DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are claims 1-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ko et al., US 2005/0147866.
Regarding claim 1, Ko et al., teaches a seal material (abstract) for an electrochemical reaction cell (abstract) for separating fuel gas and oxidizing gas in the electrochemical reaction cell (0048), comprising: a plurality of ceramic particles (ceramic fibrous particles; 0035-0038); and a hardener for hardening the plurality of ceramic particles (0020; 0024), wherein the seal material has an apparent porosity (0020; 0024; 0026) of 10 to 25% (0037) (Table 4: porosity 4-23%).
Regarding claim 2, Ko et al., teaches seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell (abstract) according to the seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell according to wherein the plurality of ceramic particles includes different particle sizes (0048).
Regarding claim 3, Ko et al., teaches wherein the plurality of ceramic particles includes different types (0026; 0035-0038).
Regarding claim 4, Ko et al., teaches wherein the plurality of ceramic particles includes at least one of A1203 (0028; 0035), ZrO2 (028; 0039) or MgO (0019-0020; 0024; 0028).
Regarding claim 5, Ko et al., teaches wherein the hardener (0020; 0024) includes at least one of a Si-Ca-Al-O-based cement hardener (0020).
Regarding claim 7, Ko et al., teaches wherein the plurality of ceramic particles further includes ZrSiO2 (0011).
Regarding claim 9, Ko et al., teaches method of producing a seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell (abstract) for separating fuel gas and oxidizing gas in the electrochemical reaction cell (separator; 0043; 0048), comprising a step of hardening a plurality of ceramic particles with a hardener (0020; 0024) so as to have an apparent porosity of 10 to 25% (0037) (Table 4: porosity 4-23%).
Regarding claim 11, Ko et al., teaches method of producing a seal material (abstract) for an electrochemical reaction cell (abstract) according to the method of producing a seal material (abstract) for an electrochemical reaction cell according to wherein the hardener is a cement-based hardener (0020; 0023).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2005/0147866, in view of Tsukuda et al., US 6562505.
Regarding claim 8, Ko et al., Ko does not teach a current collector member for collecting power generated by the at least one electrochemical reaction cell stack; and a seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell according to claim 1, wherein the seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell is disposed between a fuel gas passage and an oxidizing gas passage of the at least one electrochemical reaction cell stack.
Tsukuda et al., teaches a current collector member for collecting power generated by the at least one electrochemical reaction cell stack (col. 2, lines 57-67); and a seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell according to claim 1 (abstract), wherein the seal material for an electrochemical reaction cell is disposed between a fuel gas passage and an oxidizing gas passage of the at least one electrochemical reaction cell stack (col. 2, lines 57-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Tsukuda et al., into the teachings of Ko et al., because Tsukuda teaches “Whereas the air (oxygen) 021 contacts the air electrode 032c. At this time, the unit cell film 032 reacts the hydrogen and the air (oxygen) electrochemically to generate power. This power is transmitted to the outside via the current collecting member 013, current collecting rod 012, current collecting member 013, and conductive rod 014. A residual fuel gas 022 remaining after power generation flows into the fuel discharge chamber 06 from the upper end of the cell tube 010, and is discharged to the outside via the internal pipe 08 for reuse.” (col. 2, lines 56-61).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., US 2005/0147866, in view of Blackburn et al., US 2021/0143448.
Regarding claim 6, Ko et al., teaches wherein the plurality of ceramic particles includes MgO (0019-0020; 0024; 0028).
Ko does not teach the hardener includes a phosphoric acid-based hardener.
Blackburn teaches a phosphoric acid-based hardener (phosphoric acid; 0161) (cements; 0141; 0143).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Blackburn into the teachings of Ko because Blackburn teaches that “Such seals 320 may be advantageous for the sealing of metallic materials to ceramic materials and/or for the sealing together of two different metallic or ceramic materials.” (0139).
Regarding claim 10, Ko et al., teaches the method of producing a seal material (0010-0012) with the plurality of ceramic particles including MgO (0019-0020; 0024; 0028).
Ko does not teach for an electrochemical reaction cell according to wherein magnesium phosphate is synthesized as the hardener by mixing phosphoric acid.
Blackburn teaches an electrochemical reaction cell according to wherein magnesium phosphate is synthesized as the hardener by mixing phosphoric acid (0161).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to insert the teachings of Blackburn into the teachings of Ko because Blackburn teaches that “Such seals 320 may be advantageous for the sealing of metallic materials to ceramic materials and/or for the sealing together of two different metallic or ceramic materials.” (0139).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727