DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 7-9 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (WO Publication 2019-009017) in view of Kano (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0280339).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Ito discloses a metal battery comprising: a negative electrode structure 100, and a positive electrode structure 510 (Fig. 5 and Paragraphs 0035, 0037), wherein the negative electrode structure comprises a current collector 110, an alkali metal 130 coated on both sides of the current collector, a separator 140 on both sides of the alkali metal layers opposite to the current collector, and a spacer 120 disposed on the current collector and having a height greater than the metal layer so that there is a space between the separator and metal layer where an electrolytic solution is filled, and wherein the spacer has a lattice, column or ladder shape (Paragraph 0013, 0022, Fig. 1). As to claims 2-4, Ito shows in Figs. 2 and 3 that the spacer can have a ladder or lattice shape, which has three or more lined projections next to each other that are connected, are configured integrally and are disposed regularly. As to claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lined projections could have different heights because Ito teaches that the spacer can have different shapes. Regarding claim 6, Ito teaches that a distance between the grids 100 µm to 20 mm (0024) and shows in Figs. 2 and 3 that the distance between grids is meant to be larger than a width of the spacer projected portions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the width of the projected portions would be less than the range of 100 µm to 20 mm. As to claim 7, Ito states that the spacers can be made of a resin material (Paragraph 0019). Regarding claim 8, Ito shows in Figs. 2 and 3 that the spacer can have a ladder or lattice shape, which have polygons with four sides. As to claim 10, it would be known by one of ordinary skill in the art that a polygon having four sides would have an internal angle of 120° or less. Regarding claim 11, based on the distance between grids discussed above, when squaring an amount at the lower end of the range, it would be less than 3.5 mm2. As to claim 12, Ito teaches that the spacer contacts 0.2 to 10% of the surface area of the current collector (Paragraph 0021).
Ito fails to disclose that lithium metal deposits on the negative electrode during charging, and dissolves from the negative electrode during discharging.
Kano discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising a negative electrode current collector 34 with separators 13 on each side, and protrusions 33a and 33b between the metal foil 32 of the current collector and each separator, wherein during charging, lithium metal is deposited in the space between the metal foil and separators, and during discharging, the lithium metal is dissolved (Paragraphs 0022, 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that lithium metal can be deposited and dissolved in the space between the anode and separators of Ito during charging and discharging because Kano teaches that this is a common occurrence in a lithium ion battery and that the space allows for formation of the lithium.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (WO Publication 2019-009017) in view of Kano (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0280339) as applied to claims 1-8 and 10-13 above, and further in view of Li (WO Publication 2020-061565).
The teachings of Ito and Kano have been discussed in paragraph 4 above.
Ito and Kano fail to disclose that the spacer projections have the shape of a hexagon.
Li discloses an anode comprising a structure between the anode and solid electrolyte that has open pores with a honeycomb structure for transport of an alkali metal (Paragraph 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the spacer structure of Ito could have a honeycomb, or hexagonal, structure because Li teaches that this structure shape improves the transport of lithium during charging and discharging and thus improves battery capacity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/107300 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 19/107300 teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; a spacer disposed on the separator; and a non-aqueous electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity, wherein the negative electrode is an electrode onto which lithium metal is deposited during charging and from which the lithium metal dissolves during discharging, wherein the separator has a first main surface facing the negative electrode and a second main surface facing the positive electrode, and the spacer is formed on the first main surface, and wherein the spacer includes linear protrusions in the shape of polygons or a honeycomb (Claims 1, 4, 6-8).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/869651 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 18/869651 teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a non-aqueous electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity, wherein the negative electrode is an electrode onto which lithium metal is deposited during charging and from which the lithium metal dissolves during discharging, and a first spacer is provided between the negative electrode and the separator, and wherein the spacer is in the shape of polygons or a honeycomb (Claims 1, 6, 7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/694576 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 18/694576 teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a non-aqueous electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity, wherein the negative electrode is an electrode onto which lithium metal is deposited during charging and from which the lithium metal dissolves during discharging, wherein the separator includes a spacer provided on the negative electrode side, and wherein the spacer includes line-shaped protrusions arranged in a mesh pattern, which is in the shape of polygons or a honeycomb (Claims 1, 8, 9).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/696465 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 18/696465 teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and a non-aqueous electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity, wherein the negative electrode is an electrode onto which lithium metal is deposited during charging and from which the lithium metal dissolves during discharging, wherein the separator includes a spacer provided on the negative electrode side, and wherein the spacer includes line-shaped protrusions arranged in a mesh pattern, which is in the shape of polygons or a honeycomb (Claims 1, 5, 7, 8).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722