DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to
abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-10 and 13-21 are within the four statutory categories. However, as will be shown below, claims 1-10 and 13-21 are nonetheless unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is representative of the inventive concept and recites:
A surgical system, comprising:
at least one computing device, comprising:
processing circuitry;
and a memory coupled to the processing circuitry, the memory storing data associated with a patient, and an implant model having an interface element, the interface element comprising an intramedullary (IM) stem, the memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, may cause the processing circuitry to:
map a three-dimensional (3D) volume of an IM canal, associated with a target bone, using one or more optically tracked point probe measurements, wherein a mapped 3D volume of the IM canal corresponds to a 3D virtual interface region for a virtual model of the target bone, operative to engage the interface element of the implant model;
generate, based on at least the data associated with the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal, a modified three-dimensional (3D) virtual interface region for the virtual model of the target bone, wherein the generation of the modified 3D virtual interface region comprises:
defining a 3D constraint space within the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal based on one or more of patient anatomy features and implant model parameters;
modifying the 3D virtual interface region by including the 3D constraint space, as a virtual feature, within the 3D virtual interface region associated with the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal the 3D constraint space being operative to confine a movement of the interface element, associated with the implant model, within the 3D volume of the IM canal associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region, in accordance to at least one valid configuration for fitting the interface element of the implant model within the modified 3D interface region of the virtual model of the target bone;
and overlaying one or more placement validity indicators, as dynamic graphical objects, onto one or more portions of the 3D constraint space associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region.
Step 2A Prong One
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes because the
highlighted components can practically be performed by the human mind (in this case, the process of mapping, generating, defining, and modifying) or using pen and paper. Other than reciting generic computer components/functions such as “system”, “computing device”, “processing circuitry”, and “memory coupled to the processing circuitry”, nothing in the claims precludes the highlighted portions from practically being performed in the mind. For example, in claim 1, but for the generic computer language, the claim encompasses the user determining a plan and following the plan for a medical procedure. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components/functions, then it falls within “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Additionally, the mere nominal recitation of a generic computer does not take the claim limitation out of the mental process grouping. Thus, the claim recites a mental process. The highlighted portion, specifically the model, under its broadest reasonable interpretation can also fall under “Mathematical concepts” because the model relates to mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I). The types of identified abstract ideas are considered together as a single abstract idea for analysis purposes.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the
following additional limitations:
Claim 1 recites: “system”, “computing device”, “processing circuitry”, “memory coupled to the processing circuitry”, “model”, and “virtual”.
In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
Amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitations
are recited as being performed by a “system”, “computing device”, “processing circuitry”, “memory coupled to the processing circuitry”, and “model”. A computer is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer.
Add insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) to the abstract idea such as the
recitation of “virtual”.
Dependent claims 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16-20 recite model
Dependent claims 9 and 10 recite device
Dependent claim 19 recites GUI
Dependent claim 21 recites transmitted and stored
In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
Amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitations
are recited as being performed by a “device” and “model”. A computer is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer.
Add insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) to the abstract idea such as the
recitation of “GUI”, “transmitted”, and “stored”.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 5, 8, and 15 do not include any additional elements beyond those already recited in independent claim 1 or dependent claims 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-14, and 16-20, hence do not integrate the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Their collective function merely provides conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly
more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the
abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements: A system in claim 1; amount to no
more than mere instructions to apply an exception to the abstract idea. Additionally, the additional
limitations, other than the abstract idea per se amount to no more than limitations which amount to
elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular
fields as demonstrated by the recitation of an additional element such as:
Virtual, which expressly means to be carried out, accessed, or stored by means of a computer (Para 0071, Levendowski(US-20180333558-A1) discloses: “Such methods may include augmented reality (e.g., overlaying any of the visual elements described herein over a real-time image of the user's physical environment), virtual reality (e.g., providing a virtual universe in which the user can move and with which the user can interact using conventional virtual reality gear, such as a headset, hand paddles, etc.), and/or the like.”) in a manner that is well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Graphical user interface (GUI)/UI, which refers to a visual way of interacting with a computer (Para 0040, Mann(US 20180357914 A1) discloses: “A conventional GUI display includes a desktop metaphor upon which one or more icons, application windows, or other graphical objects are displayed.”) in a manner that is well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Transmitted, which refers to the process of sending digital information between devices over a communication channel using a signal (TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 614, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016)) in a manner that is well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Storing, which refers to the process of recording digital information on physical or virtual media (Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015) in a manner that is well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 5, 8, and 15 do not include any additional elements beyond those already
addressed above for independent claim 1 or dependent claims 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-14, and 16-20. Therefore, they are not deemed to be significantly more than the abstract idea because, as stated above, the limitations of the aforementioned dependent claims amount to no more than generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and/or do not recite and additional elements not already recited in independent claim 1, hence does not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and their collective function merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 10, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto(WO2010068212A1) in view of Couture(US20150347710A1) and Bellettre(US20190117311A1).
Claim 1
Otto discloses:
A surgical system, comprising:
at least one computing device, comprising:
processing circuitry(Para. 0038, Otto discloses processor);
and a memory coupled to the processing circuitry(Para 00125, Otto discloses memory coupled to a processor), the memory storing data associated with a patient, and an implant model having an interface element(Para 0058, Otto discloses the implant model is stored on the implant planning system), (Para 0038, Otto discloses memory): (Para 0049, Otto discloses optically tracked probes),
defining a 3D constraint space within the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal based on one or more of patient anatomy features and implant model parameters(Para 0010, Otto discloses a constraint based on representation of bone); modifying the 3D virtual interface region by including the 3D constraint space(Para 0059, Otto discloses the adjustment of multiple component representations to optimize placement), as a virtual feature, (Para 0060, Otto discloses the definition of constraint, which allow for correct positioning of a component(which can be considered an interface element or an implant)), within the (Para 0060, Otto discloses: “If the system 100 determines the positioning does not violate the positioning constraint, the system 100 allows (214) the new positioning.”) ;
Otto does not explicitly disclose:
the interface element comprising an intramedullary (IM) stem
map a three-dimensional (3D) volume of an IM canal, associated with a target bone
a mapped 3D volume of the IM canal corresponds to a 3D virtual interface region for a virtual model of the target bone, operative to engage the interface element of the implant model
generate, based on at least the data associated with the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal, a modified three-dimensional (3D) virtual interface region for the virtual model of the target bone
the 3D virtual interface region associated with the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal
3D volume of the IM canal associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region
overlaying one or more placement validity indicators, as dynamic graphical objects, onto one or more portions of the 3D constraint space associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region
Couture discloses:
the interface element comprising an intramedullary (IM) stem(Figure 4, Couture discloses an interface element comprising an IM stem)
map a three-dimensional (3D) volume of an IM canal(Para 0039, Couture discloses generated model file that can be three dimensional), associated with a target bone(Para 0016, Couture discloses a model file comprising geometric data of an IM canal)
a mapped 3D volume of the IM canal corresponds to a 3D virtual interface region for a virtual model of the target bone, operative to engage the interface element of the implant model(Figure 6, Couture discloses what can be considered an interface region of the IM canal of target bone that would interface with the implant)
generate, based on at least the data associated with the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal(Para 0039, Couture discloses generated model file that can be three dimensional), a modified three-dimensional (3D) virtual interface region for the virtual model of the target bone(Figure 6, Couture discloses what can be considered an interface region of the IM canal of target bone that would interface with the implant)
the 3D virtual interface region associated with the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal(Para 0016, Couture discloses a model file comprising geometric data of an IM canal)
3D volume of the IM canal associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region(Figure 6, Couture discloses what can be considered an interface region of the IM canal of target bone that would interface with the implant)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the implant planning for multiple implant components using constraints of Otto to add:
the interface element comprising an intramedullary (IM) stem
map a three-dimensional (3D) volume of an IM canal, associated with a target bone
a mapped 3D volume of the IM canal corresponds to a 3D virtual interface region for a virtual model of the target bone, operative to engage the interface element of the implant model
generate, based on at least the data associated with the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal, a modified three-dimensional (3D) virtual interface region for the virtual model of the target bone
the 3D virtual interface region associated with the mapped 3D volume of the IM canal
3D volume of the IM canal associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region
overlaying one or more placement validity indicators, as dynamic graphical objects, onto one or more portions of the 3D constraint space associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region
as taught by Couture. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to define a region where an implant and the patient anatomy interact, to better enable patient outcomes for surgical procedures, but in this case, for a patient-specific cutting block and manufacturing method (Para 0004, Couture discloses: “The pre-operative planning may help in ensuring the precision and accuracy of the surgery, as bone alterations will influence the fit of the implant onto the bone. For example, a bone that has been improperly cut may lead to improper implant placement, resulting in conditions such as leg length discrepancy, improper gait, premature implant wear, and pain, to name a few.”).
Couture does not explicitly disclose:
overlaying one or more placement validity indicators, as dynamic graphical objects, onto one or more portions of the 3D constraint space associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region
Bellettre discloses:
overlaying one or more placement validity indicators(Para 0186, Bellettre discloses the display of status information which can include validity indicators), as dynamic graphical objects, onto one or more portions of the 3D constraint space associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region(Para 0052, Bellettre discloses a display to allow positioning of multiple representations to understand relationship among components and bones)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the implant planning for multiple implant components using constraints of Otto to add overlaying one or more placement validity indicators, as dynamic graphical objects, onto one or more portions of the 3D constraint space associated with the modified 3D virtual interface region, as taught by Bellettre. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to be able to provide visual indication of placement according to a surgical plan to improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for implant planning (Para 0008, Bellettre discloses: “a need exists for surgical methods and devices which can overcome the aforementioned problems so as to enable intraoperative implant planning for accurate placement and implantation of multiple joint implant components providing improved joint performance; consistent, predictable operative results regardless of surgical skill level; sparing healthy bone in minimally invasive surgery; achieving a fit of the implant components that address each patient's unique anatomy, ligament stability, and kinematics; and reducing the need for replacement and revision surgery.”).
Claim 2
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 18, the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, to cause the processing circuitry to generate at least one indicator indicating a violation responsive to the violation event. (Para. 0052, Figure 3, #102, Otto discloses prevent operator from improper location)
Claim 3
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 2, the at least one indicator comprising at least one of an overlay, a color, a pattern, an alert, an alarm, a message, or a tactile signal. (Para. 0052, Otto discloses prevent operator from improper location, error message Fig. 3, #102,#106)
Claim 4
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 18, the violation event process operative to prevent placement input moving the interface element of the implant model into a position that violates the constraint space.( Para. 0052, Otto discloses prevent operator from improper location)
Claim 5
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 18, the violation event process operative to prevent user input that violates the constraint space(Para 0060, Otto discloses the definition of constraint, which allow for correct positioning of a component(which can be considered an interface element or an implant)) via limiting parameter values that violate the constraint space.(Para. 0052, Otto discloses prevent operator from improper location and Fig. 3)
Claim 6
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, wherein the movement of the interface element associated with the implant model is bound within a portion of the modified 3D virtual interface region defined by the 3D constraint space to prevent configurations that violate the constraint space. (Para. 0052, Otto discloses prevent operator from improper location)
Claim 8
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, wherein the 3D constraint space is configured for an arthroplasty surgical procedure. (Para. 0002, Otto discloses surgical procedure)
Claim 9
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 8, the 3D virtual model of the target bone comprising at least a portion of a distal femur configured to receive a femoral component knee implant device. (Fig. 6, Otto discloses central patella femoral implant component with respect to the representation of the femur)
Claim 10
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 8, the 3D virtual model of the target bone comprising at least a portion of a proximal tibia configured to receive a tibial knee implant device. (Para. 0097, Otto discloses tibial landmarks for implants)
Claim 13
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, the at least one valid configuration comprising at least one of an anatomical fit or a performance criterion(Para. 0050, Otto discloses 2 or 3d model having multiple shapes and sizes for finding best fit ) of the implant model in association with the modified 3D virtual interface region associated with the virtual model of the target bone.
Claim 14
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, the 3D constraint space configured to model at least one degree-of-freedom of an implant, the at least one degree-of-freedom comprising at least one of a varus/valgus angle, a flexion/extension position, a medial/lateral position, or an anterior/posterior position (Para. 0079 – 0086, Otto discloses with regards to constraints, positioning medial and lateral)
Claim 15
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, the constraint space generated to correspond to surgically-prepared patient anatomy. (Para. 0051, Otto discloses position implant component representation based on representation of bone)
Claim 16
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, the virtual model of the target bone comprising the (Para. 0073 and Fig. 7, Otto discloses positioning an implant based on optimum placement and positioning).
Otto does not explicitly disclose:
modified 3D virtual interface region for engaging the interface element of the implant model
Couture discloses:
modified 3D virtual interface region for engaging the interface element of the implant model(Figure 6, Couture discloses what can be considered an interface region of the IM canal of target bone that would interface with the implant)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the implant planning for multiple implant components using constraints of Otto to add modified 3D virtual interface region for engaging the interface element of the implant model as taught by Couture. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to define a region where an implant and the patient anatomy interact, to better enable patient outcomes for surgical procedures, but in this case, for a patient-specific cutting block and manufacturing method (Para 0004, Couture discloses: “The pre-operative planning may help in ensuring the precision and accuracy of the surgery, as bone alterations will influence the fit of the implant onto the bone. For example, a bone that has been improperly cut may lead to improper implant placement, resulting in conditions such as leg length discrepancy, improper gait, premature implant wear, and pain, to name a few.”).
Claim 17
Otto does not explicitly disclose:
The surgical system of claim 16, the modified 3D virtual interface region of the virtual model of the target bone comprising an intramedullary (IM) canal interface, the interface element of the implant model comprising an IM stem configured to engage the IM canal. (Figure 6, Couture discloses what can be considered an interface region of the IM canal of target bone that would interface with the implant).
Couture discloses:
The surgical system of claim 16, the modified 3D virtual interface region of the virtual model of the target bone comprising an intramedullary (IM) canal interface, the interface element of the implant model comprising an IM stem configured to engage the IM canal. (Figure 6, Couture discloses what can be considered an interface region of the IM canal of target bone that would interface with the implant).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the implant planning for multiple implant components using constraints of Otto to add modified 3D virtual interface region of the virtual model of the target bone comprising an intramedullary (IM) canal interface, the interface element of the implant model comprising an IM stem configured to engage the IM canal, as taught by Couture. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to define a region where an implant and the patient anatomy interact, to better enable patient outcomes for surgical procedures, but in this case, for a patient-specific cutting block and manufacturing method (Para 0004, Couture discloses: “The pre-operative planning may help in ensuring the precision and accuracy of the surgery, as bone alterations will influence the fit of the implant onto the bone. For example, a bone that has been improperly cut may lead to improper implant placement, resulting in conditions such as leg length discrepancy, improper gait, premature implant wear, and pain, to name a few.”).
Claim 18
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, to cause the processing circuitry to: receive placement input indicating placement of the implant model in association with the modified 3D virtual interface region associated with the virtual model of the target bone(Para 0033, Otto discloses placement input of implant in association with target bone), and perform, based on the placement input one of: a violation process based on a violation event responsive to the placement input violating the 3D constraint space(Otto discloses in Para. 0059, Fig. 3-# 210 and #212, constraints act as automatic guides for positioning), or a placement process positioning the interface element of the implant model according to the placement input responsive to the placement input not violating the constraint space(Otto discloses violation in Para. 0063 and Fig. 3, #214).
Claim 19
Otto discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, to cause the processing circuitry to: generate a surgical planning graphical user interface (GUI)(Para 00109, Otto discloses a GUI) comprising one or more optimization functions for optimizing placement of the interface element(Para 0059, Otto discloses a planning system that adjusts multiple representations during a procedure to optimize component placement), associated with the implant model, within the 3D constraint space integrated within the modified 3D virtual interface region of the virtual model of the target bone, in accordance to the at least one valid configuration(Para. 0073 and Fig. 7, Otto discloses positioning an implant based on optimum placement and positioning ).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto(WO2010068212A1) in view Couture(US20150347710A1), Bellettre(US20190117311A1), and Stein(US20140134586A1).
Claim 20
Otto and Couture do not explicitly disclose:
The surgical system of claim 1, the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, to cause the processing circuitry to: automatically update the one or more placement validity indicators in real time, responsive to one or more placement inputs received from one or more of a user and a tracked surgical instrument, to distinguish valid and invalid positions of the interface element, associated with the implant model, within the 3D constraint space integrated within the modified 3D virtual interface region of the virtual model of the target bone.
Bellettre discloses:
automatically update the one or more validity indicators in real time(Para 0061, Bellettre discloses updating the display to reflect new positioning and an error message as a validity indicator)
to distinguish valid and invalid positions(Para 0061, Bellettre discloses updating the display to reflect new positioning and an error message which indicates an invalid position)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the implant planning for multiple implant components using constraints of Otto to add automatically update the one or more validity indicators in real time and to distinguish valid and invalid positions, as taught by Bellettre. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to be able to provide visual indication of placement according to a surgical plan to improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for implant planning (Para 0008, Bellettre discloses: “a need exists for surgical methods and devices which can overcome the aforementioned problems so as to enable intraoperative implant planning for accurate placement and implantation of multiple joint implant components providing improved joint performance; consistent, predictable operative results regardless of surgical skill level; sparing healthy bone in minimally invasive surgery; achieving a fit of the implant components that address each patient's unique anatomy, ligament stability, and kinematics; and reducing the need for replacement and revision surgery.”).
Bellettre does not explicitly disclose:
responsive to one or more placement inputs received from one or more of a user and a tracked surgical instrument
Stein discloses:
responsive to one or more placement inputs received from one or more of a user and a tracked surgical instrument(Figure 5, Stein discloses a tracked surgical instrument)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the implant planning for multiple implant components using constraints of Otto to add responsive to one or more placement inputs received from one or more of a user and a tracked surgical instrument, as taught by Stein. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to be able to track implant placement according to a surgical plan to improve patient outcomes, but in this case, for a GUI used for orthopedic tool position and trajectory(Para 0005, Stein discloses: “Even with templating, trialing, and advanced prosthetic components, outcomes including functional efficacy, patient comfort, and longevity of the prosthesis may not always be highly predictable, especially if procedures are performed by physicians and surgeons with different levels of skill, experience, and frequency of repeating an individual procedure.”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto(WO2010068212A1) in view of Couture(US20150347710A1), Bellettre(US20190117311A1), and Metzger(US20100087829A1).
Claim 7
Otto, Couture, and Bellettre do not explicitly disclose:
The surgical system of claim 1, the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, to cause the processing circuitry to generate a surgical plan determined based on a configuration of the interface element, associated with the implant model within the 3D constraint space, wherein the surgical plan is associated with the patient.
Metzger discloses:
The surgical system of claim 1, the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, to cause the processing circuitry to generate a surgical plan determined based on a configuration of the implant model within the constraint model(Para 0070, Metzger discloses the generation of a surgical plan on the basis of scan data (MRI and CT)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the implant planning for multiple implant components using constraints of Otto to add to generate a surgical plan determined based on a configuration of the implant model within the constraint model, as taught by Metzger. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to be able to automatically determine an accurate surgical plan using an existing constraint model of a patient, but in this case, for a patient-specific knee alignment guide (Para 0002, Metzger discloses: “Proper alignment of prosthetic components in knee arthroscopy is an important factor in the longevity and function of the implant. Misalignment can cause increased wear of the implant, patient discomfort, and functional limitation.”).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto(WO2010068212A1) in view of Couture(US20150347710A1), Bellettre(US20190117311A1), Metzger(US20100087829A1), and Haddad(US8265949B2).
Claim 21
Otto, Couture, Bellettre, and Metzger, do not explicitly disclose:
The surgical system of claim 7, wherein the surgical plan is stored and transmitted for execution by a computer-assisted surgical system.
Haddad discloses:
The surgical system of claim 7, wherein the surgical plan is stored and transmitted for execution by a computer-assisted surgical system(Figure 1 Haddad discloses storage of a surgical plan and transmission to a computer assisted surgery system).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art to have modified the implant planning for multiple implant components using constraints of Otto to add surgical plan is stored and transmitted for execution by a computer-assisted surgical system, as taught by Haddad. One of ordinary skill would have been so motivated to be able to create and store surgical plans for execution to better enable traceability and accuracy for surgical procedures, but in this case, for a customized patient surgical plan (Para 0005, Haddad discloses: “Moreover, typical CAOS systems require a surgeon to enter considerable amount of data and other responses in order to configure, calibrate and/or drive the system during the surgical procedure.“).
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 112
Applicant’s amendment in response to the rejection has been considered. The 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 101
(Pages 8-9) Regarding the assertion that the amendments provide a specific technological improvement to computer-implemented surgical-planning systems.
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Their collective function merely provides conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
(Page 10) Regarding the assertion that the claims integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The additional elements highlighted above do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)) and add insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)) to the abstract idea.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prevrhal(US20200000596A1) discloses a prosthesis adaptor that matches a patient’s anatomy
Jansen(US20050021043A1) discloses an apparatus for digitizing the intramedullary canal
/S.G.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3685
/KAMBIZ ABDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3685