DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (US Pat. 5,571,871).
Considering Claim 1: Ikeda et al. teaches a process of preparing a hydrogenated polymer composition comprising a hydrogenated conjugated diene polymer modified with a boron containing functional group (26:35-57), comprising the steps of anionically polymerizing isoprene/a conjugated diene in the presence of butyl lithium/a reactive metal compound to produce a diene polymer with a reactive terminal group (26:35-57), reacting the reactive terminal polymer with a boron ester (26:35-57) that is preferably tripropylborate or tributylborate (6:12-21) to prepare a terminal modified diene polymer with boron containing terminal groups; and hydrogenating the conjugated diene polymer to react the double bonds present in the polymer (26:35-57). The original specification of the instant application teaches propyl and butyl groups as having the claimed Taft steric parameter in Formula (I) (¶0035).
Considering Claim 2: Ikeda et al. teaches mixing the borate with water/a polar compound prior to adding to the polymer (26:35-57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US Pat. 5,571,871).
Considering Claims 3-5: Ikeda et al. teaches a polymer composition comprising a hydrogenated conjugated diene polymer modified with a boronic acid group (26:35-57). Ikeda et al. teaches a polymer modified with groups of the formula
,
, or
, where X and Y are hydrogen or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group with 1 to 20 carbon atoms, R1-R3 are hydrogen or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group with 1 to 20 carbon atoms, and M is a alkali or alkali earth metal (3:5-52). Ikeda et al. teaches a second polymer having the structure
,
, or
, where Z is hydrogen or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group with 1 to 20 carbon atoms, X is hydrogen or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group with 1 to 20 carbon atoms, R1-R3 are hydrogen or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group with 1 to 20 carbon atoms, and M is a alkali or alkali earth metal (4:1-38). The polymers are blended with ethylene vinyl alcohol (1:45-50).
Ikeda et al. does not teach using a blend of the two polymers in the composition. However, "[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). The two boron modified polymers would have different polarity due to the alkyl group of the second polymer, which does not hydrolyze to a boric acid group. As such, the amount of each polymer in the blend would be a result effective variable controlling the polarity, and thus the compatibility with the ethylene vinyl alcohol, of the blend. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a blend of the boron modified polymers of Ikeda et al., and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the relative amounts through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ikeda et al. suggests, to provide compatibility with the ethylene vinyl alcohol polymer and good transparency to the composition with ethylene vinyl alcohol (1:40-55).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767