DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 8/10/2023, 10/31/2024, and 3/31/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: The preamble includes “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program causing a network apparatus of a core network to perform a process, the process comprising”; to obviate issues regarding a potential software-per-se interpretation, the examiner recommends clarifying language to be similar to - a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program instructing a processor to cause a network apparatus of a core network to perform a process, the process comprising. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: session management functional unit [transmitting/receiving] in claims 1 and 8-9, and policy management functional unit [notifies] in claims 1-3 and 5-6, which are considered processor/memory/software as described in para. 51 and Fig. 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for Gi-local area network (Gi-LAN), does not reasonably provide enablement for a general local area network (LAN). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Para. 14 of the specification indicates “The LAN may be referred to as a Gi-LAN” which appears to imply “LAN” may be other than a Gi-LAN. While a local area network (LAN) is generally considered a computer network that interconnects computers within a limited area such as a residence, school, laboratory, university campus or office building (see Wikipedia entry for “Local area network”), the description is clearly directed to Gi-local area network (Gi-LAN) which is generally considered a network infrastructure connected over Gi reference point/interface that provides different value-added IP-based services to user data as it flows through the network, where the value-added services may include: NAT (Network Address Translation), anti-malware, parental control, DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) protection, firewall, policy and charging enforcement, traffic detection (Policy and Charging Enforcement Function / Traffic Detection Function (PCEF/TDF), content delivery network (CDN) caches, video transparent caching and optimization, TCP optimization (e.g., to prepare the traffic for the Radio Access Network), shaping traffic with Deep Packet Inspection (DPI), HTTP header enrichment to support partner services, providing analytics information, differentiated charging, and acronyms include “(S)Gi-LAN, Gi-LAN, GiLAN, vGiLAN (virtualized GiLAN), SGiLAN, Gi LAN or SGi LAN” (see “The Edge of the Cloud - 5G Technology Blog”, Jonen Testit). Further, Figs. 2, 4-5, and 7 clearly depict a Gi-LAN, and corresponding descriptions are clearly directed to Gi-LAN. The examiner respectfully recommends amendments to the claims to include Gi-LAN rather than a general LAN.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: line 10 includes the limitation "the policy management functional unit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, lines 7-11 include idiomatic issues where the limitation currently indicates “notifying, when a control signal transmitted from a session management functional unit receiving a connection instruction of the terminal is received via a transmission control protocol (TCP)-based interface or a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP)-based interface, the policy management functional unit notifies a local area network (LAN)” and thus, what element is performing the “notifying” and what element is being “notified” is unclear. Examination continued on the assumption the claim limitation is analogous with limitations of claims 8-9.
Regarding claims 2-7: the claims, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartmell (US 2016/0006883 A1) hereinafter Cartmell in view of Yousaf et al. (US 2019/0081894 A1) hereinafter Yousaf.
Regarding claim 1, Cartmell teaches a network apparatus of a core network (policy charging and rules function (PCRF); para. 64 and Fig. 5, PCRF in core network 412; para. 77 and Fig. 4), the network apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions (memory including software; para. 110), and at least one processor configured to execute, according to the instructions, a process (software executed by processor; para. 110) comprising: managing a policy for a terminal (PCRF sends rules regarding service data/content of Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU)/end user device [terminal]; para. 72-74), notifying, when a control signal transmitted from a session management functional unit receiving a connection instruction of the terminal is received via a transmission control protocol (TCP)-based interface or a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP)-based interface, the policy management functional unit notifies (converged gateway (CGW) controls session; para. 93, CGW detects request to connect, CGW sends authentication and authorization (AA) request about request to connect to PCRF; para. [03, 94], CGW sends notification to PCRF; para. 64, CGW supports transmission control protocol (TCP)-based interface or a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP)-based interface; para. 108, terminal uses Uniform Resource Locator (URL) in web browser to request data/content that reaches CGW [at least suggesting received via TCP-based interface based on use of URL in web browser]; para. [71, 79], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference, PCRF transmits AA answer [notify] 314/512 to CGW; para. [72, 80] and Figs. [3, 5]).
While Cartmell discloses local entities and TCP/SCTP protocol, Cartmell does not explicitly disclose a local area network (LAN) located between the core network and the Internet of the policy via the TCP-based interface or the SCTP-based interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yousaf teaches a local area network (LAN) located between the core network and the Internet (service function chaining (SFC) domain within SGi local area network (SGi-LAN) between evolved packet core (EPC) [core network] and external network [Internet]; para. [04, 09, 56-57] and Figs. 1-2) of the policy (SFC domain receives information in packet header to determine service level agreement (SLA) by classification function (CF) [policy]; para. [05, 60, 66] and Fig. 3) via the TCP-based interface or the SCTP-based interface (use of TCP protocol header for service chain (SC); para. 09, SC determined by CF; para. [05, 60]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yousaf to the system of Cartmell, where Cartmell’s offloading traffic (para. [03, 78]) along with Yousaf’s control policy to relieve congestion (para. [78, 84-86]) improves system efficiency by reducing congestion by offloading traffic.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cartmell and Yousaf teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Cartmell further teaches wherein the core network is an evolved packet core (EPC) (applicable to evolved packet core (EPC) network core network; para. [65, 95]), and the policy management functional unit notifies the LAN of the policy via an SCTP-based Diameter interface (transport layer protocol being SCTP; para. [100, 108], application layer protocol being Diameter protocol; para. [66, 99, 107]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cartmell and Yousaf teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
Cartmell further teaches wherein the policy management functional unit is a policy and charging rules function (PCRF) (PCRF; para. 64 and Fig. 5, PCRF in core network 412; para. 77 and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cartmell and Yousaf teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Cartmell further teaches wherein the control signal is a credit control message (credit control message indicating detach/termination/re-authorization [connection instruction]; para. [05, 81, 88, 108]).
Regarding claim 8, Cartmell teaches a method to be performed by a network apparatus of a core network (policy charging and rules function (PCRF); para. 64 and Fig. 5, PCRF in core network 412; para. 77 and Fig. 4), the method comprising: managing a policy for a terminal (PCRF sends rules regarding service data/content of Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU)/end user device [terminal]; para. 72-74), and notifying, when a control signal transmitted from a session management functional unit receiving a connection instruction of the terminal is received via a transmission control protocol (TCP)-based interface or a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP)-based interface (converged gateway (CGW) controls session; para. 93, CGW detects request to connect, CGW sends authentication and authorization (AA) request about request to connect to PCRF; para. [03, 94], CGW sends notification to PCRF; para. 64, CGW supports transmission control protocol (TCP)-based interface or a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP)-based interface; para. 108, terminal uses Uniform Resource Locator (URL) in web browser to request data/content that reaches CGW [at least suggesting received via TCP-based interface based on use of URL in web browser]; para. [71, 79], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference, PCRF transmits AA answer [notify] 314/512 to CGW; para. [72, 80] and Figs. [3, 5]).
While Cartmell discloses local entities and TCP/SCTP protocol, Cartmell does not explicitly disclose a local area network (LAN) located between the core network and the Internet of the policy via the TCP-based interface or the SCTP-based interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yousaf teaches a local area network (LAN) located between the core network and the Internet (service function chaining (SFC) domain within SGi local area network (SGi-LAN) between evolved packet core (EPC) [core network] and external network [Internet]; para. [04, 09, 56-57] and Figs. 1-2) of the policy (SFC domain receives information in packet header to determine service level agreement (SLA) by classification function (CF) [policy]; para. [05, 60, 66] and Fig. 3) via the TCP-based interface or the SCTP-based interface (use of TCP protocol header for service chain (SC); para. 09, SC determined by CF; para. [05, 60]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yousaf to the system of Cartmell, where Cartmell’s offloading traffic (para. [03, 78]) along with Yousaf’s control policy to relieve congestion (para. [78, 84-86]) improves system efficiency by reducing congestion by offloading traffic.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8, including a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program (memory including software; para. 110: Cartmell) causing a network apparatus of a core network to perform a process (software executed by processor; para. 110: Cartmell).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartmell in view of Yousaf, and further in view of Shan et al. (US 2019/0174449 A1) hereafter Shan.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cartmell and Yousaf teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While Cartmell discloses notification via TCP, Cartmell does not explicitly disclose wherein the core network is a 5G core network, the policy management functional unit notifies the LAN of the policy via a TCP-based service-based interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yousaf further teaches the policy management functional unit notifies the LAN of the policy via a TCP-based service-based interface (use of TCP protocol header for service chain (SC); para. 09, SC determined by CF; para. [05, 60]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yousaf to the modified system of Cartmell and Yousaf, where Cartmell and Yousaf’s modified system along with Yousaf’s control policy to relieve congestion (para. [78, 84-86]) improves system efficiency by reducing congestion by offloading traffic.
The combination of Cartmell and Yousaf does not explicitly disclose wherein the core network is a 5G core network.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shan teaches wherein the core network is a 5G core network (access to 5G core network; para. 67 and Table 1, core network (CN) 320 including Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 321; para. 99 and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Shan to the modified system of Cartmell and Yousaf, where Cartmell and Yousaf’s modified system along with Shan’s registration with network (para. [03, 23]) improves user satisfaction by enabling services such as V2X and services with low latency.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cartmell and Yousaf teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
The combination of Cartmell and Yousaf does not explicitly disclose wherein the policy management functional unit is a policy control function (PCF).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shan teaches wherein the policy management functional unit is a policy control function (PCF) (core network including policy control function (PCF) 326 providing policy rules; para. [44, 79] and Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Shan to the modified system of Cartmell and Yousaf, where Cartmell and Yousaf’s modified system along with Shan’s registration with network (para. [03, 23]) improves user satisfaction by enabling services such as V2X and services with low latency.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartmell in view of Yousaf, and further in view of Batta et al. (US 10,033,589 B1) hereinafter Batta.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cartmell and Yousaf teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
The combination of Cartmell and Yousaf does not explicitly disclose wherein the control signal is a policy control request message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Batta teaches wherein the control signal is a policy control request message (policy control request received from subscriber when registering [connection instruction]; Col. 8 lines 5-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Batta to the modified system of Cartmell and Yousaf, where Cartmell and Yousaf’s modified system along with Batta’s managing service connection to ensure efficient utilization of core network resources(Col. 2 lines ) improves user satisfaction by enabling various differentiating value-added services.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patel et al. (US 10,623,980 B1) discloses transmission control protocol (TCP) based control of a wireless user device.
Starsinic et al. (US 2018/0227221 A1) discloses MTC service selection in the (S)Gi-LAN.
Chen et al. (US 2018/0367323 A1) discloses a charging method and apparatus.
Testit, (The Edge of the Cloud - 5G Technology Blog) discloses understanding 5G and LTE - SGi-LAN.
Wikipedia, (entry for Local area network) discloses general description/technologies of local area network.
Wikipedia, (entry for Hypertext Transfer Protocol) discloses relation with HTTP, URLs, TCP, browsers.
Zhang et al., (L4-L7 Service Function Chaining Solution Architecture) discloses architecture of L4-L7 service function chaining.
Dunbar et al. (Architecture for Chaining Legacy Layer 4-7 Service Functions) discloses analysis of the issues associated with chaining existing Layer 4-7 service functions that are not aware of service encapsulation layers.
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474