DETAILED ACTION
rPriority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/10/2023 and 05/20/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Hirsch et. al. (US 2011/0019056 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module comprising:
a display comprising light emitting elements that emit visible light (4; para. 0046, 0049);
an image sensor layer comprising infra-red light sensitive elements (1; para. 0046);
and a mask layer configured to block infra-red light having a wavelength in one or more portions of the infra-red optical spectrum and pass visible light (para. 0124);
where the optical module is lensless (para. 0025).
Regarding claim 2 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, further comprising a substrate transparent to visible light and infra-red light in one or more further portions of the infra- red optical spectrum, the substrate supporting the mask layer (para. 0124).
Regarding claim 3 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the display is supported by an upper surface of the image sensor layer, and the mask layer is supported by an upper surface of the display (para. 0046, and 0073-0076).
Regarding claim 4 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the mask layer is supported by an upper surface of the image sensor layer, and the display is supported by an upper surface of the mask layer (para. 0046).
Regarding claim 5 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the display is supported by an upper surface of the image sensor layer, and the substrate is supported by an upper surface of the display (para. 0046).
Regarding claim 6 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the image sensor layer is integrated with the display to form an integrated optical layer and the substrate is supported by an upper surface of the integrated optical layer (para. 0046).
Regarding claim 7 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the image sensor layer is integrated with the display to form an integrated optical layer, and the mask layer is supported by an upper surface of the integrated optical layer (para.0046).
Regarding claim 8 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the mask layer comprises a dye- based polymer deposited in a predetermined pattern (para. 0073-0076).
Regarding claim 9 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the dye-based polymer is deposited as a set of pinholes (para. 0073-0074).
Regarding claim 10 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the dye-based polymer is deposited as a spatial filter defining a coded aperture (para. 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 11 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the dye-based polymer is deposited in a Moiré pattern (para. 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 12 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the dye-based polymer is deposited in a diffractive pattern (para. 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 13 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the mask layer comprises a plurality of components electronically controllable to block said light having a wavelength in one or more portions of the infra-red optical spectrum and pass said light having a wavelength in remaining portions of the infra-red optical spectrum (para. 0124).
Regarding claim 15 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the infra-red light sensitive elements are configured to capture an image of a scene disposed in front of the display, and the optical module further comprises a processor which is configured to determine depth information relating to each of one or more regions of the scene based at least in part on the captured image and knowledge of a configuration of the mask layer (5; para. 0046, and 0059).
Regarding claim 16 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the display comprises a light emitting diode, LED, display (para. 0046, 0049).
Regarding claim 18 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, where the infra-red light sensitive elements are coated with a coating which passes infra-red light and absorbs visible light (para. 0124).
Regarding claim 19 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) a device comprising:
the optical module according claim 1; and an optical emitter configured to emit light having a wavelength in said one or more portions of the infra-red optical spectrum (para. 0124).
Regarding claim 20 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) a device according to claim 19, where at least one of the optical emitter and the infra-red light sensitive elements are coated with a coating which passes infra-red light and absorbs visible light (para. 0124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirsch et. al. (US 2011/0019056 A1).
Regarding claim 14 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, except where the plurality of components are vanadium oxide transistors. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize Vanadium oxide transistors for the benefit of a fast-switching transistor with high energy efficiency. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 146.
Regarding claim 17 Hirsch teaches (figs. 1, 2, 5A-5B) an optical module, except where the LED display is as an organic light emitting diode display or a microLED display. However it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a microLED LCD display for he benefit of a greater energy efficiency. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 146.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. further optical systems include Tivarus et. al. (US 2010/0148291 A1), Wood et. al. (US 2011/0134249 A1), Gill et. al. (US 2017/0060242 A1), Uedaira (US 11,563,131 B2), and Wng et. al. (US 2021/0216163 A1).
/Robert E. Tallman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872