Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 16, phrase “the endoscope-internal movement sensor comprises an inertial measurement unit as the endoscope” is ambiguous as to what is meant by “as the endoscope”. Perhaps “in the endoscope” was intended?
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“display device” in claim 1;
“data-providing unit” in claim 1;
“control unit” in claim 1;
“registration unit” in claim 1;
“tracking system “ in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it encompasses a “transitory” form of the storage medium which is not patent eligible subject matter. Amending claim 13 to recite “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium…” will obviate this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sauer et al. (US 2006/0281971, hereinafter “Sauer”).
As to claim 1, Sauer discloses a surgical assistance system for use in a surgical intervention on a patient, the surgical assistance system comprising:
a display device (e.g. display 301, Fig.3) for displaying a visual content;
an endoscope (endoscope 108, Fig.1) comprising an imaging recording head (image forming distal end, [0004]) adapted to create an intracorporeal image of the patient (“images from the endoscope…can be stored”, [0017]);
a data-providing unit (part of computer 103, Fig.1) adapted to provide digital 3D image data of the patient that is digital (three dimensional preoperative CT/MRI images, [0008], digitally stored on computer 103, [0017]);
a control unit (part of computer 103, Fig.1) adapted to process the intracorporeal image and the 3D image data (both endoscope image and preoperative image processed to be combined and displayed, [0018]);
a registration unit (part of computer 103, Fig.1) adapted to detect, in the intracorporeal image, at least one an anatomical landmark and/or an anatomical orientation and to determine a corresponding anatomical landmark and/or a corresponding anatomical orientation in the 3D image data, and to register the intracorporeal image with the 3D image data, at least initially, and to register the endoscope relative to the patient (computer 103 registers the endoscope image with the preoperative images, [0022], using image recognition techniques involving comparing and matching coordinates of anatomical landmarks in both images, [0023]); and
a tracking system (optical or sensor tracking arrangements, [0020]-[0021]) adapted to continuously detect a position, an orientation and a movement of the endoscope, and to provide the control unit with endoscope movement data (computer collects the position and orientation data of the endoscope, [0022]);
the control unit (part of computer 103) being further adapted to generate a correlation display with at least a display of the intracorporeal image and at least a display of a view of the 3D image data (computer generates a display as shown in Fig.3, with a display of the live endoscope view 311 and a display of the preoperative image 303), in which the intracorporeal image and the view of the 3D image data are correlated with respect to the endoscope by transferring the endoscope movement data to at least one virtual position and/or orientation of a virtual recording head in the view of the 3D image data for a correlated movement (positional information and movement of the endoscope and instruments are represented by the positions and movement of graphical representations 304,307 with respect to preoperative image, Fig.3, [0016],[0018]), and the control unit is adapted to visually output the correlation display on the display device (as illustrated in Fig.3).
As to claim 2, wherein the tracking system is configured as an endoscope-internal tracking system and the endoscope has an endoscope-internal movement sensor (embedded magnetic sensor coils, [0021]) for detecting the movement of the endoscope.
As to claim 6, wherein the registration unit performs a re-registration beyond an initial registration at at least one further point in time in order to further increase an accuracy of a correlation (updates the registration, [0023])
As to claim 8, wherein the control unit is adapted to display in the correlation display in the display of the view of the 3D image data and/or of the intracorporeal image, in addition to the endoscope, pre-planned medical instruments and/or implants stored in the storage unit in a correct position in the correlation display (computer configured to display a stored (preplanned) graphical representation of the surgical instrument 307, Fig.3, in its tracked (correct) relative position with respect to the endoscope and preoperative image, [0016]-[0018], Fig.3).
As to claim 9, wherein the control unit is adapted to display a planned path and/or annotations in the correlation display in order to guide a surgeon to a surgical field (computer is configured to display a optical axis 309 and view angle cone 310, which either can constitute a planned path and/or annotations, for guiding either of the endoscope 304 or surgical instrument 307 to the surgical field (within cone 310), Fig.3, [0018]).
As to claim 10, wherein the control unit is adapted to generate the view of the 3D image data, as: a 3D scene (three dimensional model, [0016]); or two-dimensional cross-sections relative to a picture-coordinate system of the endoscope and/or along an image axis of the endoscope (display of a 3D image data on a 2D display screen, Fig.3, is essentially a 2D cross-section); or a virtual endoscope image (virtual global view, [0018]).
As to claim 11, Sauer discloses an image display method for a central, correlated display of two different images, the image display method comprising the steps of:
reading in 3D image data of a patient (three dimensional preoperative CT/MRI image, [0008]);
creating or detecting an intracorporeal image through an endoscope (images from endoscope are collected, [0017]);
detecting at least one landmark and/or anatomical orientation in the intracorporeal image (computer registers the endoscope image with the preoperative image using image recognition techniques, [0022], involving detecting coordinates of anatomical landmarks from the intracorporeal image, [0023]);
determining at least one corresponding landmark and/or at least one corresponding orientation in the 3D image data (relevant anatomical structures may be identified in the preoperative image, [0023];
registering the 3D image data to the intracorporeal image via the at least one detected corresponding landmark and/or the at least one corresponding orientation (registration by matching the landmark coordinates in both images, [0022],[0023]);
generating a correlation display with at least one display of the intracorporeal image and at least one display of a view of the 3D image data (computer generates a display as shown in Fig.3, with a display of the live endoscope view 311 and a display of the preoperative image 303);
continuously detecting a position and/or an orientation and/or a movement of the endoscope (computer collects the position and orientation data of the endoscope, [0022]);
transferring a detected movement of the endoscope to at least one virtual position and/or at least one virtual orientation of a virtual recording head in the view of the 3D image data (positional information and movement of the endoscope and instruments are represented by the positions and movement of graphical representations 304,307 with respect to preoperative image, Fig.3, [0016],[0018]); and
generating at least one updated correlation display with the intracorporeal image and an updated view of the 3D image data and outputting the at least one updated correlation display to the display device (images and views are updated in real time, [0028]).
As to claim 12, Sauer further discloses the steps of: determining a deformation of a real anatomical structure based on at least one landmark and the at least one corresponding landmark, and transferring the deformation to a virtual anatomical structure in the 3D image data in order to adjust and correct the 3D image data (if an anatomical structure is removed (deformation), the virtual model image (preoperative) can be updated to reflect this deformation, [0024]).
As to claim 13, Sauer discloses a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the method steps of claim 11 (see description of claim 11 above; all steps are performed by programming on a computer, [0017],[0018]).
As to claim 14, Sauer discloses a medical sterile space (operating room, Fig.1, [0006],[0017],[0028]) comprising a surgical the surgical assistance system according to claim 1 (the surgical assistance system 100, as set forth with respect to claim 1 above, is used in the operating room, Fig.1).
As to claim 15, wherein a handling portion and/or the imaging recording head of the endoscope comprises the endoscope-internal movement sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer et al. (US 2006/0281971, hereinafter “Sauer”) in view of Plewe et al. (US 2021/0196312, hereinafter “Plewe”).
As to claim 3, Sauer, as set forth with respect to claim 1 above, discloses, as the tracking system, a marker based optical tracking system or a magnetic based tracking system, and thus fails disclose an image based optical tracking system, wherein the control unit is adapted to determine the movement of the endoscope via an image analysis of moving anatomical structures in the intracorporeal image. However, Plewe teaches, in a similar surgical assistance system, that image-based techniques, wherein endoscope movement is determined with image analysis of moving anatomical structure (e.g. optical flow, motion detection, etc.) can be used in addition to or as an alternative to optical or magnetic tracking ([0165]-[0167],[0170]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used image-based techniques (e.g. optical flow, motion detection, etc.) as an equivalent alternative means for tracking the position/orientation/movement of the endoscope instead of optical or magnetic tracking, as taught by Plewe.
As to claims 4 and 16, Sauer discloses, as set forth above with respect to claim 2, that
the tracking system comprises an endoscope-internal movement sensor provided in the endoscope and adapted to determine the movement of the endoscope as a second movement determination (embedded magnetic sensor coils, [0021] as part of the magnetic tracking system), and thus fails to disclose: 1) that the endoscope-internal movement sensor comprises an acceleration sensor and/or a rotation rate sensor (i.e. inertial measurement unit); 2) that, as an additional tracking system, the control unit is adapted to determine the movement of the endoscope via an image analysis of moving anatomical structures in the intracorporeal image as a first movement determination; and 3) that the control unit is adapted to calculate a final movement determination based on an adjusted mean value or a weighted value calculated from first movement determination and the second movement determination. However, Plewe teaches, in a similar surgical assistance system, that 1) an acceleration sensor or gyroscope (rotation rate sensor) (both of which constitute an inertial measurement unit) can be used to determine position/orientation/movement of the endoscope ([0169]) as an alternative to a magnetic tracking system ([0167]); 2) image-based techniques, wherein endoscope movement is determined with image analysis of moving anatomical structure (e.g. feature tracking, optical flow, motion detection, etc.) can be used in addition to or as an alternative to optical or magnetic tracking ([0165]-[0167],[0170]); and 3) the control unit can use a combination of input data (i.e. first movement determination from the image-based tracking and second determination data from the magnetic/acceleration sensors), wherein a final movement determination is based on an adjusted mean or weighted combination of tracking data ([0170]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted an acceleration sensor or gyroscope for the magnetic tracking sensor of Sauer since they are known in the art to be equivalent alternative means for determining endoscope position/orientation/movement, as taught by Plewe. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used more than one tracking system (e.g. additionally used an image-based tracking system) and determined a final movement using the combined tracking data in a weighted fashion to provide a more reliable determined result (Plewe: [0170]).
As to claim 7, Sauer, as set forth with respect to claim 1 above, disclose manual manipulation of the endoscope/instruments by the surgeon and thus fails to disclose that the endoscope is robot-guided via a robot arm and the tracking system determines the position and/or the orientation and/or the movement of the endoscope via an associated position and/or orientation and/or movement of the robot arm and thus via the robot. However, Plewe teaches in the art of surgical assistance devices, to use a robotic system including a robot-guided arm to advance and navigate the endoscope into the patient ([0045]-[0046]). Plewe further teaches that when a robotic arm is used, as the tracking system, robotic command and/or kinematics data can be used to determine the position/orientation/movement of the endoscope ([0168]). Given the teachings of Plewe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a robotic system including a robot arm for guiding the endoscope to a target site for more controlled and precise navigation of the endoscope over manual navigation. Furthermore, when using a robotic system for guidance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use, as the tracking system, robotic command and/or kinematic data from the robot arm to determine the position/orientation/movement of the endoscope as an alternative equivalent means for tracking the endoscope (note that Plewe teaches such robotic tracking as an alternative to using a magnetic tracking system, [0167]-[0168]).
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer et al. (US 2006/0281971, hereinafter “Sauer”) in view of Garbey et al. (US 2014/0171787, hereinafter “Garbey”).
As to claims 5 and 17, Sauer discloses, as set forth above with respect to claim 1, that the control unit (computer 103) displays the at least one medical instrument in the view of the 3D image data in the correct position (Fig.3, displays instrument 307 correctly positioned with respect to the preoperative image based on tracking system data, [0018]), so that the at least one medical instrument is displayed in the intracorporeal image and in the view of the 3D image data (Fig.3, 307 shown in both views). However, Sauer uses either an optical or magnetic tracking system ([0020],[0021]) to determine the position of the instrument and thus fails to disclose that the control unit is adapted to recognize at least one medical instrument in the intracorporeal image in a correct position based on a database stored in the storage unit with geometrically predefined structures of medical instruments. Garbey teaches, in the surgical assistance system art, that a surgical instrument can be tracked by recognizing the position and orientation of an instrument in an image based on stored geometrical features associated with the instrument ([0054]-[0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tracked the instrument using the image, based on predefined stored instrument features, as taught by Garbey, as an equivalent alternative to the tracking system of Sauer. One would be motivated to use the image tracking in Sauer to eliminate the need for additional structures (physical sensors, sensor equipment) when an image of the instrument, which is already being obtained, could be used to track it.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See prior art cited on the PTO-892. Particularly relevant is US 2010/0034449 to Averbuch et al., which shows a hybrid sensor-based and image-based registration for endoscope navigation, and US 2008/0207997 to Higgins et al., which shows continuously updated navigational guidance using image based registration.
/JOHN P LEUBECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795