DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/14/2025. Claims 1-7 are pending examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a dry-cleaning module configured to clean at least a part of the operation surface by means of dry cleaning disclosed as element 151 and equivalents thereof.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11612295. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent includes all limitations of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 2022/0079406 A1 in view of Kim KR 20050012047 A OR Xiong CN 111588317 A.
Re claim 1, Zhang teaches an automatic cleaning apparatus 1, comprising:
a mobile platform 40 [fig. 4], configured to move automatically on an operation surface; and
a cleaning module 50, disposed on the mobile platform and comprising:
a wet cleaning module 14 [fig. 2], configured to clean at least a part of the operation surface by means of wet cleaning; and
a lifting and lowering structure 20, connected to the wet cleaning module 14 and configured to enable the wet cleaning module 14 to move vertically relative to the mobile platform 11, wherein the wet cleaning module comprises:
a cleaning head [mop] for cleaning the operation surface, and a driving unit 15 for driving the cleaning head to reciprocate [upward and downward] along a target surface, the target surface being a part of the operation surface [the operating surface could be any surface that the cleaning apparatus is driving through].
Zhang does not teach a dry-cleaning module, configured to clean at least a part of the operation surface by means of dry cleaning.However, Kim teaches a dry-cleaning module 120, configured to clean at least a part of the operation surface by means of dry cleaning in conjunction with a wet-cleaning module 200 [fig. 4]. Xiong teaches a dry-cleaning module 140, configured to clean at least a part of the operation surface by means of dry cleaning in conjunction with a wet-cleaning module 150 [fig. 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the dry-cleaning module of Kim OR Xiong with the cleaning apparatus of Zhang in order to yield the predictable result of dry cleaning and wet cleaning at the same time.
Re claim 2, Zhang further teaches wherein the lifting and lowering structure 20 [fig. 46] is a parallelogram structure and comprises: a first connection end [power supply 44], for providing active power to switch the dry cleaning module or the wet cleaning module between a lifted state and a lowered state; and a second connection end [ end of transmission shaft 47], disposed opposite to the first connection end, wherein the second connection end is configured to rotate under the action of the active power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not show or fairly render obvious the combination set forth in the claims. In particular, the prior art does not show wherein the first connection end comprises: a first bracket fixedly connected to a-the bottom of the mobile platform, wherein the first bracket comprises: a cross beam; a sliding slot, extending along a surface of the cross beam; and a snapping hole, passing through the cross beam and disposed at an extending end of the sliding slot in combination with the other claim limitations.
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723