DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1 – 11.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0183406 A1) in view of Babu et al. (U. S. Patent No. 10,889,246 B1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Tanaka teaches a cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) for an optical element (camera, 11) configured to be fitted to a motor vehicle (V; Fig. 1), comprising a base (housing, 12) configured to be disposed on a side of a lens (lens sides 11a and b) of the optical element (11), the base (12) including an airline (air pipe, 35) where an air jet is intended to circulate between an air intake (Paragraph [0062]; Annotated Fig. 7) and an air outlet (jet hole, 14a), which are provided within the base (12), the air outlet (14a) protruding from the base (12) and forming a first air ejection nozzle (air nozzle, 14) disposed at a periphery of the lens (11a) of the optical element (11), the first air ejection nozzle configured to project the air jet onto a surface of the lens (Paragraph [0080]), a liquid line (24) coupled to the base (12 via merging pipe, 32), wherein a cleaning liquid (supplied by cleaning liquid tank, 20; Fig. 7) is configured to circulate between a liquid inlet (Annotated Fig. 7) and a liquid outlet (jet hole, 13a), the liquid outlet (13a) protruding from the base (12) and forming a second, liquid ejection nozzle (cleaning liquid nozzle, 13) disposed at the periphery of the lens (11b) of the optical element (11) that is configured to project a cleaning liquid jet onto the surface of the lens (Paragraph [0064]).
Tanaka does not explicitly teach the base being a structure formed by a complete revolution cylindrical in shape for enhancing generation of air flow from a blower.
Babu, however, teaches the base (camera housing, 122) can have a variety of shapes (Col. 6, lines 9 – 39) including a structure formed by a complete revolution cylindrical in shape for enhancing generation of air flow from a blower (Figs. 4 – 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning device of Tanaka to further include the base being a structure formed by a complete revolution cylindrical in shape for enhancing generation of air flow from a blower, as taught by Babu, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 2, Tanaka, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) wherein the air outlet (14a) of the first nozzle (14) and the liquid outlet (13a) of the second nozzle (13) are disposed with respect to one another such that a relative direction of the cleaning liquid jet forms an angle (a) of between 70 and 110 degrees with respect to the relative direction of the air jet (Annotated Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Tanaka, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) wherein the base (12) included at least one curved portion (Annotated Fig. 7) adapted to surround a portion of the lens (11a and b).
Regarding Claim 4, Tanaka, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) wherein the air outlet (14a) is designed such that the air jet is an air knife (Fig. 3B), the air outlet (14a) having a slot shape (Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 5, Tanaka, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) wherein the device (10) is designed to adapt around a circular lens (11a and b; as shown in Fig. 3A), the base (12) being curved (Annotated Fig. 7) and having an axis of curvature adapted to be concentric with an axis of revolution of the lens of the optical element (Figs. 3A and 7)
Regarding Claim 6, Tanaka, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) wherein a relative direction of the cleaning liquid jet (13a) and the relative direction of ejection of the air jet (14a) both pass through an axis of curvature of the base (12; Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Tanaka, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) wherein the base (12) is configured such that only the air outlet (14a) and the liquid outlet (13a) project beyond a plane formed by the surface of the lens (11a)of the optical element (11; Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 8, Tanaka, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) including a supply tube (35) connected to the air intake (Annotated Fig. 7) of the base (12), and to a blower (air pump, 30; Fig. 7) .
Regarding Claim 9, Tanaka, as modified, teaches the cleaning device (camera unit, 10; Fig. 7) wherein the liquid inlet (Annotated Fig. 7) of the base (12) includes a circuit connection device (ECU, 40) for circulating a cleaning liquid of the motor vehicle (Paragraphs [0057] and [0059]).
Regarding Claim 10, Tanaka, as modified, teaches an optical element (11) configured to be fitted to a motor vehicle (V), comprising a cleaning device (10) as claimed in claim l (Fig. 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0183406 A1) in view of Baldovino et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0337489 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Tanaka teaches the optical element (11) of claim 10 as discussed above.
Tanaka does not explicitly teach comprising projecting a jet of air continuously onto the surface of the lens by way of the air outlet, projecting a jet of cleaning liquid onto the surface of the Lens by way of the liquid outlet where an intensity of the jet of air decreases and interrupting the jet of cleaning liquid so that the jet of air intensifies, the jet of air being maintained until ejecting the cleaning liquid.
Baldovino, however, teaches an optical element (18) comprising a base (26) and a cleaning method comprising projecting a jet of air continuously onto the surface of the lens by way of the air outlet (Paragraph [0026]), projecting a jet of cleaning liquid onto the surface of the lens by way of the liquid outlet where an the intensity of the jet of air decreases (Paragraph [0044]) and interrupting the jet of cleaning liquid such that the jet of air intensifies, the jet of air being maintained until ejecting the cleaning liquid (Paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning device of Tanaka to further include the method, as taught by Baldovino, to provide a method that improves a cleaning of the optical device, thus ensuring the accuracy of date received by the optical element and further, the vehicle.
Tanaka does not explicitly teach the base being a structure formed by a complete revolution cylindrical in shape for enhancing generation of air flow from a blower.
Babu, however, teaches the base (camera housing, 122) can have a variety of shapes (Col. 6, lines 9 – 39) including a structure formed by a complete revolution cylindrical in shape for enhancing generation of air flow from a blower (Figs. 4 – 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning device of Tanaka to further include the base being a structure formed by a complete revolution cylindrical in shape for enhancing generation of air flow from a blower, as taught by Babu, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated December 18, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated December 18, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Babu.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723