DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2023 and 6/2/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2022/0251247 A1) to Hirata (hereinafter Hirata).
Hirata is directed toward methods for producing hollow resin particles. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0016] that the particle is hollow. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0076] that the monomer is may be an acrylate based monomer, which is the same material used by the Applicants and therefore should be identical in properties when submerged in an acetone bath. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0020] that the crosslinkable monomer contains a tri- or higher functional crosslinkable monomer having three or more polymerizable functional groups, and with respect to 100 parts by mass of a total amount of the polymerizable monomer in the mixture liquid, a total content of the crosslinkable monomer is from 60 parts by mass to 98 parts by mass, a content of the tri- or higher functional crosslinkable monomer is from 10 parts by mass to 98 parts by mass, which reads on Applicants range of 80 parts per mass of 100 parts monomer units. One skilled in the art would expect a highly crosslinked polymer to be solvent resistant because the crosslinking increases solvent resistance and thus would inherently have the properties to pass the immersion test. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0020] that the non-crosslinkable monomer is preferably 20 parts by mass or more, which reads on Applicants 2 to 20 parts by mass. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0167] that the void ratio is 80% or more, which reads on 50% or greater. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0162] that the particle diameter is 1-25 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 1-30 microns. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0175] that the hollow particles are made into a molded body. Hirata discloses each and every element as arranged in claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2022/0251247 A1) to Hirata (hereinafter Hirata).
Hirata is directed toward methods for producing hollow resin particles. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0016] that the particle is hollow. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0076] that the monomer is may be an acrylate based monomer, which is the same material used by the Applicants and therefore should be identical in properties when submerged in an acetone bath. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0020] that the crosslinkable monomer contains a tri- or higher functional crosslinkable monomer having three or more polymerizable functional groups, and with respect to 100 parts by mass of a total amount of the polymerizable monomer in the mixture liquid, a total content of the crosslinkable monomer is from 60 parts by mass to 98 parts by mass, a content of the tri- or higher functional crosslinkable monomer is from 10 parts by mass to 98 parts by mass, which reads on Applicants range of 80 parts per mass of 100 parts monomer units. One skilled in the art would expect a highly crosslinked polymer to be solvent resistant because the crosslinking increases solvent resistance and thus would inherently have the properties to pass the immersion test. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0020] that the non-crosslinkable monomer is preferably 20 parts by mass or more, which reads on Applicants 2 to 20 parts by mass. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0167] that the void ratio is 80% or more, which reads on 50% or greater. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0162] that the particle diameter is 1-25 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 1-30 microns. Hirata discloses at paragraph [0175] that the hollow particles are made into a molded body.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Hirata to select each and every element as arranged in claims to form a hollow particle from a cross linked acrylate polymers having resistance to solvents, which forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-6.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766