DETAILED ACTION
The previous objections to the drawings are withdrawn because the corrected drawings filed on 12/24/25 labeled figures 1A and 1B as prior art.
The amendment submitted on 12/24/2025 has been received and submitted by the examiner. Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-15 were amended. All uncancelled claims remain pending.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
On pages 8-9 of their remarks, the applicant attempts to distinguish between the claimed invention and Kim, writing, “the processor 120 [in Kim] may configure a timer ‘on the basis of the first distance measurement cycle,’ not simply ‘on the basis of the first distance.’ As discussed above, in Kim, ‘on the basis of the first distance measurement cycle’ simply means waiting until the previous measurement cycle has ended, rather than the physical distance at the time [emphasis in original]” (Applicant Remarks, p. 9).
However, the examiner respectfully submits that this distinction the applicant draws between the time period Kim allocates to measure a distance and the distance measurement itself fails to distinguish between Kim and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention. The discussion in paragraphs 0171-0180 in Kim, which explains the flow chart in Fig. 10, explains that a device “may configure a timer on the basis of the first distance measurement cycle and perform operation 1009 [Activate First Communication in Fig. 10] when the timer expires” (Kim, 0177). In other words, the timer is set to ensure that the distance measurement completes (i.e. to ensure that the “first distance” is “identified”). In the examiner’s view, this use of a timer to secure a successful distance measurement meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “set[ting] a timer based on at least the identified first distance” because the timer in Kim is set expressly to ensure identification of a first distance.
Other contextual details provide further parallels between the claimed invention and Kim. For example, the timer in Kim determines when a device “Activate[s] First Communication” (step 1009 in Fig. 10), just as the claimed timer is “for determining when to initiate a subsequent sidelink channel with the second UE”.
In view of the foregoing facts, the rejection of the contested claim limitations based on Yang in view of Kim is properly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2021/0345296 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0417898 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
As to Claim 1:
Yang describes a method to periodically reselect a resource set for periodic sidelink communication.
Specifically, Yang teaches:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing one or more computer-executable instructions embodied thereon; and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions
(“The processor 1604 is responsible for managing the bus 1602 and general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium 1606” (Yang, 0111). Fig. 16 in Wang shows an example apparatus.
Here, “Memory 1605” maps to “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media”,
“software stored” maps to “having computer executable instructions embodied thereon”,
“Processor 1604” maps to “at least one processor”,
the bus, element 1602 in Fig. 16, maps to “coupled to”, and
“execution of software” maps to “execute the computer-executable instructions”).
Establish a sidelink channel between the first UE and the second UE based on a first resource set in a plurality of resource sets stored on the first UE
(“[T]he method includes selecting a first periodic communication resource set (ComReSet) from ... a plurality of periodic communication resource sets (ComReSets) dedicated to sidelink communication.... [T]he first apparatus selects one or more periodic communication resource sets for the sidelink communication, and notifies the second apparatus on the selected one or more periodic communication resource sets”(Yang, 0007, 0122).
Here, “selects one or more periodic communication resource sets for the sidelink communication” maps to “establish a sidelink channel ... based on a first resource set”,
“the first apparatus” maps to “the first UE”,
“the second apparatus” maps to “a second UE”, and
“a plurality of periodic communication resource sets (ComReSets)” map to “a plurality of resource sets stored”).
Set a timer ... the timer for determining when to establish a subsequent sidelink channel between the first UE and the second UE
(“[T]he UEs can start the timer after establishing the sidelink connection ... When the timer expires without being reset due to a lack of sidelink activity, the expiry of the timer can trigger the ComReSet release event.... [T]he triggering event for releasing a ComReSet may occur when the congestion and/or interference level of the current sidelink connection is above a certain threshold. In this case, the UEs can renegotiate a new ComReSet and then release the current one” (Yang, 0105).
Here, “start the timer” maps to “set a timer”,
“trigger the ComReSet release event” maps to “determining when to initiate a subsequent sidelink channel”, and
“renegotiate a new ComReSet” maps to “establish a subsequent sidelink channel between the first UE and the second UE”).
In a case that the timer is expired, establish the subsequent sidelink channel between the first UE and the second UE
(“[T]he UEs can start the timer after establishing the sidelink connection ... When the timer expires without being reset due to a lack of sidelink activity, the expiry of the timer can trigger the ComReSet release event.... [T]he triggering event for releasing a ComReSet may occur when the congestion and/or interference level of the current sidelink connection is above a certain threshold. In this case, the UEs can renegotiate a new ComReSet and then release the current one” (Yang, 0105).
Here, “when the timer expires” maps to “in a case that the timer is expired”, and
“renegotiate a new ComReSet” maps to “establish the subsequent sidelink channel between the first UE and the second UE”).
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
Perform a ranging process to identify at least a first distance between the first UE and the second UE when the sidelink channel between the first and second UEs is established
Set a timer based on at least the first distance
Perform a subsequent ranging process to identify at least a second distance between the first UE and the second UE
However, Kim does describe a method for two-way ranging to measure the distance between two devices.
Specifically, Kim teaches:
Perform a ranging process to identify at least a first distance between the first UE and the second UE when the sidelink channel between the first and second UEs is established
(“[T]he processor 120 may configure a timer on the basis of the first distance measurement cycle ... When the first distance measurement cycle 1170 [in Fig. 11] ends, the third electronic device 830 may activate the UWB communication in order to receive a second poll message.... (Kim, 0177, 0182, 0186).
Here, “the first distance measurement” maps to “perform a ranging process to identify at least a first distance”,
“first electronic device 810” in Fig. 11 maps to “the first UE”,
“second electronic device 820” in Fig. 11 maps to “the second UE”, and
“activate the UWB communication” maps to “the sidelink channel between the first and second UEs is established”).
Set a timer based on at least the first distance
(“[T]he processor 120 may configure a timer on the basis of the first distance measurement cycle” (Kim, 0177).
Here, “configure a timer” maps to “set a timer”,
“on the basis of the first distance” maps to “based on at least the identified first distance”).
Perform a subsequent ranging process to identify at least a second distance between the first UE and the second UE
(“The next distance measurement cycle may be a second distance measurement cycle included in the second poll message when the next poll message when the next poll message (for example, the second poll message) is transmitted rather than the first distance measurement cycle” (Kim, 0093). Fig. 11 also shows the second distance measurement cycle.
Here, “a second distance measurement cycle”, element 1180 in Fig. 11, maps to “perform a subsequent ranging process to identify at least a second distance”,
“first electronic device 810” in Fig. 11 maps to “the first UE”, and
“second electronic device 820” in Fig. 11 maps to “the second UE”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yang’s method for periodically reselecting a sidelink resource set with Kim’s method for continuously identifying the distance between two UEs. The distance measurements in Yang are one example of a periodically recalibrated measurement that can provide a reason to reselect a resource set, as described in Yang.
As to Claim 13:
Yang teaches:
Receive the plurality of resource sets from a cell of a base station
(“In one aspect, a scheduling entity (e.g., base station or gNB) may signal the resource pool configuration to the UEs in a cell controlled by the scheduling entity” (Yang, 0093).
Here, “signal” maps to “receive”,
“the resource pool” maps to “the plurality of resource sets”, and
“a cell controlled by the scheduling entity” maps to “a cell of a base station”).
As to Claim 15:
Yang teaches:
The first UE establishes the sidelink communication between the first UE and the second UE in a case that the first UE is out of a network coverage
(“The sidelink communication between vehicle-UEs (V-UEs) 302 and 304 [in Fig. 3] ... may occur over a sidelink 312 utilizing a proximity service (ProSe) PC5 interface.... ProSe communication may support different operational scenarios, such as in-coverage, out-of coverage, and partial coverage.... Partial coverage refers to a scenario in which some of the UEs (e.g., V-UE 304) are outside of the coverage of the base station 310, while other UEs (e.g., V-UE 302 and P-UE 308) are in communication with the base station 310” (Yang, 0061-0062).
Here, “V-UE 304” maps to “the first UE”,
“partial coverage” maps to “establishes the sidelink communication”,
“V-UE 302” maps to “the second UE”, and
“outside of the coverage” maps to “in a case that the first UE is out of a network coverage”).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2021/0345296 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0417898 A1) and further in view of Konishi et al. (US 9,372,646 B2, hereinafter “Konishi”).
As to Claim 2:
Yang teaches:
Before setting the timer, identify ... the first UE; and after the timer is expired, determine whether the ... UE has changed bymore than a threshold
(“The UEs may maintain a timer for tracking the inactivity time duration. The UEs may maintain a timer for tracking the inactivity time duration.... When the timer expires without being reset due to a lack of sidelink activity, the expiry of the timer can trigger the ComReSet release event” (Yang, 0105).
Here, “tracking the inactivity” maps to “before setting the timer, identify” because inactivity is one aspect of the UE’s state that can be identified and tracked,
the first of “the UEs” maps to “the first UE”,
“when the timer expires” maps to “after the timer is expired”, and
“due to a lack of sidelink activity” maps to “determine whether the ... UE has changed by more than a threshold”).
In a case that ... the first UE has changed by less than or equal to the threshold, establishing the subsequent sidelink channel based on a second resource set in the plurality of resource sets stored in the first UE
(“[A] first UE 1402 can transmit a message 1406 indicating one or more ComReSets that the first UE desires to use for sidelink communication ... At decision block 1502, a UE (e.g., UE 802 or 804) can determine whether a ComReSet management triggering event has occurred.... [T]he triggering event for releasing a ComReSet may occur when the congestion and/or interference level of the current sidelink connection is above a certain threshold. In this case, the UEs can renegotiate a new ComReSet and then release the current one” (Yang, 0100, 0102, 0105).
Here, the first of “the UEs” maps to “the first UE”,
the negative case when condition 1502 in Fig. 15, “the congestion and/or interference level of the current sidelink connection is above a certain threshold”, is false maps to “when ... the first UE has changed by less than or equal to the threshold”,
“transmit a message 1406 indicating one or more ComReSets” maps to “establishing the subsequent sidelink channel ... based on a second resource set” because this is how ComReSets are selected in the default case without a reset event, and
“one or more ComReSets” maps to “the plurality of resource sets stored in the first UE”).
In a case that the ... first UE has changed by more than the threshold, establishing the subsequent sidelink channel based on the first resource set or a default resource set in the plurality of resource sets
(“At decision block 1502, a UE (e.g., UE 802 or 804) can determine whether a ComReSet management triggering event has occurred.... At block 1504 [in Fig. 15], if the triggering event is an event to add a ComReSet, the UEs can add one or more ComReSets to the existing sidelink connection.... [T]he triggering event for releasing a ComReSet may occur when the congestion and/or interference level of the current sidelink connection is above a certain threshold. In this case, the UEs can renegotiate a new ComReSet and then release the current one” (Yang, 0102, 0105).
Here, the first of “the UEs” maps to “the first UE”,
“interference level and/or congestion ... is greater than a certain threshold” maps to “when the ... first UE has changed by more than the threshold”,
“renegotiate a new ComReSet and then release the current one” maps to “establishing the subsequent sidelink channel”,
“a ComReSet” maps to “the first resource set” from the list of “the first resource set or a default resource set”, and
“one or more ComReSets” map to “the plurality of resource sets”).
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
Identify an orientation of the first UE
Determine whether the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than a threshold
The orientation of the first UE has changed by less than or equal to the threshold
The orientation of the first UE has changed by more than the threshold
However, Konishi does describe a method for detecting nearby mobile devices.
Specifically, Konishi teaches:
Identify an orientation of the first UE
(“When the designated device discriminating section 22 detects a change in orientation of the mobile terminal 1 over a predetermined angle before elapse of the predetermined time period, the routine returns to Step S3 [in Fig. 4]” (Konishi, col. 7 lines 4-7).
Here, “detects a change in orientation of the mobile terminal 1” maps to “identify an orientation of the first UE”).
Determine whether the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than a threshold
(“When the designated device discriminating section 22 detects a change in orientation of the mobile terminal 1 over a predetermined angle before elapse of the predetermined time period, the routine returns to Step S3 [in Fig. 4]” (Konishi, col. 7 lines 4-7).
Here, “detects a change in orientation of the mobile terminal 1” maps to “determine whether the orientation of the first UE has changed”, and
“over a predetermined angle” maps to “more than a threshold”).
The orientation of the first UE has changed by less than or equal to the threshold
(Fig. 4 in Konishi shows a flow chart that includes detecting an orientation change of a UE.
Here, the negative path leading from step S6 in Fig. 4 where the “orientation of terminal” is not “changed” maps to “the orientation of the first UE has changed by less than or equal to the threshold”).
The orientation of the first UE has changed by more than the threshold
(“When the designated device discriminating section 22 detects a change in orientation of the mobile terminal 1 over a predetermined angle before elapse of the predetermined time period, the routine returns to Step S3 [in Fig. 4]” (Konishi, col. 7 lines 4-7).
Here, “a change in orientation of the mobile terminal 1 over a predetermined angle” maps to “the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than the threshold”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Konishi’s practice of assessing a device’s orientation into Yang’s method for reselecting a sidelink resource set based on changing conditions. A device’s orientation is one factor that can influence the best resource set for sidelink communication, so it makes sense to reselect a sidelink resource set based on changing orientation.
As to Claim 3:
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
Performing the ranging process
Performing the subsequent ranging process
However, Kim does teach:
Performing the ranging process
(“[T]he processor 120 may configure a timer on the basis of the first distance measurement (Kim, 0177).
Here, “the first distance measurement” maps to “perform the ranging process”).
Performing the subsequent ranging process
(“The next distance measurement cycle may be a second distance measurement cycle included in the second poll message when the next poll message when the next poll message (for example, the second poll message) is transmitted rather than the first distance measurement cycle” (Kim, 0093). Fig. 11 also shows the second distance measurement cycle.
Here, “a second distance measurement cycle”, element 1180 in Fig. 11, maps to “performing a subsequent ranging process”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yang’s method for periodically reselecting a sidelink resource set with Kim’s method for continuously identifying the distance between two UEs. The distance measurements in Yang are one example of a periodically recalibrated measurement that can provide a reason to reselect a resource set, as described in Yang.
The combination of Yang and Kim also does not explicitly disclose:
Performing the ranging process is further for identifying a first direction from the first UE toward the second UE
Performing the ... ranging process is further for identifying a second direction from the first UE toward the second UE
However, Konishi does teach:
Performing the ranging process is further for identifying a first direction from the first UE toward the second UE
(“[T]he designated device discriminating section 22 determines directions of the mobile terminal 1 toward the one or more image forming apparatuses 2 according to the location information of the mobile terminal 1” (Konishi col. 4, lines 11-14).
Here, “determines directions of the mobile terminal 1” maps to “performing the ranging process is further for identifying a first direction from the first UE toward the second UE”).
Performing the ... ranging process is further for identifying a second direction from the first UE toward the second UE
(“[T]he designated device discriminating section 22 determines directions of the mobile terminal 1 toward the one or more image forming apparatuses 2 according to the location information of the mobile terminal 1” (Konishi col. 4, lines 11-14).
Here, “determines directions of the mobile terminal 1” maps to “performing the ... ranging process is further for identifying a second direction from the first UE toward the second UE”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Konishi’s practice of assessing a device’s orientation into Yang’s method for reselecting a sidelink resource set based on changing conditions. A device’s orientation is one factor that can influence the best resource set for sidelink communication, so it makes sense to reselect a sidelink resource set based on changing orientation.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2021/0345296 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0417898 A1) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 10,455,519 B1, hereinafter “Liu”).
As to Claim 4:
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
Set a second timer based on at least the second distance
The second timer is set to a second interval that is shorter than a time interval to which the timer is set in a case that the second distance is shorter than the first distance
However, Liu does describe a method to send broadcast messages on a low energy advertising channel.
Specifically, Liu teaches:
Set a second timer based on at least the second distance
(“[T]he devices 402 ... determine the time T1 based on the distance (d)” (Liu col. 11, lines 26-33).
Here, “determine the time T1” maps to “set a second timer”, and
“based on the distance (d)” maps to “based on at least the second distance”).
The second timer is set to a second interval that is shorter than a time interval to which the timer is set in a case that the second distance is shorter than the first distance
(“The time T1 can be a linear or nonlinear function of d, and the smaller d is, the smaller T1 is” (Liu, col. 11, lines 45-46).
Here, “the smaller d is, the smaller T1 is” maps to “the second timer is set to a second interval that is shorter than a time interval to which the timer is set in a case that the second distance is shorter than the first distance”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Liu’s practice of using a second timer and setting the timer proportionally with distance to another device into Yang’s method for periodically reselecting the resource set used for sidelink communication using a timer. Communication over a larger distance takes longer, so it makes sense to set a timer proportionally to that distance to ensure a baseline amount of communication before reevaluating the corresponding resource set.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2021/0345296 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0417898 A1) and further in view of Burowski et al. (US 2021/0076163 A1, hereinafter “Burowski”).
As to Claim 5:
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
Calculating a time interval between each two sequential performances of the ranging process, and updating the time interval based on one or more parameters
However, Burowski does describe ranging techniques for large groups of mobile devices.
Specifically, Burowski teaches:
Calculating a time interval between each two sequential performances of the ranging process, and updating the time interval based on one or more parameters
(“As shown, the ranging settings include rate, dt_tx, and N. The rate can specify a time (e.g., 300 milliseconds (ms) for a default transmit/scan rate or 30 ms for an increased transmit/scan) and N can specify a multiple, thereby providing a time delay between each ranging request message” (Burowski, 0193).
Here, “providing a time delay” maps to “calculating a time interval between”,
“each ranging request message” maps to “each two sequential performances of the ranging process”, and
“ranging settings include rate, dt_tx, and N” maps to “updating the time interval based on one or more parameters”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Burowski’s method for configuring a series of ranging operations with an intervening delay into Yang’s method for reselecting a sidelink resource based on updating channel conditions. Distance between devices can change, making updating a sidelink resource set advantageous, so it makes sense to use a robust ranging process with delays between ranging operations to prevent collisions.
As to Claim 6:
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
The one or more parameters comprise at least one of an initial time interval, an interval factor, an initial distance factor, a distance factor, and a maximum number of iterations in calculating the time interval
However, from this list, Burowski at least teaches:
The one or more parameters comprise at least one of ... a maximum number of iterations in calculating the time interval
(“As shown, the ranging settings include rate, dt_tx, and N. The rate can specify a time (e.g., 300 milliseconds (ms) for a default transmit/scan rate or 30 ms for an increased transmit/scan) and N can specify a multiple, thereby providing a time delay between each ranging request message” (Burowski, 0193).
Here, “rate, dt_tx, and N” maps to “the one or more parameters”,
“include” maps to “comprises”, and
“N” maps to “at least one of ... a maximum number of iterations in calculating the time interval”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Burowski’s method for configuring a series of ranging operations with an intervening delay into Yang’s method for reselecting a sidelink resource based on updating channel conditions. Distance between devices can change, making updating a sidelink resource set advantageous, so it makes sense to use a robust ranging process with delays between ranging operations to prevent collisions.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2021/0345296 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0417898 A1) and further in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2017/0295471 A1, hereinafter “Hsieh”).
As to Claim 7:
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
In a case that the first distance is more than a first threshold or the first distance is unknown, setting the timer to a default time interval
In a case that the first distance is less than a second threshold, setting the timer to a minimum time interval which is calculated based on the default time interval
In a case that the first distance is between the first and second thresholds, setting the timer to a value that is calculated based on at least one of the default time interval, an interval factor, a default distance, and a distance factor
However, Hsieh does teach:
In a case that the first distance is more than a first threshold or the first distance is unknown, setting the timer to a default time interval
(Equation 2 from Hsieh is reproduced below:
Here, “Distance(Fwd, Dst)” maps to “the first distance”,
“Distance (Src, Dst)” maps to “a first threshold”,
“if Distance(Fwd, Dst) > Distance (Src, Dst)” maps to “in a case that the first distance is more than a first threshold” from the list of “when the first distance is more than a first threshold or the first distance is unknown”, and
“Timer =
D
e
f
M
a
x
” maps to “setting the timer to a default time interval”).
In a case that the first distance is less than a second threshold, setting the timer to a minimum time interval which is calculated based on the default time interval
(“
D
e
f
M
i
n
is a predetermined time value, and
D
e
f
M
a
x
is a predetermined maximum time value” (Hsieh, 0022). Also, Equation 2 from Hsieh is reproduced below:
Here, “if Fwd = access point” maps to “in a case that the first distance is less than a second threshold” because in the scenario where “Fwd = access point”, the distance is zero, and is therefore below any threshold, and
“Timer =
D
r
f
M
i
n
[sic – this presumably should read ‘
D
e
f
M
i
n
’]” maps to “setting the timer to a minimum time interval”, and
“predetermined” maps to “calculated based on the default time interval” because the minimum and maximum delays are related to each other as part of a set if they are “predetermined”).
In a case that the first distance is between the first and second thresholds, setting the timer to a value that is calculated based on at least one of the default time interval, an interval factor, a default distance, and a distance factor
(Equation 2 from Hsieh is reproduced below:
Here, “Distance(Fwd, Dst)” maps to “the first distance”,
“Distance (Src, Dst)” maps to “the first ... threshold”,
“Fwd = access point”, i.e. the distance is zero, maps to “the ... second threshold”,
“if Distance(Fwd, Dst) < Distance (Src, Dst)” maps to “in a case that the first distance is between the first and second thresholds”,
“
D
e
f
M
a
x
” maps to “the default time interval”, and
“Timer =
D
e
f
M
i
n
+
D
e
f
M
a
x
-
D
e
f
M
i
n
D
e
f
M
a
x
x
D
i
s
t
a
n
c
e
(
F
w
d
,
D
s
t
)
” maps to “setting the timer to a value that is calculated based on at least ... the default timer interval” from the list of “setting the timer to a value that is calculated based on at least one of the default time interval, an interval factor, a default distance, and a distance factor”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hsieh’s method of using two thresholds to set a timer and scaling the timer value between the thresholds into Yang’s method for reselecting a sidelink resource set. The two threshold system allows for dynamic scaling of the timer value while also capping the timer’s maximum and minimum settings to keep the timer value within a reasonable range.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2021/0345296 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0417898 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0159440 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
As to Claim 8:
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
The first distance between the first UE and the second UE is determined based on at least a quality of service (QoS) of the sidelink channel established between the first and second UEs
The QoS is indicated by the second UE
However, Chen does describe using a RSSI-to-distance model to identify abnormal transmissions that do not conform to the model.
Specifically, Chen teaches:
The first distance between the first UE and the second UE is determined based on at least a quality of service (QoS) of the sidelink channel established between the first and second UEs
(“The technique may further comprise obtaining an RSSI-to-distance data pair for the second V2X message comprising (1) an RSSI value and (2) a distance measure associated with an estimated distance between the receiving device and the second transmitting device” (Chen, 0023).
Here, “a distance measure associated with an estimated distance between the receiving device and the second transmitting device” maps to “the first distance between the UE and the second UE”,
“an RSSI-to-distance pair” maps to “determined based on at least a quality of service (QoS)” because RSSI is a QoS parameter, and
“V2X message” maps to “of the sidelink channel established between the first and second UEs”).
The QoS is indicated by the second UE
(“In one embodiment, the vehicle 914 may modify the criterion for conforming to the selected RSSI-to-distance model, in determining whether the V2X message is an abnormal transmission” (Chen, 0061).
Here, “modify ... the selected RSSI-to-distance model” maps to “the QoS is indicated”, and
“the vehicle 914” maps to “the second UE”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RSSI-to-distance model described in Chen into Yang’s method for reselecting sidelink resource sets. Measuring signal strength is a common method for estimating distance, so it makes sense to use it to estimate distance in Yang’s method.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2021/0345296 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0417898 A1) and further in view of Guan et al. (US 2023/0045308 A1, hereinafter “Guan”).
As to Claim 9:
Yang teaches:
The first sidelink resource pool
(“[T]he method includes selecting a first periodic communication resource set (ComReSet) from ... a plurality of periodic communication resource sets (ComReSets) dedicated to sidelink communication” (Yang, 0007).
Here, “a first periodic communication resource set” maps to “the first sidelink resource pool”).
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
For enabling a first set of directional transmission beams ... the first resource set comprises an identifier (ID) of the first resource set, parameters for configuring a ... resource pool, and beam management parameters associated with the ... resource pool
However, Guan does describe a method for configuring different SRS resource sets
Specifically, Guan teaches:
For enabling a first set of directional transmission beams ... the first resource set comprises an identifier (ID) of the first resource set, parameters for configuring a ... resource pool, and beam management parameters associated with the ... resource pool
(“SRS resources in one SRS resource set are used to select a transmit beam of one antenna panel.... [T]he base station configures usage of SRS resource sets whose set IDs are 1 and 2 as ‘beam management BM+antenna switch AS’” (Guan, 0069, 0268).
Here, “used to select a transmit beam” maps to “for enabling a first set of directional transmission beams”,
the first of the “SRS resource sets” maps to “the first resource set”,
“whose set ID” maps to “comprises an identifier (ID) of the first resource set”,
“antenna switch AS” maps to “parameters for configuring a ... resource pool”,
“beam management BM” maps to “beam management parameters”, and
“+” maps to “associated with”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include beam management parameters and a resource pool, as described in Guan, in the sidelink resource sets described in Yang. Beam management is a common function of resource sets, so it would be obvious for the set in Yang to use it.
As to Claim 10:
Yang teaches:
The first sidelink resource pool comprises a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) resource pool
(“For example, a UE may select resources (time, frequency, and spatial resources) for sidelink communication from a resource pool (e.g., V2X resources) for sidelink communication” (Yang, 0081).
Here, “a resource pool (e.g., V2X resources) for sidelink communication” maps to “the first sidelink resource pool comprises a vehicle to everything (V2X) resource pool”).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2021/0345296 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0417898 A1) and further in view of Feng et al. (US 2020/0059917 A1, hereinafter “Feng”).
As to Claim 11:
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
The plurality of resource sets is a plurality of ordered resource sets
However, Feng does teach a method for reselecting a sidelink
Specifically, Feng teaches:
The plurality of resource sets is a plurality of ordered resource sets
(“[A] target transmission resource set for D2D communication of first terminal equipment is determined from the multiple transmission resource sets according to location information of the first terminal equipment and the distance thresholds of the multiple transmission resource sets” (Feng, 0005).
Here, “multiple transmission resource sets” maps to “the plurality of resource sets”, and
“distance thresholds of the multiple transmission resource sets” maps to “a plurality of ordered resource sets” because the correspondence between each set and increasing distance thresholds amounts to an “order”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Feng’s practice of ordering resource sets into Yang’s method for reselecting a sidelink resource set. Ordering resource sets can help organize them and identify their purpose.
As to Claim 12:
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
Based on the plurality of ordered resource sets, the first resource set is used for determining a direction from the first UE toward the second UE
The second resource set is selected after the timer expires based on a result of the determining the direction
However, Feng does teach:
Based on the plurality of ordered resource sets, the first resource set is used for determining a direction from the first UE toward the second UE
(“[T]he target transmission resource set for D2D communication of the first terminal equipment is determined from the multiple transmission resource sets ... [L]ocation information and movement speed information of each of at least one second terminal equipment corresponding to a first transmission resource set are acquired, each of the at least one second terminal equipment adopting transmission resources in the first transmission resource set for D2D communication and the multiple transmission resource sets including the first transmission resource set” (Feng, 0015).
Here, “determined from the multiple transmission resource sets” maps to “based on the plurality of ordered resource sets”,
“corresponding to a first transmission resource set” maps to “the first resource set is used”, and
“location information and movement speed ... are acquired ... for D2D communication” maps to “determining a direction from the first UE toward the second UE”).
The second resource set is selected after the timer expires based on a result of the determining the direction
(“[A] reselection triggering moment is determined according to a present maximum distance and maximum relative movement speed between the first terminal equipment and at least one fifth terminal equipment corresponding to a target transmission resource set; and reselection of the target transmission resource set for the first terminal equipment from multiple available transmission resource sets is triggered at the reselection triggering moment” (Feng, 0026).
Here, “the target transmission resource set” maps to “the second resource set”,
“reselection” maps to “is selected”,
“at the reselection triggering moment” maps to “after the timer expires”, and
“determined according to ... maximum relative movement speed” maps to “based on a result of the determining the direction” because direction is part of relative movement).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Yang’s method for switching resource sets to scenarios that include a change in a UE’s direction, as in Feng. Changing direction can also make a new resource set more optimal than the current one, so it would be obvious to switch resource sets based on a new direction.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2021/0345296 A1) in view of Kim (US 2022/0417898 A1) and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0171792 A1, hereinafter “Sun”).
As to Claim 14:
The combination of Yang and Kim does not explicitly disclose:
Before receiving the plurality of resource sets from the base station, send a message to the base station requesting a plurality of resource sets via dedicated signaling
However, Sun does describe a method for selecting a set of resources for sidelink communication.
Specifically, Sun teaches:
Before receiving the plurality of resource sets from the base station, send a message to the base station requesting a plurality of resource sets via dedicated signaling
(“UE 201-A then sends an indicator to BS 202 to request a set of sidelink resources for UE 201-B’s transmission” (Sun, 0053).
Here, “UE 201-a then sends an indicator to BS 202 to request a set of sidelink resources” maps to “before receiving the plurality of resource sets from the base station, send a message to the base station requesting a plurality of resource sets via dedicated signaling”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Sun’s practice of having a UE request a set of sidelink resources into Yang’s method for reselecting sidelink resources. Enabling a UE to request sidelink resources ensures it will not lack resource sets to choose from.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mok et al. (US 9,986,410 B2) describes a method for sidelink communication where a UE determines the distance to a nearby peer using a timer.
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477