DETAILED ACTION
Priority
3. This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/005457 02/10/2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application JAPAN 2021-021543 02/15/2021 filed on 08/10/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), filed on 08/10/23, 09/22/23, and 11/01/24 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 of copending Application No. 18/580687. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claimed inventions are directed to a composition comprising olefin based polymer and poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate) based polymer, wherein copending claim additionally discloses polymer B-2 and the entire composition is a resin composition. Regarding instant claims 1-2, the copending claim 1 discloses a composition comprising an olefin based polymer A, and poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate) based polymer (read on polymer B), wherein content of the olefin-based polymer is 70 to 95 parts by mass, a content of the poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate) based polymer is 1 to 15 parts by mass, fall into instant claim 1 range of a content of the polymer A is 51 to 99.9 parts by mass and a content of the polymer B is 0.1 to 49 parts by mass or claim 2 range of a content of the polymer A is 60.1 to 99.9 parts by mass and a content of the polymer B is 0.1 to 39.9 parts by mass, wherein the melting point of poly(3-hydroxyalkanoate) based polymer is 150 to 220 °C.
Regarding instant claims 3-4, the copending claim 3 discloses a polypropylene homopolymer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pachekosk (W. M. Pachekosk et al, Thermal, Mechanical and Morphological Properties of Poly (Hydroxybutyrate) and Polypropylene Blends After Processing, Materials Research, Vol. 12, No. 2, 159-164, 2009) as evidenced from Alves (M. I. Alves et al, Poly(3-hydroxybutyrate)-P(3HB): Review of Production Process Technology, Industrial Biotechnology, Vol. 13, No. 4, 192-208, 2017).
Regarding claims 1, 3, Pachekosk discloses a composition comprising a blend of polyhydroxybutyrate (PHB) and polypropylene (PP) in the amount of PHB/PP= 90/10, wherein the melting point of polyhydroxybutyrate (PHB) is 172 °C (table 3), fall into claim range of a content of the polymer A is 51 to 99.9 parts by mass and a content of the polymer B is 0.1 to 49 parts by mass with respect to a total of 100 parts by mass of the polymer A and the polymer B, wherein the polymer B is a poly (3-hydroxyalkanoate)-based polymer having a melting point of 150 °C or higher, and wherein polymer A is olefin-based, wherein PHB was produced by PHB Industrial S/A and sold under the brand name Biocycle® (page 160, para 2.1). As evidenced from Alves, Poly(3-hydroxybutyrate) (P(3HB)) was produced in Brazil by the PHB SA company under the name BIOCYCLE®. Hence, the PHB (Biocycle®) of Pachekosk is actually Poly(3-hydroxybutyrate) read on claimed poly (3-hydroxyalkanoate).
Regarding claim 2, 4, Pachekosk discloses a composition comprising a blend of polyhydroxybutyrate (PHB) and polypropylene (PP) in the amount of PHB/PP= 90/10 (table 3), fall into claim range of a content of the polymer A is 60.1 to 99.9 parts by mass and a content of the polymer B is 0.1 to 39.9 parts by mass with respect to a total of 100 parts by mass of the polymer A and the polymer B, wherein the polymer B is a poly (3-hydroxyalkanoate)-based polymer, and wherein polymer A is olefin-based.
Conclusion
References Inoac Corp (JP 2008239858) and Kaneka Corp (JP 200677063) were cumulative in nature to the above rejection and thus not set forth.
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766