DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 6/12/26, the following has occurred: Claims 1 and 5 have been amended; and Claims 3-4 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2 and 5-15 are pending. Claims 1-2 and 5-14 are examined in this office action. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 6/12/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0006726 A1 (“US’726”) in view of US 2018/0062225 A1 (“US’225”) and KR 20190129555 A (“KR'555”).
As to Claim 1:
US'726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200), comprising: a battery cell assembly (cell assembly 100) including a plurality of battery cells (secondary batteries 110); and a housing sheet (integrated unit sheet 122) accommodating the battery cell assembly, wherein the integrated unit sheet 122 is folded to surround a top portion, a left surface, a right surface, and a bottom portion of the secondary batteries 110 (US'726, [0015]-[0018], [0048]-[0050], [0060], [0068]-[0070]).
However, US'726 does not disclose that the battery cell assembly comprises a plurality of cooling fin units in the housing sheet, wherein each of the plurality of cooling fin units accommodates two adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells, and wherein each of the plurality of cooling fin units comprises a first cooling fin to support any one of the two adjacent battery cells, a second cooling fin spaced apart from the first cooling fin that supports the other one of the two adjacent battery cells, and a thermal interface material connecting the second cooling fin to the first cooling fin and provided below the two adjacent battery cells.
US'225 discloses that a battery cell assembly comprises a plurality of cooling fin units (cooling fin array 70 including a plurality of cooling fins) arranged in a sandwich structure, wherein each of the plurality of cooling fin units accommodates two adjacent battery cells (battery units 90 are arranged in spaces between the cooling fins), and wherein each of the plurality of cooling fin units comprises a first cooling fin (e.g., left sub-cooling fin 3) to support any one of the two adjacent battery cells via a plate-shaped lateral wall W, and a second cooling fin (e.g., right sub-cooling fin 6) spaced apart from the first cooling fin that supports the other one of the two adjacent battery cells (US'225, [0014], [0049]-[0056], [0063]-[0069], [0074]-[0079]).
Further, KR'555 discloses a thermal interface material connecting the second cooling fin to the first cooling fin and provided below the two adjacent battery cells, by showing adjacent battery cells (first battery cell 10 and second battery cell 20) interposed between a first cooling fin 110 and a second cooling fin 120, where the first cooling fin 110 and the second cooling fin 120 form a bent structure to cover the lower surface and lower edge of the cells such that a first connection portion 110d of the first cooling fin 110 and a second connection portion 120d of the second cooling fin 120 contact each other below the cells, and an empty space inside the bent structure below the adjacent cells is filled or connected by a first thermal conductive member 112 (KR'555, Pg. 3-6).
US'726, US'225, and KR'555 are analogous arts because each reference belongs to the same field of endeavor, which is the field of battery modules and packs utilizing secondary battery cells, and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem of maximizing and uniformly distributing heat dissipation from secondary battery cell assemblies to prevent heat accumulation, cell deterioration, fire, or explosion (US'726, [0002], [0008]-[0013]; US'225, [0001], [0013]-[0014], [0102]-[0111]; KR'555, Pg. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the multi-piece modular cooling fin units of US'225 inside the core layout of the protective outer integrated unit sheet of US'726 to increase heat transfer speed and reduce contact thermal resistance between specific cell segments, and further to modify the bottom boundaries of the cooling fins using the folded horizontal structure and thermal interface material of KR'555 provided below the adjacent battery cells, in order to maximize the thermal continuity and cooling efficiency of the continuous thermal pathway extending directly underneath the lowest edge of the battery cell assembly down toward an underlying heat sink (US'726, [0068]-[0071]; US'225, [0065]-[0067], [0105]-[0111]; KR'555, Pg. 3-6).
As to Claim 2:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049], [0060]). Specifically, US’726 discloses that battery module 200 includes cell assembly 100 having at least two secondary batteries 110, and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the batteries ([0048]–[0049]).
US’726 further discloses that the housing sheet covers a bottom of the battery cell assembly, two sides of the battery cell assembly, and a top of the battery cell assembly. In particular, US’726 teaches that integrated unit sheet 122 is folded to surround the battery stack, and surrounds the top portion, the left surface, the right surface, and the bottom portion of the batteries ([0068]). The left and right surfaces correspond to the claimed “two sides,” and the sheet also covers the bottom and top portions as expressly stated.
As to Claim 5:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]), and an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose a cooling fin structure, and does not disclose that a first cooling fin comprises a first fin body to support a side of one of two adjacent battery cells and a first fin base bent from the first fin body and positioned below the battery cell.
US’225 discloses a battery module including cooling plates disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 teaches that each cooling plate contacts and supports a side surface of a battery cell ([0035], Fig. 2), thereby corresponding to a “first fin body to support a side” of an adjacent battery cell. US’225 further discloses that the cooling plate includes a bent or extended portion that extends beneath the battery cell ([0042], Fig. 3), thereby corresponding to a “first fin base bent from the first fin body and positioned below” the battery cell.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling plate structure of US’225, including a fin body supporting a side of a battery cell and a bent fin base positioned below the battery cell, into the battery module of US’726 in order to improve thermal dissipation and structural support of adjacent battery cells within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches that such cooling plate structures facilitate heat removal and support within multi-cell battery modules.
As to Claim 6:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]). US’726 further discloses an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose that the battery module comprises cooling fin units, nor does US’726 disclose that a second cooling fin comprises a second fin body to support a side of the other one of two adjacent battery cells and a second fin base bent from the second fin body and positioned below the other battery cell.
US’225 discloses a battery module including cooling plates disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 teaches that each cooling plate contacts and supports a side surface of a battery cell ([0035], Fig. 2), thereby corresponding to a “second fin body to support a side” of the other adjacent battery cell. US’225 further discloses that the cooling plate includes a bent or extended portion that extends beneath the battery cell ([0042], Fig. 3), thereby corresponding to a “second fin base bent from the second fin body and positioned below” the other battery cell.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling plate structure of US’225, including a fin body supporting a side of a battery cell and a bent fin base positioned below the battery cell, into the battery module of US’726 in order to enhance heat dissipation and structural support of adjacent battery cells within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches such cooling structures for managing heat generated by battery cells.
As to Claim 7:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]). US’726 further discloses an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose cooling fin units, nor does US’726 disclose that a first fin base and a second fin base are spaced a predetermined distance apart from each other.
US’225 discloses a battery module including cooling plates disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 teaches that each cooling plate includes a bent or extended portion that extends beneath a battery cell ([0042], Fig. 3). In the illustrated arrangement, opposing cooling plates are positioned between adjacent battery cells and include bent lower portions extending beneath respective cells ([0035], [0042], Fig. 2–3). The bent lower portions of the opposing cooling plates are spaced apart from each other as shown in Fig. 3, thereby corresponding to the claimed first fin base and second fin base spaced a predetermined distance apart.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling plate structure of US’225, including bent lower portions of opposing cooling plates spaced apart beneath adjacent battery cells, into the battery module of US’726 in order to improve heat dissipation and accommodate structural tolerances between adjacent cooling members within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches arranging cooling plates between adjacent battery cells with defined spatial relationships.
As to Claim 8:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]). US’726 further discloses an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose cooling fin units, nor does US’726 disclose that a thermal interface material connects a first fin base to a second fin base and is provided on the first fin base and the second fin base.
US’225 discloses a battery module including cooling plates disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 further discloses that a thermally conductive material or thermal interface material is disposed between cooling members to improve heat transfer ([0038]–[0040]). US’225 teaches that the thermally conductive material is arranged between lower portions of the cooling plates extending beneath the battery cells ([0038]–[0040], Fig. 3). Thus, US’225 discloses a thermal interface material connecting lower portions (fin bases) of opposing cooling plates and provided on the lower portions of those cooling plates.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the thermal interface material arrangement of US’225, including thermally conductive material connecting lower portions of opposing cooling fins, into the battery module of US’726 in order to enhance thermal conduction between cooling members and improve heat dissipation of adjacent battery cells within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches using thermally conductive material between cooling plates for this purpose.
As to Claim 12:
US’726 discloses a battery pack ([0126]). US’726 further discloses that the battery pack comprises at least one battery module according to claim 1, specifically battery module 200 including a cell assembly 100 having a plurality of secondary batteries 110 and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049], [0060], [0126]).
US’726 additionally discloses that the battery pack comprises a pack case accommodating the at least one battery module ([0126]), wherein the battery module 200 is received within the pack case of the battery pack.
As to Claim 14:
US’726 discloses a vehicle comprising at least one battery pack ([0063]). Specifically, US’726 teaches that the disclosed battery pack can be mounted on and used as a power source for a vehicle ([0063]).
US’726 further discloses that the battery pack comprises at least one battery module (battery module 200) including a battery cell assembly 100 having a plurality of secondary batteries 110 and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049], [0060], [0126]). US’726 additionally discloses that the battery pack includes a pack case accommodating the battery module ([0126]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0006726 A1 (“US’726”) in view of US 2018/0062225 A1 (“US’225”) and KR 20190129555 A (“KR'555”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2019-032923 A (“JP’923”).
As to Claim 9:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). Specifically, US’726 discloses that battery module 200 includes cell assembly 100 having at least two secondary batteries 110 ([0049], [0060]), and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0049], [0068]–[0070]). US’726 further discloses an insulating member 25 provided in the module ([0072]).
However, US’726 does not expressly disclose that the housing sheet includes an insulating sheet having a predetermined length.
JP’923 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery cells and an insulating sheet surrounding the battery cells ([0031]–[0033], Fig. 3). JP’923 teaches that the insulating sheet is formed with dimensions sufficient to wrap around and cover the battery cells ([0033]), thereby having a defined or predetermined length suitable for surrounding the battery cell assembly. JP’923 further illustrates the insulating sheet extending around the battery cells as shown in Fig. 3.
US’726 and JP’923 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery modules including a plurality of battery cells and concern structural packaging and insulation of battery cell assemblies.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the insulating sheet structure of JP’923, including an insulating sheet having a predetermined length configured to surround the battery cells, into the housing sheet arrangement of US’726 in order to provide electrical insulation and structural containment of the battery cell assembly, as taught by JP’923.
As to Claim 10:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the housing sheet (integrated unit sheet 122) surrounds and covers the battery cell assembly, including a top portion, a left surface, a right surface, and a bottom portion of the battery cell assembly ([0068]). Thus, US’726 discloses a housing sheet covering a first side, a bottom, a second side opposite the first side, and a top of the battery cell assembly ([0068]).
US’726 further discloses that opposite ends of the integrated unit sheet overlap and are bonded together at a side surface of the battery cell assembly ([0106]–[0107]). Therefore, US’726 discloses that the housing sheet is positioned in an overlapping manner on a side of the battery cell assembly while covering the top, bottom, and both sides ([0068], [0106]–[0107]).
As to Claim 11:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 further discloses that the housing sheet (integrated unit sheet 122) surrounds the battery cell assembly and covers a top portion, a left surface, a right surface, and a bottom portion of the battery cell assembly ([0068]).
US’726 additionally discloses that opposite ends of the integrated unit sheet overlap at a side surface of the battery cell assembly and are bonded together by an adhesive member ([0106]–[0107]). Thus, US’726 discloses that an end and an opposite end of the housing sheet are positioned in an overlapping manner on a side surface of the battery cell assembly.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0006726 A1 (“US’726”) in view of US 2018/0062225 A1 (“US’225”) and KR 20190129555 A (“KR'555”), as applied to Claim 12 above, and further in view of US 2020/0212388 A1 (“US’388”).
As to Claim 13:
US’726 discloses a battery pack ([0126]). US’726 further discloses that the battery pack comprises at least one battery module (battery module 200) including a battery cell assembly 100 having a plurality of secondary batteries 110 and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049], [0060], [0068]–[0070], [0126]). US’726 additionally discloses that the battery pack includes a pack case accommodating the battery module ([0126]).
However, US’726 does not disclose an adhesive member between the at least one battery module and the pack case to fix the at least one battery module to the pack case. The adhesive member disclosed in US’726 ([0106]–[0107]) is provided between overlapping ends of the integrated unit sheet and does not fix the battery module to the pack case.
US’388 discloses a battery pack including a battery module disposed within a pack case structure including an upper cover and a lower case ([0063]). US’388 further discloses a first bonding member and a second bonding member for fixing the battery module to components of the pack case ([0063]–[0065]). In particular, US’388 discloses that a second bonding member is disposed on a lower surface of the battery module and connects the battery module to the lower case ([0090]). US’388 explains that the bonding member fixes and integrates the battery module with the pack case structure to suppress vibration and secure the module in place ([0064]–[0065], [0090]).
US’726 and US’388 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery packs including battery modules disposed within pack cases and address structural arrangements for accommodating and securing battery modules within pack enclosures.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the battery pack of US’726 with an adhesive or bonding member between the battery module and the pack case as taught by US’388 in order to fix and secure the battery module within the pack case and improve structural stability and vibration resistance, as expressly taught by US’388 ([0064]–[0065], [0090]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that You (US'225) merely alters cooling plate thicknesses to maintain uniform temperature distribution and fails to teach a thermal interface material provided below adjacent cells to bridge separate, spaced-apart cooling fins.
The Office acknowledges that this specific structural layout is not fully explicitly detailed in You. However, this limitation is not relied upon in You, but is instead explicitly disclosed by KR'555. As detailed in the newly instituted ground of rejection, KR'555 discloses adjacent battery cells (first battery cell 10 and second battery cell 20) flanked by discrete, independent cooling fins (first cooling fin 110 and second cooling fin 120). These fins form a bent/folded structure that wraps around the lower surfaces and lower edges of the cells, such that a first connection portion 110d of the first cooling fin 110 and a second connection portion 120d of the second cooling fin 120 contact each other directly below the cells. Furthermore, KR'555 explicitly teaches filling or connecting the empty space inside this bent structure below the adjacent cells with a first thermal conductive member 112.
Accordingly, the exact structural layout of Claim 1—requiring a thermal interface material provided below two adjacent cells to connect a first and second spaced-apart cooling fin—is fully taught by KR'555.
Applicants argue that because Shin (US'726) utilizes a separate, uniform heat sink (160) beneath the cells, an ordinary artisan would have no motivation to apply the cooling structure of You inside Shin’s flexible unit sheet wrapper.
The Office disagrees. One of ordinary skill in the art designing a compact battery configuration is routinely confronted with the problem of center-region heat concentration ("heat islands") expanding within tightly packed internal modules. Shin explicitly recognizes that closely packed spatial restrictions result in severe, localized internal heat accumulation. You solves this exact engineering issue by teaching modular, face-to-face paired sub-cooling fins configured with selectively thicker partitions toward the central core to aggressively accelerate heat dissipation down to an underlying heat sink.
Therefore, it would be entirely obvious to an ordinary artisan to incorporate You’s performance-tailored sub-fin structures inside Shin’s wrapper sheet to mitigate center thermal fatigue while retaining Shin’s space-saving group packaging characteristics.
Lastly, Applicants contend that the thermal glue (150) of Shin is merely a conventional thermal medium between a cell stack and a lower heat sink rather than a component designed to bridge separate fins to provide manufacturing flexibility and mechanical rigidity.
The Office notes that the newly applied tertiary reference, KR'555, directly addresses this dual structural/thermal objective. KR'555 explicitly states that by shaping the first and second cooling fins as separate structural components, the sub-fins can be individually handled, pre-filled with the thermally conductive member 112, or easily unmounted and replaced if defective. KR'555 then details that subsequent injection and solidification of its polyurethane-based resin member (112) inside the horizontal bottom fold mechanically unifies and solidifies the split components into a stable module.
Thus, utilizing a thermal interface material beneath adjacent cells to physically join split fin boundaries to secure manufacturing flexibility and post-assembly mechanical rigidity is explicitly suggested by the prior art.
For the reasons above, applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723