DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Acknowledgment is made to applicant’s ¶ 0016 in which the term “perforating” is defined to be the generation of at least one aperture extending through the entire thickness of a foil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sugikawa (US 6500582 B1).
With regards to claims 11 and 30, Sugikawa teaches a method of producing a cathode for a lithium-ion battery (col 1 ln 8-21, the method is for producing an electrode which includes positive or negative electrodes for lithium primary or secondary batteries, col 8 ln 1-34) comprising providing a carrier foil (10), applying a coating compound which comprises a particulate auxiliary material (20) to at least one main face of the foil and compressing the compound to form an electrode film on the carrier foil in which the foil is perforated by the particulate during compression (Fig. 1 shows the coating at rollers 22A/B and compression at rollers 30-33 to perforate as seen in Fig. 3A-3D).
With regards to claim 29, Sugikawa teaches using a foil with a thickness of 58 micrometers and a powder with an average particle size of 40 micrometers which is more than 0.5 times the thickness of the foil (col 12 ln 16-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-19, 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugikawa (US 6500582 B1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Iwasaki et al. (Pub No 2018/0083269).
With regards to claim 12, Sugikawa teaches that the particular powder material applies to the foil depends upon the battery type such that the powder applied may also including a conductive agent such as carbon (col 8 ln 1-27) but does not teach the materials listed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Iwasaki teaches that an improved electrode active material comprises a composite of active material particles and auxiliary particles (Abstract, Fig. 1) in which the auxiliary particles may include insulator particles such as boehmite (¶ 0069) or solid electrolyte particles such as lithium ion conductors (¶ 0072-0075). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included such additional particles in the active material composition of Sugikawa. Both Sugikawa and Iwasaki relate to forming lithium battery electrodes, and Sugikawa teaches that the particle powder composition is not limited and is dependent upon the battery desired (col 8 ln 1-27). Doing so presents a simple substitution of one known active material composition for another yielding predictable results.
With regards to claims 13-14, Iwasaki teaches using Boehmite, the same suitable compound as applicant.
With regards to claim 15, Sugikawa teaches that it is known to include carbon and Iwasaki teaches including conductive agents such as graphite, nanotubes and carbon black (¶ 0080).
With regards to claim 16, Iwasaki teaches that it is known to include a binder such as PVdf (¶ 0082). While Sugikawa teaches that the method of producing the electrode does not require a binder (col 8 ln 1-27), it remains obvious to one of ordinary skill to include a binder if desired to aid in binding of the composite active material. It is within the skill of one in the art to weigh the advantages and disadvantages of binder that is known to improve adhesion while decreasing electrical conductivity predictably. Sugikawa teaches that both methods produce the part (Fig. 2A, 2B).
With regards to claim 17, Sugikawa teaches coating and pressing the coating compound (Fig. 1).
With regards to claims 18 and 19, Sugikawa in view of Iwasaki teaches that the compound includes a cathode active material as applied to claim 12 above.
With regards to claim 27, Iwasaki does not teach the particular shape of the auxiliary material particles; however, barring a showing of unexpected results it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use a non-perfectly spherical particle such that there exists at least one of the claimed features as mere changes in shape present a case of prima facie obviousness as discussed in MPEP 2144 and one would be motivated as perfectly spherical particles present a challenge in manufacturing.
With regards to claim 28, Iwasaki teaches that the auxiliary particles can be secondary particles that are agglomerated primary particles (¶ 0035).
Claim(s) 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugikawa (US 6500582 B1) in view of Iwasaki et al. (Pub No 2018/0083269) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Yamazaki (Pub No 2016/0211505).
With regards to claims 20, 21 and 24, Sugikawa in view of Iwasaki as applied to claim 19 teaches coating a current collector with a first coating compound, but does not teach a step of applying an active material coating compound temporally after the coating compound is applied.
In the same field of endeavor of electrodes for batteries Yamazaki teaches that it was known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to produce multi-layer electrodes by applying a layer comprising active material to an existing layer on an electrode utilizing a series of nozzles (Abstract, Fig. 3, ¶ 0017). This allows for different compositions to be applied as desired (¶ 0018). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize a multi-layer deposition technique in Sugikawa in order to increase options available for varying the composition as such is a known technique in the art of electrode manufacturing presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so utilizes a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way.
With regards to claims 22 and 23, Yamazaki teaches that layers of a desired thickness can be formed (¶ 0087-0089) and barring a showing of unexpected results the mere changes in relative size or dimension present a case of prima facie obviousness as discussed in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743