GASKET MEMBER FOR SOLID POLYMER FUEL CELL, ELECTRODE-ELECTROLYTE MEMBRANE LAMINATE WITH GASKET MEMBER, AND SOLID POLYMER FUEL CELL
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/276,804 Art Unit: 1727 May 12, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on August 10, 2023 has been received. The Response to Restriction filed on April 22, 2026 has been received. Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on April 22, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the groups lack unity of invention because the shared technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art as described in the requirement for restriction.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Accordingly, claims 7-14 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-6 recite an intended use for a gasket member. The courts have held that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minegishi (US 2017/0012292 A1; as found in IDS dated 08/10/2023).
As to Claims 1-2 and 5-6, Minegishi discloses a gasket member 54C, comprising: a laminate of a polyimide base layer 57C having a thickness of up to 100 microns; and an adhesive layer 56C,58C having a thickness of up to 30 microns and provided on opposite sides of the base layer (Fig. 9 and paragraphs [0087-0088, 0133, 0154-0155]). Minegishi does not specifically disclose the claimed retention of elongation at break. However, it is the position of the Office that the gasket of Minegishi intrinsically comprise the claimed retention of elongation at break given that the structure and materials of Minegishi and the claimed invention are the same, see MPEP 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minegishi (US 2017/0012292 A1; as found in IDS dated 08/10/2023) in view of Kinoshita et al. (US 2005/0085576 A1).
As to Claim 3, Minegishi does not specifically disclose a nonwoven fabric substrate.
However, Kinoshita teaches of a nonwoven fabric substrate that can be coated to form a gasket (paragraphs [0064 and 0069]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the substrate of Minegishi to comprise a nonwoven fabric because Kinoshita teaches that nonwoven fabric is a suitable base for forming a gasket (paragraphs [0064-0069]). In addition, the courts have held that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, see KSR, MPEP 2143, I, D.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minegishi (US 2017/0012292 A1; as found in IDS dated 08/10/2023) in view of Aoyama et al. (US 2012/0167976 A1).
As to Claim 4, Minegishi does not specifically disclose the claimed anchor layer.
However, Aoyama teaches of using an anchor layer designed to increase contact between two layers (paragraph [0131]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gasket of Minegishi to comprise an anchor layer between the layers of Minegishi because Aoyama teaches that increased contact between the two layers can be achieved (paragraph [0131]). In addition, the courts have held that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, see KSR, MPEP 2143, I, D.
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727