DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, and 4-12 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims. Claim 3 is cancelled. Claims 10-12 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on June 11, 2026 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pgs 5-9, filed June 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 6-7, Applicant argues that Poynton’s width of cut rag tobacco is not applicable to the granules because cut rag tobacco, formed as elongated, strip-like shreds, does not satisfy the “medium granules” limitation recited in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument because Poynton does not provide a suitable size for its medium granules but does provide a suitable size for cut tobacco. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the disclosure of the cut tobacco size to apply the width size of a cut rag tobacco to the granules.
On pg. 7-9, Applicant argues that nothing in the cited references (e.g., Poynton, Aoun, Koide) teach or suggest the unexpected superior effects of the limitations of “the plurality of medium granules are between 0.25 mm and 0.60 mm in diameter,” as shown in Table 2 and [46]-[48] of the specification. Examiner does not find that the results shown in the instant specification, [46]-[48], Table 2 supports the criticality of the claimed range because the results are reported using subjective value judgements (e.g. good, bad, poor, very good) of subjective properties of the articles (granule dispersibility, tobacco taste, filter workability). Additionally, the specification does not report the number of users used to evaluate the articles; therefore, it is unclear whether the reported data reflects a representative sample, or the subjective value judgements of a single person. As such, the arguments are unpersuasive.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poynton (US 2023/0284677 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Poynton, directed to smoking articles ([0002]-[0004]), teaches a smoking article ([0002]-[0004], [0209]-[0210], Fig. 2; Article 1 is a consumable for use in a non-combustible aerosol provision system. The system heats the article to generate an aerosol for inhalation or smoking) comprising:
a medium receiver filled with a plurality of medium granules ([0209]-[0210], Fig. 2; Article 1 comprises a portion of an aerosol-generating material 4 (medium receiver). [0105], [0116], the portion of the consumable comprising at least one aerosol-generating material comprises tobacco material. The tobacco material may be provided in the form tobacco granules. Tobacco is a medium; see instant specification, [40]);
a humectant receiver located on one side of the medium receiver and configured to generate an aerosol ([0209]-[0210], Fig. 2; Article 1 comprises a section or plug of an amorphous solid material 3 (humectant receiver) located on one side of the portion of an aerosol-generating material 4 (medium receiver). [0056]-[0057], the amorphous solid material may comprise 20-70 wt % of an aerosol-former material. The aerosol-former material may comprise one or more of glycerine, glycerol, propylene glycol. Glycerine, glycerol, propylene glycol are common humectants, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art); and
a filter located on another side of the medium receiver ([0209]-[0210], Fig. 2; Article 1 comprises a mouthpiece 2 located on another side of the portion of an aerosol-generating material 4 (medium receiver). Mouthpiece 2 is formed from a plug of filamentary tow 6 at the mouth end of the mouthpiece, and a hollow tubular element 7 at the distal end. [0157], the hollow tubular element is formed from filamentary tow. [0163]-[0164], Mouthpiece 2 is therefore a filter because elements 6 and 7 may be formed from common filter materials such as filamentary tow),
wherein the medium can be provided in the form of cut rag tobacco between 0.25 mm and 0.60 mm in width ([0105]-[0106], the portion of the consumable comprising at least one aerosol-generating material comprises tobacco material. The tobacco material may be provided in the form of cut rag tobacco having a cut width of 0.5 mm to 2.0 mm),
but does not teach the article wherein the plurality of medium granules are between 0.25 mm and 0.60 mm in diameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the medium granules of Poynton having a diameter between 0.25 mm and 0.60 mm because Poynton states that the medium received may comprises medium granules but does not disclose a suitable diameter for the granules (Poynton, [0105], [0116]), Poynton discloses that the medium can be provided in the form of cut rag tobacco at between 0.25 mm and 0.60 mm in width (Poynton, [0105]-[0106]), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the disclosures in Poynton to apply the width size of a cut rag tobacco to the granules.
Regarding Claim 2, Poynton teaches the smoking article of claim 1, wherein the plurality of medium granules comprise tobacco granules ([0105], [0116], the portion of the consumable comprising at least one aerosol-generating material comprises tobacco material. The tobacco material may be provided in the form tobacco granules).
Regarding Claim 4, Poynton teaches the smoking article of claim 1, wherein the medium can be provided in the form of cut rag tobacco having a cut width between 0.425 mm and 0.60 mm ([0105]-[0106], the portion of the consumable comprising at least one aerosol-generating material comprises tobacco material. The tobacco material may be provided in the form of cut rag tobacco having a cut width of 0.5 mm to 2.0 mm),
but does not teach the article wherein the medium granules are 0.60 mm or less in diameter, wherein the medium granules are in diameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the medium granules of Poynton having a diameter between 0.425 mm and 0.60 mm because Poynton states that the medium received may comprises medium granules but does not disclose a suitable diameter for the granules (Poynton, [0105], [0116]), Poynton discloses that the medium can be provided in the form of cut rag tobacco between 0.425 mm and 0.60 mm in width (Poynton, [0105]-[0106]), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the disclosures in Poynton to apply the width size of a cut rag tobacco to the granules.
The range for the diameter disclosed by the prior art overlaps the claimed range, and therefore the claimed range is considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 8, Poynton teaches the smoking article of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises: a first filter having a cavity therein; and a second filter fully filled with a filtration material ([0209]-[0210], Fig. 2; Mouthpiece 2 is formed from a plug of filamentary tow 6 at the mouth end of the mouthpiece, and a hollow tubular element 7 at the distal end. [0157], the hollow tubular element is formed from filamentary tow. Hollow tubular element 7 is a first filter having a cavity therein. The plug of filamentary tow 6 is a second filter fully filled with a filtration material).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poynton (US 2023/0284677 A1) as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Aoun (US 2023/0413896 A1).
Regarding Claims 5-7, Poynton does not teach the smoking article wherein the medium receiver is configured by folding a flat sheet, to which the plurality of medium granules are applied, multiple times, wherein a humectant is applied to one surface of the flat sheet, wherein the medium receiver is formed by a method comprising applying a humectant to one surface of a flat sheet, disposing the plurality of medium granules on the one surface of the flat sheet, to which the humectant is applied, folding the one surface of the flat sheet to face each other, additionally folding the flat sheet multiple times, and wrapping, with a wrapper, the flat sheet folded multiple times.
Aoun, directed to smoking articles ([0002]), teaches a smoking article ([0190], Fig. 1; Article 1 for use in an aerosol delivery system) comprising
a medium receiver ([0190], Fig. 1; Article 1 comprises a plug 7 (medium receiver) comprising a combustion retarding additive at the distal end)
wherein the medium receiver comprises a flat sheet which is folded ([0009], the plug 7 is formed from a sheet material. [0082], the plug comprising a combustion retarding additive is formed from a sheet of amorphous solid material. In particular, the plug may be formed from a gathered sheet, or a gathered and crimped (folded) sheet comprising an amorphous solid material),
wherein a humectant is applied to one surface of the flat sheet ([0108], the combustion retarding additive is incorporated into or added to the precursor material which is used to form the coating. [0113], precursor material may be sprayed, printed, painted or otherwise locally applied onto the sheet. [0125]-[0126], the precursor material comprises one or more solvents such as glycerol (a humectant)),
wherein medium granules are applied to the surface to which the humectant is applied ([0115], the precursor material and/or subsequent coating comprises or is in the form of an amorphous solid. [0171], The amorphous solid (coating upon the surface to which the humectant is applied) may comprise flavors. [0175], The flavor may be a tobacco powder (medium granules)); and
a wrapper surrounding the medium receiver ([0190], Fig. 1; Article 1 comprises a wrapper 6 surrounding plug 7 (medium receiver)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the medium receiver taught by Aoun as the medium receiver of Poynton because Poynton and Aoun are directed to aerosol generating articles, Poynton demonstrates that the medium receiver can comprise medium granules and a humectant (Poynton, [0057], [0105]-[0106]), and the medium receiver is located at a distal end of the article (Poynton, [0209]-[0210], Fig. 2; Aerosol-generating material 4 (medium receiver) is located at a distal end of the article 1), Aoun demonstrates that the medium receiver is located at a distal end of the article to prevent combustion of the article during use (Aoun, [0049], [0052]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 7 is considered a product-by-process claim. The determination of patentability is based upon the product structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even if the prior product was made by a different process. In this instance, Poynton has been modified in view Aoun to disclose a structurally and compositionally equivalent product as the granules are necessarily capable of being formed by a method comprising applying a humectant to one surface of a flat sheet, disposing the plurality of medium granules on the one surface of the flat sheet, to which the humectant is applied, folding the one surface of the flat sheet to face each other, additionally folding the flat sheet multiple times, and wrapping, with a wrapper, the flat sheet folded multiple times as recited in Claim 7.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poynton (US 2023/0284677 A1) as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Koide (US 2024/0245089 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Poynton does not teach the smoking article wherein the plurality of medium granules are manufactured by a fluidized bed granulation process in which a spraying direction of a liquid binder and a flow direction of fluidized air face each other.
Koide, directed to smoking articles ([0002]-[0004]), teaches a plurality of medium granules comprising a binder ([0099], The tobacco molded body may be a plurality of tobacco (medium) granules manufactured by a fluidized bed granulation process. [0100], The tobacco molded body may comprise a binder),
wherein the plurality of medium granules manufactured by a fluidized bed granulation process ([0099], The tobacco molded body may be a plurality of tobacco (medium) granules manufactured by a fluidized bed granulation process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the medium granules of Poynton with the plurality of medium granules of Koide because Poynton and Koide are directed to smoking articles, Poynton states that tobacco granules may be included in the medium receiver but does not provide a composition or manufacturing process for the granules (Poynton, [0116]) and Koide discloses a composition and manufacturing process for medium granules which can be heated to generate an aerosol (Koide, [0096]-[0100]).
Claim 9 is considered a product-by-process claim. The determination of patentability is based upon the product structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even if the prior product was made by a different process. In this instance, Poynton has been modified in view Koide to disclose a structurally and compositionally equivalent product as the granules are necessarily capable of being formed by the claimed fluidized bed granulation process in which a spraying direction of a liquid binder and a flow direction of fluidized air face each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755