DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 04/16/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1, 5, and 7-8 were amended, and claims 1-15 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 12,213,127 B2, hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Imes et al. (US 12,585,298 B2, hereinafter “Imes”).
As to Claim 1:
Wang describes a method for a UE to reuse sidelink resources from a previous sidelink connection when reestablishing a new sidelink channel.
Specifically, Wang teaches:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing one or more computer-executable instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions
Wang describes a “non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for a wireless communications” that “may include instructions executable by a processor” (Wang, col. 2, lines 54-56).
Establish a sidelink channel between the first UE and the second UE based on a first resource set in a plurality of resource sets stored in the first UE
Wang teaches that a “first UE” may “monitor a set of sidelink resources for a sidelink control message from a first UE” and “receive the sidelink control message from the first UE based on the monitoring, where the sidelink control message includes a set of reserved resources for a sidelink shared channel between the first UE and a second UE” (Wang, col. 4, lines 65-67; col. 5, lines 1-5).
Here, “a sidelink shared channel between the first UE and a second UE” maps to “a sidelink channel between the first UE and the second UE”, and
“a set of reserved resources” from the full “set of sidelink resources” maps to “a first resource set in a plurality of resource sets stored in the first UE” because the UE clearly must have the “set of sidelink resources” stored to monitor it.
Perform a ranging process to identify at least a first distance between the first UE and the second UE when the sidelink channel between the first and second UEs is established
Wang teaches that “UE 115-b may determine to reuse the resources if UE 115-b determines that UE 115-a is a safe distance from UE 115-b (e.g., an interference-free distance)” (Wang, col. 6, lines 39-42).
Here, “determ[ing] ... a safe distance” maps to “perform a ranging process to identify at least a first distance”, and
the fact that the UE is “reus[ing] the resources” demonstrates that “the sidelink channel between the first and second UEs is established”.
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Set a timer based on at least the identified first distance
A duration of the timer is determined as a function of a magnitude of the identified first distance and is computed using a distance dependent mapping that is stored at the first UE
The duration of the timer is not determined based on a duration of a distance measurement cycle
In a case that the timer is expired, establish a subsequent sidelink channel between the first UE and the second UE, and perform a subsequent ranging process to identify at least a second distance between the first UE and the second UE
However, Imes does describe a method to save energy by determining how often a UE should transmit based on its physical proximity to the destination.
Specifically, Imes teaches:
Set a timer based on at least the identified first distance
In describing the diagram of a UE 500 in Fig. 5A, Imes describes a “proximity detection module 524” that “can be used to detect a location at a modifiable interval” that “can be increased (e.g. set from one (1) minute to three (3) minutes” if “mobile device 500” is “moving away from an associated site” (Imes col. 33, lines 52-60).
Here, the “modifiable interval” maps to “set[ting] a timer”, and
“detect[ing] a location” maps to “the identified first distance”.
A duration of the timer is determined as a function of a magnitude of the identified first distance and is computed using a distance dependent mapping that is stored at the first UE
In describing the diagram of a UE 500 in Fig. 5A, Imes describes a “proximity detection module 524” that “can be used to detect a location at a modifiable interval” that “can be increased (e.g. set from one (1) minute to three (3) minutes” if “mobile device 500” is “moving away from an associated site” (Imes col. 33, lines 52-60).
Here, “increase[ing]” the duration of the timer “from one (1) minute to three (3) minutes” if the UE is “moving away from an associated site” maps to “a duration of the timer is determined as a function of a magnitude of the identified first distance”, and
the choice between “one (1) minute” and “three (3) minutes” maps to “a distance dependent mapping that is stored at the first UE”.
The duration of the timer is not determined based on a duration of a distance measurement cycle
In describing the diagram of a UE 500 in Fig. 5A, Imes describes a “proximity detection module 524” that “can be used to detect a location at a modifiable interval” that “can be increased (e.g. set from one (1) minute to three (3) minutes” if “mobile device 500” is “moving away from an associated site” (Imes col. 33, lines 52-60).
Here, the “modifiable interval” is based on the UE’s “proximity” to “an associated site”, not “a duration of a distance measurement cycle”.
In a case that the timer is expired, establish a subsequent ... channel ... and perform a subsequent ranging process to identify at least a second distance between the first UE and the second UE
Imes specifies that the “modifiable interval” is “an interval to access location data using location reporting device 512” (Imes, col. 33, lines 57-60). Imes also specifies that the mobile device “establish[es] a communication between the device at the site and the remote server at the updated periodic interval” (Imes, Claim 1).
Here, the end of the “interval” maps to “in a case that the timer is expired”,
“establishing a communication” maps to “establish a subsequent ... channel”, and
“using location reporting device 512” maps to “perform a subsequent ranging process to identify at least a second distance between the first UE and the second UE”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Imes’ practice of initiating the ranging process at intervals determined by a UE’s proximity to its ranging target into Wang’s method for establishing a sidelink channel based on distance. As Imes states, this provides “an economic benefit from reducing load when the transmission rate or rate for using transmission lines would be determined” (Imes, col. 12, lines 24-26).
As to Claim 3:
Wang teaches:
The first UE
Wang states that “a first UE (e.g., a transmitting UE) may identify scheduling information for communications on a sidelink shared channel between the first UE and a second UE” (Wang, col. 1, lines 63-66).
The second UE
Wang states that “a first UE (e.g., a transmitting UE) may identify scheduling information for communications on a sidelink shared channel between the first UE and a second UE” (Wang, col. 1, lines 63-66).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Performing a ranging process is further for identifying a first direction from the first UE toward the [site]
Performing the subsequent ranging process is further for identifying a second direction from the first UE toward the [site]
However, Imes does teach:
Performing a ranging process is further for identifying a first direction from the first UE toward the [location]
Imes states that “proximity direction module 524 can be used to detect ... a direction that [mobile device 500] is moving away from an associated site” (Imes, col. 33, lines 44-47).
Performing the subsequent ranging process is further for identifying a second direction from the first UE toward the [location]
Imes states that “proximity direction module 524 can be used to detect ... a direction that [mobile device 500] is moving away from an associated site”, adding that “proximity detection module 524 can be used to detect a location at a modifiable interval” (Imes, col. 33, lines 44-47, 52-53).
Here, “detect[ing] a direction” after “a modifiable interval” maps to “performing the subsequent ranging process is further for identifying a second direction from the first UE toward the [location]”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Imes’ practice of initiating the ranging process at intervals determined by a UE’s proximity to its ranging target into Wang’s method for establishing a sidelink channel based on distance. As Imes states, this provides “an economic benefit from reducing load when the transmission rate or rate for using transmission lines would be determined” (Imes, col. 12, lines 24-26).
As to Claim 4:
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Set a second timer based on at least the identified second distance
The second timer is set to a second interval that is shorter than a time interval to which the timer is set in a case that the identified second distance is shorter than the identified first distance
However, Imes does teach:
Set a second timer based on at least the identified second distance
Imes describes “detect[ing] a location at a modifiable interval” (Imes, col. 33, line 53).
The fact that this “modifiable interval” will repeat again to “detect a location” maps to “set[ting] a second timer based on at least the identified second distance”.
The second timer is set to a second interval that is shorter than a time interval to which the timer is set in a case that the identified second distance is shorter than the identified first distance
Imes clarifies that a “shorter interval” may be used if “mobile device 500 moves closer to an associated site” (Imes, col. 33, lines 60-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Imes’ practice of initiating the ranging process at intervals determined by a UE’s proximity to its ranging target into Wang’s method for establishing a sidelink channel based on distance. As Imes states, this provides “an economic benefit from reducing load when the transmission rate or rate for using transmission lines would be determined” (Imes, col. 12, lines 24-26).
As to Claim 5:
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Calculating a time interval between each two sequential performances of the ranging process, and updating the time interval based on one or more parameters
However, Imes does teach:
Calculating a time interval between each two sequential performances of the ranging process, and updating the time interval based on one or more parameters
Imes teaches that “proximity detection module 524 can be used to detect a location at a modifiable interval” and that “an interval to access location data ... can be increased” if “mobile device 500” is “moving away from an associated site” (Imes, col. 33, lines 52-60).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Imes’ practice of initiating the ranging process at intervals determined by a UE’s proximity to its ranging target into Wang’s method for establishing a sidelink channel based on distance. As Imes states, this provides “an economic benefit from reducing load when the transmission rate or rate for using transmission lines would be determined” (Imes, col. 12, lines 24-26).
As to Claim 6:
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
The one or more parameters comprise at least one of an initial time interval, an interval factor, an initial distance, a distance factor, and a maximum number of iterations in calculating the time interval
However, from this list, Imes at least teaches:
The one or more parameters comprise ... a distance factor
Imes teaches that “proximity detection module 524 can be used to detect a location at a modifiable interval” and that “an interval to access location data ... can be increased” if “mobile device 500” is “moving away from an associated site” (Imes, col. 33, lines 52-60).
Here, “moving away” maps to “a distance factor”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Imes’ practice of initiating the ranging process at intervals determined by a UE’s proximity to its ranging target into Wang’s method for establishing a sidelink channel based on distance. As Imes states, this provides “an economic benefit from reducing load when the transmission rate or rate for using transmission lines would be determined” (Imes, col. 12, lines 24-26).
As to Claim 15:
Wang teaches:
The first UE establishes the sidelink communication between the first UE and the second UE in a case that the first UE is out of a network coverage
Wang states that “a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 over a device-to-device (D2D) communication link 135” if “[o]ther UEs 115 in such a group may be outside the geographic coverage area 110 of a base station 105” (Wang, col. 14, lines 13-21).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 12,213,127 B2) in view of Imes (US 12,585,298 B2) and further in view of Baghel et al. (US 2019/0357024 A1, hereinafter “Baghel”).
As to Claim 2:
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Before setting the timer, identify an orientation of the first UE
After the timer is expired, determine whether the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than a threshold
However, Imes does teach:
Before setting the timer, identify an orientation of the first UE
Imes teaches that before “a modifiable interval”, a “proximity detection module 524 [in Fig. 5] can be used to detect mobile device 500 ... and a direction that [it] is moving away from an associated site” (Imes, col. 33, lines 44-47).
Here, “detect ... a direction” maps to “identify an orientation of the first UE”.
After the timer is expired, determine whether the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than a threshold
Imes states that the “proximity detection module 524” can also subsequently “detect a location at a modifiable interval” (Imes, col. 33, lines 52-53).
Here, the end of the “modifiable interval” maps to “after the timer is expired”, and
“detect[ing] a location” maps to “determin[ing] whether the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than a threshold”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Imes’ practice of initiating the ranging process at intervals determined by a UE’s proximity to its ranging target into Wang’s method for establishing a sidelink channel based on distance. As Imes states, this provides “an economic benefit from reducing load when the transmission rate or rate for using transmission lines would be determined” (Imes, col. 12, lines 24-26).
The combination of Wang and Ives does not explicitly disclose:
In a case that the orientation of the first UE has changed by less than, or equal to, the threshold, establishing the subsequent sidelink channel based on a second resource set in the plurality of resource sets stored in the first UE
In a case that the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than the threshold, establishing the subsequent sidelink channel based on the first resource set or a default resource set in the plurality of resource sets
However, Baghel does describe a method to determine the best resource set for V2X communications.
Specifically, Baghel teaches:
In a case that the orientation of the first UE has changed by less than, or equal to, the threshold, establishing the subsequent sidelink channel based on a second resource set in the plurality of resource sets stored in the first UE
Baghel states that “[a] UE may determine which of the third set of resources and the fourth set of resources to use for the first type of traffic (e.g., HRHRC V2X traffic) based on its orientation within the geographical zones. For example, if the UE is oriented or traveling in the first direction, the UE may use the third set of resources, and if the UE is oriented or traveling in the second direction, the UE may use the fourth set of resources” (Baghel, 0095).
Here, “if the UE is oriented or traveling in the first direction, the UE may use the third set of resources” maps to “in a case that the orientation of the first UE has changed by less than, or equal to, the threshold, establishing the subsequent sidelink channel based on a second resource set in the plurality of resource sets stored in the first UE”.
In a case that the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than the threshold, establishing the subsequent sidelink channel based on the first resource set or a default resource set in the plurality of resource sets
Baghel states that “[a] UE may determine which of the third set of resources and the fourth set of resources to use for the first type of traffic (e.g., HRHRC V2X traffic) based on its orientation within the geographical zones. For example, if the UE is oriented or traveling in the first direction, the UE may use the third set of resources, and if the UE is oriented or traveling in the second direction, the UE may use the fourth set of resources” (Baghel, 0095).
Here, “if the UE is oriented or traveling in the second direction, the UE may use the fourth set of resources” maps to “in a case that the orientation of the first UE has changed by more than the threshold, establishing the subsequent sidelink channel based on the first resource set or a default resource set in the plurality of resource sets”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baghel’s practice of choosing a resource set based on a UE’s orientation into Wang’s method for adapting a sidelink channel to the distance between two UEs. As Baghel states, this creates “a more dynamic, autonomous framework” which “allow[s] vehicular devices to configure itself [sic] with such essential parameters using its own perceived input” (Baghel, 0006).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 12,213,127 B2) in view of Imes (US 12,585,298 B2) and further in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2017/0295471 A1, hereinafter “Hsieh”).
As to Claim 7:
The combination of Wang and Imes does not explicitly disclose:
In a case that the identified first distance is more than a first threshold or the identified first distance is unknown, setting the timer to a default time interval
In a case that the identified first distance is less than a second threshold, setting the timer to a minimum time interval which is calculated based on the default time interval
In a case that the identified first distance is between the first and second thresholds, setting the timer to a value that is calculated based on at least one of the default time interval, an interval factor, a default distance, and a distance factor
However, Hsieh does describe a method to set the duration of a backoff timer based on the distance between nodes.
Specifically, Hsieh teaches:
In a case that the identified first distance is more than a first threshold or the identified first distance is unknown, setting the timer to a default time interval
(Equation 2 from Hsieh is reproduced below:
Here, “Distance(Fwd, Dst)” maps to “the identified first distance”,
“Distance (Src, Dst)” maps to “a first threshold”,
“if Distance(Fwd, Dst) > Distance (Src, Dst)” maps to “in a case that the identified first distance is more than a first threshold” from the list of “when the identified first distance is more than a first threshold or the identified first distance is unknown”, and
“Timer =
D
e
f
M
a
x
” maps to “setting the timer to a default time interval”).
In a case that the identified first distance is less than a second threshold, setting the timer to a minimum time interval which is calculated based on the default time interval
(“
D
e
f
M
i
n
is a predetermined time value, and
D
e
f
M
a
x
is a predetermined maximum time value” (Hsieh, 0022). Also, Equation 2 from Hsieh is reproduced below:
Here, “if Fwd = access point” maps to “in a case that the identified first distance is less than a second threshold” because in the scenario where “Fwd = access point”, the distance is zero, and is therefore below any threshold, and
“Timer =
D
r
f
M
i
n
[sic – this presumably should read ‘
D
e
f
M
i
n
’]” maps to “setting the timer to a minimum time interval”, and
“predetermined” maps to “calculated based on the default time interval” because the minimum and maximum delays are related to each other as part of a set if they are “predetermined”).
In a case that the identified first distance is between the first and second thresholds, setting the timer to a value that is calculated based on at least one of the default time interval, an interval factor, a default distance, and a distance factor
(Equation 2 from Hsieh is reproduced below:
Here, “Distance(Fwd, Dst)” maps to “the identified first distance”,
“Distance (Src, Dst)” maps to “the first ... threshold”,
“Fwd = access point”, i.e. the distance is zero, maps to “the ... second threshold”,
“if Distance(Fwd, Dst) < Distance (Src, Dst)” maps to “in a case that the first distance is between the first and second thresholds”,
“
D
e
f
M
a
x
” maps to “the default time interval”, and
“Timer =
D
e
f
M
i
n
+
D
e
f
M
a
x
-
D
e
f
M
i
n
D
e
f
M
a
x
x
D
i
s
t
a
n
c
e
(
F
w
d
,
D
s
t
)
” maps to “setting the timer to a value that is calculated based on at least ... the default timer interval” from the list of “setting the timer to a value that is calculated based on at least one of the default time interval, an interval factor, a default distance, and a distance factor”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hsieh’s method of using two thresholds to set a timer and scaling the timer value between the thresholds into Wang’s method for reselecting a sidelink resource set. The two threshold system allows for dynamic scaling of the timer value while also capping the timer’s maximum and minimum settings to keep the timer value within a reasonable range.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 12,213,127 B2) in view of Imes (US 12,585,298 B2) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0159440 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
As to Claim 8:
The combination of Wang and Imes does not explicitly disclose:
The identified first distance between the first UE and the second UE is determined based on at least a quality of service (QoS) of the sidelink channel established between the first and second UEs
The QoS is indicated by the second UE
However, Chen does describe using a RSSI-to-distance model to identify abnormal transmissions that do not conform to the model.
Specifically, Chen teaches:
The identified first distance between the first UE and the second UE is determined based on at least a quality of service (QoS) of the sidelink channel established between the first and second UEs
(“The technique may further comprise obtaining an RSSI-to-distance data pair for the second V2X message comprising (1) an RSSI value and (2) a distance measure associated with an estimated distance between the receiving device and the second transmitting device” (Chen, 0023).
Here, “a distance measure associated with an estimated distance between the receiving device and the second transmitting device” maps to “the identified first distance between the UE and the second UE”,
“an RSSI-to-distance pair” maps to “determined based on at least a quality of service (QoS)” because RSSI is a QoS parameter, and
“V2X message” maps to “of the sidelink channel established between the first and second UEs”).
The QoS is indicated by the second UE
(“In one embodiment, the vehicle 914 may modify the criterion for conforming to the selected RSSI-to-distance model, in determining whether the V2X message is an abnormal transmission” (Chen, 0061).
Here, “modify ... the selected RSSI-to-distance model” maps to “the QoS is indicated”, and
“the vehicle 914” maps to “the second UE”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RSSI-to-distance model described in Chen into Wang’s method for reselecting sidelink resource sets. Measuring signal strength is a common method for estimating distance, so it makes sense to use it to estimate distance in Wang’s method.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 12,213,127 B2) in view of Imes (US 12,585,298 B2) and further in view of Guan et al. (US 2023/0045308 A1, hereinafter “Guan”).
As to Claim 9:
Wang teaches:
The first sidelink resource pool
Wang describes a “third UE ... monitoring a set of sidelink resources” (Wang, col. 4, lines 28-30).
The combination of Wang and Imes does not explicitly disclose:
For enabling a first set of directional transmission beams ... the first resource set comprises an identifier (ID) of the first resource set, parameters for configuring a ... resource pool, and beam management parameters associated with the ... resource pool
However, Guan does describe a method for configuring different SRS resource sets
Specifically, Guan teaches:
For enabling a first set of directional transmission beams ... the first resource set comprises an identifier (ID) of the first resource set, parameters for configuring a ... resource pool, and beam management parameters associated with the ... resource pool
(“SRS resources in one SRS resource set are used to select a transmit beam of one antenna panel.... [T]he base station configures usage of SRS resource sets whose set IDs are 1 and 2 as ‘beam management BM+antenna switch AS’” (Guan, 0069, 0268).
Here, “used to select a transmit beam” maps to “for enabling a first set of directional transmission beams”,
the first of the “SRS resource sets” maps to “the first resource set”,
“whose set ID” maps to “comprises an identifier (ID) of the first resource set”,
“antenna switch AS” maps to “parameters for configuring a ... resource pool”,
“beam management BM” maps to “beam management parameters”, and
“+” maps to “associated with”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include beam management parameters and a resource pool, as described in Guan, in the sidelink resource sets described in Wang. Beam management is a common function of resource sets, so it would be obvious for the set in Wang to use it.
As to Claim 10:
Wang teaches:
The first sidelink resource pool comprises a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) resource pool
Wang specifies that the sidelink communications occur between “a device in the network” and “another device (e.g., ... [a] V2X device)” (Wang, col. 18, lines 60-63).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 12,213,127 B2) in view of Imes (US 12,585,298 B2) and further in view of Feng et al. (US 2020/0059917 A1, hereinafter “Feng”).
As to Claim 11:
The combination of Wang and Imes does not explicitly disclose:
The plurality of resource sets is a plurality of ordered resource sets
However, Feng does teach a method for reselecting a sidelink resource set based on the direction to the other device.
Specifically, Feng teaches:
The plurality of resource sets is a plurality of ordered resource sets
(“[A] target transmission resource set for D2D communication of first terminal equipment is determined from the multiple transmission resource sets according to location information of the first terminal equipment and the distance thresholds of the multiple transmission resource sets” (Feng, 0005).
Here, “multiple transmission resource sets” maps to “the plurality of resource sets”, and
“distance thresholds of the multiple transmission resource sets” maps to “a plurality of ordered resource sets” because the correspondence between each set and increasing distance thresholds amounts to an “order”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Feng’s practice of ordering resource sets into Wang’s method for reselecting a sidelink resource set. Ordering resource sets can help organize them and identify their purpose.
As to Claim 12:
The combination of Wang and Imes does not explicitly disclose:
Based on the plurality of ordered resource sets, the first resource set is used for determining a direction from the first UE toward the second UE
The second resource set is selected after the timer expires based on a result of the determining the direction
However, Feng does teach:
Based on the plurality of ordered resource sets, the first resource set is used for determining a direction from the first UE toward the second UE
(“[T]he target transmission resource set for D2D communication of the first terminal equipment is determined from the multiple transmission resource sets ... [L]ocation information and movement speed information of each of at least one second terminal equipment corresponding to a first transmission resource set are acquired, each of the at least one second terminal equipment adopting transmission resources in the first transmission resource set for D2D communication and the multiple transmission resource sets including the first transmission resource set” (Feng, 0015).
Here, “determined from the multiple transmission resource sets” maps to “based on the plurality of ordered resource sets”,
“corresponding to a first transmission resource set” maps to “the first resource set is used”, and
“location information and movement speed ... are acquired ... for D2D communication” maps to “determining a direction from the first UE toward the second UE”).
The second resource set is selected after the timer expires based on a result of the determining the direction
(“[A] reselection triggering moment is determined according to a present maximum distance and maximum relative movement speed between the first terminal equipment and at least one fifth terminal equipment corresponding to a target transmission resource set; and reselection of the target transmission resource set for the first terminal equipment from multiple available transmission resource sets is triggered at the reselection triggering moment” (Feng, 0026).
Here, “the target transmission resource set” maps to “the second resource set”,
“reselection” maps to “is selected”,
“at the reselection triggering moment” maps to “after the timer expires”, and
“determined according to ... maximum relative movement speed” maps to “based on a result of the determining the direction” because direction is part of relative movement).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Wang’s method for switching resource sets to scenarios that include a change in a UE’s direction, as in Feng. Changing direction can also make a new resource set more optimal than the current one, so it would be obvious to switch resource sets based on a new direction.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 12,213,127 B2) in view of Imes (US 12,585,298 B2) and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0171792 A1, hereinafter “Sun”).
As to Claim 13:
The combination of Wang and Imes does not explicitly disclose:
Receive the plurality of resource sets from a base station
However, Sun does describe a method for selecting a set of resources for sidelink communication.
Specifically, Sun teaches:
Receive the plurality of resource sets from a base station
After “UE 201-A ... sends an indicator to BS 202 to request a set of sidelink resources”, Sun specifies that “BS 202 would transmit the set of sidelink resources to UE 201-B directly or indirectly” (Sun, 0053).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Sun’s practice of having a UE request a set of sidelink resources into Wang’s method for reselecting sidelink resources. Enabling a UE to request sidelink resources ensures it will not lack resource sets to choose from.
As to Claim 14:
The combination of Wang and Imes does not explicitly disclose:
Before receiving the plurality of resource sets from the base station, send a message to the base station requesting a plurality of resource sets via dedicated signaling
However, Sun does teach:
Before receiving the plurality of resource sets from the base station, send a message to the base station requesting a plurality of resource sets via dedicated signaling
(“UE 201-A then sends an indicator to BS 202 to request a set of sidelink resources for UE 201-B’s transmission” (Sun, 0053).
Here, “UE 201-a then sends an indicator to BS 202 to request a set of sidelink resources” maps to “before receiving the plurality of resource sets from the base station, send a message to the base station requesting a plurality of resource sets via dedicated signaling”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Sun’s practice of having a UE request a set of sidelink resources into Wang’s method for reselecting sidelink resources. Enabling a UE to request sidelink resources ensures it will not lack resource sets to choose from.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477