DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/12/2025. Claims 1-8 are currently pending examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a dry-cleaning module configured to clean at least a part of the operating surface by means of dry cleaning disclosed as element 151 and equivalents thereof;
a driving unit for driving the cleaning head to reciprocate along a target surface disclosed as element 420 and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun KR 2012-0088314.
Re claim 1, Sun discloses an automatic cleaning apparatus [figs. 1-4], comprising:
a moving platform 30 configured to move automatically on an operating surface; and
a cleaning module [100, 200, 80] disposed on the moving platform, and comprising:
a dry-cleaning module 80 configured to clean at least a part of the operating surface by means of dry cleaning; and
a wet cleaning module [100, 200] configured to clean at least a part of the operating surface by means of wet cleaning, wherein the wet cleaning module comprises:
a cleaning head 100 for cleaning the operating surface, and
a driving unit 200 for driving the cleaning head to reciprocate along a target surface, the target surface being a part of the operating surface, wherein a width of a lateral cleaning area of the cleaning head 120 is smaller than a width of a lateral cleaning area of the dry-cleaning module 80 [figs. 4].
Re claim 2, Sun further discloses wherein the driving unit 200 comprises:
a driving platform 250 connected to a bottom surface of the moving platform 30 for providing a driving force; and a supporting platform 140 detachably connected to the driving platform for supporting the cleaning head 120.
Re claim 3, wherein the supporting platform comprises: a cleaning substrate 300, which is freely movable on the supporting platform, and the cleaning substrate [capable of] driving the cleaning head 140 to substantially reciprocate within the width of the lateral cleaning area of the cleaning head.
Re claim 4, wherein the cleaning substrate comprises at least two first limiting positions [limiting longitudinal edges of mop mounting plate 100], and the at least two first limiting positions are respectively arranged on both sides of a traveling direction of the cleaning substrate 300.
Re claim 6, wherein the cleaning substrate comprises at least two second limiting positions [edges of mop mounting plate 100], and the at least two second limiting positions are arranged on both sides of the cleaning substrate in a direction perpendicular to the traveling direction, and the at least two second limiting positions enable the cleaning head to substantially reciprocate within the width of the lateral cleaning area of the cleaning head.
Re claim 7, wherein a distance between the at least two second limiting positions is smaller than the width of the lateral cleaning area of the cleaning head [fig. 4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun KR 2012-0088314 in view of Neidenback US 757,831.
Re claim 5, Sun discloses the invention as discussed above but fail to disclose wherein the first limiting positions are flexibly connected to the cleaning substrate.
Neidenbach teaches flexible limiting position 11 [fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flexible connected limiting position of Neidenbach with the cleaner of Sun, in order to yield the predictable result of limiting the movement of the mop in an elastic manner (col. 2, ll. 56-57).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun KR 2012-0088314 in view of DE 202016101311 U1 (DE1311).
Re claim 8, Sun discloses the invention as discussed above but fail to disclose wherein the at least two second limiting positions are provided with buffer pads on one side facing the cleaning substrate.
DE1311 teaches buffer pads 58 to allow limited horizontal movement [“vibrating screen 50 by means of a number of rubber strips 58 at the frame 15 suspended. The rubber strips 58 allow a limited horizontal movement of the vibrating screen”]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the buffer pads of DE1311 with the cleaner of Sun, in order to yield the predicable result of allowing limited horizontal movement of a reciprocating mop.
Correspondence
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723