DETAILED ACTION
The current Non-Final will replace the Non-Final Office action sent on 6/17/26.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/11/23 and 5/21/23 are considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 8/11/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, is it unclear if “an adhesive forming a seal” is positively claimed. Appropriate corrections are required or further clarification is required.
Claim 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, is it unclear if the limitation “by an adhesive forming a seal and by mechanical connectors” and “mechanical connectors are half-hollow punched rivets” are positively claimed. Appropriate corrections are required or further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frost et al. (DE102018109509).
Regarding claim 11-12, 21, the Frost reference discloses a storage housing for an electrical energy store of a motor vehicle, comprising at least one housing part (stainless steel tray 1, the drawings) having a circumferential sealing flange (collar 7, "with the insertion of a seal (not shown here) between the cover 5 and the collar 7 of the stainless steel tray 1.", paragraph 47; the drawings), at which the housing part can be connected to at least one other housing part (cover 5, figure 3) of the storage housing; the housing part is formed by a steel frame ("that the stainless steel tray 1... was manufactured from a stainless steel sheet", paragraph 49) and connected to a closing part (outer frame 4, the drawings) made of a light metal material (" ... that the outer frame ( 4) is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy.", claim 3), in particular an aluminum material, wherein the steel frame is designed as a single-piece shaping component made of a steel material(" ... that the stainless steel tray (1) is designed as a folding tray from a flat stainless steel sheet, in which, after a corresponding cutting operation, the individual walls of the tray edge (3) are formed by shaping or folding and the individual walls are tightly joined together.", claim 6) .
Regarding claim 13, the Frost reference discloses the storage housing as claimed in characterized in that the steel frame has a continuous sealing flange (collar 7; P47, the drawings).
Regarding claim 14, the Frost reference discloses the storage housing as claimed in characterized in that the housing part is formed as a housing lower part and the closing part as a floor (Claim 22).
Regarding claims 16 and 17 the Frost reference discloses the steel frame is connected to the closing part (Drawings).
It is noted that claims imitation “by an adhesive forming a seal and by mechanical connections means, in particular half hollow punch rivets” are product-by-process claims. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since invention is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, the Frost reference discloses the storage housing as claimed in characterized in that on the outer long sides of the steel frame , a respective crash profile is attached which is made of a steel material and the respective chambers of which are formed as dry spaces, and/or a respective crash profile of a steel material, in which the respective chambers are configured as dry spaces, is fastened to a front and/or rear end face of the steel frame (the outer frame).
Regarding claim 20, the Frost reference discloses storage housing as claimed in characterized in that aluminum carrier elements connected to the closing part or floor are arranged inside the steel frame, and the aluminum carrier elements are connected to the steel frame by steel adapters (the inner supports 8).
Regarding claim 22-23, the Frost reference discloses a floor assembly comprising a respective side sill (17) on which a storage housing of an energy store.
The Frost reference discloses at least one crash profile, configured separately from the storage housing, is attached to the side sills (17).
It is noted that claims imitation “extruded aluminum profiles,” are product-by-process claims. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since invention is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost et al. (DE102018109509) in view of Gabrowksi (DE 102019206893).
Regarding claim 15, the Frost et al. reference discloses the claimed invention above and further incorporated herein. The Frost reference disclose a battery tray comprising a steel frame is corrosion resistant and is connected to the further housing part, in particular the housing upper part. The Frost et al. reference is silent in disclosing the frame is cathodic dip coated and the attachment is formed by an adhesive seal, however, the Gabrowski reference discloses that anti-corrosion coating can be provided on the frame and adhesion can be formed to attaching components for a tray of a battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate anti-corrosion coating provided on the frame and adhesion can be formed to attaching components for a tray of a battery disclosed by the Gabrowski reference for the battery tray comprising a steel frame that is corrosion resistant and is connected to the housing upper part disclosed by the Frost reference since both reference teach the same endeavor of inventions. A patent claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was obvious to try. When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR v. Teleflex
In addition, the limitation, “cathodic dip coated” is product-by-process claims. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since the steel frame with anti-corrosion coating is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752