DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-15, 19, and 23-24 were previously pending.
A non-final rejection office action was mailed 21 May 2026.
In response to that 21 May 2026 office action, Applicant filed an amendment/request for reconsideration received 20 August 2026, whereby claims 1, 3-15, 19, and 24 were amended, claims 2 and 23 were cancelled, and no claims were added.
Therefore, claims 1, 3-15, 19, and 24 are now pending. Claim 19 remains withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to the 17 September 2025 restriction/election requirement.
Withdrawn Claim Objections/Rejections
Claims 1-15 and 23-24 were objected to. Applicant has cancelled claims 2 and 23, making the previously held objections of claims 2 and 23 moot and hereby withdrawn. Additionally, Applicant’s claim amendments were sufficient to overcome the objections of claims 12-13 and 24. Therefore, the objections of claims 12-13 and 24 are hereby withdrawn. However, the objections of claims 1, 3-11, and 14-15 are maintained as discussed below.
Claims 1-15 and 23-24 were previously rejected under 35 USC 112(a) for lacking enablement. Upon reconsideration, examiner has determined that this rejection is not needed and is withdrawn.
Maintained Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-11, and 14-15 are objected to for the following reasons:
Claim 1 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., seal coated (seal-coated) and functional coated (functional-coated).
Claim 3 remains objected to. Claim 3 recites a list of active pharmaceutical ingredients, with each element separated by a comma. However, claim 3 then recites “antipsychotic, hypnotic and sedating agents…” Applicant should either rewrite claim 3 list using semicolons to separate the elements (e.g., anti-Parkinson agents; antipsychotic, hypnotic, and sedating agents; anti-stroke agents, etc.) or consistently define the element within the comma separation (e.g., antipsychotic agents, hypnotic agents, sedating agents, etc.).
Claim 4 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., no punctuation preceding the conjunction at the end of the list.
Claim 5 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., improper capitalization.
Claim 6 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., extra comma before the period, missing a conjunction at the end of the list.
Claim 7 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., extra comma before the period.
Claim 8 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., extra comma before the period, missing a conjunction at the end of the list.
Claim 9 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., no punctuation preceding the conjunction at the end of the list.
Claim 10 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., no punctuation preceding the conjunction at the end of the list.
Claim 11 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., extra comma before the period.
Claim 14 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., extra comma before the period.
Claim 15 still contains grammatical defects, e.g., no punctuation preceding the conjunction at the end of the list.
Maintained Claim Rejections
The following claim rejections are modified only to reflect Applicant’s claim amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3-15, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 still contains several improper dependencies. For instance, part (c) of claim 1 recites “functional coating over seal coated pellets.” Yet, claim 1 has not previously established “seal coated pellets.” If part (b) is meant to establish “seal coated pellets,” Applicant should amend the claim to explicitly recite seal coated pellets. Part (d) also contains this defect.
Claim 1 further recites that the functional coating comprises “one or more solvents including the first solvent.” It is unclear whether the phrase “including the first solvent” requires the functional coating to contain the previously recited first solvent, or merely identifies the previously recited first solvent as one possible solvent among the recited one or more solvents. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claimed composition cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claims 3-15 and 24 are included in this rejection for their dependency on, requiring every limitation of, and failing to cure, the defects of claim 1.
Claim 6 was previously rejected under 35 USC 112(b). Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 has required the following newly formulated rejection:
Claim 6 recites, “[t]he composition as claimed in claim 1, wherein the diluent is selected from…” However, amended claim 1 now recites a diluent in parts (a) and (e). It is unclear which diluent of claim 1 is being limited by claim 6. Under BRI, this claim will be read as limiting either diluent of claim 1. Claim 12 is included in this rejection for the same reason.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “wherein tablet” in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite a tablet. Further, even if “a tablet” (emphasis added) was recited in claim 1, Applicant has failed to establish antecedent basis by referring to the tablet (emphasis added) simply as ‘tablet’ as discussed in the prior office action.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant argues the amended claims resolve the 112(b) issues defined by the office action and claim 1 “consistently introduces and refers to the core spheres, first seal-coated core spheres, functional-coated pellets, final coated pellets, and extragranular portion” (Remarks, p. 8). Applicant’s assertion is not consistent with the presently submitted claim language. Applicant’s claim 1 is drawn to a composition attempting to establish a multi-unit pellet system consisting of separately defined layers. Claim 1, part (a) establishes the core spheres containing an API, diluent, and binder. Claim 1, part (b) then establishes a seal coating over the core spheres without any further detail. Claim 1, part (c) now attempts to recite a seal coated pellet when that has not been established. Claim 1 does not expressly recite the language with which Applicant argues cures the claim defects under 35 USC 112(b).
Further, Applicant argues the indefiniteness issues directed to the rejected claims are now moot because those claims have been suitably amended or cancelled (Remarks, p. 8). While this is true in part regarding some of the amended claims, the above discussed defects remain present in these claims.
Upon reconsideration, the indefiniteness rejection of claims 4 and 5 is withdrawn. However, examiner recommends that applicant take a careful look at the compounds recited to make sure that they are in the right list. For example, Atenolol is known in the art as a relatively polar, hydrophilic compound with good water solubility and is freely soluble in strong acids. The pharmaceutical art would define this as highly soluble, not low soluble as Applicant has claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13-15, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshpande (WO 2020/044314 A1; published 05 March 2020).
Deshpande teaches modified release dosage forms of vitamin D compounds (abstract).
Regarding claim 1 –
Claim 1 recites:
“A composition of extended release multiple unit pellet system comprising…”
Deshpande teaches extended-release multi-particulate dosage forms ([0033]).
Claim 1 further recites:
“(a) core spheres containing active pharmaceutical ingredient and optionally excipients…”
Deshpande teaches API-containing seeds/pellets in a layered formulation, including a starter seed having a layer of API ([0087]).
Claim 1 further recites:
“(b) seal coating over the core containing coating polymer and one or more solvents…”
Deshpande teaches a seal-coating over the API-containing pellet/seed, such as low-viscosity Hypromellose) to smooth the seed surface after API layering/coating and to achieve uniform coatings at subsequent stages ([0087]).
Claim 1 further recites:
“(c) functional coating over seal coated pellets containing release controlling polymers and other excipients…”
Deshpande teaches that over the seal coating is an extended-release polymer coating containing a water-insoluble polymer with a pore former ([0087]).
Claim 1 further recites:
“(d) second seal coating over the functional coated pellets containing coating polymer and one or more solvents…”
Deshpande teaches that over the functional coating is an optional seal coating containing a polymer and solvent ([0087]).
Claim 1 further recites:
“(e) extra-granular portion containing tabletting (sic) excipients at least one or more selected from categories of diluent, disintegrant, binder, glidant, and lubricant.”
Deshpande teaches that the dried pellets can be optionally coated with a lubricant ([0099]).
Regarding claim 3, Deshpande teaches the API used in the invention, vitamin D, is administered to treat a vitamin-D responsive condition or disease ([0107]). These vitamin-D responsive conditions or diseases include type I diabetes, inflammatory bowel disease, and cardiovascular diseases ([0108]). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 3, vitamin D/vitamin D analogs can be treated as anti-diabetic agents, anti-hypertensive agents, or anti-inflammatory agents because Deshpande teaches vitamin D/vitamin D analogs have anti-diabetic, anti-hypertensive, and anti-inflammatory properties.
Regarding claim 6, Deshpande teaches diluent excipients may be utilized ([0099]) and such diluent excipients include: celluloses such as microcrystalline cellulose and starch ([0069]).
Regarding claim 7, Deshpande teaches the formulation can include one or more binders selected from a list that includes: hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, starch, gelatin, and sodium alginate ([0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Deshpande teaches the formulation can include coating materials such as water-soluble polymers like Hypromellose (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose) or polyvinylpyrrolidone ([0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Deshpande teaches the formulation can include an extended-release polymer such as ethyl cellulose and Eudragit® (p. 62, claim 17).
Regarding claim 10, Deshpande teaches excipients for seed and coating materials can be selected from those generally known in the art, which include: plasticizers ([0090]). Deshpande further teaches the plasticizers are selected from: polyethylene glycol, triethyl citrate, and dibutyl sebacate ([0090]).
Regarding claims 11, 13, and 14, Deshpande teaches the formulation includes talc and refers to talc as a lubricant. Deshpande further teaches the addition of talc in the final stages of pellet formulation ([0099]). The claimed lists of claims 11, 13, and 14 contain overlapping compounds. It is unclear how talc added as an anti-adherent or anti-tacking agent (claim 11) differs in structure from the talc added as a glidant (claim 13) or from the talc added as a lubricant (claim 14). Applicant’s specification fails to indicate which structure of talc is necessary to achieve and differentiate between the claimed properties of anti-adherent/anti-tacking, lubricant, or glidant. Therefore, since Deshpande adds talc to the formulation during the same claimed extra-granular portion, it is assumed the talc disclosed by Deshpande meets the limitations of the instantly claimed talc in claims 11, 13, and 14.
Regarding claim 15, Deshpande teaches the suitable solvents of the invention include: acetone, methanol, or water (p. 21 and 22 – Table 4).
Claim 24 requires the addition of film coating. Deshpande teaches Opadry® coating as a final coating product ([0090]), thus meeting this limitation.
Deshpande therefore teaches embodiments of extended-release multiple unit pellet systems. The difference between the applied reference and the claimed invention is that the applied reference may not teach the instantly claimed method with particularity so as to amount to anticipation. See MPEP “[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim.” Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Deshpande discloses various embodiments of an extended-release dosage form, excipients solvents, coating polymers, release controlling polymers, diluents, binders, glidants, and lubricants requiring the skilled artisan to choose from those embodiments to arrive at the currently claimed invention.
With that said, the applied reference discloses the elements of the claimed composition with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success for the skilled artisan, that the invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date. Deshpande discloses the claim limitations of instant claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-15, and 24 with a reasonable expectation of success – it would have been obvious to pick and choose from the disclosed components, together forming embodiments of extended-release dosage forms, because Deshpande discloses successful creation of compositions from those disclosed components. Therefore, Deshpande makes obvious that which is currently claimed in instant claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13-15, and 24.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshpande as applied to claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13-15, and 24 above, and further in view of Tiwari (cited in previous office action).
While Deshpande discloses extended-release dosage formulations containing the composition of claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13-15, and 24 as discussed above, Deshpande does not expressly teach APIs as recited in instant claims 4 and 12. However, this feature is made obvious over Tiwari.
Tiwari teaches extended-release pellets, comprising an inert core, drug layer, and an extended-release polymer layer, compressed into tablets (abstract).
While Deshpande teaches vitamin D forms, such as calcifediol, as the API within the pellet composition, Tiwari comparatively teaches metoprolol as an API suitable for use in multiple unit pellet system (MUPS) comprising extended-release polymer-coated pellets and tablet excipients (p. 1, lines 9-15).
Tiwari discloses metoprolol is a selective beta-blocker used in the treatment of cardiovascular disorders such as hypertension, i.e., an anti-hypertensive agent (p. 1, lines 15-16).
Regarding claim 4, Tiwari discloses the metoprolol or its salts, such as succinate, may be used in the invention (p. 7, lines 7-9). As previously mentioned, it is unclear what is meant by the ‘high soluble high dose’ limitation in claim 4. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of this claim, since metoprolol succinate is a claimed API, it is assumed it meets the ambiguous ‘high soluble high dose’ limitation.
Regarding claim 12, Deshpande teaches the formulation can include additional functional additives such as release modifiers ([0064]). Such release modifiers include disintegrants ([0066]). However, Deshpande does not disclose specific disintegrants. Tiwari cures this deficiency by providing specific disintegrants suitable for use in an extended-release MUPS which include croscarmellose sodium (p. 11, lines 19-21). Thus, Tiwari provides evidence of specific disintegrants known in the art as capable for use in the genus of disintegrants disclosed by Deshpande.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use metoprolol succinate, a known highly soluble API, in the extended-release multi-particulate dosage form system disclosed by Deshpande. One would be motivated to do so because Tiwari teaches metoprolol succinate was a known candidate for extended-release particulate formulations and teaches conventional coating and extra-granular tableting approaches for that API. Since both Deshpande and Tiwari disclose similar MUPS architecture for API, one of ordinary skill could predict success in substituting the vitamin D API in Deshpande with metoprolol succinate disclosed by Tiwari. This is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Therefore, claims 4 and 12 are made obvious over Deshpande in further view of Tiwari.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshpande as applied to claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13-15, and 24 above, and further in view of Bhavarisetti (WO 2009/087690 A2; published 16 July 2009).
While Deshpande discloses extended-release dosage formulations containing the composition of claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13-15, and 24 as discussed above, Deshpande does not expressly teach APIs as recited in instant claim 5. However, this feature is made obvious over Bhavarisetti.
Bhavarisetti teaches extended-release tablets having a core comprising carbamazepine and extended-release polymers (abstract).
While Deshpande teaches vitamin D forms, such as calcifediol, as the API within the pellet composition, Bhavarisetti comparatively teaches carbamazepine as an API suitable for use in multiple unit pellet system (MUPS) comprising extended-release polymer-coated pellets (p. 1, lines 4-8; p. 2, lines 16-21).
Regarding claim 5, Bhavarisetti discloses the Carbamazepine is contained within the core (p. 9, lines 11-15). As previously mentioned, it is unclear what is meant by the ‘low soluble high dose’ limitation in claim 5. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of this claim, since Carbamazepine is a claimed API, it is assumed it meets the ambiguous ‘low soluble high dose’ limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Carbamazepine, a known poorly soluble API, in the extended-release multi-particulate dosage form system disclosed by Deshpande. One would be motivated to do so because Bhavarisetti teaches Carbamazepine was a known candidate for extended-release particulate formulations and teaches conventional coating and extra-granular tableting approaches for that API. Since both Deshpande and Bhavarisetti disclose similar MUPS architecture for API, one of ordinary skill could predict success in substituting the vitamin D API in Deshpande with Carbamazepine disclosed by Bhavarisetti. This is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Therefore, claim 5 is obvious over Deshpande in further view of Bhavarisetti.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments - Deshpande
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s argument that Deshpande fails to disclose compression of the recited coated pellets and extragranular portion into a tablet is not persuasive because amended claim 1 does not require such compression. Although Applicant characterizes claim 1 as requiring compression into a tablet, no such limitation appears in claim 1. Limitations appearing only in Applicant’s arguments or the specification cannot be read into the claim when determining patentability.
Applicant further argues that amended claim 1 requires a specified four-component extragranular matrix with which Deshpande does not disclose. The Examiner disagrees. Claim 1, part (e) reads on the extragranular portion requiring selection from diluent, disintegrant, binder, glidant, or lubricant. The claim does not require each recited excipient category. Applicant’s argument therefore relies upon a narrower construction than is supported by the actual claim language.
Applicant further argues the rejection improperly selects unrelated alternatives from Deshpande. The Examiner disagrees. The rejection does not rely upon isolated disclosures having no technical relationship. Deshpande is directed to multiparticulate, modified-release dosage forms and expressly teaches API-containing multiparticulates, polymeric coating layers for controlling release, seal/coating layers associated with the multiparticulates, and excipients suitable for formation of the multiparticulates into a final dosage form. The relied upon features therefore concern alternative and complementary elements of the same modified release multiparticulate dosage form technology.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to employ the disclosed seal and functional coatings together because the respective coatings perform their art-recognized functions of separating/protecting the drug-containing substrate and controlling release of the API, while conventional extragranular tableting excipients facilitate processing of the coated multiparticulates into a dosage form. The proposed combination does not depend upon Applicant’s disclosure for its rationale and amounts to the predictable use of known formulation components for their known functions.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments – Tiwari/Bhavarisetti
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s arguments concerning the features allegedly absent from Tiwari/Bhavarisetti are not persuasive because the rejection does not rely solely upon Tiwari/Bhavarisetti for disclosure of the complete composition of claim 1. Deshpande is relied upon for the multiparticulate coating architecture, while Tiwari/Bhavarisetti is relied upon for the additional limitation specifically identified in the rejection. Nonobviousness cannot be established by attacking the secondary reference individually where the rejection is based upon the combined teachings of the references.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments – Stability Evidence
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive for the following reasons:
The submitted date have been considered, but are insufficient to establish nonobviousness of the presently claimed subject matter. Evidence of unexpected results must be reasonably commensurate in scope with the claims and must establish a nexus between the asserted results and the claimed invention.
The nitrosamine date concern particular formulations identified as Examples 2 and 5 and particular dual seal coating conditions. Claim 1, however, broadly encompasses API, coating polymers, release-controlling polymers, solvents, and coating conditions beyond those evaluated in the cited examples. Claim 1 further does not require any particular nitrosamine level or reduction. Applicant has not established that the reported reduction would reasonably be expected across the scope of claim 1 or that every composition encompassed by the claim would exhibit the asserted advantage.
Likewise, the stability data concern particular metformin hydrochloride and metoprolol succinate formulations and do not demonstrate an unexpected improvement relative to the closest prior art formulation across the scope of the pending claims. Accordingly, the data does not outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
New Claim Objections/Rejections
Applicant’s claim amendments have facilitated the following new claim objections and rejections:
New Claim Objections
Claim 3 is further objected to for the following reasons:
Applicant has amended claim 1 to now recite “a pharmaceutical active ingredient.” However, claim 3, which depends from claim 1, recites “the active pharmaceutical ingredient.” If claim 1 recites “a pharmaceutical active ingredient,” the remaining claims which depend from, and specifically require this limitation, should recite “the pharmaceutical active ingredient.”
New Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 10 and 11 both depend from claim 2, which has been canceled. Accordingly, claims 10 and 11 are incomplete because they depend upon a canceled claim and fail to properly incorporate the limitations of an existing base claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-11, and 14-15 are objected to. Claims 1, 3-15, and 24 are rejected. Claim 19 remains withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to the 17 September 2025 restriction/election requirement.
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/JULIA A. ROSSI/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615