Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a first surface on which an inflow opening to the inner channel and an outflow opening from the inner channel are formed, and claim 2 recites that the first electrode group is provided on the back surface of the first surface. Applicant discloses that the first surface is os1 in Fig. 3 and the back surface is os2 (second surface) in Fig. 3. Figure 3 depicts the sensor package 10.
For purposes of examination the first electrode group will be interpreted as being provided on the bottom surface of the sensor package and not on the flat top surface ts shown in Fig. 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0383761 to Kimura et al. (cited by applicant)
Kimura et al. discloses a gas sensor module 10 that includes one or more sensor elements 40 that detect a component (gas) in a fluid. [0048], [0054]
The gas sensor module 10 includes an internal flow channel (detection space S1) in which the one of more sensors 40 are provided and through which the fluid is caused to flow. [0053]
The gas sensor module 10 includes a container (package 30) having a first face (cover 33) formed with a fluid inlet (opening 33a) leading into the internal flow channel S1 and a fluid outlet (opening 33a) leading from the internal flow channel S1. [0053]
An electrode group (terminals 34) that is electrically connected to the one of more sensor (40) is provided on a different face of the container (30) than the first face. [0052] Fig. 1.
I.) As noted above, Kimura et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1.
Therefore, Kimura et al. anticipates claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are allowed.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a sensor module having a package placement surface on which a supply port and a discharge port are configured to enable a fluid to flow to a sensor package as recited in claim 1, and sealing bodies that are provided at the supply port and the discharge port and are configured to seal a connecting portion between the supply port and the inflow opening and a connecting portion between the discharge port and the outflow opening, and a fixing portion that is configured to detachably fix the sensor package by pressing the sensor package against the package placement surface as recited in claim 6. Claims 7-9 depend from claim 6.
Claims 2-5, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest a sensor package as recited in claim 1, wherein the electrode group contains a first electrode group and a second electrode group both of which are configured to output detection of the plurality of sensors with the first electrode group being provided on a back surface of the first surface and the second electrode group being provided on a surface between the first surface and the back surface, as recited in claim 2. Claims 3-5, 10 and 11 depend from claim 2.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL STANLEY GZYBOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 1798