Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-2, 5, and 7-16; drawn to a bacterial cell and pharmaceutical composition comprising the cell) in the reply filed on February 9, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 17-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Groups II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant further elected the following species with traverse:
a. An exogenous inducible promoter linked to an endogenous gene.
In light of the Applicant’s elected species, claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
DETAILED ACTION
The amended claims filed on August 12, 2026, have been acknowledged. Claims 3-4 and 6 were cancelled. Claims 1-2 and 8-10 were amended. In light of the Applicant’s elected invention and species, claims 11 and 17-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-10 and 12-16 are pending and examined on the merits.
Applicant’s response has been considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous office action mailed May 12, 2026, are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either newly applied or are reiterated and are the only rejections and/or objections presently applied to the instant application.
Priority
The applicant claims domestic priority from U.S. provisional application No. 63/147,506, filed on February 9, 2021. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-10 and 12-16 receive domestic benefit from U.S. provisional application No. 63/147,506, filed on February 9, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on August 12, 2026, has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No: 20170333490 (Forbes) further in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005). This is a new rejection substantially similar to a previous rejection of record made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Any aspect of Applicant’s traversal relevant to the new rejection of record is addressed below.
Forbes teaches a bacterial cell comprising a lysis gene or lysis cassette operably linked to an intracellularly induced Salmonella promoter. Forbes teaches that the bacterial cell can be a Salmonella cell. Forbes teaches that the intracellularly induced promoter is a promoter for one of the genes in Salmonella pathogenicity island 2 type III secretion system (SPI2-T3SS) including SseJ (claim 3). Forbes teaches that their bacterial cell is used as a platform for controlled gene and protein deliver into cancer cells to treat cancer (claim 1 and paragraphs 0006-0020, 0088-0091, and 0123-0124). Forbes teaches that the bacterial cell can further comprise a sifA deletion (claim 2).
Forbes does not teach wherein the bacterial cell further comprises deletion of SseJ.
However, Ohlson teaches that full virulence requires SseJ, as ΔsseJ mutants are mildly defective for intracellular replication in cultured cells and have a virulence defect in the mouse infection model. SseJ is one of only a few SPI2 effector proteins, including SifA, that lead to a virulence phenotype when deleted, which underscores the importance of this protein to Salmonella pathogenesis (abstract and page 6249, column 2, paragraph 2-page 6250, column 1, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of Forbes by deleting SseJ, as identified by Ohlson, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Ohlson teaches that SseJ deletion reduces the virulence of the bacterial cell. Furthermore, Forbes teaches that their bacterial cell can further comprise deletion of SifA, which is also known to reduce virulence when deleted. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the bacterial cell of Forbes could be modified to include an SseJ deletion as Forbes already contemplates a SifA deletion which is known to lead to a similar phenotype, reduced virulence, as the SseJ mutation, and reduced virulence is an important consideration for treating cancer. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Forbes teaches that the lysis cassette is Lysin E from phage phiXl 74, the lysis cassette of phage iEPS5, or the lysis cassette from lambda phage (claim 18).
Regarding claims 13-15, Forbes teaches that the cell can comprise a plasmid that encodes a therapeutic peptide, such as amino acids 143-224 of NIPP1 (paragraph 0013 and claims 7-10).
Regarding claim 16, Forbes teaches that the bacterial cell can be part of a pharmaceutical composition (paragraph 0020).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026, are acknowledged.
Applicant argues that Forbes teaches away from the presently claimed invention.
The claim claims are directed to a Salmonella cell comprising a SseJ deletion and a lysis gene operably linked to a pSseJ promoter. The pSseJ promoter is part of the Salmonella Pathogenicity Island 2 Type III Secretion System (SPI2-T3SS), which is known to be activated when the bacterium resides within the Salmonella-containing vacuole (SCV) of a host cell. Therefore, for the claimed invention to function as intended (i.e., for the promoter to activate the lysis gene), the Salmonella cell must be retained within the SCV. The SseJ deletion further enhances this mechanism by promoting retention within the vacuole, thereby improving protein delivery from the bacterial cell prior to lysis.
In contrast, Forbes discloses a system designed to operate under fundamentally opposite conditions. Forbes deletes the sifA gene to eliminate the SCV and increase the number of bacteria in the host cell cytosol. See Forbes, page 256, lines 45-36: "To eliminate the SCV and increase the number of bacteria in the host cell cytosol, the sifA gene was deleted...." Forbes's strategy is predicated on escaping the vacuole to achieve its therapeutic effect in the cytosol.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this fundamental incompatibility. The system of Forbes is designed for cytosolic activity and actively discloses steps to escape the vacuole. The presently claimed invention is designed for intra-vacuolar activity and relies on components that function specifically within the SCV. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to incorporate a SseJ deletion (which promotes vacuolar retention) and a pSseJ promoter (which requires vacuolar residence for activity) into the system of Forbes, because Forbes's is directed to escaping the vacuole, an environment where the pSseJ promoter would not be activated. Forbes thus teaches away from the conditions necessary for the claimed invention to operate.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As an initial matter, MPEP 2145(I) states that an argument by the applicant is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art. Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of applicant statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration. As such, although Applicant claims the Ssej promoter is only active in the Salmonella-containing vacuole (SCV) of a host cell, they have not provided any evidence that this is the case. On the contrary, United States Patent Application No: 20170333490 (Forbes) shows that ΔsifA Salmonella expressing EGFP under control of the sseJ promoter shows positive GFP expression distributed throughout the cytosol. Forbes specifically states due to the specificity of the sseJ promoter, only intracellular bacteria turn green. Control bacteria were all in localized in an SCV in contrast to the mutated strain that was scattered throughout the mammalian cell cytosol (Figure 7, paragraph 0027, and Example 1). Furthermore, throughout the Forbes patent application, Forbes describes the Ssej promoter as being a specific intracellular promoter and does not identify that this intracellular activity is specific to the SCV. Therefore, the evidence from Forbes would lead to a different conclusion from what is claimed by the Applicant. Specifically, that intracellular localization is important for Ssej promoter activity but that this is not dependent on the SCV as ΔsifA Salmonella expressing EGFP under control of the sseJ promoter shows positive GFP expression distributed throughout the cytosol.
Furthermore, it is worth pointing out that Forbes is the one that claimed an attenuated Salmonella strain comprising a lysis gene or cassette operably linked to an intracellularly induced Ssej promoter further comprising a sifA deletion (claims 1-3 and Example 1). Therefore, they clearly considered the combination of the lysis gene operably linked to an intracellularly induced Ssej promoter further comprising a sifA deletion to be an important and useful invention.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the presently claimed invention is designed for intra-vacuolar activity and relies on components that function specifically within the SCV) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, in response to applicant's argument that that the presently claimed invention is designed for intra-vacuolar activity and relies on components that function specifically within the SCV, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
As stated in the rejection above, Ohlson teaches that full virulence requires SseJ, as ΔsseJ mutants are mildly defective for intracellular replication in cultured cells and have a virulence defect in the mouse infection model. SseJ is one of only a few SPI2 effector proteins, including SifA, that lead to a virulence phenotype when deleted, which underscores the importance of this protein to Salmonella pathogenesis (abstract and page 6249, column 2, paragraph 2-page 6250, column 1, paragraph 3). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to delete Ssej in the salmonella cell of Forbes with a reasonable expectation of success because Ohlson teaches that SseJ deletion reduces the virulence of the bacterial cell. Furthermore, Forbes teaches that their bacterial cell can further comprise deletion of SifA, which is also known to reduce virulence when deleted. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the bacterial cell of Forbes could be modified to include an SseJ deletion as Forbes already contemplates a SifA deletion which is known to lead to a similar phenotype, reduced virulence, as the SseJ mutation, and reduced virulence is an important consideration for treating cancer. Therefore, there is a clear scientific rationale for deleting the Ssej gene in the Salmonella cell of Forbes as this reduces virulence which is an important consideration for treating cancer.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No: 20170333490 (Forbes) further in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raman et al. (Journal of ImmunoTherapy of Cancer 7: 1-16. 2019) and Stritzker et al. (International Journal of Medical Microbiology 300: 449–456. 2010). This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The teachings of Forbes and Ohlson are as discussed above.
Forbes and Ohlson do not teach wherein the bacterial cell comprises an exogenous inducible promoter operably linked to an endogenous flhDC.
However, Raman teaches that overexpression of flhDC using an inducible arabinose promoter (PBAD) increased intracellular accumulation and tumor colonization 2.5 and 5 times more than control Salmonella, respectively. When flhDC was selectively induced after penetration into tumor masses, Salmonella both accumulated intracellularly and colonized tumor masses 2 times more than controls. Mathematical modeling of tumor colonization dynamics demonstrated that intracellular accumulation increased retention of Salmonella in tumors by effectively causing the bacteria to bind to cancer cells and preventing leakage out of the tumors. These results demonstrated that increasing intracellular bacterial density increased overall tumor colonization and that flhDC could be used to control both (abstract and Table 1).
Raman teaches that Induction of flhDC increased the accumulation inside cancer cells. Controlling intracellular accumulation by inducing flhDC would increase tumor colonization. It would be beneficial to suppress flagellar expression outside of tumors. Flagella biosynthesis is an energetically costly process and can consume as much as 2% of bacterial energy. In addition, Salmonella flagellin is an immunogenic agonist that facilitates accelerated bacterial clearance. Inducing flhDC selectively after initial penetration into tumors would improve fitness prior to administration, while promoting invasion and colonization within tumors (Fig. 7, and page 13, column 1, paragraph 2-page 14, column 2, paragraph 1)
Stritzker teaches that motility does not play a significant role in tumor colonization
and bacterial distribution within the tumor. Rather, the whole colonization and intratumoral migration process seems to be a passive mechanism that is influenced by the reticuloendothelial system of the host, by the tumor microenvironment and by the bacterial metabolism. These conclusions were supported by experimental data demonstrating that disruption of the basic branch of the aromatic amino acid biosynthetic pathway and depletion of macrophages, in contrast to flagellar mutations, led to significant changes in bacterial accumulation in tumors of live mice (whole document). As can be seen in Figure 2, motility deficient mutants of Salmonella enterica serovar Typhimurium showed the same tumor colonization compared to wild type bacteria.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of the combined teachings of Forbes and Ohlson by expressing the endogenous flhDC gene under an exogenous PBAD arabinose inducible promoter, as identified by Raman, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Raman specifically identifies that it would be beneficial to suppress flagellar expression outside of tumors as flagella biosynthesis is an energetically costly process and can consume as much as 2% of bacterial energy. In addition , Salmonella flagellin is an immunogenic agonist that facilitates accelerated bacterial clearance. Inducing flhDC selectively after initial penetration into tumors would improve fitness prior to administration, while promoting invasion and colonization within tumors. Furthermore, Stritzker identifies that motility does not play a significant role in tumor colonization and bacterial distribution within the tumor as motility deficient mutants of Salmonella enterica serovar Typhimurium showed the same tumor colonization compared to wild type bacteria. Therefore, it would have been obvious to express the endogenous flhDC gene under the control of an exogenous PBAD arabinose inducible promoter to improve fitness prior to administration, while promoting invasion and colonization within tumors and Stritzker has already shown that lack of motility (which would occur outside the tumor without flhDC expression) did not impact tumor colonization. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No: 20170333490 (Forbes) further in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gauger et al. (Infection and Immunity 75: 3315-3324. 2007) and United States Patent Application No. 20200270613 (Thanos). This rejection is repeated with regards to the rejection in the Non-final Office action mailed on May 12, 2026. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The teachings of Forbes and Ohlson are as discussed above.
Forbes and Ohlson do not teach wherein the bacterial cell does not comprise endogenous flhDC.
However, Gauger teaches that bacteria with flhDC deletions grew 10 to 30% faster. The deletions appear to be selected for two reasons. First, genes unrelated to motility that are normally either directly or indirectly repressed by flhDC but can contribute to maximum colonizing ability are released from repression. Second, energy normally used to synthesize flagella and turn the flagellar motor is redirected to growth (whole document).
Thanos teaches that it has been shown that selective inhibition of QseC by LED209 inhibits bacterial virulence without suppressing S. typhimurium growth, by inhibiting the QseC-mediated activation of virulence-related gene expression (e.g.,flhDC, sifA and sopB), and partially protects mice from death following infection with S. typhimurium or Francisella tularensis. QseC blockade was found to inhibit caspase-1 activation, IL-1β release, and S. typhimurium-induced pyroptosis of macrophages, by inhibiting excess inflammasome activation in the infected macrophages. Inhibition of QseC also suppresses flagellar gene expression and motility, and suppresses the invasion and replication capacities of S. typhimurium in epithelial cells. Thus, modification of the bacteria, to mutate or knockout the gene encoding QseC, can enhance the anti-tumor immune response by focusing S. typhimurium infection to non-epithelial cells, and by reducing cell death in immune
cells, such as by preventing pyroptosis in macrophages (paragraph 0487).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of the combined teachings of Forbes and Ohlson by further deleting the flhDC gene, as identified by Gauger, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Gauger teaches that flhDC deletions grew 10 to 30% faster and Thanos teaches that reducing flhDC expression through QseC inhibition inhibits bacterial virulence without suppressing Salmonella typhimurium growthInhibition of QseC also suppresses flagellar gene expression and motility and can enhance the anti-tumor immune response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify the bacterial cells of Forbes and Ohlson to improve cell growth and anti-tumor response. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No: 20170333490 (Forbes) further in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application No. 20200270613 (Thanos). This is a new rejection s made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The teachings of Forbes and Ohlson are as discussed above.
Forbes and Ohlson do not teach wherein the bacterial cell does not comprise endogenous fliC and fljB.
Thanos teaches that deletion of the fliC and fljB genes in a Salmonella bacterial cell increases tumor/tumor microenvironment and tumor-resident immune cell colonization, and increases anti-tumor activity (paragraphs 0022-0024 and Examples 7 and 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of the combined teachings of Forbes and Ohlson by further deleting the fliC and fljB genes, as identified by Thanos, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Thanos teaches that deletion of the fliC and fljB genes in a Salmonella bacterial cell increases tumor/tumor microenvironment and tumor-resident immune cell colonization, and increases anti-tumor activity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify the bacterial cells of Forbes and Ohlson to improve tumor colonization and anti-tumor response. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No: 20170333490 (Forbes) further in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raman et al. (Journal of ImmunoTherapy of Cancer 7: 1-16. 2019), Das et al. (Virulence, 9: 348-362. 2018), and Silva-Valenzuela et al. (Oncotarget 7: 35169-35180. 2016). This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The teachings of Forbes and Ohlson are as discussed above.
Forbes and Ohlson do not teach wherein the bacterial cell comprises an exogenous inducible promoter operably linked to an endogenous motA.
However, Raman teaches that overexpression of flhDC using an inducible arabinose promoter (PBAD) increased intracellular accumulation and tumor colonization 2.5 and 5 times more than control Salmonella, respectively. When flhDC was selectively induced after penetration into tumor masses, Salmonella both accumulated intracellularly and colonized tumor masses 2 times more than controls. Mathematical modeling of tumor colonization dynamics demonstrated that intracellular accumulation increased retention of Salmonella in tumors by effectively causing the bacteria to bind to cancer cells and preventing leakage out of the tumors. These results demonstrated that increasing intracellular bacterial density increased overall tumor colonization and that flhDC could be used to control both (abstract and Table 1).
Raman teaches that it would be beneficial to suppress flagellar expression outside of tumors (page 13, column 1, paragraph 2-page 14, column 2, paragraph 1).
Das teaches that both chemotaxis and motility proteins such as MotA and MotB are shown to be involved in the invasion of Salmonella in the epithelial cell lineage, HeLa. Therefore, down-regulation of such a module would likely result in disrupted flagellar motility, non-invasiveness to both epithelial and macrophage cells and impaired protein transport activity (page 356, column 1, paragraph 2).
Silva-Valenzuela teaches that the motility genes motAB confer an advantage for colonization of Salmonella within tumors (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of the combined teachings of Forbes and Ohlson by expressing the endogenous motA and/or motB gene(s) under an exogenous PBAD arabinose inducible promoter to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Raman successfully reduces to practice that flagella related genes can be induced selectively after initial penetration into tumors to improve fitness. Silva-Valenzuela teaches that motA and motB expression confer an advantage for colonization of Salmonella within tumors while Das teaches that motility proteins such as MotA and MotB are shown to be involved in the invasion of Salmonella in the epithelial cell lineage. Therefore, inducing expression of motA and/or motB would help limit its invasion of non-tumor epithelial cells while ensuring that expression is induced in tumors to improve the fitness of the Salmonella cells. As this was already done in a similar manner with flhDC expression, it would have been obvious that it could also be done with motA and/or motB. As such, it would have been obvious to express the endogenous motA and/or motB genes under the control of an exogenous PBAD arabinose inducible promoter to limit invasion of epithelial cells not associated with the tumor (such as the lining of the stomach), while promoting fitness of the Salmonella cells within tumors. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-10, 13-14, and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6, 9-14, 18-21, 28-29, and 32-33 of copending Application No. 18851628 (reference application) in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
Regarding claim 1, as part of the method of treating cancer of claim 21, ‘628 claims a non-pathogenic bacterial cell expressing an exogenous immunogenic protein intracellularly, wherein the cell comprises a lysis gene or lysis cassette operably linked to an intracellularly induced Salmonella promoter, wherein expression of SseJ has been reduced (claims 21 and 6). ‘628 claims the bacterial cell is a Salmonella cell (claim 10). ‘628 claims the intracellularly induced Salmonella promoter is for one of the genes in Salmonella pathogenicity island 2 type III secretion system (SPI2-T3SS) including SseJ (claim 12).
‘628 claims expression of SseJ has been reduced and not deleted as required by claim 1.
However, Ohlson teaches that full virulence requires SseJ, as ΔsseJ mutants are mildly defective for intracellular replication in cultured cells and have a virulence defect in the mouse infection model. SseJ is one of only a few SPI2 effector proteins, including SifA, that lead to a virulence phenotype when deleted, which underscores the importance of this protein to Salmonella pathogenesis (abstract and page 6249, column 2, paragraph 2-page 6250, column 1, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of Forbes by deleting SseJ, as identified by Ohlson, instead of just reducing its expression to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Ohlson teaches that SseJ deletion reduces the virulence of the bacterial cell. Therefore, it was well understood that SseJ deletion reduces the virulence of the bacterial cell which is an important consideration for treating cancer. As such, it would have been well understood that the full gene knockout could be used in place of a reduced expression mutant. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 2 and 9-10, ‘628 claims wherein the cell comprises an exogenous inducible promoter operably linked to an endogenous flhDC and/or motA (claim 14).
Regarding claim 5, ‘628 claims the lysis cassette is Lysin E from phage phiX174, the lysis cassette of phage iEPS5, or the lysis cassette from lambda phage (claim 11).
Regarding claims 7-8, ‘628 claims wherein the cell does not comprise endogenous flhDC and/or motA (claim 13).
Regarding claims 13-14, ‘628 claims wherein the expressed protein is coded for by an expression plasmid and claims multiple therapeutic protein (claims 2-4).
Regarding claim 16, ‘628 claims a composition comprising a population of cells of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 18).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9-14, 18-21, 28-29, and 32-33 of copending Application No. 18851628 (reference application) and Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Raman et al. (Journal of ImmunoTherapy of Cancer 7: 1-16. 2019), Das et al. (Virulence, 9: 348-362. 2018), and Silva-Valenzuela et al. (Oncotarget 7: 35169-35180. 2016). This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The claims of ‘628 and teachings of Ohlson are as discussed above.
‘628 is silent regarding the exogenous inducible promoter.
However, Raman teaches that overexpression of flhDC using an inducible arabinose promoter (PBAD) increased intracellular accumulation and tumor colonization 2.5 and 5 times more than control Salmonella, respectively. When flhDC was selectively induced after penetration into tumor masses, Salmonella both accumulated intracellularly and colonized tumor masses 2 times more than controls. Mathematical modeling of tumor colonization dynamics demonstrated that intracellular accumulation increased retention of Salmonella in tumors by effectively causing the bacteria to bind to cancer cells and preventing leakage out of the tumors. These results demonstrated that increasing intracellular bacterial density increased overall tumor colonization and that flhDC could be used to control both (abstract and Table 1).
Raman teaches that it would be beneficial to suppress flagellar expression outside of tumors (page 13, column 1, paragraph 2-page 14, column 2, paragraph 1).
Das teaches that both chemotaxis and motility proteins such as MotA and MotB are shown to be involved in the invasion of Salmonella in the epithelial cell lineage, HeLa. Therefore, down-regulation of such a module would likely result in disrupted flagellar motility, non-invasiveness to both epithelial and macrophage cells and impaired protein transport activity (page 356, column 1, paragraph 2).
Silva-Valenzuela teaches that the motility genes motAB confer an advantage for colonization of Salmonella within tumors (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the PBAD arabinose inducible promoter could be used because it has previously been used to induce flhDC expression with improved tumor colonization, a similar goal of ‘628 (see claim 9) and inducing motA selectively after initial penetration into tumors would improve fitness prior to administration, while limiting invasion of non-tumor cells. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9-14, 18-21, 28-29, and 32-33 of copending Application No. 18851628 (reference application) and Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of United States Patent Application No: 20170333490 (Forbes). This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The claims of ‘628 and the teachings of Ohlson are as discussed above.
‘628 does not teach wherein the therapeutic peptide is NIPP1.
However, Forbes teaches a bacterial cell comprising a lysis gene or lysis cassette operably linked to an intracellularly induced Salmonella promoter. Forbes teaches that their bacterial cell is used as a platform for controlled gene and protein deliver into cancer cells to treat cancer (claim 1 and paragraphs 0006-0020, 0088-0091, and 0123-0124). Forbes teaches that the cell can comprise a plasmid that encodes a therapeutic peptide, such as amino acids 143-224 of NIPP1 (paragraph 0013 and claims 7-10). Forbes teaches that bacterial delivery of a NIPP1-based polypeptide induces cancer cell death (paragraph 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the therapeutic protein could be NIPP1 because Forbes teaches a similar bacterial cell that is used to induce cancer cell death and has identified that expressing NIPP1 induces cancer cell death and ‘628 directly claims that their cell can be intratumoral and wants to use their cell to treat cancer (claim 21). Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 5, and 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11103538 in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005). This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
Regarding claim 1, ‘538 claims an attenuated Salmonella strain comprising a lysis gene or cassette operably linked to an intracellularly induced Salmonella promoter, wherein the intracellularly induced Salmonella promoter induces lysis of the Salmonella strain when in mammalian cytosol without an extracellular inducer agent, wherein the promoter is SseJ. ‘538 claims that the bacterial cell can further comprise a sifA deletion (claim 2). ‘538 claims that their bacterial cell can be used to treat cancer (claims 12-15).
‘538 does not teach wherein the bacterial cell further comprises deletion of SseJ.
However, Ohlson teaches that full virulence requires SseJ, as ΔsseJ mutants are mildly defective for intracellular replication in cultured cells and have a virulence defect in the mouse infection model. SseJ is one of only a few SPI2 effector proteins, including SifA, that lead to a virulence phenotype when deleted, which underscores the importance of this protein to Salmonella pathogenesis (abstract and page 6249, column 2, paragraph 2-page 6250, column 1, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of ‘538 by deleting SseJ, as identified by Ohlson, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Ohlson teaches that SseJ deletion reduces the virulence of the bacterial cell. Furthermore, ‘538 claims that their bacterial cell can further comprise deletion of SifA, which is also known to reduce virulence when deleted. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the bacterial cell of ‘538 could be modified to include an SseJ deletion as ‘538 already contemplates a SifA deletion which is known to lead to a similar phenotype, reduced virulence, as the SseJ mutation, and reduced virulence is an important consideration for treating cancer. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, ‘538 claims that the lysis cassette is Lysin E from phage phiXl 74, the lysis cassette of phage iEPS5, or the lysis cassette from lambda phage (claim 16).
Regarding claims 13-15, ‘538 claims that the cell can comprise a plasmid that encodes a therapeutic peptide, such as amino acids 143-224 of NIPP1 (claims 6-9).
Regarding claim 16, ‘538 claims that the bacterial cell can be part of a pharmaceutical composition (claim 11).
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11103538 in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raman et al. (Journal of ImmunoTherapy of Cancer 7: 1-16. 2019) and Stritzker et al. (International Journal of Medical Microbiology 300: 449–456. 2010). This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The teachings of ‘538 and Ohlson are as discussed above.
‘538 and Ohlson do not teach wherein the bacterial cell comprises an exogenous inducible promoter operably linked to an endogenous flhDC.
However, Raman teaches that overexpression of flhDC using an inducible arabinose promoter (PBAD) increased intracellular accumulation and tumor colonization 2.5 and 5 times more than control Salmonella, respectively. When flhDC was selectively induced after penetration into tumor masses, Salmonella both accumulated intracellularly and colonized tumor masses 2 times more than controls. Mathematical modeling of tumor colonization dynamics demonstrated that intracellular accumulation increased retention of Salmonella in tumors by effectively causing the bacteria to bind to cancer cells and preventing leakage out of the tumors. These results demonstrated that increasing intracellular bacterial density increased overall tumor colonization and that flhDC could be used to control both (abstract and Table 1).
Raman teaches that Induction of flhDC increased the accumulation inside cancer cells. Controlling intracellular accumulation by inducing flhDC would increase tumor colonization. It would be beneficial to suppress flagellar expression outside of tumors. Flagella biosynthesis is an energetically costly process and can consume as much as 2% of bacterial energy. In addition , Salmonella flagellin is an immunogenic agonist that facilitates accelerated bacterial clearance. Inducing flhDC selectively after initial penetration into tumors would improve fitness prior to administration, while promoting invasion and colonization within tumors (Fig. 7, and page 13, column 1, paragraph 2-page 14, column 2, paragraph 1)
Stritzker teaches that motility does not play a significant role in tumor colonization
and bacterial distribution within the tumor. Rather, the whole colonization and intratumoral migration process seems to be a passive mechanism that is influenced by the reticuloendothelial system of the host, by the tumor microenvironment and by the bacterial metabolism. These conclusions were supported by experimental data demonstrating that disruption of the basic branch of the aromatic amino acid biosynthetic pathway and depletion of macrophages, in contrast to flagellar mutations, led to significant changes in bacterial accumulation in tumors of live mice (whole document). As can be seen in Figure 2, motility deficient mutants of Salmonella enterica serovar Typhimurium showed the same tumor colonization compared to wild type bacteria.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of the combined teachings of ‘538 and Ohlson by expressing the endogenous flhDC gene under an exogenous PBAD arabinose inducible promoter, as identified by Raman, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Raman specifically identifies that it would be beneficial to suppress flagellar expression outside of tumors as flagella biosynthesis is an energetically costly process and can consume as much as 2% of bacterial energy. In addition , Salmonella flagellin is an immunogenic agonist that facilitates accelerated bacterial clearance. Inducing flhDC selectively after initial penetration into tumors would improve fitness prior to administration, while promoting invasion and colonization within tumors. Furthermore, Stritzker identifies that motility does not play a significant role in tumor colonization and bacterial distribution within the tumor as motility deficient mutants of Salmonella enterica serovar Typhimurium showed the same tumor colonization compared to wild type bacteria. Therefore, it would have been obvious to express the endogenous flhDC gene under the control of an exogenous PBAD arabinose inducible promoter to improve fitness prior to administration, while promoting invasion and colonization within tumors and Stritzker has already shown that lack of motility (which would occur outside the tumor without flhDC expression) did not impact tumor colonization. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11103538 in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gauger et al. (Infection and Immunity 75: 3315-3324. 2007) and United States Patent Application No. 20200270613 (Thanos). This rejection is repeated with regards to the rejection in the Non-final Office action mailed on May 12, 2026. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The teachings of ‘538 and Ohlson are as discussed above.
‘538 and Ohlson do not teach wherein the bacterial cell does not comprise endogenous flhDC.
However, Gauger teaches that bacteria with flhDC deletions grew 10 to 30% faster. The deletions appear to be selected for two reasons. First, genes unrelated to motility that are normally either directly or indirectly repressed by flhDC but can contribute to maximum colonizing ability are released from repression. Second, energy normally used to synthesize flagella and turn the flagellar motor is redirected to growth (whole document).
Thanos teaches that it has been shown that selective inhibition of QseC by LED209 inhibits bacterial virulence without suppressing S. typhimurium growth, by inhibiting the QseC-mediated activation of virulence-related gene expression (e.g.,flhDC, sifA and sopB), and partially protects mice from death following infection with S. typhimurium or Francisella tularensis. QseC blockade was found to inhibit caspase-1 activation, IL-1β release, and S. typhimurium-induced pyroptosis of macrophages, by inhibiting excess inflammasome activation in the infected macrophages. Inhibition of QseC also suppresses flagellar gene expression and motility, and suppresses the invasion and replication capacities of S. typhimurium in epithelial cells. Thus, modification of the bacteria, to mutate or knockout the gene encoding QseC, can enhance the anti-tumor immune response by focusing S. typhimurium infection to non-epithelial cells, and by reducing cell death in immune
cells, such as by preventing pyroptosis in macrophages (paragraph 0487).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of the combined teachings of ‘538 and Ohlson by further deleting the flhDC gene, as identified by Gauger, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Gauger teaches that flhDC deletions grew 10 to 30% faster and Thanos teaches that reducing flhDC expression through QseC inhibition inhibits bacterial virulence without suppressing Salmonella typhimurium growthInhibition of QseC also suppresses flagellar gene expression and motility and can enhance the anti-tumor immune response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify the bacterial cells of ‘538 and Ohlson to improve cell growth and anti-tumor response. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11103538 in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application No. 20200270613 (Thanos). This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The teachings of ‘538 and Ohlson are as discussed above.
‘538 and Ohlson do not teach wherein the bacterial cell does not comprise endogenous fliC and fljB.
Thanos teaches that deletion of the fliC and fljB genes in a Salmonella bacterial cell increases tumor/tumor microenvironment and tumor-resident immune cell colonization, and increases anti-tumor activity (paragraphs 0022-0024 and Examples 7 and 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of the combined teachings of ‘538 and Ohlson by further deleting the fliC and fljB genes, as identified by Thanos, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Thanos teaches that deletion of the fliC and fljB genes in a Salmonella bacterial cell increases tumor/tumor microenvironment and tumor-resident immune cell colonization, and increases anti-tumor activity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify the bacterial cells of ‘538 and Ohlson to improve tumor colonization and anti-tumor response. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1, 9-10, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11103538 in view of Ohlson et al. (Infection and Immunity 73: 6249-6259. 2005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raman et al. (Journal of ImmunoTherapy of Cancer 7: 1-16. 2019), Das et al. (Virulence, 9: 348-362. 2018), and Silva-Valenzuela et al. (Oncotarget 7: 35169-35180. 2016). This is a new rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above.
The teachings of ‘538 and Ohlson are as discussed above.
Forbes and Ohlson do not teach wherein the bacterial cell comprises an exogenous inducible promoter operably linked to an endogenous motA.
However, Raman teaches that overexpression of flhDC using an inducible arabinose promoter (PBAD) increased intracellular accumulation and tumor colonization 2.5 and 5 times more than control Salmonella, respectively. When flhDC was selectively induced after penetration into tumor masses, Salmonella both accumulated intracellularly and colonized tumor masses 2 times more than controls. Mathematical modeling of tumor colonization dynamics demonstrated that intracellular accumulation increased retention of Salmonella in tumors by effectively causing the bacteria to bind to cancer cells and preventing leakage out of the tumors. These results demonstrated that increasing intracellular bacterial density increased overall tumor colonization and that flhDC could be used to control both (abstract and Table 1).
Raman teaches that it would be beneficial to suppress flagellar expression outside of tumors (page 13, column 1, paragraph 2-page 14, column 2, paragraph 1).
Das teaches that both chemotaxis and motility proteins such as MotA and MotB are shown to be involved in the invasion of Salmonella in the epithelial cell lineage, HeLa. Therefore, down-regulation of such a module would likely result in disrupted flagellar motility, non-invasiveness to both epithelial and macrophage cells and impaired protein transport activity (page 356, column 1, paragraph 2).
Silva-Valenzuela teaches that the motility genes motAB confer an advantage for colonization of Salmonella within tumors (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bacterial cell of the combined teachings of ‘538 and Ohlson by expressing the endogenous motA and/or motB gene(s) under an exogenous PBAD arabinose inducible promoter to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because Raman successfully reduces to practice that flagella related genes can be induced selectively after initial penetration into tumors to improve fitness. Silva-Valenzuela teaches that motA and motB expression confer an advantage for colonization of Salmonella within tumors while Das teaches that motility proteins such as MotA and MotB are shown to be involved in the invasion of Salmonella in the epithelial cell lineage. Therefore, inducing expression of motA and/or motB would help limit its invasion of non-tumor epithelial cells while ensuring that expression is induced in tumors to improve the fitness of the Salmonella cells. As this was already done in a similar manner with flhDC expression, it would have been obvious that it could also be done with motA and/or motB. As such, it would have been obvious to express the endogenous motA and/or motB genes under the control of an exogenous PBAD arabinose inducible promoter to limit invasion of epithelial cells not associated with the tumor (such as the lining of the stomach), while promoting fitness of the Salmonella cells within tumors. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEENAN A BATES/Examiner, Art Unit 1631