DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 3/5/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/10/23 and 11/26/24 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/10/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0006726 A1 (“US’726”).
As to Claim 1:
US’726 discloses a battery module ([0015]; [0048], “a battery module 200”);
a battery cell assembly ([0048], “battery module 200 may include a cell assembly 100”);
the battery cell assembly includes a plurality of battery cells ([0049], “unit body 120 may include at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in one direction”; see also [0060], describing three stacked secondary batteries); and
a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly, in that each unit body includes an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround a top portion, a left surface, a right surface, and a bottom portion of the at least two secondary batteries ([0049]; [0068]–[0070]), thereby surrounding and accommodating the plurality of secondary batteries within the battery module.
As to Claim 2:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049], [0060]). Specifically, US’726 discloses that battery module 200 includes cell assembly 100 having at least two secondary batteries 110, and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the batteries ([0048]–[0049]).
US’726 further discloses that the housing sheet covers a bottom of the battery cell assembly, two sides of the battery cell assembly, and a top of the battery cell assembly. In particular, US’726 teaches that integrated unit sheet 122 is folded to surround the battery stack, and surrounds the top portion, the left surface, the right surface, and the bottom portion of the batteries ([0068]). The left and right surfaces correspond to the claimed “two sides,” and the sheet also covers the bottom and top portions as expressly stated.
As to Claim 12:
US’726 discloses a battery pack ([0126]). US’726 further discloses that the battery pack comprises at least one battery module according to claim 1, specifically battery module 200 including a cell assembly 100 having a plurality of secondary batteries 110 and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049], [0060], [0126]).
US’726 additionally discloses that the battery pack comprises a pack case accommodating the at least one battery module ([0126]), wherein the battery module 200 is received within the pack case of the battery pack.
As to Claim 14:
US’726 discloses a vehicle comprising at least one battery pack ([0063]). Specifically, US’726 teaches that the disclosed battery pack can be mounted on and used as a power source for a vehicle ([0063]).
US’726 further discloses that the battery pack comprises at least one battery module (battery module 200) including a battery cell assembly 100 having a plurality of secondary batteries 110 and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049], [0060], [0126]). US’726 additionally discloses that the battery pack includes a pack case accommodating the battery module ([0126]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0006726 A1 (“US’726”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0062225 A1 (“US’225”).
As to Claim 3:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). Specifically, US’726 discloses that battery module 200 includes cell assembly 100 having at least two secondary batteries 110 ([0049], [0060]), and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0049], [0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose that the battery cell assembly comprises a plurality of cooling fin units in the housing sheet, nor does US’726 disclose that the plurality of cooling fin units accommodates two adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells.
US’225 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery cells and a cooling structure disposed between adjacent battery cells. In particular, US’225 discloses cooling plates or cooling fins positioned between adjacent battery cells so as to contact and thermally manage two adjacent battery cells ([0035], Fig. 2). US’225 further discloses that the cooling members are disposed within the module structure and between adjacent battery cells to remove heat therefrom ([0028], [0035]). Thus, US’225 teaches a plurality of cooling fin units arranged between adjacent battery cells, each cooling fin unit accommodating two adjacent battery cells by being positioned between and contacting the two cells ([0035], Fig. 2).
US’726 and US’225 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery modules comprising a plurality of battery cells and address structural arrangements within the module, including heat management and packaging structures for battery cells.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling fin units disclosed in US’225 into the battery module of US’726 in order to improve thermal management of the plurality of battery cells within the housing sheet, since US’225 expressly teaches positioning cooling fins between adjacent battery cells to dissipate heat generated during operation.
As to Claim 4:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]). US’726 further discloses an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround and accommodate the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose that the battery cell assembly comprises a plurality of cooling fin units, nor does US’726 disclose that each cooling fin unit comprises a first cooling fin to support any one of two adjacent battery cells, a second cooling fin spaced apart from the first cooling fin to support the other adjacent battery cell, and a thermal interface material connecting the second cooling fin to the first cooling fin and provided below the two adjacent battery cells.
US’225 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery cells and cooling structures disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 teaches that cooling plates or fins are positioned between two adjacent battery cells so as to contact and thermally manage both adjacent battery cells ([0035], Fig. 2). US’225 further discloses that the cooling structure includes opposing cooling members arranged on respective sides of adjacent battery cells, spaced apart from each other, and configured to support and thermally interface with the battery cells ([0035], [0040], Fig. 2). US’225 also discloses a thermally conductive material or thermal interface layer disposed between cooling elements to enhance heat transfer and positioned below the battery cells in the module ([0038]–[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling fin structures and thermal interface material disclosed in US’225 into the battery module of US’726 in order to improve heat dissipation and thermal management of adjacent battery cells within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches positioning cooling fins and thermally conductive materials between adjacent battery cells to manage heat generated during operation.
As to Claim 5:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]), and an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose a cooling fin structure, and does not disclose that a first cooling fin comprises a first fin body to support a side of one of two adjacent battery cells and a first fin base bent from the first fin body and positioned below the battery cell.
US’225 discloses a battery module including cooling plates disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 teaches that each cooling plate contacts and supports a side surface of a battery cell ([0035], Fig. 2), thereby corresponding to a “first fin body to support a side” of an adjacent battery cell. US’225 further discloses that the cooling plate includes a bent or extended portion that extends beneath the battery cell ([0042], Fig. 3), thereby corresponding to a “first fin base bent from the first fin body and positioned below” the battery cell.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling plate structure of US’225, including a fin body supporting a side of a battery cell and a bent fin base positioned below the battery cell, into the battery module of US’726 in order to improve thermal dissipation and structural support of adjacent battery cells within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches that such cooling plate structures facilitate heat removal and support within multi-cell battery modules.
As to Claim 6:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]). US’726 further discloses an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose that the battery module comprises cooling fin units, nor does US’726 disclose that a second cooling fin comprises a second fin body to support a side of the other one of two adjacent battery cells and a second fin base bent from the second fin body and positioned below the other battery cell.
US’225 discloses a battery module including cooling plates disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 teaches that each cooling plate contacts and supports a side surface of a battery cell ([0035], Fig. 2), thereby corresponding to a “second fin body to support a side” of the other adjacent battery cell. US’225 further discloses that the cooling plate includes a bent or extended portion that extends beneath the battery cell ([0042], Fig. 3), thereby corresponding to a “second fin base bent from the second fin body and positioned below” the other battery cell.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling plate structure of US’225, including a fin body supporting a side of a battery cell and a bent fin base positioned below the battery cell, into the battery module of US’726 in order to enhance heat dissipation and structural support of adjacent battery cells within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches such cooling structures for managing heat generated by battery cells.
As to Claim 7:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]). US’726 further discloses an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose cooling fin units, nor does US’726 disclose that a first fin base and a second fin base are spaced a predetermined distance apart from each other.
US’225 discloses a battery module including cooling plates disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 teaches that each cooling plate includes a bent or extended portion that extends beneath a battery cell ([0042], Fig. 3). In the illustrated arrangement, opposing cooling plates are positioned between adjacent battery cells and include bent lower portions extending beneath respective cells ([0035], [0042], Fig. 2–3). The bent lower portions of the opposing cooling plates are spaced apart from each other as shown in Fig. 3, thereby corresponding to the claimed first fin base and second fin base spaced a predetermined distance apart.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling plate structure of US’225, including bent lower portions of opposing cooling plates spaced apart beneath adjacent battery cells, into the battery module of US’726 in order to improve heat dissipation and accommodate structural tolerances between adjacent cooling members within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches arranging cooling plates between adjacent battery cells with defined spatial relationships.
As to Claim 8:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the battery cell assembly includes at least two secondary batteries 110 stacked in a unit body ([0049], [0060]). US’726 further discloses an integrated unit sheet 122 folded to surround the battery cell assembly ([0068]–[0070]).
However, US’726 does not disclose cooling fin units, nor does US’726 disclose that a thermal interface material connects a first fin base to a second fin base and is provided on the first fin base and the second fin base.
US’225 discloses a battery module including cooling plates disposed between adjacent battery cells ([0028], [0035], Fig. 2). US’225 further discloses that a thermally conductive material or thermal interface material is disposed between cooling members to improve heat transfer ([0038]–[0040]). US’225 teaches that the thermally conductive material is arranged between lower portions of the cooling plates extending beneath the battery cells ([0038]–[0040], Fig. 3). Thus, US’225 discloses a thermal interface material connecting lower portions (fin bases) of opposing cooling plates and provided on the lower portions of those cooling plates.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the thermal interface material arrangement of US’225, including thermally conductive material connecting lower portions of opposing cooling fins, into the battery module of US’726 in order to enhance thermal conduction between cooling members and improve heat dissipation of adjacent battery cells within the housing sheet, as US’225 expressly teaches using thermally conductive material between cooling plates for this purpose.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0006726 A1 (“US’726”), and further in view of JP 2019-032923 A (“JP’923”).
As to Claim 9:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). Specifically, US’726 discloses that battery module 200 includes cell assembly 100 having at least two secondary batteries 110 ([0049], [0060]), and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0049], [0068]–[0070]). US’726 further discloses an insulating member 25 provided in the module ([0072]).
However, US’726 does not expressly disclose that the housing sheet includes an insulating sheet having a predetermined length.
JP’923 discloses a battery module including a plurality of battery cells and an insulating sheet surrounding the battery cells ([0031]–[0033], Fig. 3). JP’923 teaches that the insulating sheet is formed with dimensions sufficient to wrap around and cover the battery cells ([0033]), thereby having a defined or predetermined length suitable for surrounding the battery cell assembly. JP’923 further illustrates the insulating sheet extending around the battery cells as shown in Fig. 3.
US’726 and JP’923 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery modules including a plurality of battery cells and concern structural packaging and insulation of battery cell assemblies.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the insulating sheet structure of JP’923, including an insulating sheet having a predetermined length configured to surround the battery cells, into the housing sheet arrangement of US’726 in order to provide electrical insulation and structural containment of the battery cell assembly, as taught by JP’923.
As to Claim 10:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 discloses that the housing sheet (integrated unit sheet 122) surrounds and covers the battery cell assembly, including a top portion, a left surface, a right surface, and a bottom portion of the battery cell assembly ([0068]). Thus, US’726 discloses a housing sheet covering a first side, a bottom, a second side opposite the first side, and a top of the battery cell assembly ([0068]).
US’726 further discloses that opposite ends of the integrated unit sheet overlap and are bonded together at a side surface of the battery cell assembly ([0106]–[0107]). Therefore, US’726 discloses that the housing sheet is positioned in an overlapping manner on a side of the battery cell assembly while covering the top, bottom, and both sides ([0068], [0106]–[0107]).
As to Claim 11:
US’726 discloses a battery module (battery module 200) comprising a battery cell assembly including a plurality of battery cells and a housing sheet accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049]). US’726 further discloses that the housing sheet (integrated unit sheet 122) surrounds the battery cell assembly and covers a top portion, a left surface, a right surface, and a bottom portion of the battery cell assembly ([0068]).
US’726 additionally discloses that opposite ends of the integrated unit sheet overlap at a side surface of the battery cell assembly and are bonded together by an adhesive member ([0106]–[0107]). Thus, US’726 discloses that an end and an opposite end of the housing sheet are positioned in an overlapping manner on a side surface of the battery cell assembly.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0006726 A1 (“US’726”), and further in view of US 2020/0212388 A1 (“US’388”).
As to Claim 13:
US’726 discloses a battery pack ([0126]). US’726 further discloses that the battery pack comprises at least one battery module (battery module 200) including a battery cell assembly 100 having a plurality of secondary batteries 110 and an integrated unit sheet 122 accommodating the battery cell assembly ([0048]–[0049], [0060], [0068]–[0070], [0126]). US’726 additionally discloses that the battery pack includes a pack case accommodating the battery module ([0126]).
However, US’726 does not disclose an adhesive member between the at least one battery module and the pack case to fix the at least one battery module to the pack case. The adhesive member disclosed in US’726 ([0106]–[0107]) is provided between overlapping ends of the integrated unit sheet and does not fix the battery module to the pack case.
US’388 discloses a battery pack including a battery module disposed within a pack case structure including an upper cover and a lower case ([0063]). US’388 further discloses a first bonding member and a second bonding member for fixing the battery module to components of the pack case ([0063]–[0065]). In particular, US’388 discloses that a second bonding member is disposed on a lower surface of the battery module and connects the battery module to the lower case ([0090]). US’388 explains that the bonding member fixes and integrates the battery module with the pack case structure to suppress vibration and secure the module in place ([0064]–[0065], [0090]).
US’726 and US’388 are analogous arts because both references are directed to battery packs including battery modules disposed within pack cases and address structural arrangements for accommodating and securing battery modules within pack enclosures.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the battery pack of US’726 with an adhesive or bonding member between the battery module and the pack case as taught by US’388 in order to fix and secure the battery module within the pack case and improve structural stability and vibration resistance, as expressly taught by US’388 ([0064]–[0065], [0090]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 100870354 B1 discloses a battery exterior and a secondary battery using the same are provided to maintain the round shape while not causing the side of the pouch type secondary battery to increase the battery size and to improve surface protrusion phenomenon by the electrode tap.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723