DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 9. The pending claims are claims 1-11.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “does not melt” in independent claims 1 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “does not melt” is not defined by the claim; the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Regarding amended independent claims 1 and 9, “does not melt” is not in the specification and the Examiner interprets “should not melt” (0062), of the Specification of the PG Pub, as it “might not melt”, but “it might melt.”
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is a difference between “does not melt” and “should not melt”; as “does not melt” is a definite term, while “should not melt” means that it may or may not melt (it is not a definite term)..
. Regarding amended independent claims 1 and 9, “does not melt” is not in the specification and the Examiner interprets “should not melt” (0062), of the Specification of the PG Pub, as it “might not melt”, but “it might melt.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ko et al., US 2005/0147866.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2005/0147866.
Regarding claim 1, Ko et al., teaches a seal material (abstract) for an electrochemical reaction cell (abstract) for separating fuel gas and oxidizing gas in the electrochemical reaction cell (0048), comprising: a plurality of ceramic particles (ceramic fibrous particles; 0035-0038); and a hardener for hardening the plurality of ceramic particles (0020; 0024), wherein the seal material has an apparent porosity (0020; 0024; 0026) of 10 to 25% (0037) (Table 4: porosity 4-23%).
Regarding the amendment, “wherein the plurality of ceramic particles does not melt at an operating temperature of the electrochemical reaction cell,” there is a difference between “does not melt” and “should not melt”; as “does not melt” is a definite term, while “should not melt” means that it may or may not melt (it is not a definite term). . Regarding amended independent claims 1 and 9, “does not melt” is not in the specification and the Examiner interprets “should not melt” (0062), of the Specification of the PG Pub, as it “might not melt”, but “it might melt.”
Regarding claim 2, Ko et al., teaches seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell (abstract) according to the seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell according to wherein the plurality of ceramic particles includes different particle sizes (0048).
Regarding claim 3, Ko et al., teaches wherein the plurality of ceramic particles includes different types (0026; 0035-0038).
Regarding claim 4, Ko et al., teaches wherein the plurality of ceramic particles includes at least one of A1203 (0028; 0035), ZrO2 (028; 0039) or MgO (0019-0020; 0024; 0028).
Regarding claim 5, Ko et al., teaches wherein the hardener (0020; 0024) includes at least one of a Si-Ca-Al-O-based cement hardener (0020).
Regarding claim 7, Ko et al., teaches wherein the plurality of ceramic particles further includes ZrSiO2 (0011).
Regarding claim 9, Ko et al., teaches method of producing a seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell (abstract) for separating fuel gas and oxidizing gas in the electrochemical reaction cell (separator; 0043; 0048), comprising a step of hardening a plurality of ceramic particles with a hardener (0020; 0024) so as to have an apparent porosity of 10 to 25% (0037) (Table 4: porosity 4-23%).
Regarding the amendment, “wherein the plurality of ceramic particles does not melt at an operating temperature of the electrochemical reaction cell,” there is a difference between “does not melt” and “should not melt”; as “does not melt” is a definite term, while “should not melt” means that it may or may not melt (it is not a definite term). Regarding amended independent claims 1 and 9, “does not melt” is not in the specification and the Examiner interprets “should not melt” (0062), of the Specification of the PG Pub, as it “might not melt”, but “it might melt.”
Regarding claim 11, Ko et al., teaches method of producing a seal material (abstract) for an electrochemical reaction cell (abstract) according to the method of producing a seal material (abstract) for an electrochemical reaction cell according to wherein the hardener is a cement-based hardener (0020; 0023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2005/0147866, in view of Tsukuda et al., US 6562505.
Regarding claim 8, Ko et al., does not teach a current collector member for collecting power generated by the at least one electrochemical reaction cell stack; and a seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell according to claim 1, wherein the seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell is disposed between a fuel gas passage and an oxidizing gas passage of the at least one electrochemical reaction cell stack.
Tsukuda et al., teaches a current collector member for collecting power generated by the at least one electrochemical reaction cell stack (col. 2, lines 57-67); and a seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell according to claim 1 (abstract), wherein the seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell is disposed between a fuel gas passage and an oxidizing gas passage of the at least one electrochemical reaction cell stack (col. 2, lines 57-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to insert the teachings of Tsukuda et al., into the teachings of Ko et al., because Tsukuda teaches a sealing structure designed to increase the sealability of the cell tube “thereby enhancing the electrical characteristics” of the electrochemical cell.
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2005/0147866, in view of Blackburn et al., US 2021/0143448.
Regarding claim 6, Ko et al., teaches wherein the plurality of ceramic particles include MgO (0019-0020; 0024; 0028).
Ko does not teach the hardener includes a phosphoric acid-based hardener.
Blackburn teaches a phosphoric acid-based hardener (phosphoric acid; 0161) (cements; 0141; 0143).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Blackburn into the teachings of Ko because Blackburn teaches that “Such seals 320 may be advantageous for the sealing of metallic materials to ceramic materials and/or for the sealing together of two different metallic or ceramic materials.” (0139).
Regarding claim 10, Ko et al., teaches the method of producing a seal material (0010-0012) with the plurality of ceramic particles including MgO (0019-0020; 0024; 0028).
Ko does not teach for an electrochemical reaction cell according to wherein magnesium phosphate is synthesized as the hardener by mixing phosphoric acid.
Blackburn teaches an electrochemical reaction cell according to wherein magnesium phosphate is synthesized as the hardener by mixing phosphoric acid (0161).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Blackburn into the teachings of Ko because Blackburn teaches that “Such seals 320 may be advantageous for the sealing of metallic materials to ceramic materials and/or for the sealing together of two different metallic or ceramic materials.” (0139).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “apparent porosity in Ko refer to values obtained upon firing the glass/ceramic fiber gasket and do not represent values during operation.”
However, the porosity in the seal material of Ko teaches a porosity of 4% to 23% in Table 4 of Ko et al. (0037). Independent claim 1 is a product claim so the method of making the porous seal material is not dependent on the product.
The Applicant argues that “by clarifying that the ceramic particles do not melt in claim 1, the patentable distinction from Ko is evident.”
However, the term “does not melt” in amended claims 1 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “does not melt” is not defined by the claim; the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Regarding amended independent claims 1 and 9, “does not melt” is not in the specification. Instead, “should not melt” is in paragraph 0062 of the Specification of the PG Pub.
Regarding amended independent claims 1 and 9, “does not melt” is not in the specification and the Examiner interprets “should not melt” (0062), of the Specification of the PG Pub, as it “might not melt”, but “it might melt.”
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727