DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3 and 5-8 in the reply filed on May 8, 2026, is acknowledged with appreciation. Claims 4 and 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[(a)(1) as being anticipated by Busnaina et al. (US-2009/0087622).
1. (Oinal) A particle-immobilized substrate comprising a substrate and a plurality of
Claim 1: Busnaina teaches particle-immobilized substrate comprising a substrate and a plurality of inorganic nanoparticles disposed on the substrate, the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles being disposed in contact with each other in a region, which is defined in Busnaina as “nanowell” or “nanotrench” (Busnaina, para. 0013, 0032 and 0044). The nanoparticles include inorganic nanoparticles, e.g. carbon nanoparticles (para. 0034); the nanowell or nanotrench has a width of at least 20 nm and up to 500 nm or 1000 nm (Busnaina, para. 0040); in particular, the nanotrench has a width of 50 nm to 350 nm (Page 6, Example III) which meets the claimed range of 1 µm or less on the substrate.
Claim 2: Busnaina does not report the zeta potential difference between the substrate and the nanoparticles; however, Busnaina teaches a substrate being oxidized silicon substrate and nanoparticles being carbon nanoparticles (See Pagaes 5-6, Examples I-III), and it is known in the art of dispersion stability is that the difference in Zeta potential between the substrate (Si) and the carbon nanoparticles should be at least 30mV for colloidal stability. Therefore, as the carbon nanoparticles are dispersed stability in the silicon substrate (Busnaina, Page 6, Example III), it is necessarily inherent that the zeta potential difference between the substrate and the dispersed nanoparticles is at least 30 mV.
Claim 3. Busnaina teaches a plurality of the regions (i.e. nanotrenches) having a width of 1 µm or less is regularly arranged on the substrate, and the inorganic nanoparticles are disposed in each of the plurality of the regions having a width of 1 µm or less. See Figure 12 C (paragraph 0044) and Page 6, Example III.
Claim 5: See claims 1 and 2 above.
Claims 6-7: Busnaina teaches forming the substrate and aligning the nanoparticles in the nanotrenches in the substrate by DC electrophoresis (Busnaina, para. 0018 and 0031). Electrophoresis works by applying an electric field to a sample containing charged molecules, causing them to migrate through a medium, toward the electrode with the opposite charge. Therefore, it is necessarily inherent that one region (i.e. nanotrench) is negatively charged, the other region (nanotrench) is positively charged.
Claim 8. Busnaina teaches a plurality of the regions (i.e. nanotrenches) having a width of 1 µm or less is regularly arranged on the substrate, and the inorganic nanoparticles are disposed in each of the plurality of the regions having a width of 1 µm or less. See Figure 12 C (paragraph 0044) and Page 6, Example III.
HOA (Holly) LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788