DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishida et al. (US20080177482), hereinafter referred to as ‘Kishida’ and in further view of Hu et al. (CN203929090), hereinafter referred to as ‘Hu’.
Regarding Claim 1, Kishida discloses a device comprising: sensing unit configured to execute optical fiber sensing using an optical fiber (In view of the background technology, an object of the present invention is to provide a structure monitor system which can estimate a physical quantity such as a distortion and a temperature at a position distant from a position where an optical fiber sensor is laid, and monitor a physical quantity at every position of a structure with high precision [0010]; Fig. 1); analysis unit configured to execute primary analysis processing on sensing data acquired by the optical fiber sensing; communication unit configured to transmit (This structure monitor system 1 is provided with a measuring unit (measuring means) 3 including an optical fiber sensor 2, a control unit (control means) 4 electrically connected with the measuring unit 3 via a communication means 6a, a display unit (display means) 6 electrically connected with the control unit 4 via a communication means 6b, and a monitoring unit 10 electrically connected with the control unit 4 [0033];), to an analysis unit configured to execute analysis processing based on a result of the primary analysis processing outside the portable device (The distortion at the specified point of the disk body is analyzed in the numerical analyzer 5 based on the measurement data such as the measured distortion outputted from the measuring instrument 7 to the inputting device 8 [0053]), data including a result of the primary analysis processing (The distortion at the specified point of the disk body is analyzed in the numerical analyzer 5 based on the measurement data such as the measured distortion outputted from the measuring instrument 7 to the inputting device 8 [0053]); and a housing accommodating the sensing unit, the analysis unit, and the communication unit (Fig. 1).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose a portable device comprising: sensing unit configured to execute optical fiber sensing using an optical fiber cable; communication unit configured to transmit, to external analysis unit configured to execute means for executing secondary analysis processing based on a result of the primary analysis processing outside the portable device.
Nevertheless, Hu discloses a portable device comprising: sensing unit configured to execute optical fiber sensing using an optical fiber cable (This invention relates to a portable fiber optic sensing and detection device, belonging to the field of fiber optic sensing and detection devices [0002]; The fiber optic spectrometer 15 transmits the measurement data to the computer via a USB data cable [0024]); communication unit configured to transmit, to external analysis unit configured to execute means for executing secondary analysis processing based on a result of the primary analysis processing outside the portable device (The fiber optic spectrometer 15 transmits the measurement data to the computer via a USB data cable, and finally the computer displays it [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include a portable device comprising: sensing unit configured to execute optical fiber sensing using an optical fiber cable to interact with the substance or condition being measured and identify changes in the environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include a communication unit configured to transmit, to external analysis unit configured to execute means for executing secondary analysis processing based on a result of the primary analysis processing outside the portable device to send data or signals for processing and improve data analysis.
Regarding Claim 2, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kishida discloses the communication unit is provided in the analysis unit (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the portable device further comprises a power supply circuit supplying electrical power for operation to the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by using electrical power supplied from an external power supply via a power supply cable, and the housing accommodates the power supply circuit.
Nevertheless, Hu discloses the portable device further comprises a power supply circuit supplying electrical power for operation to the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by using electrical power supplied from an external power supply via a power supply cable, and the housing accommodates the power supply circuit (a portable fiber optic sensing and detection device, comprising a housing, a winding drum, a broadband light source, a fiber optic spectrometer, a power supply, and a light-transmitting fiber; the housing is provided with a handle, two fixed [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include the portable device further comprises a power supply circuit supplying electrical power for operation to the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by using electrical power supplied from an external power supply via a power supply cable, and the housing accommodates the power supply to provide power to sensing device while minimizing cost.
Regarding Claim 3, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kishida discloses the communication unit is provided in the analysis unit (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the portable device further comprises a battery supplying electrical power for operation to the sensing unit and the analysis unit , and the housing accommodates the battery.
Nevertheless, Hu discloses the portable device further comprises a battery supplying electrical power for operation to the sensing unit and the analysis unit , and the housing accommodates the battery (… and a power supply charging port, and the outer side of the left disc is provided with a hand crank; the spool is internally hollow, and the broadband light source, fiber optic spectrometer, and power supply are installed within the cavity; the light-transmitting fiber includes an in [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include the portable device further comprises a battery supplying electrical power for operation to the sensing unit and the analysis unit , and the housing accommodates the battery to increase portability while collecting and processing sensed data and minimize cost.
Regarding Claim 4, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kishida discloses the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit (as discussed above), and the external control unit controls an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by communicating with the communication unit (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device, and the external control unit controls an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by communicating with the communication unit.
Nevertheless, Hu discloses the communication unit communicates with the analysis unit and communicates with control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device to enable to the device to send and receive data/commands and perform data processing.
Regarding Claim 5, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kishida discloses the primary analysis processing includes at least one of processing of determining a position coordinate associated with the sensing data and processing of detecting occurrence of an abnormality around the optical fiber cable (On the other hand, similar to the second embodiment, the numerical analyzer 5 can recognize the presence of an abnormally high temperature part in the disk body S and specify the position and shape of the abnormally high temperature part by a method similar to the one of the second embodiment when a difference between temperatures measured at different times at the same measurement points exceeds a specified range. Specifically, when a high temperature part is enlarged, the numerical analyzer 5 recognizes that a part of the inner wall of the structure S is lacking and the high temperature part is enlarged due to a change in the shape of the structure S, identifies the position and shape of this enlarged high temperature part as the abnormally high temperature part, and resets the shape of the structure S based on this identification result [0117]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kishida discloses the communication unit uses at least one of a cellular module and a LAN module (The first remote display unit 12 includes a modem in addition to a construction similar to the display unit 6, and receives information outputted from the control unit 4 via the network system 11 such as Internet by means of the modem [0163]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kishida discloses an optical fiber sensing system comprising (as discussed above) and the external analysis unit (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose an optical fiber sensing system comprising: the portable device; and the external analysis unit.
Nevertheless, Hu discloses the portable device (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include the portable device to store, transmit, and receive data while communicating and computing without being fixed to a location.
Regarding Claim 10, Kishida discloses an analysis method comprising, by a device: executing optical fiber sensing using an optical fiber (In view of the background technology, an object of the present invention is to provide a structure monitor system which can estimate a physical quantity such as a distortion and a temperature at a position distant from a position where an optical fiber sensor is laid, and monitor a physical quantity at every position of a structure with high precision [0010]; Fig. 1); executing primary analysis processing on sensing data acquired by the optical fiber sensing; and transmitting (This structure monitor system 1 is provided with a measuring unit (measuring means) 3 including an optical fiber sensor 2, a control unit (control means) 4 electrically connected with the measuring unit 3 via a communication means 6a, a display unit (display means) 6 electrically connected with the control unit 4 via a communication means 6b, and a monitoring unit 10 electrically connected with the control unit 4 [0033];), to an analysis unit configured to execute means for executing analysis processing based on a result of the primary analysis processing outside the portable device, (The distortion at the specified point of the disk body is analyzed in the numerical analyzer 5 based on the measurement data such as the measured distortion outputted from the measuring instrument 7 to the inputting device 8 [0053]), data including a result of the primary analysis processing (The distortion at the specified point of the disk body is analyzed in the numerical analyzer 5 based on the measurement data such as the measured distortion outputted from the measuring instrument 7 to the inputting device 8 [0053]).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose an analysis method comprising, by a portable device: executing optical fiber sensing using an optical fiber cable; executing primary analysis processing on sensing data acquired by the optical fiber sensing; and transmitting, to external analysis unit configured to execute means for executing secondary analysis processing based on a result of the primary analysis processing outside the portable device, data including a result of the primary analysis processing.
Nevertheless, Hu discloses an analysis method comprising, by a portable device: executing optical fiber sensing using an optical fiber cable (This invention relates to a portable fiber optic sensing and detection device, belonging to the field of fiber optic sensing and detection devices [0002]; The fiber optic spectrometer 15 transmits the measurement data to the computer via a USB data cable [0024]); transmitting, to external analysis unit configured to execute analysis processing based on a result of the primary analysis processing outside the portable device, data including a result of the primary analysis processing (The fiber optic spectrometer 15 transmits the measurement data to the computer via a USB data cable, and finally the computer displays it [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include an analysis method comprising, by a portable device: executing optical fiber sensing using an optical fiber cable to interact with the substance or condition being measured and identify changes in the environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include transmitting, to external analysis unit configured to execute secondary analysis processing based on a result of the primary analysis processing outside the portable device, data including a result of the primary analysis processing to send data or signals for processing and improve data analysis.
Regarding Claim 11, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Kishida discloses the communication unit communicates with the analysis unit and communicates with control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit (as discussed above), and the external control unit controls an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by communicating with the communication unit (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device, and the external control unit controls an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by communicating with the communication unit.
Nevertheless, Hu discloses the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device to enable to the device to send and receive data/commands and perform data processing.
Regarding Claim 12, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 3.
Kishida discloses the communication unit communicates with the analysis unit and communicates with control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit (as discussed above), and the external control unit controls an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by communicating with the communication unit (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device, and the external control unit controls an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit, by communicating with the communication unit.
Nevertheless, Hu discloses the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida, in view of Hu to include the communication unit communicates with the external analysis unit and communicates with external control unit configured to control for controlling an operation of the sensing unit and the analysis unit outside the portable device to enable to the device to send and receive data/commands and perform data processing.
Regarding Claim 13, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Kishida discloses the primary analysis processing includes at least one of processing of determining a position coordinate associated with the sensing data and processing of detecting occurrence of an abnormality around the optical fiber cable (On the other hand, similar to the second embodiment, the numerical analyzer 5 can recognize the presence of an abnormally high temperature part in the disk body S and specify the position and shape of the abnormally high temperature part by a method similar to the one of the second embodiment when a difference between temperatures measured at different times at the same measurement points exceeds a specified range. Specifically, when a high temperature part is enlarged, the numerical analyzer 5 recognizes that a part of the inner wall of the structure S is lacking and the high temperature part is enlarged due to a change in the shape of the structure S, identifies the position and shape of this enlarged high temperature part as the abnormally high temperature part, and resets the shape of the structure S based on this identification result [0117]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 3.
Kishida discloses the primary analysis processing includes at least one of processing of determining a position coordinate associated with the sensing data and processing of detecting occurrence of an abnormality around the optical fiber cable (On the other hand, similar to the second embodiment, the numerical analyzer 5 can recognize the presence of an abnormally high temperature part in the disk body S and specify the position and shape of the abnormally high temperature part by a method similar to the one of the second embodiment when a difference between temperatures measured at different times at the same measurement points exceeds a specified range. Specifically, when a high temperature part is enlarged, the numerical analyzer 5 recognizes that a part of the inner wall of the structure S is lacking and the high temperature part is enlarged due to a change in the shape of the structure S, identifies the position and shape of this enlarged high temperature part as the abnormally high temperature part, and resets the shape of the structure S based on this identification result [0117]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 4.
Kishida discloses the primary analysis processing includes at least one of processing of determining a position coordinate associated with the sensing data and processing of detecting occurrence of an abnormality around the optical fiber cable (On the other hand, similar to the second embodiment, the numerical analyzer 5 can recognize the presence of an abnormally high temperature part in the disk body S and specify the position and shape of the abnormally high temperature part by a method similar to the one of the second embodiment when a difference between temperatures measured at different times at the same measurement points exceeds a specified range. Specifically, when a high temperature part is enlarged, the numerical analyzer 5 recognizes that a part of the inner wall of the structure S is lacking and the high temperature part is enlarged due to a change in the shape of the structure S, identifies the position and shape of this enlarged high temperature part as the abnormally high temperature part, and resets the shape of the structure S based on this identification result [0117]).
Claims 6 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishida and Hu, and further in view of Lee et al. (US20070013908) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’.
Regarding Claim 6, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kishida discloses the analysis unit includes engine for use in the secondary analysis processing (as discussed above), and the analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine.
Nevertheless, Lee discloses the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine (In one embodiment, a neural network system is provided in the portable sensor of the invention to enable real-time assistance in providing additional data (i.e., classification of phosphorus compound detected) [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida and Hu, in view of Lee to include the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine to leverage the power of algorithms to process data and identify complex trends or anomalies while using historical data to forecast future outcomes or behaviors.
Regarding Claim 16, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Kishida discloses the analysis unit includes engine for use in the analysis processing (as discussed above), and the analysis unit executes the analysis processing (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine.
Nevertheless, Lee discloses the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine(In one embodiment, a neural network system is provided in the portable sensor of the invention to enable real-time assistance in providing additional data (i.e., classification of phosphorus compound detected) [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida and Hu, in view of Lee to include the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine to leverage the power of algorithms to process data and identify complex trends or anomalies while using historical data to forecast future outcomes or behaviors.
Regarding Claim 17, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 3.
Kishida discloses the analysis unit includes engine for use in the analysis processing (as discussed above), and the analysis unit executes the analysis processing (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine.
Nevertheless, Lee discloses the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine (In one embodiment, a neural network system is provided in the portable sensor of the invention to enable real-time assistance in providing additional data (i.e., classification of phosphorus compound detected) [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida and Hu, in view of Lee to include the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine to leverage the power of algorithms to process data and identify complex trends or anomalies while using historical data to forecast future outcomes or behaviors.
Regarding Claim 18, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 4.
Kishida discloses the analysis unit includes engine for use in the analysis processing (as discussed above), and the analysis unit executes the analysis processing (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine.
Nevertheless, Lee discloses the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine (In one embodiment, a neural network system is provided in the portable sensor of the invention to enable real-time assistance in providing additional data (i.e., classification of phosphorus compound detected) [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida and Hu, in view of Lee to include the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine to leverage the power of algorithms to process data and identify complex trends or anomalies while using historical data to forecast future outcomes or behaviors.
Regarding Claim 19, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 5.
Kishida discloses the analysis unit includes engine for use in the analysis processing (as discussed above), and the analysis unit executes the analysis processing (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine.
Nevertheless, Lee discloses the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine(In one embodiment, a neural network system is provided in the portable sensor of the invention to enable real-time assistance in providing additional data (i.e., classification of phosphorus compound detected) [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida and Hu, in view of Lee to include the external analysis unit includes an Al engine for use in the secondary analysis processing, and the external analysis unit executes the secondary analysis processing by using the Al engine to leverage the power of algorithms to process data and identify complex trends or anomalies while using historical data to forecast future outcomes or behaviors.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishida and Hu, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN105569898) hereinafter referred to as ‘Liu’.
Regarding Claim 7, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Kishida discloses the analysis unit (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose uses an on-vehicle computer or a rack mount server.
Nevertheless, Liu discloses uses an on-vehicle computer or a rack mount server (This invention represents a significant advancement in optimizing automotive exhaust sensors by leveraging onboard computers and signal processing capabilities [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida and Hu, in view of Liu to use an on-vehicle computer or a rack mount server to optimize automative exhaust by leveraging onboard computers and signal processing capabilities (Liu, [0022]).
Regarding Claim 20, Kishida and Hu disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 2.
Kishida discloses the analysis unit (as discussed above).
However, Kishida does not explicitly disclose uses an on-vehicle computer or a rack mount server.
Nevertheless, Liu discloses uses an on-vehicle computer or a rack mount server (This invention represents a significant advancement in optimizing automotive exhaust sensors by leveraging onboard computers and signal processing capabilities [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kishida and Hu, in view of Liu to use an on-vehicle computer or a rack mount server to optimize automative exhaust by leveraging onboard computers and signal processing capabilities (Liu, [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
J.D. Schnell (US20170074751) discloses a system for detecting a location of optical energy leakage from optical fibers, including portable imaging device for generating a visible image of one or more optical fibers within a field of view of portable imaging device.
Lucia Botas Bilro (US20150116709) discloses a low-cost, portable multi-parameter, turbidity sensor based on optical fiber.
Ichiro Fujieda (US6815654) discloses an image sensor device which optically reads out a document having a plurality of light receiving elements arranged regularly facing a document to be read out.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863