DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carli (2020/0109572).
Regarding claim 1, Carli teaches a screed system (100) comprising: a screed plate (20); and a plurality of pressure sensors (56) coupled to the screed plate and configured to sense a pressure of the screed plate (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Carli teaches the plurality of pressure sensors (56) is configured to determine one or more of a pressure at a center of the screed plate, at a first side of the screed plate (56), and at a second side of the screed plate (56), the second side opposite the first side (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quenzi et al. (7,909,533).
Regarding claim 1, Quenzi teaches a screed system (10) comprising: a screed plate (20); and a pressure sensor coupled to the screed plate and configured to sense a pressure of the screed plate (Column 5, Lines 27-40). Quenzi fails to teach a plurality of pressure sensors. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to comprise a plurality of pressure sensors in the screed system of Quenzi, as it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. See also, MPEP § 2144.05 which states: In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a plurality of pressure sensors, in order to effectively sense pressure at disparate locations across the entire length of the screed plate.
Regarding claim 2, Quenzi teaches a pressure sensor configured to determine the pressure on the screed plate. Although Quenzi fails to explicitly teach the location of the pressure sensor, it would inherently be determining the pressure at least one or more of the center, first side or second side.
Regarding claim 3, Quenzi teaches at least one actuator (325) configured to change an angle of attack the screed plate in response to a sensed pressure (Column 5, Lines27-40) of the screed plate, wherein the angle of attack is an angle between the screed plate and a surface to be paved (Column 19, lines 57-60; Column 21, Lines 25-35). The pressure sensor senses the downward pressure and the actuator adjusts the downward pressure, therefore the actuator can be adjusted in response to the value recorded by the sensor.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quenzi et al. (7,909,533) in view of Wagner et al. (2014/0212217).
Regarding claim 4, Quenzi teaches the invention as described above and further teaches the screed system includes a first screed unit including the screed plate (20) but fails to teach a second screed unit including a second screed plate, and wherein at least a height of the first screed unit is adjustable relative to a height of the second screed unit. Wagner teaches a screed system (1; Fig. 1, 4; paragraph [0028]), comprising: a first screed unit (9; para [0034]) including a first screed plate (27; para [0034]); a second screed unit (14; para [0033]) Including a second screed plate (28; para [0034]), and wherein at least a height of the first screed unit is adjustable relative to a height of the second screed unit (via 16, 17; para [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second screed plate as taught by Wagner in the screed system of Quenzi as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and further in order to effectively smooth an uneven area of material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-23 are allowed.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest employing a plurality of sensors to generate data relating to a pressure distribution across the width of the screed plate and generate a repositioning control signal based on the determined pressure distribution, much less provide a controller configured to perform such functions. These limitations in combination with the remaining limitations in the independent claim read over the prior art.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach nor fairly suggest determining a pressure distribution across the screed plate based on the sensed pressure information; determining, based on the determined pressure distribution across the screed plate, an angle of attack of the screed plate; dynamically adjusting the angle of attack of the screed plate based on the determined pressure distribution. These limitations in combination with the remaining limitations in the independent claim read over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the attached PTO-892. Graham teaches a paver with a screed having an adjustable angle of attack.
/ABIGAIL A RISIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 February 5, 2026