DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barman (US 2019/0351415).
Regarding claim 1, Barman teaches a microfluidic device comprising a) at least partly filling a container with an amount of the first liquid; b) causing a second liquid to flow into the container via a first passage, thereby forcing at least some of the first liquid out of the container, in order to discharge at least some of the first liquid through a second passage (Refer to abstract); wherein the first passage has a first resistance (capillary stop valve) to the flow of the first liquid, and the second passage has a second resistance (capillary stop valve) to flow of the second liquid. Applicants further recite “wherein the first resistance is higher than the second resistance”, Barman teaches different liquids such as reagents and samples, different cross sections of channels and capillary stop valves which inherently all change the resistance of the fluid flow in the passage. Barman discloses the size of the channel aids in minimizing the restriction of flow and this can be particularly useful when viscous fluids are involved. (Refer to paragraph [0018]) (Refer to Figures 10-10B)
Regarding claim 2, supplying a third liquid downstream of the container in order to mix the first liquid with the third liquid at a predetermined concentration of first liquid. (Refer to paragraph [0019])
Regarding claim 3, the first liquid is supplied via a fist inlet (111), and the second liquid is supplied via a separate, second inlet (121). (Refer to Figures 10-10B)
Regarding claim 4, a viscosity of the second liquid is higher than a viscosity of the first liquid. (Refer to paragraph [0018])
Regarding claim 6, a first inlet (111), for letting the first liquid into the chip; a container (130) connected to the first inlet (111), for at least temporarily containing an amount of first liquid; a second inlet (121) connected to the container (130) via a first passage, for letting in a second liquid into the chip; a second passage (120) connecting the container (130) to an outlet, allowing flow of the first liquid into the second passage, thereby delivering the first liquid. As shown in Figure 10b, the cross sections of the passages/channels are different which inherently means the first passage has a first resistance to liquid flow, and the second passage has a second resistance to liquid flow.
Regarding claim 7, the first resistance is higher than the second resistance. As shown in Figure 10b, the cross sections of the passages/channels are different which inherently means the first passage has a first resistance to liquid flow, and the second passage has a second resistance to liquid flow.
Regarding claim 8, a third passage (150) connected to the second passage downstream of the container for supplying a third liquid to the second passage, the chip thereby being suitable for mixing the third liquid with the first liquid. (Refer to Figure 10a)
Regarding claim 9, a third inlet (151) connected to the second and/or third passage.
Regarding claim 10, a minimum cross sectional area of the first passage is smaller than a minimum cross sectional area of the second passage. (Refer to Figures 10a and 10b)
Regarding claim 11, a minimum cross sectional area of the first passage is smaller than a minimum cross sectional area of the second passage, wherein the minimum cross sectional area of the first passage is smaller than a minimum cross sectional area of the third passage. (Refer to Figures 10a and 10b)
Regarding claim 12, a capillary stop valve (112) between the container and the first passage and/or a capillary stop valve between the container and the second passage.
Regarding claim 13, an absorber (electrode) connected to the first inlet.
Regarding claim 14, a vent (air gap) connected to the first passage at a position beyond the container as seen from the inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barman.
Refer above for the teachings of Barman.
Barman fails to teach the first resistance is at least approximately ten times higher than the second resistance.
Barman teaches discloses the size of the channel aids in minimizing the restriction of flow and this can be particularly useful when viscous fluids are involved. Barman further teaches the cross-sectional area of the output channel can be larger at the third interface than it is at the first interface. This decoupling can be useful when the microfluidic device is being used for viscous fluids and especially when the fluid comprises large particles, for example biological cells. (Refer to paragraphs [0018] and [0022])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Barman where the first resistance is at least approximately ten times higher than the second resistance in order to accommodate highly viscous fluids during processing.
Conclusion
/JYOTI Mutreja/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798