DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gyun (KR 101423832 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Gyun discloses
An induction heating device (induction heating apparatus 200, fig.2) comprising:
a working coil (induction coil 230, fig.2) disposed at a position corresponding to a heating area, where an object (intended use) to be heated is placed, and configured to form a load together with the object (intended use) to be heated;
a resonant capacitor (resonance capacitor, Par.0034) configured to form a resonant circuit (resonance capacitor) together with the working coil (induction coil 230);
an inverter circuit (inverter 320, fig.3) configured to include a plurality of switching elements (switching elements, Par.0030) [Par.0030 cited: “…one or more switching elements included in the inverter 320…”] and supply a current to the working coil (induction coil 230);
a first voltage sensor (detection unit 4101, fig.4) configured to measure a voltage value applied to the resonant capacitor (resonance capacitor, Par.0034) [Par.0037 cited: “…detecting unit 410 detects a first voltage value applied to both ends of the resonant capacitor…”];
a second voltage sensor (detection unit 410, fig.5) configured to measure a supply voltage value (power supply unit 210, fig.4) supplied to the resonant circuit (resonance capacitor, Par.0034) through the inverter circuit (inverter 320) [Par.0041 cited: “…calculation unit 420 calculates the first voltage value detected by the detection unit 410 and the first power value applied to the induction coil 230 from the power supply unit 210…”]; and
a controller (controller 250, fig.2) configured to, during an operation of the working coil (induction coil 230), calculate at least one of a resistance value of the load and an inductance of the load based on the voltage value of the resonant capacitor (resonance capacitor, Par.0034) and the supply voltage value (power supply unit 210) [Par.0067 cited: “…controller 250 controls the power supplied to the induction coil 230 according to the determination result of the determination unit 240…”].
Regarding claim 7, Gyun discloses
A method of controlling an induction heating device (induction heating apparatus 200, fig.2) including a working coil (induction coil 230, fig.2) disposed at a position corresponding to a heating area, where an object (intended use) to be heated is placed, and configured to form a load together with the object (intended use) to be heated, a resonant capacitor (resonance capacitor, Par.0034) configured to form a resonant circuit (resonance capacitor) together with the working coil (induction coil 230), an inverter circuit (inverter 320, fig.3) configured to include a plurality of switching elements (switching elements, Par.0030) [Par.0030 cited: “…one or more switching elements included in the inverter 320…”] and supply a current to the working coil (induction coil 230), a first voltage sensor (detection unit 4102, fig.4) configured to measure a voltage value applied to the resonant capacitor (resonance capacitor, Par.0034) [Par.0037 cited: “…detecting unit 410 detects a first voltage value applied to both ends of the resonant capacitor…”], a second voltage sensor (detection unit 410, fig.4) configured to measure a supply voltage value supplied to the resonant circuit (resonance capacitor, Par.0034) through the inverter circuit (inverter 320) [Par.0041 cited: “…calculation unit 420 calculates the first voltage value detected by the detection unit 410 and the first power value applied to the induction coil 230 from the power supply unit 210…”], and a controller (controller 250, fig.2), and the method comprising:
determining, by the controller (controller 250), whether the working coil (induction coil 230) is operating; measuring, by the first voltage sensor (detection unit 410), the voltage value of the resonant capacitor (resonance capacitor, Par.0034);
measuring, by the second voltage sensor (detection unit 410, fig.5), the supply voltage value (power supply unit 210, fig.4); and
calculating, by the controller (controller 250), at least one of a resistance value of the load and an inductance of the load based on the voltage value of the resonant capacitor (resonance capacitor, Par.0034) and the supply voltage value (power supply unit 210) [Par.0067 cited: “…controller 250 controls the power supplied to the induction coil 230 according to the determination result of the determination unit 240…”].
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment with respect to Tittle, filed on 09/17/2026, that overcame the Specification Objections.
Response to Argument
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1 and 7, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as the following reasons:
The applicants argue: “…First, Gyun does not calculate the claimed resistance value or inductance of the load, as recited in claim 1… Second, the "power value" disclosed in Gyun does not correspond to the claimed "supply voltage value."… Third, Gyun does not disclose the claimed second voltage sensor…”, Remark Pages 8-11.
The examiner’s response: the applicant’s arguments above are not persuasive because: The task of 102 rejections is “a claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference”. Verdagaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628,631,2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987). Claims 1 and 7 are anticipated each and every element as set forth in the claim is found by Guyn reference.
First, Guyn reference discloses “calculate the resistance value of the load”, see the Par.0047 cited: “…the value of the resistance component (R_Load) representing the body to be heated (280) on the equivalent circuit of the induction heating device (200) is expressed as 0. Therefore, the value of the resistance component (R) of the induction heating device (200) under no-load conditions becomes smaller than the value of the resistance component when the body to be heated (280) is present in the induction heating device (200) …”.
Second, Guyn reference discloses “supply voltage value”. See Par.0037 cited: “…detection unit (410) detects a first voltage value applied to both ends of the resonant capacitor under conditions where the body to be heated (280) is not present in the induction heating device (200) (hereinafter referred to as the 'no-load condition'), and records the detected first voltage value in the data storage unit (440) …”, and Par.0041 cited: “…calculation unit (420) calculates a first reactance value of the induction heating device (200) using a first voltage value detected by the detection unit (410) …”. Also see fig.1 of Guyn below.
Third, Guyn reference discloses “a first voltage sensor” and “a second voltage sensor”. Par.0041 cited: “…calculation unit (420) calculates a first reactance value of the induction heating device (200) using a first voltage value detected by the detection unit (410) …”. The detection unit 410 is designed to read voltage differences at two different points. As shown in fig.1 above, in order to read the voltage across “C” element 140, it must be required to have multiple detectors.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 2-6 and 8-12, have been fully considered but they are persuasive, such that the rejection claims 2-6 and 8-12 are withdrawn. Therefore, the allowable subject matter is made by following.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not anticipate or render fairly obvious in combination to teach the limitations such as …calculate a root mean square (RMS) value of a first harmonic of the current flowing in the resonant circuit based on the voltage value of the resonant capacitor; calculate a phase of the first harmonic of the current flowing in the resonant circuit based on the voltage value of the resonant capacitor and the supply voltage value; and calculate at least one of the resistance value of the load and the inductance of the load based on the RMS value of the first harmonic of the current flowing in the resonant circuit and the phase of the first harmonic of the current flowing in the resonant circuit...
Regarding claim 8, the prior art does not anticipate or render fairly obvious in combination to teach the limitations such as… the calculating, by the controller, of at least one of a resistance value of the load and an inductance of the load based on the voltage value of the resonant capacitor and the supply voltage value includes: calculating, by the controller, a root mean square (RMS) value of a first harmonic of the current flowing in the resonant circuit based on the voltage value of the resonant capacitor; calculating, by the controller, a phase of the first harmonic of the current flowing in the resonant circuit based on the voltage value of the resonant capacitor and the supply voltage value; and calculating, by the controller, at least one of the resistance value of the load and the inductance of the load based on the RMS value of the first harmonic of the current flowing in the resonant circuit and the phase of the first harmonic of the current flowing in the resonant circuit …
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 20050087526 A1) is a relevant prior art in field of an induction heating cooker, as shown in fig.2, comprising an induction heater, an inverter circuit, and a container material discriminating unit, but does not specifically disclose a resonant capacitor and a first voltage sensor…
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
10/04/2026
1 Detection unit 410 inherently has multiple sensors to detect/measure voltage value(s) at multiple locations.
2 Detection unit 410 inherently has multiple sensors to detect/measure voltage value(s) at multiple locations.