidewalls (28 and 58, figs. 1-3 and fig. 44 of Oh below) affect the viewing angles of output light (paragraph [0051]). Furthermore, Oh teaches the size (i.e. length and width) of the leadframes, thus, of the first bonding portion, changes the heat-dissipating ability of the package (paragraph [0213]). Increasing the size of the leadframes inherently enlarges the overall package size. The length of the first bonding portion could have been adjusted so that the imaginary line just missed it; and/or the till of the cavity wall could have been made more vertical so that it would not contact the first bonding portion. In other words, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art would be to adjust the cavity wall inclinations, to optimize the viewing angles, and to change the size (thus length of the protruded portion from the front surface) of the bonding portions to optimize heat dissipation against the optimum device size. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 7, Oh in view of Tillin teaches the lighting device of claim 2, wherein an imaginary straight line of the first bonding portion is inclined at an angle of 7 degrees to 12 degrees with respect to the upper surface of the circuit board (paragraph [0070] of Tillin).
Regarding claim 8, Tillin teaches the lighting device of claim 7, wherein an imaginary straight line (such as the line that follow light path 16, fig. 3a) passing through an exit surface of the cavity disposed on a front side portion of the light emitting device package is inclined at an angle of 91 degrees to 100 degrees with respect to the upper surface of the circuit board (paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh teaches the lighting device of claim 2, comprising: at least one diffusion layer (54-1, fig. 19, with R2 that diffuses light, paragraph [0149]) on the resin layer (40); and an adhesive material (56, paragraph [0118]) is provided on a lower surface of the at least one diffusion layer, wherein the light blocking portion (60) is disposed on the lower surface of the at least one diffusion layer, for the benefits of providing light with geometrical pattern (paragraph [0148]) and enhancing reflection and diffusion of light (paragraph [0153]).
Oh does not teach the adhesive material to be a light transmitting layer.
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the adhesive material light transmitting for the known benefit of providing a material that is stable by using light transmitting material such as epoxy or silicone, and for the benefit of increasing light output by allowing light to transmit through the adhesive material.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang teaches the lighting device of claim 1, wherein the reflective member (110, fig. 92) includes an opening through which the first pad portion (213/215, paragraph [0492]) to which the first bonding portion of the light emitting device package is bonded is exposed, for the benefit of electrically connecting the light emitting device to the circuit board (paragraphs [0491][0492]).
Bae teaches wherein the reflective member includes a reflective pattern (241, fig. 25) on a surface thereof, for the benefit of providing uniform luminance.
Regarding claim 16, Oh does not teach the circuit board includes a second pad portion bonded to the second bonding portion, and a third pad portion bonded to the third bonding portion.
It would have been obvious to make the circuit board to include a second pad portion bonded to the second bonding portion, and a third pad portion bonded to the third bonding portion, for the known benefit of known benefit of providing electrical bias to the light emitting chips through the second and third pads.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (PG Pub 2015/0155330 A1), Hwang et al (PG Pub 2019/0137046 A1), Bae et al (PG Pub 2011/0051397 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2011/0199787 A1, hereafter Kim787), Tillin (PG Pub 2011/0038141 A1), and Chan et al (PG Pub 2012/0120118 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jung et al (PG Pub 2011/0249215 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the previous combination remains as applied in claim 2.
The previous combination does not teach the light blocking portion includes a plurality of pattern layers having different sizes, and wherein an uppermost layer in the plurality of pattern layers has a largest area and a lowermost layer has a smallest area.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches the light blocking portion includes a plurality of pattern layers having different sizes, and wherein an uppermost layer (251, fig. 13c) in the plurality of pattern layers has a largest area and a lowermost layer (252) has a smallest area, for the benefit of providing uniform luminance (paragraph [0077]).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (PG Pub 2015/0155330 A1), Hwang et al (PG Pub 2019/0137046 A1), Bae et al (PG Pub 2011/0051397 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2011/0199787 A1, hereafter Kim787), Tillin (PG Pub 2011/0038141 A1), and Chan et al (PG Pub 2012/0120118 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Loh et al (PG Pub 2008/0121921 A1), Kim et al (PG Pub 2014/0070238 A1, hereafter Kim238), and Sekiwa (US Patent 5,172,195).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, are obvious over Oh in view of Hwang, Bae, Kim787, Loh, Kim238, and Sekiwa because Oh teaches that the body of the light emitting device package has a length (X11, 5.95mm, for example, paragraph [0322], fig. 54) in a first direction three or more times greater than a width in a second direction (Y2, fig. 31, 1.6mm, for example, paragraph [0187]) wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction. Kim787 teaches increasing leadframe contact with circuit board enhances heat dissipation (paragraphs [0251][0237][0238]). Thus, increasing the size of leadframes (62a, fig. 26; or 72a, fig. 28) improves heat release (paragraph [0262]).
Dimension Y2 in fig. 31 of Oh equals to Y3 (fig. 31 of Oh) plus the portion of 610 below Y3.
It is well known that the physical dimensions of a leadframe affects its electrical characteristics—resistance and conduction.
Loh teaches the body (226, fig. 5) formed under a leadframe (200) enhances its mechanical connection with the leadframe (paragraph [0065]).
Kim238 teaches relative heights of a light emitting element (h) and of a recess (H) affects the overall luminance of the device (paragraphs [0048] to [0051]).
Sekiwa teaches the height of a light emitting element can be adjusted to optimize its light emitting characteristics (column 5, lines 11-47).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the dimensions of the light emitting element chips, of the first bonding portion, and of the body, to optimize the light emitting characteristics, mechanical strength of the package, electrical characteristics of the electrical interconnects, heat dissipating requirements, according to the intended use of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments that the cited art do not teach the added features in claim 2. Examiner disagrees. See rejection above.
Applicant also argues that five references being excessive. Reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention. In reGorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (Court affirmed a rejection of a detailed claim to a candy sucker shaped like a thumb on a stick based on thirteen prior art references.). MPEP 2145 V.
Applicant argues that Tillin does not teach the package to be upwardly inclined. Due to the vague claim language, Tillin reads on the claimed feature because it teaches the non-emitting surface tilting upward. See rejection above.
Conclusion
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899