DETAILED ACTION
This application is a national stage entry under 35 U.S.C. §371 of International Application No. PCT/CN2021/075773 filed 2/7/2021.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 3/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites Q is 1, 2, or 3. However, no other option is possible since 1, 2, or 3 substituents on the phenolic ring are possible. Hence, claim 2 does not further limit claim 1 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2016/0215142).
Regarding claim 1: Zhang is directed to a composition comprising a phenalkamine represented by the formula (I). Specifically, Zhang discloses the reaction product of
cardanol or cashew nut shell liquid (CNSL), aldehyde, and a polyamine via the Mannich reaction. CNSL mainly comprises cardanol and cardol (see structure of CNDL below). ([0019]). Suitable polyamines include polyoxyethylene diamine, and hence the reaction product of CNSL, aldehyde, and polyoxyethylene diamine results in a phenalkamine of formula I of the present invention wherein X is H or OH, R1 is an aliphatic chain with 15 carbon atoms, H, R3 and R4 are CH2CH2, P, Q are integers.
While Zhang doesn’t mention a single composition comprising the aforementioned specific formula wherein the polyamines is polyoxyethylene diamine, it would have been obvious to have selected such a formula since Zhang discloses finite number of identified, predictable options and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2: Q is either 1, 2, or 3 since no other option is possible.
Regarding claim 3: Zhang discloses the structure:
wherein a is
Regarding claim 4: R1 has an unsaturated bond in CNSL.
Regarding claim 5: R1 is C15H31-m wherein m is 0, 2, 4, or 6 in cardol and cardanol.
Regarding claim 6: R2 is H.
Regarding claim 7: Zhang discloses the structure:
wherein X includes -CH2CH2-O- segments, R0 and R0’ are aliphatic chains of 15 carbon atoms, and a and b are integers ([0026]).
Regarding claim 8: Zhang discloses the structure:
Where a can b=2, b=0, and c=1, and X1=X3 = -CH2CH2O- (equivalent to formula III of the present invention.
Regarding claim 9: Additives of dispersants, stabilizers, curing promoters, adhesion promoters, pigments, other curing agents, anti-rutting agents, anti-stripping
agents, flow modifiers and fillers ([0048]).
Contact Information
/ROBERT T BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764